تركيا

قطن أفضل في تركيا

يعد القطن محصولًا مهمًا في تركيا، حيث توجد صناعة نسيج محلية كبيرة تعتمد على الألياف.

الشريحة 1
2,00
المزارعون المرخصون
0,381
طن من أفضل القطن
0,551
حصاد هكتار

كما سابع أكبر منتج القطن على مستوى العالم ، يعتبر القطن أيضًا محصولًا تصديريًا مهمًا للبلاد. في حين أن 80 ٪ من القطن التركي يتم حصاده آليًا ، إلا أن الزراعة لا تزال تتطلب الكثير من العمال المؤقتين والموسميين الذين يعملون لساعات طويلة في ظروف سيئة في كثير من الأحيان.

في عام 2011، تواصلت الجهات الفاعلة الرائدة في قطاع القطن التركي مع شركة Better Cotton لبدء برنامج Better Cotton في تركيا. وبعد فترة بحث واسعة النطاق، قامت المنظمة غير الحكومية ıyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD) - جمعية الممارسات الجيدة للقطن - تم إنشاؤها لتمثيل جميع أصحاب المصلحة في القطن في البلاد. المنظمة الآن هي شريكنا الاستراتيجي في المنطقة ، وقد تم أول حصاد للقطن التركي الأفضل في عام 2013.

شركاء أفضل للقطن في تركيا

بصفته شريكنا الاستراتيجي، تقوم IPUD بتنفيذ النظام القياسي للقطن الأفضل وتدير إنتاج القطن الأفضل في تركيا. بفضل قاعدة عضويتها المتنوعة التي تشمل المزارعين وأصحاب الحُلاج والمصنعين ومنظمات المجتمع المدني، تعمل IPUD على بناء عرض وطلب أفضل للقطن في تركيا وتحويل القطن التركي إلى سلعة رئيسية مستدامة.

تتعاون IPUD مع معاهد البحوث الحكومية والجامعات والجهات الفاعلة في سلسلة التوريد وغيرها من المنظمات الوطنية والدولية لتعزيز ممارسات إنتاج القطن المستدام في تركيا.

تعمل شركة Better Cotton أيضًا مع شركاء البرنامج التاليين في تركيا:

  • Canbel Tarim Urunleri Danismanlik Egitim Pazarlama San. عرة. Ltd. Sti ،
  • إدارة التنمية الإقليمية جاب
  • الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة في تركيا

تحديات الاستدامة

بسبب ارتفاع عدد السكان والتصنيع السريع، تركيا فهي دولة تعاني من ضغوط مائية، وهي مشكلة من المتوقع أن تتفاقم مع تغير المناخ. ومن خلال معرفة ذلك، يعد ضمان توفر المياه أحد التحديات الرئيسية التي يواجهها مزارعو القطن الأتراك.

تمثل قضايا حقوق الإنسان تحديًا آخر في قطاع القطن في تركيا، حيث يتم العمل غالبًا بواسطة عمال مؤقتين وموسميين ليس لديهم عقود عمل مكتوبة. ويشكل هذا الأمر مشكلة خاصة بالنسبة للمزارع في منطقة شانلي أورفا في جنوب شرق الأناضول، حيث يُزرع 40% من القطن في تركيا. يقضي الآلاف من عمال المزارع المؤقتين هناك - والعديد منهم من اللاجئين السوريين - ساعات طويلة في العمل في الحقول حيث تصل درجات الحرارة بانتظام إلى 40 درجة مئوية + ولا يتم تلبية الاحتياجات الأساسية، مثل الحماية المناسبة من أشعة الشمس أو الإسعافات الأولية.

تعرف على المزيد حول النتائج التي يواجهها المزارعون من خلال المشاركة في برنامج Better Cotton في أحدث برامجنا تقرير نتائج المزارع.

