可持续性

 
参加 18 月 XNUMX 日星期三的网络研讨会以了解更多信息。 在这里注册.

良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 和 IDH 可持续贸易倡议 (IDH) 在 Dalberg Advisors 的支持下发起了“更好棉花创新挑战”——一个寻求创新理念和解决方案的全球项目,以改善围绕世界。

创新挑战呼吁创新者提交颠覆性的解决方案,以实现有效和定制的农民培训和高效的数据收集。

挑战一:定制化培训

我们正在寻找创新,以帮助为全球数十万棉农提供关于更可持续农业实践的定制培训。

挑战二:数据收集

我们正在寻找可以减少农民数据收集时间和成本的解决方案,以实现更高效的 BCI 许可流程。

例如,解决方案可以包含机器学习、基于卫星的分析、图像识别或行为助推。 挑战小组邀请来自大学、研发实验室、初创企业和非营利组织的创新者申请。创新者将经历三个竞争性的申请阶段,接受专家的指导,并获得与行业领导者交流的机会。 决赛入围者将有机会与 BCI Farmers 一起在实地试用他们的解决方案。奖金 135,000 欧元将分配给最多四名可能有机会推出他们的创新的获胜者。

“BCI 在过去十年中迅速扩展,我们现在与合作伙伴合作,为超过 2.2 万棉农提供培训、支持和能力建设。 我们一直在寻找新的想法和解决方案,使我们能够不断改进 BCI 计划。 这是我们第一次发起全球挑战! 我们鼓励任何拥有绝妙创意的人挺身而出并提交您的申请.”——Cristina Martin Cuadrado,BCI 项目经理

=我们已与 Dalberg Advisors 合作开展创新挑战,以确定解决方案,以帮助我们加深 BCI 计划对棉农的影响,并加速在全球范围内采用可持续棉花种植实践. – Pramit Chanda,IDH 国家总监。

申请更好棉花创新挑战赛的截止日期是 周三 15年2020月XNUMX日. 更多信息可在挑战网站上获得: Bettercottonchallenge.org.

对于感兴趣的应用程序,将在网络研讨会期间分享更多详细信息 18 月 1 日星期三,美国东部标准时间下午 00 点. 在这里注册.

关于创新挑战赛主办方

良好棉花倡议 (BCI) – 一个全球性的非营利组织 – 是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 该计划旨在通过将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品来改变全球棉花生产。 BCI 与实地实施合作伙伴合作,为 21 个国家/地区的超过 2017 万棉农提供有关更可持续农业实践的培训。 在 18-19 棉花季节,获得许可的 BCI 农民生产了超过 XNUMX 万公吨的“优质棉花”——占全球棉花产量的 XNUMX%。

IDH,可持续贸易倡议 (IDH) 召集公司、民间社会组织、政府和其他机构建立公私合作伙伴关系,以推动新的经济可行方法的联合设计、共同资助和原型设计。 IDH 得到多个欧洲政府的支持,包括机构捐助者:BUZA、SECO 和 DANIDA。

达尔伯格顾问 是一家全球咨询公司,为关键机构、公司和政府的领导层提供高水平的战略政策和投资建议,共同解决紧迫的全球问题并产生积极的社会影响。 达尔伯格致力于建设一个更具包容性和可持续性的世界,让世界各地的所有人都能发挥最大潜力。 达尔伯格的业务遍及全球,覆盖各大洲的 25 个国家。

 

分享此页

New Global Challenge Launched to Find Innovative Solutions to Sustainable Cotton Farming Challenges

Announcements Monday, December 2nd, 2019

 
Join the webinar on Wednesday 18 December to find out more. Register here.

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) and IDH The Sustainable Trade Initiative (IDH), with the support of Dalberg Advisors, have launched the ‘Better Cotton Innovation Challenge’ – a global project seeking innovative ideas and solutions to improve sustainable cotton farming practices around the world.

The Innovation Challenge calls for innovators to submit disruptive solutions to enable effective and customised farmer training and efficient data collection.

Challenge One: Customised Training

We are looking for innovations that can help bring customised training on more sustainable farming practices to hundreds of thousands of cotton farmers across the globe.

Challenge Two: Data Collection

We are looking for solutions that could reduce the time and cost of farmer data collection to enable more efficient BCI licensing processes.

Solutions could incorporate machine learning, satellite-based analytics, image recognition or behavioural nudges, for example. The challenge team invites innovators from universities, research and development labs, start-ups and non-profit organisations to apply. Innovators will undergo three competitive application stages, receive mentorship from experts and gain access to networking opportunities with industry leaders. The finalists will have the opportunity to pilot test their solution on the ground with BCI Farmers. A prize fund of EUR €135,000 will be spilt between up to four winners who will potentially have the opportunity to launch their innovation.

“BCI has scaled rapidly over the past decade, and we now work with our partners to provide training, support and capacity building to more than 2.2 million cotton farmers. We are always looking for new ideas and solutions to enable us to keep improving the BCI programme. This is the first time we have launched a global challenge! We encourage anyone who is sitting on an excellent idea, to come forward and submit your application.”– Cristina Martin Cuadrado, Programme Manager, BCI

We have partnered with Dalberg Advisors on the Innovation Challenge to identify solutions which will help us deepen the impact the BCI programme has on cotton farmers and accelerate the adoption of sustainable cotton farming practices globally. – Pramit Chanda, Country Director, IDH.

The deadline to apply to the Better Cotton Innovation Challenge is Wednesday 15 January 2020. More information is available on the challenge website: bettercottonchallenge.org.

For interested applications, further details will be shared during a webinar on Wednesday 18 December at 1:00PM IST. Register here.

About the Innovation Challenge Organisers

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) – a global not-for-profit – is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. The initiative aims to transform cotton production worldwide by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity. BCI partners with on-the-ground Implementing Partners to provide training on more sustainable farming practices to more than two million cotton farmers in 21 countries. In the 2017-18 cotton season, licenced BCI Farmers produced more than five million metric tonnes of ‘Better Cotton’ – accounting for 19% of global cotton production.

IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative (IDH) convenes companies, civil society organisations, governments and others in public-private partnerships in order to drive the joint design, co-funding and prototyping of new economically viable approaches. IDH is supported by multiple European governments, including the institutional donors: BUZA, SECO and DANIDA.

Dalberg Advisors is a global advisory firm that provides high-level strategic policy and investment advice to the leadership of key institutions, corporations and governments, working collaboratively to address pressing global problems and generate positive social impact. Dalberg works to build a more inclusive and sustainable world where all people, everywhere, can reach their fullest potential. Dalberg has a global presence, covering 25 countries across continents.