主页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 希腊的良好棉花 (Agro-2)

希腊的良好棉花 (Agro-2)

希腊是欧洲最大的棉花生产国,也是主要的棉花出口国。

滑动1
1
持牌农民
1,000
良好棉花吨数
1,000
收获的公顷

棉花是在希腊机器采摘的,以其长度、强度和马克隆值(纤维细度的指标)方面的高品质而闻名。 该国有超过 45,000 名棉农,目前棉花种植面积约为 270,000 公顷——占农业用地总量的 10%。

2020 年,希腊成为公认的良好棉花标准国家,有 11 个农业企业集团参加了 AGRO-2 认证,涵盖估计 30,000 公顷的种植面积和 4,000 名农民。 到 2022 年底,估计有 5,000 名农民将在 2 公顷土地上种植 AGRO-40,000 许可棉花(相当于良好棉花),产量约为 185,000 包。

希腊更好的棉花合作伙伴

2020 年 2 月,在完成全面的差距分析和对标流程后,良好棉花和 ELGO-DOV 成为战略合作伙伴,并认可希腊 AGRO-2 综合管理标准等同于良好棉花标准体系。 根据 AGRO-2020 标准注册并获得认证并选择参与良好棉花计划的农民有资格从 21-XNUMX 棉花季节将其棉花作为良好棉花出售。

AGRO-2 综合管理标准由希腊国家农业组织 ELGO-DEMETER 制定,该组织是农村发展和食品部下属的法定机构。 ELGO-DEMETER 和希腊棉花跨部门组织 (DOV)(联合 ELGO-DOV)已合作促进和实施希腊棉花生产的 AGRO-2 标准。

可持续性挑战

希腊棉农专注于解决棉花种植中水资源管理和农药管理的两大挑战。 作为 AGRO 2 综合管理标准要求的一部分,并与良好棉花标准体系保持一致,农民专注于这些领域的持续改进,并实施可持续的做法来应对这些挑战。

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

与您

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Greece (Agro-2)

Better Cotton in Greece (Agro-2)

Greece is the largest cotton-producing country in Europe, and a major cotton exporter.

Cotton is machine picked in Greece, and is recognised for its high-quality in terms of length, strength and micronaire (an indication of fibre fineness). There are more than 45,000 cotton farmers in the country, and cotton is currently planted on approximately 270,000 hectares – 10% of the total agricultural land.

In 2020, Greece became a recognised Better Cotton Standard Country, and 11 Agricultural Business Groups enrolled in the AGRO-2 certification, encompassing an estimated 30,000 hectares planted and 4,000 farmers. By the end of 2022, an estimated 5,000 farmers will be growing AGRO-2 licensed cotton (equivalent to Better Cotton) on 40,000 hectares, producing around 185,000 bales.

Better Cotton Partners in Greece

In October 2020, after completing a comprehensive gap analysis and benchmarking process, Better Cotton and ELGO-DOV became Strategic Partners and recognised the Greek AGRO-2 Integrated Management Standards as equivalent to the Better Cotton Standard System. Farmers enrolled and certified under the AGRO-2 standards who also elect to participate in the Better Cotton programme are eligible to sell their cotton as Better Cotton from the 2020-21 cotton season.

The AGRO-2 Integrated Management Standards were developed by the national Hellenic Agricultural Organisation, ELGO-DEMETER, a statutory body under the Ministry of Rural Development and Food. ELGO-DEMETER and the Inter- Branch Organization of Greek Cotton (DOV) (jointly ELGO-DOV) have partnered to promote and implement the AGRO-2 standards for Greek cotton production.

Sustainability challenges

Greek cotton farmers are focused on addressing two key challenges of water management and pesticide management in cotton farming. As part of the requirements of the AGRO 2 Integrated Management Standard, and in alignment with the Better Cotton Standard System, farmers are focused on continuous improvement in these areas and implementing sustainable practices to tackle these challenges.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.