可持续性

 
在 2020 年世界水周,我们很高兴发布最新的“实地报道”,探讨一位 BCI 农民对试验节水实践的承诺如何促使他安装了塔吉克斯坦的第一个管状灌溉系统,仅用一次就节水了近 XNUMX 万升棉花季节。

解决塔吉克斯坦的水资源短缺问题:一位 BCI 农民承诺尝试创新的节水做法

被塔吉克斯坦北部壮丽的山脉所环绕,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 的农民 Sharipov Habibullo 在他的棉田里努力工作,向他邻近的 BCI 农民展示了最新的节水农业技术。

在塔吉克斯坦,夏季气温通常超过 30 摄氏度,并且 90% 以上的农业用地是灌溉的(而不是雨育的),水资源短缺是农民和社区的主要关注点。

农民通常依靠该国陈旧、效率低下的水道、运河和灌溉系统来灌溉田地和庄稼。 随着气候变化给该地区带来更多的极端高温,它给已经受损的水系统和供应带来了额外的压力。

=水资源短缺阻碍了我们的作物健康生长,影响了我们的产量和我们养家糊口的能力,”沙里波夫在向一群聚集在一起参加 BCI 培训课程的邻近农民发表讲话时说。 “随着气候的变化,季节变得越来越不规则。 我们不再拥有确保丰收所需的稳定性,只有一个小窗口来播种和收获庄稼。”

63 岁的 Sharipov 比大多数人更有能力应对农业挑战,拥有农业经济学学位、30 年的农业经验和他自己的 2010 公顷农场,主要种植棉花(以及洋葱、小麦和玉米)自 XNUMX 年以来。

亲眼目睹了他一生中迅速变化的农业环境,他知道他需要采取进一步行动,不仅要确保他的棉花农场和家人的生计,还要确保共享有限资源的邻近农场和农民的未来并面临同样的挑战。

阅读全文.

 

 

 

您可以在现场找到 BCI 的所有故事 点击此处。

分享此页

World Water Week 2020: Tackling Water Shortages in Tajikistan

Announcements Wednesday, August 26th, 2020

 
In World Water Week 2020, we are pleased to launch our latest Story from the Field which explores how one BCI Farmer’s commitment to trialling water-saving practices led him to install Tajikistan’s first tubular irrigation system, saving almost two million litres of water in just one cotton season.

Tackling Water Shortages in Tajikistan: One BCI Farmer’s Commitment to Trialling Innovative Water-Saving Practices

Surrounded by the dramatic mountains of northern Tajikistan, Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) Farmer Sharipov Habibullo is hard at work in his cotton fields, demonstrating the latest water-efficient farming techniques to his neighbouring BCI Farmers.

In Tajikistan, where temperatures commonly exceed 30 degrees celsius in summer, and more than 90 percent of agricultural land is irrigated (rather than rainfed), water scarcity is a major concern for farmers and communities alike.

Farmers typically rely on the country’s old, inefficient water channels, canals and irrigation systems to water their fields and crops. As climate change brings more extreme heat to the region, it places additional pressure on already compromised water systems and supplies.

Water scarcity prevents our crops from developing healthily, affecting our yields and our ability to provide for our families,” says Sharipov as he addresses a group of neighbouring farmers who have gathered for a BCI training session. “As the climate changes, the seasons are becoming more irregular. We no longer have the stability we need to ensure a good harvest, with just a small window to sow and harvest our crops.”

63-year-old Sharipov is better placed than most to tackle farming challenges, with a degree in agricultural economics, 30 years’ farming experience and his own ten-hectare farm where he has grown primarily cotton (along with onions, wheat and corn) since 2010.

Having witnessed first-hand the farming environment rapidly changing during his life, he knew he needed to take further action to secure the future of not only his cotton farm and his family’s livelihood, but also his neighbouring farms and farmers who share the same limited resources and face the same challenges.

Read the full story.

 

 

 

You can find all of BCI’s Stories from the Field here.