在 2022 年地球日庆祝土壤

我们脚下的地球是一个复杂而有生命的系统。 仅仅一茶匙的健康土壤就可以包含比地球上总人口更多的微生物。

健康的土壤是农业生产力和可持续性的起点。 没有它,我们既不能种植棉花,也不能支持我们不断增长的全球人口。 然而,它也往往是农业中最被忽视和低估的资源。

在#EarthDay2022,我们将重点关注土壤健康以及正在开展的鼓舞人心的工作,以改善棉花种植中的土壤健康。

什么是土壤健康,为什么重要?

从我们的土壤健康专家那里了解更多信息

农民见解

Sabari Jagan Valvi 加入了良好棉花和 羽扇豆人类福利与研究基金会 三年前在印度的计划。

通过采用更可持续的耕作方式,例如间作和使用蚯蚓粪和印楝提取物,Sabari 见证了她农场土壤健康的改善,并设法降低了成本。

“今年我按照良好棉花推广的做法播种了两英亩以上的棉花。 通过单粒播种和种子处理,我成功地节省了本季播种成本的50%。” – Sabari Jagan Valvi,良好棉花种植者。

加入讨论

在今年 22 月 23 日至 XNUMX 日在瑞典马尔默和在线举行的良好棉花大会上,我们将与合作伙伴和成员一起探讨再生农业如何帮助应对气候变化等等。

查阅

支持马里农民改善土壤健康  

By Lisa Barratt,非洲运营经理和 Abdoul Aziz Yanogo 西非区域经理更好的棉花.

健康的土壤对于种植茂盛的棉花作物和改善生计至关重要。 在 Better Cotton,我们与当地的合作伙伴密切合作,帮助棉花种植社区采用更好的土壤健康实践。 我们充分了解当地的挑战,并以实用、有效和负担得起的技术为目标,以便小农能够使用它们。 我们共同致力于通过保护土壤的未来来不断提高农民的产量并降低他们对环境的影响。 

2021 年,良好棉花马里团队开展了一个此类项目,与我们的长期实施合作伙伴 Compagnie Malienne pour le Développement des Textiles (CMDT) 合作,帮助展示可持续土壤管理技术对良好棉花种植者的影响。 我们经常发现它可以帮助农民在他们自己的农场尝试之前看到某种技术的好处,这样他们就可以看到它是有效的。 这就是为什么我们通过在他们的社区中的示范区为他们带来生命,在那里他们可以确切地看到改善土壤健康,例如,如何导致更健康、更有弹性的作物。 

丽莎·巴拉特和阿卜杜勒·阿齐兹·亚诺戈

了解马里的土壤健康挑战 

棉花是马里的主要作物和第二大出口产品。 然而,马里的棉农面临多重挑战,包括不规则的天气和较短的生长季节、波动的价格和高昂的投入成本,以及土壤健康状况不佳。 特别是,土壤中的有机质含量很低,因此植物无法从健康、繁荣、生物多样性土壤所固有的养分中受益。 它们的氮、磷和钾等所有植物所需的重要矿物质含量也很低。 

实地行动 

我们的目标是提高对当地土壤健康挑战的认识,解释可持续做法的好处,并与农民一起实施行动计划,基于实际示范和实地支持。 我们还支持将土壤测试作为检查土壤健康的重要手段,以帮助为任何施肥工作提供信息。 

首先要了解农民目前如何施肥。 我们采访了 120 位农民,以了解普遍的做法。 我们还确定了四个良好的示范地块,并将土壤样本送去实验室分析。 在我们的研究结果中,我们注意到农民在他们所有的田地中施用了相同水平的矿物肥料(尽管土壤的需求不同),他们添加的有机质不足以满足土壤的需求,而且他们没有在轮作作物时没有包括足够的豆类。 

我们调整了培训以适应他们的需求,首先培训那些将在实地帮助农民的 CDMT 代表。 从那时起,我们准备制定一个三年计划,该计划将真正帮助农民前进并种植更健康的作物。 该计划的目标包括减少合成肥料的使用和改善土壤有机质,这有助于提高土壤保水性。  

那么我们推荐了什么? 

