土耳其
主页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 土耳其更好的棉花

土耳其更好的棉花

棉花是土耳其的重要作物,那里有一个依赖纤维的大型国内纺织工业。

滑动1
1,0
持牌农民
0,000
良好棉花吨数
0,000
收获的公顷

正如 第七大 在全球棉花生产国,棉花也是该国的重要出口作物。 虽然 80% 的土耳其棉花是机器收获的,但农业仍然需要许多临时工和季节性工人,他们在通常恶劣的条件下长时间工作。

2011 年,土耳其棉花行业的主要参与者与 Better Cotton 接洽,希望在土耳其启动一个 Better Cotton 计划。 经过广泛的研究,非政府组织 伊伊·帕穆克·乌伊古拉马拉勒·德尔内格 (IPUD)) – 良好棉花规范协会 – 旨在代表该国所有棉花利益相关者。 该组织现在是我们在该地区的战略合作伙伴,2013 年首次收获了土耳其良好棉花。

土耳其更好的棉花合作伙伴

作为我们的战略合作伙伴,IPUD 在土耳其实施良好棉花标准体系并管理良好棉花的生产。 凭借其多元化的会员基础,从农民和轧花厂到制造商和民间社会组织,IPUD 致力于在土耳其建立良好棉花的供应和需求,并将土耳其棉花转变为可持续的主流商品。

IPUD 与政府研究机构、大学、供应链参与者以及其他国家和国际组织合作,以促进土耳其的可持续棉花生产实践。

Better Cotton 还与土耳其的以下实施合作伙伴合作:

  • Canbel Tarim Urunleri Danismanlik Egitim Pazarlama San。 抽动。 有限公司 Sti,
  • GAP 区域发展管理局
  • 世界自然基金会土耳其

可持续性挑战

由于人口增长和工业化快速发展,土耳其是一个水资源紧张的国家——这个问题预计只会随着气候变化而恶化。 了解这一点后,确保水供应是土耳其棉农面临的主要挑战之一。

人权问题是土耳其棉花部门的另一个挑战,因为工作通常由没有书面雇佣合同的临时工和季节性工人完成。 对于安纳托利亚东南部 Şanlıurfa 地区的农场来说,这尤其是一个问题,土耳其 40% 的棉花都在该地区种植。 那里的数千名临时农场工人——其中许多是叙利亚难民——长时间在地里工作,温度经常达到 40°C 以上,基本需求得不到满足,如适当的防晒或急救。

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

成为全球服装和纺织行业值得信赖的棉农意味着为工人提供体面的工作条件,并确保我的农场永远不会有未成年工人。 加入该项目让我有机会进一步改善我农场的就业实践并保护弱势工人,这也将提高我的声誉。

与您

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Turkey
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Turkey

Better Cotton in Turkey

Cotton is an important crop in Turkey, where there is a large domestic textile industry that relies on the fibre.

Slide 1
3,0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

As the seventh-largest cotton producer globally, cotton is also a significant export crop for the country. While 80% of Turkish cotton is machine harvested, farming is still demanding for the many temporary and seasonal workers who work long hours in often poor conditions.

In 2011, leading actors in the Turkish cotton sector approached Better Cotton to start a Better Cotton programme in Turkey. After an extensive research period, the NGO İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD) – the Good Cotton Practices Association — was created to represent all of the country’s cotton stakeholders. The organisation is now our Strategic Partner in the region, and the first Turkish Better Cotton harvest took place in 2013.

Better Cotton Partners in Turkey

As our Strategic Partner, IPUD implements the Better Cotton Standard System and manages production of Better Cotton in Turkey. With its diverse membership base spanning farmers and ginners to manufacturers and civil society organisations, IPUD works to build Better Cotton supply and demand in Turkey and transform Turkish cotton into a sustainable mainstream commodity.

IPUD partners with government research institutes, universities, supply chain actors and other national and international organisations to advance sustainable cotton production practices in Turkey.

Better Cotton also works with the following Implementing Partners in Turkey:

  • Canbel Tarim Urunleri Danismanlik Egitim Pazarlama San. Tic. Ltd. Sti,
  • GAP Regional Development Administration
  • WWF Turkey

Sustainability challenges

Due to a rising population and rapid industrialisation, Turkey is a water-stressed country — an issue expected to only worsen with climate change. Knowing this, ensuring water availability is one of the main challenges for Turkish cotton farmers.

Human rights issues are another challenge in Turkey’s cotton sector as work is often done by temporary and seasonal workers who do not have written employment contracts. This is especially an issue for farms in the Şanlıurfa region of southeast Anatolia where 40% of Turkey’s cotton is grown. Thousands of temporary farm workers there — many of whom are Syrian refugees — spend long hours working in the fields with temperatures regularly reaching 40°C+ and basic needs, like proper sun protection or first aid, are not met.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Becoming a trusted cotton farmer to the global apparel and textile industry means providing decent working conditions for workers and ensuring there are never under-age workers on my farm. Joining the project gave me an opportunity to further improve employment practices on my farm and protect vulnerable workers, which will also strengthen my reputation.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.