公司信息

在 Better Cotton,我们希望绝对确保我们正在发挥作用。 这就是为什么除了支持和培训世界各地数百万农民和农场工人以更可持续的方式种植棉花外,我们还收集我们所做一切的数据。 这使我们能够衡量可持续性改进,了解我们的影响并分享我们的经验。

今天,我们很高兴分享我们的新影响报告。 在今年的报告中,我们分享了最新的田间水平结果(来自 2019-20 棉花季节),并评估了获得许可的良好棉花种植者在环境、社会和经济标准方面的表现,与未参加更好棉花种植者的棉花种植者相比棉花计划。 我们称这些为我们的“农民成果”,它们涵盖的要素包括杀虫剂、化肥和水的使用,以及体面的工作、产量和利润。 

“影响是我们所有人都希望在可持续性方面看到的。 为了确保我们正在做出切实的改变,我们会尽可能收集结果数据。 这有助于我们了解我们的方法是否有效并确定改进机会。 它还使我们能够庆祝进步并向他人展示我们工作的价值。”

– Alia Malik,数据和可追溯性高级总监

该报告还探讨了 Better Cotton 和我们成员的工作为棉花种植的积极变化做出贡献的其他方式。

虽然 Better Cotton 主要专注于为当地农民提供支持,但我们还必须推动对 Better Cotton 的需求,以继续扩大我们的影响力和影响力。 在报告中,三位良好棉花零售商和品牌成员(Kmart Australia、ASDA 的 George 和 Bjorn Borg)分享了他们在可持续棉花采购方面的经验以及他们如何向客户传达良好棉花的信息。

随着持续改进成为良好棉花的核心原则,该报告还着眼于我们如何加强我们的系统和服务以产生更大的影响。 这包括重要的举措,例如我们的可追溯性工作流程和我们的良好棉花原则和标准的修订。

2019-20 棉花季结果

在报告中,您将看到中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的良好棉花种植者在 2019-20 棉季取得的一些关键环境、社会和经济成果。 例如,在塔吉克斯坦,良好棉花种植者使用 少16%的水 与比较农民相比,他们在印度取得了 产量提高 9%, 在巴基斯坦他们使用 合成农药减少 12%. 结果按国家和可持续性指标说明。

按国家/地区划分的结果:巴基斯坦

按指标分类的结果:用水

您可以在报告中找到所有结果数据。 除了数据之外,良好棉花种植者还分享了他们对可持续棉花对他们意味着什么的见解,并指出了本季的主要成功和挑战,提供了每个良好棉花计划国家的引人入胜的快照。

说明

所有良好棉花种植者的结果都与比较种植者(同一地理区域内未参与良好棉花计划的非良好棉花种植者)取得的结果相关。 例如,在 16-2019 棉花季节,巴基斯坦的 Better Farmers 使用的合成肥料比对比农民少 20%。

棉花在世界各地以不同的年度周期播种和收获。 对于良好棉花,2019-20 棉花季节的收获已在 2020 年底完成。良好棉花种植者的结果和指标数据必须在棉花收获后的 12 周内提交给良好棉花。 然后,所有数据都经过严格的数据清理和验证过程,然后才能发布。

分享此页

General

At Better Cotton, we want to be absolutely sure that we’re making a difference. That’s why besides supporting and training millions of farmers and farm workers around the world to grow cotton more sustainably, we also collect data on everything we do. This enables us to measure sustainability improvements, understand our impact, and share our learnings.

Today, we are pleased to share our new Impact Report. In this year’s report, we share the latest field-level results (from the 2019-20 cotton season) and evaluate how licensed Better Cotton Farmers performed on environmental, social, and economic criteria, compared to farmers who weren’t participating in the Better Cotton programme. We call these our ‘Farmer Results’, and they cover elements including the use of pesticides, fertilisers and water, as well as decent work, yields and profits. 

“Impact is what we all want to see in sustainability. To be sure we’re making a tangible difference, we collect results data where possible. This helps us to understand whether our approach is effective and identify opportunities for improvement. It also enables us to celebrate progress and demonstrate the value of our work to others.”

– Alia Malik, Senior Director, Data and Traceability

The report also explores other ways in which Better Cotton and the work of our members contributes to positive change in cotton farming.

While Better Cotton focuses primarily on supporting farmers on the ground, it’s vital that we also drive demand for Better Cotton, in order to continue building our reach and impact. In the report, three Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members (Kmart Australia, George at ASDA, and Bjorn Borg) share their experiences with sustainable cotton sourcing and how they communicate about Better Cotton to their customers.

With continuous improvement a core principle for Better Cotton, the report also looks at how we’re strengthening our systems and services to deliver greater impact. This includes important initiatives such as our traceability workstream and the revision of our Better Cotton Principles & Criteria.

2019-20 Cotton Season Results

In the report, you will find some of the key environmental, social, and economic outcomes achieved by Better Cotton Farmers in China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey in the 2019-20 cotton season. For example, in Tajikistan, Better Cotton Farmers used 16% less water than Comparison Farmers, in India they achieved 9% higher yields, and in Pakistan they used 12% less synthetic pesticide. Results are illustrated by country and by sustainability indicator.

Results by country: Pakistan

Results by indicator: Water use

You can find all results data within the report. Alongside the data, Better Cotton Farmers also share their insights on what sustainable cotton means to them and call out the key success and challenges of the season, providing a compelling snapshot of each Better Cotton programme country.

Notes

All Better Cotton Farmer results are relative to the results achieved by Comparison Farmers (non-Better Cotton farmers in the same geographic area who are not participating in the Better Cotton programme). For example, Better Farmers in Pakistan used 16% less synthetic fertiliser than Comparison Farmers in the 2019-20 cotton season.

Cotton is sown and harvested in different annual cycles all over the world. For Better Cotton, the 2019-20 cotton season harvest was completed towards the end of 2020. Better Cotton Farmer results and indicator data must be submitted to Better Cotton within 12 weeks of the cotton harvest. All data then goes through a rigorous data cleaning and validation process before it can be published.

Share this page

Translate »