国际标样

 
良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 很高兴地宣布,希腊 AGRO-2 综合管理标准已成功通过基准测试,相当于良好棉花标准体系。

这一认可将促进更可持续的希腊棉花种植。 希腊是欧洲最大的棉花生产国,拥有超过 45,000 名注册棉农。 棉花种植面积约为 270,000 公顷——占农业用地总量的 10%。

根据 AGRO-2 标准认证并选择参与 BCI 计划的农民现在将有资格从 2020-21 棉花季节将他们的棉花作为良好棉花出售。 到 2022 年底,预计将有 5,000 名农民在 2 公顷的土地上种植 AGRO-40,000 许可棉花(相当于良好棉花),产量约为 185,000 包。

AGRO-2 综合管理标准由希腊国家农业组织 ELGO-DEMETER 制定,该组织是农村发展和食品部下属的法定机构。 ELGO-DEMETER 和希腊棉花分支机构间组织 (DOV) – 联合 埃尔戈-多夫 – 合作促进和实施希腊棉花生产的 AGRO-2 标准。

=我们很高兴与 ELGO-DOV 成为战略合作伙伴,并欢迎希腊成为新的合作伙伴 BCI 等效标准。 通过将这两个系统结合在一起,希腊棉花将能够为改善农民的生计做出贡献,同时提高该国更可持续的棉花生产的形象。”
— 更好棉花倡议组织的首席执行官艾伦·麦克莱 (Alan McClay)。

AGRO-2 标准对良好棉花标准体系的基准化是数年参与和准备的结晶。 在希腊利益相关者表达兴趣后,该过程于 2017 年开始。

BCI 与可持续贸易倡议 IDH 合作,探索在希腊开展 BCI 计划的可能性。 借助良好棉花增长和创新基金的初始资金,根据 BCI 的基准测试和启动流程,进行了一系列利益相关者咨询和评估。 在对标准进行独立比较和全面的差距分析之后,确定了使用良好棉花标准系统 (BCSS) 对 AGRO-2 进行基准测试的可行途径。

在对 BCSS 的六个组成部分进行彻底的基准审查之后,对 AGRO-2 标准进行了修改以确保一致。 完成后,希腊开始正式的 BCI 国家启动程序,最终在 BCI 和 ELGO-DOV 之间签署战略合作伙伴协议,承认 AGRO-2 认证的棉花等同于良好棉花。

照片:ELGO-DOV

关于 BCI

更好的棉花倡议 (BCI) 是一个全球性的非营利组织,是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 良好棉花标准体系是 BCI 实现可持续棉花生产的整体方法,涵盖了可持续性的所有三个支柱:环境、社会和经济。

在 2018-19 棉花季节,BCI 与其合作伙伴一起为来自 2.3 个国家/地区的 23 万农民提供了关于更可持续农业实践的培训。 BCI 确实是一项共同努力,涵盖从农场到时尚和纺织品牌再到民间社会组织的所有组织,推动棉花行业走向可持续发展。 得益于 BCI 合作伙伴和成员的支持,良好棉花现已占全球棉花产量的 22%。

关于 ELGO-DOV 和 AGRO 2 综合农场管理标准系统

AGRO-2 是希腊生产可持续性标准,由国家希腊农业组织 ELGO-DEMETER 制定和运营,该组织是农村发展和食品部下属的法定机构。 希腊棉花跨部门组织 (DOV) 正在与 ELGO-DEMETER 合作实施 AGRO-2 棉花生产可持续性标准。

AGRO-2 促进农业生产的综合管理,以综合利用所有可用手段来减少投入并为农民实现最佳财务成果。 允许并鼓励农场和生产者团体设定目标并衡量他们朝着更好的耕作方法和实践取得的进展。

分享此页

Standards

 
The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) is delighted to announce that the Greek AGRO-2 Integrated Management Standards have been successfully benchmarked as equivalent to the Better Cotton Standard System.

The recognition will promote more sustainable Greek cotton farming. Greece is the largest cotton-producing country in Europe, with more than 45,000 registered cotton farmers. Cotton is planted on approximately 270,000 hectares – 10% of the total agricultural land.

Farmers certified under the AGRO-2 standards who elect to participate in the BCI Programme will now be eligible to sell their cotton as Better Cotton from the 2020-21 cotton season. By the end of 2022, it is estimated that 5,000 farmers will be growing AGRO-2 licensed cotton (equivalent to Better Cotton), on 40,000 hectares, producing around 185,000 bales.

The AGRO-2 Integrated Management Standards were developed by the national Hellenic Agricultural Organisation, ELGO-DEMETER, a statutory body under the Ministry of Rural Development and Food. ELGO-DEMETER and the Inter-Branch Organization of Greek Cotton (DOV) – jointly ELGO-DOV – partnered to promote and implement the AGRO-2 standards for Greek cotton production.

We are delighted to be working with ELGO-DOV as a strategic partner and welcome Greece as a new BCI equivalent standard. By bringing the two systems together, Greek cotton will be able to contribute to improved farmer livelihoods while increasing the profile of the country’s more sustainable cotton production.”
— Alan McClay, CEO, Better Cotton Initiative.

The benchmarking of the AGRO-2 standards to the Better Cotton Standard System is the culmination of several years of engagement and preparation. The process began in 2017 following interest expressed by Greek stakeholders.

BCI worked with IDH, the Sustainable Trade Initiative, to explore the possibility of a BCI programme in Greece. With initial funding from the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund, a series of stakeholder consultations and assessments were conducted in line with BCI’s benchmarking and start-up process. After an independent comparison of the standards and a comprehensive gap analysis, a viable path towards benchmarking AGRO-2 with the Better Cotton Standard System (BCSS) was identified.

Following a thorough benchmarking review of the six components of the BCSS, modifications were made to the AGRO-2 standards to ensure alignment. Upon completion, Greece began the official BCI country start-up process, culminating in the signing of a Strategic Partnership Agreement between BCI and ELGO-DOV to recognise AGRO-2 certified cotton as equivalent to Better Cotton.

Photo: ELGO-DOV

About BCI

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) — a global not-for-profit organisation — is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. The Better Cotton Standard System is BCI’s holistic approach to sustainable cotton production which covers all three pillars of sustainability: environmental, social and economic.

In the 2018-19 cotton season, together with their partners, BCI provided training on more sustainable agricultural practices to 2.3 million farmers from 23 countries. BCI is truly a joint effort, encompassing organisations all the way from farms to fashion and textile brands to civil society organisations, driving the cotton sector towards sustainability. Thanks to the support of BCI partners and members, Better Cotton now accounts for 22% of global cotton production.

About ELGO-DOV and the AGRO 2 Integrated Farm Management Standards System

AGRO-2 are Greek production sustainability standards developed and operated by ELGO-DEMETER, the national Hellenic Agricultural Organization, a statutory body under the Ministry of Rural Development and Food. The Inter- Branch Organization of Greek Cotton (DOV) is collaborating with ELGO-DEMETER for the implementation of the AGRO-2 sustainability standards for cotton production.

AGRO-2 promotes integrated management of agricultural holdings to make make combined use of all available means to reduce inputs and achieve the best possible financial outcome for farmers. Farms and producer groups are enabled and encouraged to set goals and measure their progress towards better farming methods and practices.

Translate »