马里
首页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 马里更好的棉花

马里更好的棉花

尽管贸易条件经常充满挑战,但马里的棉花生产继续快速增长,并对该国的经济做出了重大贡献。

滑动1
0,515
持牌农民
0,000
良好棉花吨数
0,000
收获的公顷

自 1995 年马里政府开始积极推广它作为一种良好的经济作物以来,这种作物在农民中越来越受欢迎。 到 2003 年,马里已成为非洲最大的棉花生产国,如今,棉花是该国的主要作物和第二大出口产品,雇用了约 40% 的农村人口。

马里更好的棉花合作伙伴

我们在马里的实施合作伙伴是 Compagnie Malienne Pour le Developpement des Textiles (CMDT),这是一家半公开的有限棉花公司,负责马里棉花的生产和营销。 CMDT 负责向棉花生产商提供农业建议,销售从田间收获的棉籽和皮棉仍附着的原籽棉,运输和轧花这种籽棉以将棉皮与棉籽分离,并将棉纤维出售给出口和马里纺织业.

可持续性挑战

马里的棉农面临气候挑战,包括生长季节较短、土壤健康状况差、投入成本高和棉花价格不稳定。 农民依靠雨水来种植庄稼,因此以晚雨和不稳定降雨形式出现的极端天气会导致真正的问题。 许多农民不得不多次重新播种他们的棉花种子,以使他们的幼苗长成。

童工在马里文化中仍然存在,因此 CMDT 正在努力帮助农民了解识别、预防和解决在田间工作的儿童问题的重要性。 CMDT 通过增加培训,在 2019-20 棉花季节加紧努力,包括如何最好地捕捉和记录这一基本问题的进展。

CMDT 也在努力促进女性赋权。 在 2018-19 棉花季节,在马里接受培训的农民和农场工人中有 39% 是女性。 这可能看起来很低,但实际上,由于实地专家专注于支持农村妇女并帮助她们提高经济独立性,现在有更多的妇女参与其中。

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

我选择成为一名农艺师是出于帮助棉花领域小农,尤其是女性的热情……尽管女性在该领域发挥了重要作用,但从田间一直到合作社,女性通常在该领域没有发言权。棉花生产。

联系我们

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Mali
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Mali

Better Cotton in Mali

Cotton production continues to grow rapidly in Mali and contributes significantly to the country’s economy despite often challenging trading conditions.

Slide 1
0,515
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

The crop has grown in popularity among farmers since 1995, when the Malian government began actively promoting it as a good cash crop. By 2003, Mali had become Africa’s largest cotton producer, and today, cotton is the country’s main crop and second-largest export, employing around 40% of the rural population.

Better Cotton Partner in Mali

Our Implementing Partner in Mali is the Compagnie Malienne pour le Developpement des Textiles (CMDT), a semi-public limited cotton company charged with the production and marketing of Mali’s cotton. CMDT is responsible for providing agricultural advice to cotton producers, marketing raw seed cotton harvested from the field with cottonseed and lint still attached, transporting and ginning this seed cotton to separate cotton lint from cottonseed and selling cotton fibre for export and to the Malian textile industries.

Sustainability challenges

Cotton farmers in Mali face climate challenges, with shorter growing seasons, poor soil health, high input costs and unstable cotton prices. Farmers rely on rain to grow their crops, so extreme weather in the form of late and erratic rainfall causes real problems. Many farmers have to re-sow their cotton seeds several times for their seedlings to become established.

Child labour still persists in Malian culture, so CMDT is working hard to help farmers understand that it’s important to identify, prevent and address the issue of children working in the fields. CMDT stepped up its efforts in the 2019-20 cotton season through increased training, including on how best to capture and record progress on this fundamental issue.

CMDT is also working hard to promote women’s empowerment. In the 2018-19 cotton season, 39% of the farmers and farm workers who received training in Mali were women. This might seem low, but in fact, many more women are now taking part thanks to on-the-ground experts focused on supporting rural women and helping them increase their economic independence.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

My choice to become an agronomist was guided by a passion to help smallholder farmers in the cotton sector, especially women… Women have typically had no say in the sector, from the fields all the way up to the cooperatives, despite playing an important role in cotton production.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.