会员区

 
BCI 旨在实现全球棉花生产的大规模转型。 我们努力让尽可能多的棉农获得知识和工具,以改善棉花生产的环境、社会和经济可持续性,并从在田间实施改进的实践中受益。

为了实现市场转型并将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品,我们必须能够扩展 BCI 计划。 自 2010-11 棉花季首次收获良好棉花以来,BCI 已经取得了长足的进步——仅仅过了八个季节,BCI 已经惠及近 2 万农民。

旨在实现规模化

  • 全行业:我们了解到,为了为棉花行业的转型变革奠定基础并实现规模化,必须让不同的利益相关者参与进来,所有人都朝着同一个目标努力。 今天,我们确实是一个共同的努力,将 1,350 多个组织联合起来,从农场到时尚和纺织品牌,再到民间社会组织,推动整个棉花行业走向可持续发展。
  • 培训伙伴:BCI 不直接培训棉农,而是与世界各地值得信赖的战略和实施合作伙伴合作,他们投入大量时间和资金实施良好棉花标准体系。 在 2016-17 赛季,我们与 59 个国家的 21 个战略和实施合作伙伴合作。
  • 与其他标准的合作:BCI 承认其他三个可持续棉花标准等同于良好棉花标准:myBMP,由 Cotton Australia 管理; ABR,由 ABRAPA 管理; 和 CmiA,由贸易援助基金会管理。 按照这些标准生产的棉花也可以作为良好棉花出售。 此外,BCI 寻找与其他可持续棉花倡议合作的机会——我们与 Cotton 2040 的合作已经导致 CottonUP 的推出,这是一份帮助零售商和品牌扩大使用更可持续棉花的指南,包括更好的棉花、有机棉花、公平贸易、非洲制造的棉花、myBMP 和再生棉。
  • 可访问性:小农加入 BCI 计划并获得种植和销售良好棉花的许可证无需额外费用。 这大大降低了进入门槛。 农民可以获得关于更可持续农业实践的培训,重点是持续改进。
  • 质量平衡监管链:质量平衡是一种供应链方法论,简单地说,意味着出来的东西必须与进来的东西相平衡。这种方法论意味着良好棉花可以与供应链中的常规棉花混合。 通过使用质量平衡系统,BCI 能够接触到更多的农民,鼓励在世界范围内实施更可持续的做法。 最终,BCI 专注于使棉花生产对农民、其生长环境以及该行业的未来更好。 了解良好棉花的最终去向不会使 BCI 农民受益。 了解有关物料平衡的更多信息 此处.
  • 更好的棉花增长和创新基金:该基金利用零售商和品牌成员支付的基于数量的费用,寻求从公共和私人捐助者那里获得匹配资金,并对项目有潜力实现影响和规模的国家的良好棉花项目进行战略投资。 这使 BCI 及其合作伙伴能够覆盖更多地区,培训更多农民并生产更多良好棉花,从而显着加速全球良好棉花的规模化。

感谢来自整个棉花行业的会员、合作伙伴和捐助者的持续支持,我们有望实现 2020 年的目标——覆盖和培训 5 万农民,并确保良好棉花占全球棉花产量的 30% .

您可以阅读更多关于 BCI 在 BCI 2017 年报.

分享此页

Sector-Wide Engagement Drives Large-Scale Change

Announcements Wednesday, September 5th, 2018

 
BCI aims for large-scale transformation of global cotton production. We strive to enable as many cotton farmers as possible to gain access to knowledge and tools to improve the environmental, social and economic sustainability of cotton production, and to benefit from implementing improved practices at field-level.

To bring about market transformation and develop Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity, we must be able to scale the BCI programme. BCI has come a long way since the first harvest of Better Cotton in the 2010-11 cotton season – after just eight seasons, BCI has reached nearly 2 million farmers.

Designed to Achieve Scale

  • Sector-Wide: We learnt that in order to lay the foundation for transformational change within the cotton sector and to achieve scale, it was imperative to include diverse stakeholders, all working towards the same goal. Today we are truly a joint effort, uniting more than 1,350 organisations all the way from farms, to fashion and textile brands, to civil society organisations, driving the entire cotton sector towards sustainability.
  • Training Partners: BCI does not train cotton farmers directly, instead we work with trusted Strategic and Implementing Partners across the world, who invest considerable time and funds in implementing the Better Cotton Standard System. In the 2016-17 season we worked with 59 Strategic and Implementing Partners in 21 countries.
  • Collaboration with Other Standards: BCI recognises three other sustainable cotton standards as equivalent to the Better Cotton Standard: myBMP, managed by Cotton Australia; ABR, managed by ABRAPA; and CmiA, managed by the Aid by Trade Foundation. Cotton produced to these standards can also be sold as Better Cotton. In addition, BCI looks for opportunities to collaborate with other sustainable cotton initiatives – our collaboration with Cotton 2040 has already led to the launch of CottonUP, a guide which helps retailers and brands scale their use of more sustainable cotton including Better Cotton, organic, Fairtrade, Cotton Made in Africa, myBMP and recycled cotton.
  • Accessibility: There are no additional costs for smallholder farmers to join the BCI programme and to obtain a license to grow and sell Better Cotton. This significantly reduces the barriers to entry. Farmers receive access to training on more sustainable agricultural practices with a focus on continuous improvement.
  • Mass Balance Chain of Custody: Mass Balance is a supply chain methodology, which simply put,means what comes out must balance with what went in. This methodology means Better Cotton can be mixed with conventional cotton in the supply chain. By using a system of Mass Balance, BCI is able to reach more farmers, encourage more sustainable practices to be implemented around the world. Ultimately, BCI is focused on making cotton production better for farmers, the environment it grows in, and better for the sector’s future. Knowing where the Better Cotton ends up does not benefit BCI Farmers. Learn more about Mass Balance here.
  • The Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund: The Fund utilises the Volume Based Fee paid by Retailer and Brand Members, seeks to obtain match funding from public and private donors, and makes strategic investments into Better Cotton projects in the countries where projects have the potential to achieve both impact and scale. This allows BCI and its Partners to reach more regions, train more farmers and produce more Better Cotton, dramatically accelerating the scale-up of Better Cotton worldwide.

Thanks to the continued support of our Members, Partners and donors, from across the entire cotton sector, we are on track to meet our 2020 target – to reach and train 5 million farmers and ensure that Better Cotton accounts for 30% of global cotton production.

You can read more about BCI’s progress in the BCI 2017 Annual Report.