تركيا

أفضل قطن في تركيا

القطن محصول مهم في تركيا ، حيث توجد صناعة نسيج محلية كبيرة تعتمد على الألياف.

الشريحة 1
1,0
المزارعون المرخصون
0,000
طن من أفضل القطن
0,000
حصاد هكتار

كما سابع أكبر منتج القطن على مستوى العالم ، يعتبر القطن أيضًا محصولًا تصديريًا مهمًا للبلاد. في حين أن 80 ٪ من القطن التركي يتم حصاده آليًا ، إلا أن الزراعة لا تزال تتطلب الكثير من العمال المؤقتين والموسميين الذين يعملون لساعات طويلة في ظروف سيئة في كثير من الأحيان.

في عام 2011 ، اتصلت الجهات الفاعلة الرائدة في قطاع القطن التركي بشركة Better Cotton لبدء برنامج Better Cotton في تركيا. بعد فترة بحث واسعة النطاق ، المنظمات غير الحكومية İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD) - جمعية الممارسات الجيدة للقطن - تم إنشاؤها لتمثيل جميع أصحاب المصلحة في القطن في البلاد. المنظمة الآن هي شريكنا الاستراتيجي في المنطقة ، وقد تم أول حصاد للقطن التركي الأفضل في عام 2013.

شركاء أفضل للقطن في تركيا

كشريك استراتيجي لنا ، IPUD يطبق نظام أفضل معايير القطن ويدير إنتاج قطن أفضل في تركيا. مع قاعدة عضويتها المتنوعة التي تمتد من المزارعين والمحلجين إلى المصنعين ومنظمات المجتمع المدني ، تعمل IPUD على بناء عرض وطلب أفضل للقطن في تركيا وتحويل القطن التركي إلى سلعة رئيسية مستدامة.

شركاء IPUD مع معاهد البحوث الحكومية والجامعات والجهات الفاعلة في سلسلة التوريد وغيرها من المنظمات الوطنية والدولية لتعزيز ممارسات إنتاج القطن المستدام في تركيا.

تعمل Better Cotton أيضًا مع الشركاء المنفذين التاليين في تركيا:

  • Canbel Tarim Urunleri Danismanlik Egitim Pazarlama San. عرة. Ltd. Sti ،
  • إدارة التنمية الإقليمية جاب
  • الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة في تركيا

تحديات الاستدامة

نظرًا لتزايد عدد السكان والتصنيع السريع ، تعد تركيا دولة تعاني من الإجهاد المائي - وهي مشكلة من المتوقع أن تزداد سوءًا مع تغير المناخ. مع العلم بذلك ، يعد ضمان توافر المياه أحد التحديات الرئيسية لمزارعي القطن الأتراك.

تمثل قضايا حقوق الإنسان تحديًا آخر في قطاع القطن التركي حيث يتم العمل غالبًا بواسطة عمال مؤقتين وموسميين ليس لديهم عقود عمل مكتوبة. هذه مشكلة خاصة للمزارع في منطقة شانلي أورفا في جنوب شرق الأناضول حيث يزرع 40٪ من القطن التركي. يقضي الآلاف من عمال المزارع المؤقتين هناك - وكثير منهم من اللاجئين السوريين - ساعات طويلة في العمل في الحقول حيث تصل درجات الحرارة بانتظام إلى 40 درجة مئوية ولا يتم تلبية الاحتياجات الأساسية ، مثل الحماية المناسبة من أشعة الشمس أو الإسعافات الأولية.

تعرف على المزيد حول النتائج التي يواجهها المزارعون من خلال المشاركة في برنامج Better Cotton في أحدث برامجنا تقرير نتائج المزارع.

أن أصبح مزارع قطن موثوقًا به في صناعة الملابس والمنسوجات العالمية يعني توفير ظروف عمل لائقة للعمال وضمان عدم وجود عمال دون السن القانونية في مزرعتي. منحني الانضمام إلى المشروع فرصة لزيادة تحسين ممارسات التوظيف في مزرعتي وحماية العمال الضعفاء ، مما سيعزز سمعتي أيضًا.

اتصل بنا

اتصل بفريقنا عبر نموذج الاتصال إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد ، أو أن تصبح شريكًا أو كنت مزارعًا مهتمًا بزراعة Better Cotton.

Turkey
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Turkey

Better Cotton in Turkey

Cotton is an important crop in Turkey, where there is a large domestic textile industry that relies on the fibre.

Slide 1
3,0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

As the seventh-largest cotton producer globally, cotton is also a significant export crop for the country. While 80% of Turkish cotton is machine harvested, farming is still demanding for the many temporary and seasonal workers who work long hours in often poor conditions.

In 2011, leading actors in the Turkish cotton sector approached Better Cotton to start a Better Cotton programme in Turkey. After an extensive research period, the NGO İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD) – the Good Cotton Practices Association — was created to represent all of the country’s cotton stakeholders. The organisation is now our Strategic Partner in the region, and the first Turkish Better Cotton harvest took place in 2013.

Better Cotton Partners in Turkey

As our Strategic Partner, IPUD implements the Better Cotton Standard System and manages production of Better Cotton in Turkey. With its diverse membership base spanning farmers and ginners to manufacturers and civil society organisations, IPUD works to build Better Cotton supply and demand in Turkey and transform Turkish cotton into a sustainable mainstream commodity.

IPUD partners with government research institutes, universities, supply chain actors and other national and international organisations to advance sustainable cotton production practices in Turkey.

Better Cotton also works with the following Implementing Partners in Turkey:

  • Canbel Tarim Urunleri Danismanlik Egitim Pazarlama San. Tic. Ltd. Sti,
  • GAP Regional Development Administration
  • WWF Turkey

Sustainability challenges

Due to a rising population and rapid industrialisation, Turkey is a water-stressed country — an issue expected to only worsen with climate change. Knowing this, ensuring water availability is one of the main challenges for Turkish cotton farmers.

Human rights issues are another challenge in Turkey’s cotton sector as work is often done by temporary and seasonal workers who do not have written employment contracts. This is especially an issue for farms in the Şanlıurfa region of southeast Anatolia where 40% of Turkey’s cotton is grown. Thousands of temporary farm workers there — many of whom are Syrian refugees — spend long hours working in the fields with temperatures regularly reaching 40°C+ and basic needs, like proper sun protection or first aid, are not met.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Becoming a trusted cotton farmer to the global apparel and textile industry means providing decent working conditions for workers and ensuring there are never under-age workers on my farm. Joining the project gave me an opportunity to further improve employment practices on my farm and protect vulnerable workers, which will also strengthen my reputation.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.