استدامة

 
في عام 2019 ، 150 من الأكثر شهرة في العالم اشترى تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية مجتمعة أكثر من 1.5 مليون طن متري من القطن تحت اسم "قطن أفضل- هذا يكفي من القطن لصنع ما يقرب من 1.5 مليار زوج من الجينز. حقق تجار التجزئة ، الذين هم جميعًا أعضاء في مبادرة Better Cotton (BCI) ، معلمًا جديدًا في مجال التوريد وأرسلوا إشارة واضحة إلى السوق بأن هناك طلبًا متزايدًا على القطن المزروع بشكل أكثر استدامة.

امتصاص1 من أفضل القطن - القطن المنتج من قبل المزارعين BCI المرخصين بما يتماشى مع مبادئ ومعايير أفضل للقطن - بنسبة 40٪ عن العام السابق. يمثل الحجم الذي تم الحصول عليه من قبل 150 بائع تجزئة وأعضاء في BCI في عام 2019 6٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي2. من خلال زيادة التزامات التوريد على أساس سنوي ودمج Better Cotton في استراتيجيات المصادر المستدامة الخاصة بهم ، تعمل BCI Retailer وأعضاء العلامة التجارية على زيادة الطلب على إنتاج قطن أكثر استدامة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

شارك عضو BCI منذ فترة طويلة Decathlon أفكاره حول BCI و Better Cotton ؛ "في حين أن القطن الأفضل المادي لا يمكن إرجاعه إلى المنتج النهائي ، ما يهم هو أن الأموال التي يتم توجيهها من خلال BCI ينتهي بها الأمر إلى المساهمة في تدريب المزارعين وتوسيع شبكة مزارعي القطن الذين يعملون على تحسين سبل عيشهم ، مع حماية البيئة واستعادتها. الهدف هو الحصول على قطن أكثر استدامة بنسبة 100٪ بحلول عام 2020 - إنه مزيج من القطن الأفضل مع القطن العضوي والمعاد تدويره. لقد ولّد هذا الالتزام مستوى عالٍ من التحفيز داخليًا في Decathlon. كان فريق BCI دائمًا داعمًا لرحلتنا ، والاستماع إلى احتياجاتنا والاستجابة بسرعة لأي تحديات واجهناها"، يقول ناجي بنسيد ، مدير الغزل والألياف ، ديكاتلون

إن نموذج التمويل الذي يعتمد على الطلب في BCI يعني أن مصادر تجارة التجزئة والعلامات التجارية لـ Better Cotton يترجم مباشرة إلى زيادة الاستثمار في تدريب مزارعي القطن على ممارسات أكثر استدامة. على سبيل المثال ، في موسم القطن 2018-19 ، ساهم تجار التجزئة وأعضاء العلامات التجارية والجهات المانحة العامة (DFAT) و IDH (مبادرة التجارة المستدامة) بأكثر من 11 مليون جنيه إسترليني في المشاريع على المستوى الميداني ، مما مكن أكثر من 1.3 مليون مزارع قطن في الصين والهند وباكستان وتركيا وطاجيكستان وموزمبيق لتلقي الدعم وبناء القدرات والتدريب.3

يلعب مورد BCI وأعضاء الشركة المصنعة أيضًا دورًا مهمًا في زيادة الاستيعاب حيث يقومون بسد الفجوة بين العرض والطلب على قطن أفضل. في عام 2019 ، قام الموردون والمصنعون بشراء أكثر من مليوني طن متري من القطن باسم Better Cotton ، مما يضمن توفر إمدادات كافية لتلبية احتياجات تجار التجزئة.

سيتم الكشف عن تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية وتجار القطن والمغازل الذين قاموا بشراء أكبر كميات من Better Cotton في عام 2019 في Better Cotton Leaderboard لعام 2019 ، والتي سيتم إطلاقها في المؤتمر العالمي لاستدامة القطن لعام 2020 في يونيو. يمكنك عرض ليدربورد 2018 هنا.