我们建议的所有做法都旨在恢复、维持和监测土壤肥力。 例如,除了采集土壤样本并进行分析外,我们还建议使用分解良好的有机肥料,农民可以从当地养牛场或自己的牛那里获得。 我们还建议添加矿物肥料以确保正确的氮、钾和磷水平,这些对作物的健康生长至关重要。 为了帮助保护土壤的自然结构、促进水分保持和减少侵蚀,我们还建议减少耕作的频率和深度(即农民将土壤搅碎以准备播种)。 相反,我们建议农民使用干锄和干刮来帮助土壤保持其结构。  

带有石边的棉花地块,以保护田地免受水侵蚀
耕前棉田有机肥的使用

为了进一步防止侵蚀,我们建议沿等高线耕作或形成垂直于坡顶的山脊有助于将雨水保留在田间。 为了提高土壤中的有机物含量,我们整合了含羞草和金合欢等木本豆科植物,一旦收获,它们可以用作覆盖物以促进土壤更好。 这是提高土壤肥力的基础。 为了让土壤不再只种植一种作物,我们推荐了一种土壤轮作系统,包括这些豆类。  

接下来是什么? 

在 2022 年建立示范区的同时,我们将始终支持农民,监控他们的进展,帮助他们实现持续改进。 重要的是,这些努力将帮助我们在莫桑比克制定一个类似的计划,它们还将有助于为良好棉花的 2030 年土壤健康目标提供信息,以支持所有良好棉花种植者实现更健康的土壤。  

了解有关良好棉花和土壤健康的更多信息

查阅

了解生命土壤:我们的脚下真的有一个宇宙  

作者:良好棉花美国项目协调员 Karen Wynne 
凯伦被美国土壤科学协会认证为土壤科学家和分类员。

你可能认为地下只有泥土。 根通过它生长,也许那里住着一两只蚯蚓。 你有没有想过植物是如何获得水分和养分的? 也许他们从土壤中获取他们需要的东西,农民用肥料补充营养? 好吧,这可能会让人感到意外,但土壤比这要复杂得多。 

我们脚下确实有一个完整的宇宙。  

矿质土壤、淤泥、沙子和粘土,甚至是根部,都是各种宏观和微生物(也称为土壤生物群落)的家园,它们花时间吃植物残渣,并在这个过程中转化并储存养分,并建立土壤结构。 仅仅一茶匙的健康土壤就可以包含比地球上人口总数还多的微生物。 这太神奇了,对吧?  

事实上,土壤是一个我们几乎不了解的复杂而有生命的系统。 土壤科学家称微生物的泥土世界为“黑匣子”。 我们仍在了解这些微生物以及它们如何相互作用、它们的环境和植物。 DNA 测序和其他惊人的科学进步已经改变了我们对这个地下世界更多地了解的能力,而且速度比以往任何时候都快。  

为什么现在对土壤健康采取行动很重要 

健康、生物多样性的土壤是作物生长、养分循环和水过滤的基础。 土壤还可以通过将碳返回地面并缓冲干旱和洪水的影响来增强我们对气候变化的适应能力。 但今天,人类对景观的影响比任何其他力量都大。 我们的土壤因工业和农业发展而变得如此退化和侵蚀,以至于它们不再包含滋养植物和农作物不可或缺的生命多样性。 

在棉花种植中,我们鼓励农民帮助为土壤生物创造最佳条件,这一点至关重要。 这就是为什么健康的土壤是我们良好棉花关注的重点。 我们与实地合作伙伴和农民密切合作,引入有效、可持续的土壤健康实践。 例如,保持连续的活根创造了一个栖息地,以保持土壤生物活跃。 增加作物和覆盖作物的多样性也会在地下建立多样性。 同时,减少耕作有助于保护脆弱的地下生态系统。  

