公司信息

作者:Lena Staafgard,Better Cotton,首席运营官

人类收到了迄今为​​止最严重的气候变化警告,IPCC 的最新报告 报告 确认气温可能上升超过 1.5°C,导致更广泛的极端天气,除非采取紧急行动。

BCI 首席运营官 Lena Staafgard

所有棉花种植区都将受到气候风险的影响,根据 棉2040,主要是通过热应激、水分应激和缩短的生长季节。 最重要的是,小农往往无法获得知识、资源和资金来保护生计或使其生计多样化,他们仍然特别容易受到气候变化的影响。

BCI 已经采取果断行动,支持全球推动减少温室气体排放、实现碳中和,并确保小农能够继续种植我们每天都消费的商品。 对我们来说,这意味着帮助棉农和工人,尤其是小农,建立气候适应能力。

我们深入了解了良好棉花的碳足迹,为我们即将实施的全球气候变化战略提供了信息。 该战略将于今年晚些时候推出,将涵盖三个领域,帮助我们为农民带来最大利益——减少棉花种植对气候的影响,帮助农民适应他们的做法,以及实现公平、包容的转型。

但是,这实际上意味着什么?

基于我们在开发和资助全球计划以大规模接触棉农方面的经验,我们的目标是利用我们的召集力和全球网络来推动整个棉花行业及其他领域的变革。

我们将召集世界各地的利益相关者,帮助鼓励和发展金融计划,激励所有棉农采用更可持续的做法,并在发生气候灾害时对他们进行补偿。

重要的是,我们将与我们的合作伙伴合作,更好地测试、监测和扩展创新的气候友好型实践。 例如,我们支持农民通过使用覆盖作物*或条耕等实践来优先考虑土壤保护——这种技术使用最少的耕作并且只干扰包含种子行的土壤部分。 我们的合作伙伴还与农民合作,使用益虫作为合成农药的替代品,并采用短沟灌溉等技术,水流速度更快,分布更均匀,以更有效地利用水资源。 结合起来,这些类型的做法可以帮助适应和缓解气候变化。

良好棉花标准一直非常关注土壤健康,但随着我们的前进,我们将着眼于进一步推广通过恢复土壤中的有机碳来增强土壤健康的再生农业原则。 耕作方式可以在土壤固碳能力和使其成为“碳汇”的潜力方面发挥重要作用。 请留意我们将在本月晚些时候发布的关于再生农业的另一篇博文。

了解进展以推动影响

为了对尽可能多的农民产生影响,我们需要了解如何最好地取得进展。 这就是我们与多个合作伙伴合作以协调我们衡量棉花种植可持续性风险和绩效的方式的原因。

与参与黄金标准气候影响项目的其他 ISEAL 可持续性标准成员一起,我们正在努力量化与良好棉花和其他商品相关的碳减排量,以便企业组织可以使用并计入其气候承诺。 我们的共同目标是在系统层面提高可持续性绩效,帮助改变农产品的生产方式。 对于良好棉花,我们将定义衡量进展的最佳方式,并根据温室气体协议和基于科学的目标倡议制定明确的指导方针。 进入碳市场也将有助于增加良好棉花对农民的价值。

通过另一个合作项目 Delta 框架,我们支持创建一种共享方法来衡量和交流棉花和咖啡等关键商品的可持续性进展。 我们根据联合国 15 年可持续发展目标,在确定 2030 项共同的社会、环境和经济目标并制定 XNUMX 项指标方面发挥了重要作用。 这将包括一个侧重于通过更可持续的农业减少温室气体排放的指标。 特别是,我们在南非和印度测试了框架的酷农场工具,以了解我们如何最好地利用结果来推动进展。

有关 BCI 如何优化可持续性数据以推动影响的更多信息,请阅读更多 此处.

要了解有关 BCI 如何采取行动应对气候变化的更多信息,请访问我们的 SDG 中心 此处.

