公司信息

这篇文章于 22 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日更新。

随着全球利益相关者寻求更清晰地了解与棉花供应链相关的社会和环境挑战,以及政策制定者要求企业表现出更高的透明度,对更可追溯的良好棉花的需求不断增长。 Better Cotton 致力于与我们所有的主要利益相关者合作,为 Better Cotton 提供物理可追溯性。 凭借强大的召集力和跨越整个供应链的参与者网络,我们相信我们有能力帮助推动这一转型。 通过这种方式,我们旨在促进整个行业的进步。

为什么可追溯性很重要?

了解 Better Cotton 从田地到市场的路线,可以更清晰地了解风险以及在何处优先考虑持续改进的工作。 它将在我们现有努力的基础上建立农民采用更可持续的做法和促进体面工作的能力,并将促进生产者融入日益规范的国际价值链,帮助改善棉花种植社区的生活和保障生计。 采购格局正在发生变化,我们希望确保这些变化有利于生产和采购良好棉花的人。

到目前为止,我们取得了什么成就?

我们目前正在与我们的会员密切协商,探索实现可物理追踪的良好棉花的最佳选择,以确保我们在满足利益相关者需求和期望的途径上设定方向。 我们成立了一个由零售商和品牌成员组成的专家小组,以帮助我们建立动力并确定与良好棉花价值链中的所有利益相关者互动的最佳方式。 我们还与我们的供应商和制造商成员一起举办研讨会和调查,迄今为止已有 1,500 多个组织提供意见。 来自我们会员的信息很明确——可追溯性正在成为业务的关键,而良好棉花在为行业提供它方面可以发挥关键作用

我们的下一步是什么?

从 2022 年开始,我们将开始测试各种可追溯性解决方案,并与新的和现有的利益相关者合作,共同打造通向系统性变革的途径。 为了确保一个可行的、适合目的的解决方案,我们需要确保它适用于更好的棉花种植者和棉花供应链中的每个参与者。 我们还将修订对供应链中处理良好棉花的人员的要求,并引入超越传统审计实践的创新完整性检查。 这将为所有利益相关者提供采购良好棉花的信心,并向他们保证他们的采购实践对当地产生的积极影响。

可追溯性对 Better Cotton 和整个供应链中的每个人来说都是一笔巨大的投资。 需要资金来开发强大、可行的系统并帮助所有相关参与者投资变革。 这对于小农和小规模轧花厂等较小的参与者尤其重要,他们可能无法获得资金和资源来进行所需的改变。 虽然可追溯性是有成本的,但它也代表了一个机会,可以创建新的市场机制,为更好的棉花种植者带来价值,例如奖励他们的碳封存。

一旦我们在 2023 年采购了数字解决方案,我们将开始让来自不同地区的供应商加入我们的网络。 我们将逐步与我们的全球良好棉花社区建立联系,使所有供应商都能参与该系统,并在我们进一步完善我们的方法的过程中进行任何必要的调整。 我们预计一些地区将需要更多的支持,我们将专注于与这些供应商的能力建设和培训,以确保我们的系统具有包容性。 一旦解决方案建立,我们将持续监控和评估其有效性,以确保服务质量和持续改进。

我该如何参与?

这是您帮助制定完全可追溯的良好棉花解决方案并为棉花种植社区塑造更美好未来的机会。 联系我们 [电子邮件保护] 有关如何参与的更多信息。

分享此页

General

This post was updated on 22 October 2021.

There is a growing demand for more traceable Better Cotton, as stakeholders worldwide seek more clarity over the social and environmental challenges associated with the cotton supply chain, and policymakers require businesses to demonstrate greater transparency. Better Cotton is committed to working with all our key stakeholders to deliver physical traceability for Better Cotton. And with significant convening power and a network spanning actors across the supply chain, we believe we are well placed to help drive this transformation. In this way, we aim to catalyse progress across the sector.

Why is traceability important?

Understanding the route Better Cotton takes from field to market enables a clearer view of risks and where to prioritise efforts for continuous improvement. It will build on our existing efforts to build farmers’ capacity to adopt more sustainable practices and promote decent work and will facilitate the inclusion of producers in increasingly regulated international value chains, helping to improve lives and safeguard livelihoods in cotton farming communities. The sourcing landscape is changing, and we want to make sure these changes are good for those who produce and source Better Cotton.

What have we achieved so far?

We are currently exploring the best possible options to achieve physically traceable Better Cotton in close consultation with our membership to ensure we set course on a pathway that meets stakeholder needs and expectations. We have created a panel of experts from among our Retailer and Brand Members to help us build momentum and determine the best way to engage with all our stakeholders across the Better Cotton value chain. We have also run workshops and surveys with our Supplier and Manufacturer Members, with input from over 1,500 organisations to date. The message from our membership is clear – traceability is becoming business critical, and Better Cotton has a key role to play in delivering it for the industry

What are our next steps?

Starting in 2022, we will start testing various traceability solutions and partner with new and existing stakeholders to forge a collective pathway to systemic change. To ensure a viable, fit-for-purpose solution, we need to make sure it works for Better Cotton Farmers and for every actor in the cotton supply chain. We will also revise our requirements for those handling Better Cotton in the supply chain and introduce innovative integrity checks that go beyond traditional auditing practices. This will provide all stakeholders the confidence to source Better Cotton and assure them of the positive impact their sourcing practices have on the ground.

Traceability is a huge investment for Better Cotton and everyone involved across the supply chain. Funding is needed to develop robust, workable systems and to help all the relevant actors invest in change. This is particularly important for smaller actors, like smallholder farmers and small-scale ginners, who may not have access to the finance and resources to make the changes that are needed. While traceability comes with a cost, it also represents an opportunity to create new market mechanisms that bring value for Better Cotton Farmers, such as rewarding them for carbon sequestration.

Once we have procured a digital solution in 2023, we will begin onboarding suppliers from different geographies into our network. We’ll gradually build engagement with our global Better Cotton community to make it possible for all suppliers to engage in the system, making any necessary adjustments along the way as we further refine our approach. We anticipate some regions will need greater support, and we will focus on capacity building and training with these suppliers to ensure our system is inclusive. Once the solution is established, we will keep monitoring and evaluating its effectiveness, to ensure service quality and continuous improvement.

How can I get involved?

This is your opportunity to help forge a solution for fully traceable Better Cotton and shape a better future for cotton farming communities. Contact us at [email protected] for more information on how you can get involved.

Translate »