أفضل قطن تركيا رحلة ميدانية، برعاية كاليك كوتون، كاليك دينيم وجاب بازارلاما

في 4-6 أكتوبر 2023، قمنا بتنظيم رحلة ميدانية إلى مقاطعات شانلي أورفا التركية وملاطية، برعاية كاليك كوتون، كاليك دينيم وجاب بازارلاما. أتاحت الرحلة للحاضرين الفرصة لاستكشاف أنشطة إنتاج القطن وحلجه وسلسلة التوريد وتنفيذ معيار القطن الأفضل في تركيا.

لمعرفة المزيد عن الرحلة، توجه إلى الرابط التالي.

أن أصبح مزارع قطن موثوقًا به في صناعة الملابس والمنسوجات العالمية يعني توفير ظروف عمل لائقة للعمال وضمان عدم وجود عمال دون السن القانونية في مزرعتي. منحني الانضمام إلى المشروع فرصة لزيادة تحسين ممارسات التوظيف في مزرعتي وحماية العمال الضعفاء ، مما سيعزز سمعتي أيضًا.

تواصل معنا

اتصل بفريقنا عبر نموذج الاتصال إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد، أو أن تصبح شريكًا، أو إذا كنت مزارعًا مهتمًا بزراعة Better Cotton.

Turkey
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Türkiye

Better Cotton in Türkiye

Cotton is an important crop in Türkiye, where there is a large domestic textile industry that relies on the fibre.

Slide 1
2,00
Licensed Farmers
0,381
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,551
Hectares Harvested

As the seventh-largest cotton producer globally, cotton is also a significant export crop for the country. While 80% of Turkish cotton is machine harvested, farming is still demanding for the many temporary and seasonal workers who work long hours in often poor conditions.

In 2011, leading actors in the Turkish cotton sector approached Better Cotton to start a Better Cotton programme in Türkiye. After an extensive research period, the NGO İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD) – the Good Cotton Practices Association — was created to represent all of the country’s cotton stakeholders. The organisation is now our Strategic Partner in the region, and the first Turkish Better Cotton harvest took place in 2013.

Better Cotton Partners in Türkiye

As our Strategic Partner, IPUD implements the Better Cotton Standard System and manages production of Better Cotton in Türkiye. With its diverse membership base spanning farmers and ginners to manufacturers and civil society organisations, IPUD works to build Better Cotton supply and demand in Türkiye and transform Turkish cotton into a sustainable mainstream commodity.

IPUD partners with government research institutes, universities, supply chain actors and other national and international organisations to advance sustainable cotton production practices in Türkiye.

Better Cotton also works with the following Programme Partners in Türkiye:

  • Canbel Tarim Urunleri Danismanlik Egitim Pazarlama San. Tic. Ltd. Sti,
  • GAP Regional Development Administration
  • WWF Turkey

Sustainability challenges

Due to a rising population and rapid industrialisation, Türkiye is a water-stressed country — an issue expected to only worsen with climate change. Knowing this, ensuring water availability is one of the main challenges for Turkish cotton farmers.

Human rights issues are another challenge in Türkiye’s cotton sector as work is often done by temporary and seasonal workers who do not have written employment contracts. This is especially an issue for farms in the Şanlıurfa region of southeast Anatolia where 40% of Türkiye’s cotton is grown. Thousands of temporary farm workers there — many of whom are Syrian refugees — spend long hours working in the fields with temperatures regularly reaching 40°C+ and basic needs, like proper sun protection or first aid, are not met.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Better Cotton Türkiye Field Trip, sponsored by Calik Cotton, Calik Denim and Gap Pazarlama

On October 4-6, 2023, we organised a field trip to the Turkish provinces of Şanlıurfa and Malatya, sponsored by Calik Cotton, Calik Denim and Gap Pazarlama. The trip gave attendees the opportunity to explore cotton production, ginning & supply chain activities, and the implementation of the Better Cotton Standard in Türkiye.

To find out more about the trip, head to this link.

Becoming a trusted cotton farmer to the global apparel and textile industry means providing decent working conditions for workers and ensuring there are never under-age workers on my farm. Joining the project gave me an opportunity to further improve employment practices on my farm and protect vulnerable workers, which will also strengthen my reputation.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner, or if you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.