*覆盖作物是一种主要用于帮助抑制杂草、控制水土流失、改善土壤质量以及控制病虫害的植物。

分享此页

General

By Lena Staafgard, Better Cotton, COO

Humanity has received its starkest warning yet on climate change, with the IPCC’s latest report confirming temperatures are likely to rise by more than 1.5°C, resulting in more widespread extreme weather, unless urgent action is taken.

Lena Staafgard, BCI COO

All cotton-growing regions will be affected by climate risks, according to Cotton 2040, predominantly through heat stress, water stress and shortened growing seasons. Above all, smallholder farmers, who often lack access to the knowledge, resources and finance to protect or diversify their livelihoods, remain particularly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change.

BCI is already acting decisively to support the global push to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, achieve carbon neutrality, and ensure that smallholder farmers can continue cultivating the commodities we all consume every day. For us, this means helping cotton farmers and workers, especially smallholders, to build climate resilience.

We have built an in-depth understanding of Better Cotton’s carbon footprint to inform our upcoming global climate change strategy. Due to launch later this year, the strategy will cover the three areas that will help us deliver maximum benefit to farmers – reducing the climate impact of cotton farming, helping farmers to adapt their practices, and enabling a fair, inclusive transition.

But what does this mean in practice?

Building on our experience in developing and funding global programmes to reach cotton farmers at scale, we aim to leverage our convening power and global network to drive change across the cotton sector and beyond.

We’ll gather stakeholders worldwide to help encourage and grow financial schemes that create incentives for all cotton farmers to adopt more sustainable practices and compensate them in the event of climate disasters.

Importantly, we’ll work with our partners to better test, monitor and scale innovative climate-friendly practices. For example, we are supporting farmers to prioritise soil conservation by using practices such as cover cropping* or strip till – a technique that uses minimum tillage and only disturbs the portion of the soil that contains the seed row. Our partners are also working with farmers to use beneficial insects as an alternative to synthetic pesticides, and employ techniques such as short furrow irrigation, where water flows at a faster pace and is more evenly distributed, to use water resources more efficiently. Combined, these kinds of practices can help with both climate change adaptation and mitigation.

The Better Cotton Standard has always had a strong focus on soil health, but as we move forward, we will look to further promote principles of regenerative agriculture that enhance soil health by restoring organic carbon in the soil. Farming practices can play an important role in the soil’s ability to sequester carbon and provide the potential for it to become a ‘carbon sink.’ Keep an eye out for another blog post we will publish later this month on regenerative agriculture.

Understanding progress to drive impact

To create impact for the largest number of farmers possible, we need to understand how best to make progress. That’s why we’re collaborating with multiple partners to harmonise the way we measure sustainability risks and performance in cotton farming.

Together with other ISEAL sustainability standard members involved in the Gold Standard’s Climate Impact Project, we’re working to quantify carbon emission reductions linked to Better Cotton and other commodities in a way that corporate organisations can use and count towards their climate commitments. Our collective aim is to improve sustainability performance at a systemic level, helping to transform the way agricultural commodities are produced. For Better Cotton, we’ll define the best way to measure progress and develop clear guidance in line with the GHG Protocol and the Science-Based Targets Initiative. This entry into the carbon market will also help to increase the value of Better Cotton for farmers.

Through another collaborative project, the Delta Framework, we’re supporting the creation of a shared approach to measure and communicate sustainability progress for key commodities such as cotton and coffee. We have played an important role in identifying nine common social, environmental and economic goals, and developing 15 indicators, in line with the UN’s 2030 Sustainable Development Goals. This will include an indicator focusing on reducing GHG emissions by farming more sustainably. In particular, we have tested the Framework’s Cool Farm Tool in South Africa and India to understand how we can best use the results to drive progress.

For more information on how BCI is optimising sustainability data to drive impact, read more here.

To understand more about how BCI is taking action to fight climate change, visit our SDG hub here.

*A cover crop is a type of plant grown primarily to help suppress weeds, manage soil erosion, improve soil quality, and control diseases and pests.

Translate »