塔吉克斯坦
首页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 塔吉克斯坦更好的棉花

塔吉克斯坦更好的棉花

塔吉克斯坦 93% 的土地是山地,但即使地势崎岖,农业部门在该国经济中也发挥着关键作用。 事实上,棉花养活了塔吉克斯坦一半以上的农村人口。

滑动1
0
持牌农民
0,000
良好棉花吨数
0,000
收获的公顷

塔吉克斯坦是中亚第一个与更好棉花倡议合作的国家。 自 1991 年脱离苏联独立以来,棉花行业发生了重大的自由化和部分私有化,包括轧花子行业的私有化、投入价格的自由化、棉花融资和营销的私有化、棉花农田的重组和通过集体土地使用权将棉花农场部分私有化。

塔吉克斯坦在全球棉花市场上仍然相对陌生,而 Better Cotton 的执行伙伴 Sarob 正在与其他利益相关者合作,以提高对该国更可持续种植的棉花的需求,并进一步支持其棉花种植业。

塔吉克斯坦更好的棉花合作伙伴

萨罗布,一个为棉农提供农业建议和支持的农学家合作社。 他们帮助良好棉花农民开发和实施更可持续、节水的农业实践,如精确灌溉和土壤水分测试。 他们还在努力争取资金,以加强和扩大塔吉克斯坦的良好棉花计划。

可持续性挑战

水资源短缺是塔吉克斯坦农民及其社区面临的主要问题,因为夏季气温经常超过 30 摄氏度,90% 以上的农业用地是灌溉而不是雨水灌溉。

农民通常还依靠该国陈旧且效率低下的水道、运河和灌溉系统为田地和农作物浇水。 为了帮助良好棉花种植者解决这个问题并充分利用可用的水,Sarob 与 赫尔维塔斯 和 水管理联盟 实施 WAPRO框架 在塔吉克斯坦。 

恶劣的工作条件和性别不平等是塔吉克斯坦可持续生产面临的其他挑战。 该国的许多农民努力确保季节性棉花采摘者的合同和安全的工作条件,尽管女性农民占农业劳动力的很大一部分,但她们通常无法拥有农场。 Sarob 继续与农民和农业社区合作应对这些挑战。

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

我想通过采用精确灌溉方法,节约用水来种植健康植物,帮助经验较少的农民应对水资源挑战。 在我的农场见证新技术的成果有助于他们在承诺对自己的农场进行更改之前了解其好处。

当工人们有时间放松一下时,他们经常问我关于棉花种植的问题——从高质量种子的好处或降低土壤酸度到识别他们在田间看到的昆虫。 通常,我会举办问答环节来解决常见的挑战,并与我的团队分享所有信息,以便其他学习小组也能从中受益。

联系我们

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Tajikistan
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Tajikistan

Better Cotton in Tajikistan

93% of Tajikistan’s land is mountainous, but even with such rugged landscapes, the agricultural sector plays a critical role in the country’s economy. In fact, cotton supports more than half of the rural population in Tajikistan.

Slide 1
0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

Tajikistan is the first country in Central Asia to work with the Better Cotton Initiative. Since gaining independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, significant liberalisation and partial privatisation has taken place in the cotton sector, including privatisation of the ginning sub-sector, liberalisation of input prices, privatisation of financing and marketing of cotton, restructuring of cotton farmlands and partial privatisation of cotton farms through collective land tenure.

Tajikistan is still relatively unknown in the global cotton market, and Better Cotton’s Implementing Partner, Sarob, is engaging with other stakeholders to boost demand for the country’s more sustainably grown cotton and further support its cotton farming sector.

Better Cotton Partner in Tajikistan

Sarob, a cooperative of agronomists that provide agricultural advice and support to cotton farmers. They help Better Cotton Farmers develop and implement more sustainable, water-efficient farming practices like precision irrigation and soil moisture testing. They are also working to secure funding to strengthen and scale the Better Cotton programme in Tajikistan.

Sustainability challenges

Water scarcity is a major concern for farmers and their communities in Tajikistan as temperatures regularly exceed 30 degrees Celsius in the summer and more than 90% of agricultural land is irrigated rather than rain-fed.

Farmers also typically rely on the country’s old and inefficient water channels, canals and irrigation systems to water their fields and crops. To help Better Cotton Farmers address this issue and make the most of the water available, Sarob partners with Helvetas and the Alliance for Water Stewardship to implement the WAPRO framework in Tajikistan. 

Poor working conditions and gender inequality are other challenges to sustainable production in Tajikistan. Many farmers in the country struggle to ensure contracts and safe working conditions for seasonal cotton pickers, and even though female farmers make up a large proportion of the farming workforce, they are typically unable to own farms. Sarob continues to work with farmers and farming communities to address these challenges.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

I want to help farmers with less experience combat water challenges by taking a precision irrigation approach, using water sparingly to grow healthy plants. Witnessing the results of new techniques on my farm helps them understand the benefits before committing to making changes on their own farms.

When workers have a moment to relax, they often ask me questions about cotton growing – everything from the benefits of higher quality seeds or reducing soil acidity to identifying the insects they see in the fields. Often, I run question and answer sessions to address common challenges, and I share all the information with my team, so that other Learning Groups can benefit too.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.