ملاحظة

1يشير Uptake إلى مصادر وشراء قطن أكثر استدامة في سلسلة التوريد. من خلال "الحصول على القطن باعتباره قطن أفضل" ، تشير BCI إلى الإجراء الذي اتخذه الأعضاء عندما يقدمون طلبات للمنتجات المحتوية على القطن. لا يشير إلى القطن الموجود في المنتج النهائي. تستخدم BCI سلسلة من نماذج الوصاية تسمى Mass Balance حيث يتم تتبع أحجام Better Cotton على منصة مصادر عبر الإنترنت. قد يتم خلط Better Cotton مع القطن التقليدي أو استبداله به في رحلته من حقل إلى آخر ، ومع ذلك ، فإن أحجام Better Cotton التي يطالب بها الأعضاء على المنصة عبر الإنترنت لا تتجاوز أبدًا الأحجام التي يتم شراؤها فعليًا من قبل المغازل والتجار.
2وفقًا لأرقام إنتاج القطن العالمية التي أبلغت عنها ICAC. يتوفر مزيد من المعلوماتهنا.
3في حين أن الاستثمار من BCI Retailer and Brand members ، والجهات المانحة العامة (DFAT) ، و IDH (مبادرة التجارة المستدامة) ، التي تم حشدها من خلال صندوق Better Cotton Growth and Innovation ، وصلت إلى أكثر من 1.3 مليون مزارع في موسم 2018-2019 ، The Better Cotton من المتوقع أن تصل مبادرة Initiativeis إلى أكثر من 2.5 مليون مزارع قطن في هذا الموسم. سيتم إصدار الأرقام النهائية (بما في ذلك أرقام الترخيص النهائية) في ربيع 2020 في التقرير السنوي لـ BCI لعام 2019.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

BCI Retailer and Brand Members Increase Better Cotton Sourcing by 40% in 2019

Announcements Wednesday, January 29th, 2020

 
In 2019, 150 of the world’s most recognised retailers and brands collectively sourced more than 1.5 million metric tonnes of cotton as ‘Better Cotton’ – that is enough cotton to make approximately 1.5 billion pairs of jeans. The retailers, who are all members of the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), hit a new sourcing milestone and sent a clear signal to the market that there is increasing demand for more sustainably grown cotton.

Uptake1 of Better Cotton – cotton produced by licensed BCI Farmers in line with the Better Cotton Principles and Criteriaincreased by 40% on the previous year. The volume sourced by BCI’s 150 Retailer and Brand Members in 2019 represents 6% of global cotton production2. By increasing sourcing commitments year-on-year and integrating Better Cotton into their sustainable sourcing strategies, BCI Retailer and Brand Members are driving demand for more sustainable cotton production worldwide.

Long-standing BCI Member Decathlon shared their thoughts on BCI and Better Cotton; “While physical Better Cotton is not traceable to the end-product, what matters is that the funds channelled through BCI end up contributing to farmer training and expanding the network of cotton farmers who are improving their livelihoods, while protecting and restoring the environment. Decathlon has a target to source 100% more sustainable cotton by 2020 – this is a combination of Better Cotton together with organic and recycled cotton. This commitment has generated a high level of motivation internally at Decathlon. The BCI Team has also always been supportive of our journey, listening to our needs and quickly responding to any challenges we met,” says Nagy Bensid, Director Yarns and Fibres, Decathlon

BCI’s demand-driven funding model means that retailer and brand sourcing of Better Cotton directly translates into increased investment in training for cotton farmers on more sustainable practices. For example, in the 2018-19 cotton season, Retailer and Brand Members, public donors (DFAT) and IDH (the Sustainable Trade Initiative) contributed more than €11 million to field-level projects, enabling more than 1.3 million cotton farmers in China, India, Pakistan, Turkey, Tajikistan and Mozambique to receive support, capacity building and training.3

BCI Supplier and Manufacturer Members also play a crucial role in increasing uptake as they bridge the gap between Better Cotton supply and demand. In 2019, suppliers and manufacturers sourced more than two million metric tonnes of cotton as Better Cotton, ensuring that there was enough supply available to meet retailers’ needs.

The retailers and brands, cotton traders and spinners who sourced the largest volumes of Better Cotton in 2019 will be revealed in the 2019 Better Cotton Leaderboard, launching at the 2020 Global Cotton Sustainability Conference in June. You can view the 2018 Leaderboard here.

Notes

1Uptake refers to the sourcing and purchasing of more sustainable cotton in a supply chain. By ‘sourcing cotton as Better Cotton,’ BCI is referring to the action taken by members when they place orders for cotton-containing products. It does not refer to the cotton present in the finished product. BCI uses a chain of custody model called Mass Balance whereby volumes of Better Cotton are tracked on an online sourcing platform. Better Cotton may be mixed with or replaced by conventional cotton in its journey from field to product, however, the volumes of Better Cotton claimed by members on the online platform never exceeds the volumes physically procured by spinners and traders.
 2As per the global cotton production figures reported by ICAC. More information is available here.
 3While the investment from BCI Retailer and Brand Members, public donors (DFAT), and IDH (the Sustainable Trade Initiative), mobilised through the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund, reached over 1.3 million farmers in the 2018-2019 season, the Better Cotton Initiative is forecast to reach more than 2.5 million cotton farmers in the season. The final figures (including final licensing figures) will be released in spring 2020 in BCI’s 2019 Annual Report.