طاجيكستان
الصفحة الرئيسية » حيث يزرع قطن أفضل » قطن أفضل في طاجيكستان

قطن أفضل في طاجيكستان

93 ٪ من أراضي طاجيكستان جبلية ، ولكن حتى مع هذه المناظر الطبيعية الوعرة ، يلعب القطاع الزراعي دورًا مهمًا في اقتصاد البلاد. في الواقع ، يدعم القطن أكثر من نصف سكان الريف في طاجيكستان.

الشريحة 1
1,00
المزارعون المرخصون
0,446
طن من أفضل القطن
0,703
حصاد هكتار

طاجيكستان هي أول دولة في آسيا الوسطى تعمل مع مبادرة قطن أفضل. منذ الحصول على الاستقلال عن الاتحاد السوفيتي في عام 1991 ، تم تحرير كبير وخصخصة جزئية في قطاع القطن ، بما في ذلك خصخصة القطاع الفرعي المحلج ، وتحرير أسعار المدخلات ، وخصخصة تمويل وتسويق القطن ، وإعادة هيكلة مزارع القطن و الخصخصة الجزئية لمزارع القطن من خلال حيازة الأراضي الجماعية.

لا تزال طاجيكستان غير معروفة نسبيًا في سوق القطن العالمي ، ويعمل شريك برنامج Better Cotton's ، Sarob ، مع أصحاب المصلحة الآخرين لتعزيز الطلب على القطن المزروع بشكل أكثر استدامة في البلاد وزيادة دعم قطاع زراعة القطن.

أفضل القطن شريك في طاجيكستان

ساروب، وهي جمعية تعاونية للمهندسين الزراعيين تقدم المشورة الزراعية والدعم لمزارعي القطن. إنها تساعد مزارعي القطن الأفضل على تطوير وتنفيذ ممارسات زراعية أكثر استدامة وكفاءة في استخدام المياه مثل الري الدقيق واختبار رطوبة التربة. كما أنهم يعملون لتأمين التمويل لتقوية وتوسيع نطاق برنامج قطن أفضل في طاجيكستان.

تحديات الاستدامة

تعد ندرة المياه مصدر قلق كبير للمزارعين ومجتمعاتهم في طاجيكستان حيث تتجاوز درجات الحرارة بانتظام 30 درجة مئوية في الصيف وأكثر من 90٪ من الأراضي الزراعية تُروى بدلاً من الأمطار البعلية.

يعتمد المزارعون أيضًا بشكل نموذجي على قنوات المياه والقنوات وأنظمة الري القديمة وغير الفعالة في البلاد لسقي حقولهم ومحاصيلهم. لمساعدة مزارعي القطن الأفضل على معالجة هذه المشكلة وتحقيق أقصى استفادة من المياه المتاحة ، تشارك Sarob مع هيلفيتاس و التحالف من أجل الإشراف على المياه لتنفيذ إطار عمل WAPRO في طاجيكستان. 

تعتبر ظروف العمل السيئة وعدم المساواة بين الجنسين من التحديات الأخرى التي تواجه الإنتاج المستدام في طاجيكستان. يكافح العديد من المزارعين في البلاد لضمان العقود وظروف العمل الآمنة لجامعي القطن الموسمي ، وعلى الرغم من أن المزارعات يشكلن نسبة كبيرة من القوى العاملة الزراعية ، إلا أنهن عادة غير قادرات على امتلاك المزارع. تواصل ساروب العمل مع المزارعين والمجتمعات الزراعية لمواجهة هذه التحديات.

تعرف على المزيد حول النتائج التي يواجهها المزارعون من خلال المشاركة في برنامج Better Cotton في أحدث برامجنا تقرير نتائج المزارع.

أريد مساعدة المزارعين الأقل خبرة في مواجهة تحديات المياه من خلال اتباع نهج دقيق للري ، واستخدام المياه باعتدال في زراعة نباتات صحية. تساعدهم مشاهدة نتائج التقنيات الجديدة في مزرعتي على فهم الفوائد قبل الالتزام بإجراء تغييرات في مزارعهم الخاصة.

عندما يحظى العمال بلحظة للاسترخاء ، غالبًا ما يسألونني أسئلة حول زراعة القطن - كل شيء بدءًا من فوائد البذور عالية الجودة أو تقليل حموضة التربة إلى تحديد الحشرات التي يرونها في الحقول. في كثير من الأحيان ، أقوم بتشغيل جلسات أسئلة وأجوبة لمواجهة التحديات المشتركة ، وأشارك جميع المعلومات مع فريقي ، حتى تستفيد مجموعات التعلم الأخرى أيضًا.

تواصل معنا

اتصل بفريقنا عبر نموذج الاتصال إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد ، أو أن تصبح شريكًا أو كنت مزارعًا مهتمًا بزراعة Better Cotton.

Tajikistan
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Tajikistan

Better Cotton in Tajikistan

93% of Tajikistan’s land is mountainous, but even with such rugged landscapes, the agricultural sector plays a critical role in the country’s economy. In fact, cotton supports more than half of the rural population in Tajikistan.

Slide 1
0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

Tajikistan is the first country in Central Asia to work with the Better Cotton Initiative. Since gaining independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, significant liberalisation and partial privatisation has taken place in the cotton sector, including privatisation of the ginning sub-sector, liberalisation of input prices, privatisation of financing and marketing of cotton, restructuring of cotton farmlands and partial privatisation of cotton farms through collective land tenure.

Tajikistan is still relatively unknown in the global cotton market, and Better Cotton’s Implementing Partner, Sarob, is engaging with other stakeholders to boost demand for the country’s more sustainably grown cotton and further support its cotton farming sector.

Better Cotton Partner in Tajikistan

Sarob, a cooperative of agronomists that provide agricultural advice and support to cotton farmers. They help Better Cotton Farmers develop and implement more sustainable, water-efficient farming practices like precision irrigation and soil moisture testing. They are also working to secure funding to strengthen and scale the Better Cotton programme in Tajikistan.

Sustainability challenges

Water scarcity is a major concern for farmers and their communities in Tajikistan as temperatures regularly exceed 30 degrees Celsius in the summer and more than 90% of agricultural land is irrigated rather than rain-fed.

Farmers also typically rely on the country’s old and inefficient water channels, canals and irrigation systems to water their fields and crops. To help Better Cotton Farmers address this issue and make the most of the water available, Sarob partners with Helvetas and the Alliance for Water Stewardship to implement the WAPRO framework in Tajikistan. 

Poor working conditions and gender inequality are other challenges to sustainable production in Tajikistan. Many farmers in the country struggle to ensure contracts and safe working conditions for seasonal cotton pickers, and even though female farmers make up a large proportion of the farming workforce, they are typically unable to own farms. Sarob continues to work with farmers and farming communities to address these challenges.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

I want to help farmers with less experience combat water challenges by taking a precision irrigation approach, using water sparingly to grow healthy plants. Witnessing the results of new techniques on my farm helps them understand the benefits before committing to making changes on their own farms.

When workers have a moment to relax, they often ask me questions about cotton growing – everything from the benefits of higher quality seeds or reducing soil acidity to identifying the insects they see in the fields. Often, I run question and answer sessions to address common challenges, and I share all the information with my team, so that other Learning Groups can benefit too.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.