活动

本周,BCI 2018 年全球棉花会议于 27 月 28 日至 XNUMX 日将整个行业聚集在一起,共同为棉花创造更可持续的未来。 我们现在已经到了会议的尾声,想与今年未能在比利时布鲁塞尔参加我们的所有人分享我们的前五名亮点。

可持续发展目标

1969 年,我们第一次看到地球,由此引发了一场保护地球的运动。 联合国前可持续发展顾问布赖斯·拉隆德 (Brice Lalonde) 在会议开幕时就可持续发展目标的演变及其推动积极变革的力量进行了有力而充满活力的演讲。 可持续发展目标为跨越国界和政治格局的全球行动提供了明确的框架。

扩大需求和 CottonUp 指南

未来论坛首席执行官 Sally Uren 博士和 C&A 基金会可持续原材料主管 Anita Chester 在会议上发布了新的 CottonUp 指南。 CottonUp 是采购更可持续棉花的指南,旨在为零售商和品牌提供信息,以增加其更可持续棉花的采购量。 看一眼http://www.cottonupguide.org并与您的同事分享。

BCI 农民小组

三位 BCI 农民 Zeb Winslow III(美国)、Vinodbhai Jasrajbhai Patel(印度)和 Almas Parveen(巴基斯坦)与与会者分享了他们引人入胜的个人故事。 由于巴基斯坦签证问题,很遗憾,阿尔玛斯无法亲自出席会议,而是通过视频表达了她的心声。 从挑战性别不平等到培训同龄人,再到实施创新的可持续实践,这个富有洞察力和情感的会议将更多可持续的棉花生产带入生活。

分组会议

在为期两天的会议期间,众多不同的分组会议让与会者可以选择感兴趣的领域级别、供应链或面向消费者的主题。 分组讨论是互动的,观众与小组成员一起参与解决该行业的主要挑战和解决方案。

采捕

在整个会议期间,一个图形记录器概括了每个会议的关键点,并以视觉方式将这些想法变为现实。 这最终导致了一个高度参与的会议,称为“收获”。 会议促使与会者展望 2030 年。讨论的重点是成功和进步的故事、对棉花行业未来的希望、我们现在可获得的最大机会以及变革所需的行动。

感谢所有演讲者、小组成员和参与者,BCI 2018 全球棉花会议取得了巨大成功。 我们期待明年在 11 年 13 月 2019-XNUMX 日在上海见到大家。

分享此页

BCI 2018 Global Cotton Conference: Highlights

Events Thursday, June 28th, 2018

This week, the BCI 2018 Global Cotton Conference brought the entire sector together on 27–28 June, to collaborate on a more sustainable future for cotton. We have now reached the end of the conference and would like to share our top five highlights with all of you who could not join us in Brussels, Belgium, this year.

Sustainable Development Goals

In 1969 we saw the Earth for the first time, and in doing so it sparked a movement towards protecting it. Brice Lalonde, former sustainability advisor to the UN, opened the conference with a powerful and energetic talk on the evolution of the Sustainable Development Goals and their power to drive positive change. The SDGs provide a clear framework for global action which sits above country borders and political landscapes.

Scaling Demand and the CottonUp Guide

Dr. Sally Uren, CEO at Forum for the Future and Anita Chester, Head of Sustainable Raw Materials at C&A Foundation, launched the new CottonUp guide at the conference. CottonUp is a guide to sourcing more sustainable cotton and aims to equip retailers and brands with information to increase their sourcing volumes of more sustainable cotton. Take a look at http://www.cottonupguide.org and share it with your colleagues.

BCI Farmer Panel

Three BCI Farmers, Zeb Winslow III (USA), Vinodbhai Jasrajbhai Patel (India) and Almas Parveen (Pakistan) shared their captivating personal stories with conference attendees. Due to Pakistani visa issues, Almas, unfortunately, could not attend the conference in person, but gave her heartfelt account via video. From challenging gender inequality, to training their peers, to implementing innovative sustainable practices, this insightful and emotive session brought more sustainable cotton production to life.

Breakout Sessions

Numerous and varied breakout sessions during the two-day conference allowed attendees to choose from field level, supply chain or consumer facing topics of interest. Breakout sessions were interactive, and the audience participated with panellists to address key challenges and solutions in the sector.

 The Harvest

Throughout the conference, a graphic recorder encapsulated key points from each session and brought these ideas to life visually. This culminated in a highly participatory session called ‘The Harvest.’ The session prompted attendees to think ahead to 2030. Discussions were focused on stories of success and progress, hopes for the future in the cotton sector, the greatest opportunities available to us now, and actions required for change.

Thanks to all of the presenters, panellists and participants, the BCI 2018 Global Cotton Conference has been a great success. We look forward to seeing everyone next year in Shanghai, 11-13 June 2019.