供应链

 
良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 参与并汇集了整个棉花行业,从农民、轧花厂和纺纱厂到民间社会组织以及主要的全球零售商和品牌,以建立更可持续的棉花作为规范。

在 BCI 的 2,000 名会员中,其零售商和品牌会员通过采购更可持续的棉花作为首选原材料来影响市场并推动需求。 Better Cotton——由获得许可的 BCI 农民种植的棉花——通常构成零售商更可持续棉花组合的重要组成部分,其中还可能包括有机、公平贸易和再生棉。

2020 年,尽管 Covid-19 对零售市场造成了重大影响,但 192 家 BCI 零售商和品牌会员采购了 1.7 万吨良好棉花——这是 BCI 和行业的记录。 这比 13 年的采购量增加了 2019%。

“H&M 集团希望引领向循环和气候积极时尚的转变,实现这一目标的关键工具之一是从传统棉花转向以更可持续的方式采购的棉花。 我们在此过程中取得了长足的进步,而且越来越多的公司(包括 H&M 集团)正在采购更具可持续性的棉花,包括通过“更好棉花倡议”采购的棉花,这一点是积极的。 在农场层面产生真正的影响,帮助棉花种植者采用更环保、社会和经济可持续的耕作方法对我们来说至关重要,BCI 使我们能够实现这一目标。” —— H&M 集团环境可持续发展经理 Cecilia Brannsten。

BCI 的需求驱动的融资模式意味着,当 BCI 零售商和品牌成员采购棉花作为良好棉花时,它直接转化为增加对棉农进行更可持续实践培训的投资,如 良好棉花原则和标准.

供应商和制造商成员还在良好棉花的需求和供应之间建立了关键联系,并致力于逐年增加采购量。 2020 年,纺纱厂采购了令人难以置信的 2.7 万吨良好棉花,确保全球市场供应充足。

=在这个充满挑战的一年里,BCI 成员仍然专注于他们对可持续发展的承诺。 从支持农民采取 Covid-19 保护措施的民间社会成员,到继续采购良好棉花的商业成员,从而投资棉花种植社区, BCI 会员比以往任何时候都更加活跃和参与。 现在,我们展望 2021 年,并从不断增长的会员中支持更加雄心勃勃的采购计划。” – Paula Lum Young-Bautil,BCI 会员与供应链副总监。

查找所有 BCI 成员的列表 点击此处。

说明

BCI 使用质量平衡监管链模型,这是一种广泛使用的数量跟踪系统,允许良好棉花在进入供应链后被替换或与传统棉花混合,前提是等量采购为良好棉花。 良好棉花平台 (BCP) 是 BCI 的在线系统,被 9,000 多家轧花厂、贸易商、纺纱厂、面料厂、服装和最终产品制造商、采购代理和零售商使用,以电子方式记录作为良好棉花采购的棉花通过供应链。 30 年,良好棉花平台的用户增长了 2020%。 了解有关物料平衡的更多信息.

分享此页

Global Retailers and Brands Sourced 13% More Better Cotton in 2020

Announcements Thursday, February 25th, 2021

 
The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) engages and brings together the entire cotton sector, from farmers, ginners and spinners to civil society organisations and major global retailers and brands, to establish more sustainable cotton as the norm.

Among BCI’s 2,000 members, its Retailer and Brand Members are influencing the market and driving demand by sourcing more sustainable cotton as their raw material of choice. Better Cotton – the cotton grown by licensed BCI Farmers – often forms a significant part of a retailer’s portfolio of more sustainable cotton, which may also include organic, Fairtrade and recycled cotton.

In 2020, and notwithstanding the significant impacts felt by retail markets due to Covid-19, 192 BCI Retailer and Brand Members sourced 1.7 million tonnes of Better Cotton – a record for BCI and the industry. This represents a 13% increase on 2019 sourcing volumes.

“H&M Group wants to lead the change towards circular and climate positive fashion, and one of the key tools to do this is to shift from conventional cotton to cotton sourced in a more sustainable way. We have come a long way on this journey and it’s positive that an increasing number of companies, including H&M Group, are sourcing more sustainable cotton, including cotton sourced through the Better Cotton Initiative. Contributing to real impact at farm level to help cotton growers to embrace environmentally friendlier, and socially and economically sustainable farming methods is crucial to us and BCI allows us to achieve that.” – Cecilia Brannsten, Environmental Sustainability Manager, H&M Group.

BCI’s demand-driven funding model means that when BCI Retailer and Brand Members source cotton as Better Cotton, it directly translates into increased investment in training for cotton farmers on more sustainable practices, as set out in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria.

Supplier and Manufacturer Members also form a critical link between demand and supply of Better Cotton and are committed to sourcing increased volumes year on year. In 2020, spinners sourced an incredible 2.7 million tonnes of Better Cotton, ensuring there was ample supply available on the global market.

BCI Members remained focussed on their commitments to sustainability through this challenging year. From civil society members supporting farmers on protective measures for Covid-19, to commercial members continuing to source Better Cotton, and thereby invest in cotton farming communities, BCI Members were more active and engaged than ever. Now we look ahead to 2021 and supporting even more ambitious sourcing plans from our growing membership.” – Paula Lum Young-Bautil, Deputy Director, Membership & Supply Chain, BCI.

Find a list of all BCI Members here.

Notes

BCI uses a Mass Balance Chain of Custody Model, which is a widely used volume tracking system that allows Better Cotton to be substituted or mixed with conventional cotton once it enters the supply chain, provided equivalent volumes are sourced as Better Cotton. The Better Cotton Platform (BCP) is BCI’s online system used by more than 9,000 ginners, traders, spinners, fabric mills, garment and end product manufacturers, sourcing agents and retailers to electronically document volumes of cotton sourced as Better Cotton as they pass through the supply chain. Users of the Better Cotton Platform grew by 30% in 2020. Learn more about Mass Balance.