可持续性

 
2019 年,全球最受认可的 150 零售商和品牌商总共采购了超过 1.5 万公吨的棉花作为“Better Cotton'——这足以生产大约 1.5 亿条牛仔裤。 零售商都是更好棉花倡议 (BCI) 的成员,他们达到了一个新的采购里程碑,并向市场发出了明确的信号,即对更可持续种植的棉花的需求不断增加。

摄取1 良好棉花 – 由获得许可的 BCI 农民生产的棉花符合 良好棉花原则和标准比上年增加了 40%。 BCI 150 家零售商和品牌会员在 2019 年采购的数量代表 占全球棉花产量的 6%2. 通过逐年增加采购承诺并将良好棉花纳入其可持续采购战略,BCI 零售商和品牌成员正在推动全球对更可持续棉花生产的需求。

BCI 老会员迪卡侬分享了他们对 BCI 和良好棉花的看法; ”虽然实物良好棉花无法追溯到最终产品,但重要的是通过 BCI 提供的资金最终有助于农民培训和扩大棉农网络,他们正在改善生计,同时保护和恢复环境。迪卡侬已经一个目标是到 100 年采购 2020% 以上的可持续棉花——这是更好的棉花与有机和再生棉花的结合。 这一承诺在迪卡侬内部产生了高水平的动力。 BCI 团队也一直支持我们的旅程,倾听我们的需求并快速响应我们遇到的任何挑战,”迪卡侬纱线和纤维总监 Nagy Bensid 说

BCI 的需求驱动型融资模式意味着零售商和品牌采购良好棉花直接转化为增加投资,对棉农进行更可持续的实践培训。 例如,在 2018-19 棉花季节,零售商和品牌成员、公共捐助者 (DFAT) 和 IDH(可持续贸易倡议)为田间项目贡献了超过 11 万英镑,使超过 1.3 万棉农受益在中国、印度、巴基斯坦、土耳其、塔吉克斯坦和莫桑比克接受支持、能力建设和培训。3

BCI 供应商和制造商成员在提高吸收率方面也发挥着至关重要的作用,因为他们弥合了良好棉花供需之间的差距。 2019 年,供应商和制造商采购了超过 XNUMX 万吨棉花作为良好棉花,确保有足够的供应来满足零售商的需求。

2019 年采购量最大的良好棉花的零售商和品牌商、棉花贸易商和纺纱商将在 2019 年良好棉花排行榜中公布,该排行榜将于 2020 月在 2018 年全球棉花可持续发展大会上发布。 您可以查看XNUMX年排行榜 此处.

说明

1吸收是指在供应链中采购更可持续的棉花。通过“将棉花作为良好棉花采购”,BCI 指的是会员在订购含棉产品时采取的行动。 它不是指成品中存在的棉花。 BCI 使用称为质量平衡的监管链模型,借此在在线采购平台上跟踪良好棉花的数量。 在从田间到产品的过程中,良好棉花可能会与传统棉花混合或被传统棉花取代,但是,在线平台上会员声称的良好棉花数量永远不会超过纺纱商和贸易商实际采购的数量。
2根据廉政公署报告的全球棉花产量数据。 更多信息可用此处.
3虽然 BCI 零售商和品牌成员、公共捐助者 (DFAT) 和 IDH(可持续贸易倡议)的投资通过良好棉花增长和创新基金动员,在 1.3-2018 年度惠及了超过 2019 万农民,但良好棉花预计本季倡议将惠及超过 2.5 万棉农。 最终数据(包括最终许可数据)将于 2020 年春季在 BCI 2019 年年度报告中公布。

分享此页

BCI Retailer and Brand Members Increase Better Cotton Sourcing by 40% in 2019

Announcements Wednesday, January 29th, 2020

 
In 2019, 150 of the world’s most recognised retailers and brands collectively sourced more than 1.5 million metric tonnes of cotton as ‘Better Cotton’ – that is enough cotton to make approximately 1.5 billion pairs of jeans. The retailers, who are all members of the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), hit a new sourcing milestone and sent a clear signal to the market that there is increasing demand for more sustainably grown cotton.

Uptake1 of Better Cotton – cotton produced by licensed BCI Farmers in line with the Better Cotton Principles and Criteriaincreased by 40% on the previous year. The volume sourced by BCI’s 150 Retailer and Brand Members in 2019 represents 6% of global cotton production2. By increasing sourcing commitments year-on-year and integrating Better Cotton into their sustainable sourcing strategies, BCI Retailer and Brand Members are driving demand for more sustainable cotton production worldwide.

Long-standing BCI Member Decathlon shared their thoughts on BCI and Better Cotton; “While physical Better Cotton is not traceable to the end-product, what matters is that the funds channelled through BCI end up contributing to farmer training and expanding the network of cotton farmers who are improving their livelihoods, while protecting and restoring the environment. Decathlon has a target to source 100% more sustainable cotton by 2020 – this is a combination of Better Cotton together with organic and recycled cotton. This commitment has generated a high level of motivation internally at Decathlon. The BCI Team has also always been supportive of our journey, listening to our needs and quickly responding to any challenges we met,” says Nagy Bensid, Director Yarns and Fibres, Decathlon

BCI’s demand-driven funding model means that retailer and brand sourcing of Better Cotton directly translates into increased investment in training for cotton farmers on more sustainable practices. For example, in the 2018-19 cotton season, Retailer and Brand Members, public donors (DFAT) and IDH (the Sustainable Trade Initiative) contributed more than €11 million to field-level projects, enabling more than 1.3 million cotton farmers in China, India, Pakistan, Turkey, Tajikistan and Mozambique to receive support, capacity building and training.3

BCI Supplier and Manufacturer Members also play a crucial role in increasing uptake as they bridge the gap between Better Cotton supply and demand. In 2019, suppliers and manufacturers sourced more than two million metric tonnes of cotton as Better Cotton, ensuring that there was enough supply available to meet retailers’ needs.

The retailers and brands, cotton traders and spinners who sourced the largest volumes of Better Cotton in 2019 will be revealed in the 2019 Better Cotton Leaderboard, launching at the 2020 Global Cotton Sustainability Conference in June. You can view the 2018 Leaderboard here.

Notes

1Uptake refers to the sourcing and purchasing of more sustainable cotton in a supply chain. By ‘sourcing cotton as Better Cotton,’ BCI is referring to the action taken by members when they place orders for cotton-containing products. It does not refer to the cotton present in the finished product. BCI uses a chain of custody model called Mass Balance whereby volumes of Better Cotton are tracked on an online sourcing platform. Better Cotton may be mixed with or replaced by conventional cotton in its journey from field to product, however, the volumes of Better Cotton claimed by members on the online platform never exceeds the volumes physically procured by spinners and traders.
 2As per the global cotton production figures reported by ICAC. More information is available here.
 3While the investment from BCI Retailer and Brand Members, public donors (DFAT), and IDH (the Sustainable Trade Initiative), mobilised through the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund, reached over 1.3 million farmers in the 2018-2019 season, the Better Cotton Initiative is forecast to reach more than 2.5 million cotton farmers in the season. The final figures (including final licensing figures) will be released in spring 2020 in BCI’s 2019 Annual Report.