我们还与世界各地的科学家和农学家合作,帮助收集和分享知识,以鼓励整个棉花行业的进步。 今年,为了取得进一步进展,我们将启动 2030 年土壤健康目标,作为我们的一部分 2030策略

繁荣的土壤社区 

这里有一些我最喜欢的土壤社区成员。 让我们看看它们在创造健康土壤方面发挥的宝贵作用。 

蚯蚓 ,那恭喜你, 通常存在于健康的土壤中。 达尔文写了翻页器 通过蠕虫的作用形成蔬菜霉菌,并观察它们的习性 回到1800年代。 这是一本畅销书。 他告诉我们,蚯蚓可以在一周内分解至少相当于其重量的植物材料,将它们研磨成粉末状[堆肥],称为铸件,有助于滋养土壤。 饲养蠕虫和耕种它们的铸件是一种技术含量极低的系统,可以生产稳定的有机肥料。 这种方法可以很容易地在小农场甚至公寓中使用。 蠕虫不会占用太多空间。

丛枝菌根真菌 (AMF) 与植物形成互惠互利的关系。 它们有一个广泛的分支系统,称为菌丝,可以将自己插入实际的根细胞中,使植物获得水和养分的途径,尤其是磷,远远超出了根的范围。 作为回报,真菌从植物中获取糖分。 AMF 还生产glomalin,一种将土壤颗粒粘合在一起并提供理想栖息地的胶水。 一位科学家 在不列颠哥伦比亚省写了一本关于树木如何通过根部和连接它们的真菌网络交流和分享营养的书。 不同物种如何合作令人惊讶。

牛分枝杆菌,一种在土壤中发现的细菌,已被证明具有抗抑郁作用。 它们产生的脂肪似乎可以对抗我们体内可能导致抑郁的压力相关炎症。 这种联系尚未完全了解,但这种小细菌很可能有能力抵消我们的自然压力反应。 也许这解释了为什么我更喜欢指甲下有一点泥土。 

蜣螂 是健康土壤的另一个有用标志。 除了南极洲,它们生活在每个大陆的许多不同生态系统中。 甲虫以粪便为食,根据物种的不同,它们可能会将其运送到它们的地下隧道或将其卷成一个球并将其埋在土壤中产卵。 这是一个有趣的事实——他们还使用太阳、月亮和银河系作为指导来定位自己。 

最后,土壤敌人… 土壤中也有大量害虫和病原体,这些都可能对健康的农作物和人类构成威胁。 不平衡的生态系统会导致这些害虫的捕食者丧失。 例如,线虫(微型蛔虫)可能是害虫,但掠食性线虫,如 施泰内马 物种可以攻击土壤中的幼虫,包括常见的棉花害虫,如粉红铃虫和粘虫。 平衡良好的土壤生物群落有助于维持这些有益的线虫种类并防止棉花害虫的爆发。 

好消息 是我们有动力。 有更多的投资,更多的与农民的合作和外展,以及在这些问题上的更多沟通。 对于一个小型电影节来说,关于土壤的电影已经足够了。 那里有许多聪明而坚定的土壤科学家,他们提出了所有正确的问题,农民共同努力分享知识,以及像 Better Cotton 这样的组织帮助农民在没有昂贵的实验室测试或工具的情况下做出改变。 

越来越多的农业社区意识到,要为一个充满活力的系统创造最佳环境,我们需要健康的土壤。 当农民使用支持土壤生物群落的做法时,他们通常可以通过让自然系统来完成这项工作来节省资金。 如果我们能够继续这种民主和合作的方式,我们真的应该有所作为。 

如需更多关于良好棉花如何促进棉花农场土壤健康的信息,请在此处阅读更多信息: https://bettercotton.org/field-level-results-impact/key-sustainability-issues/soil-health-cotton-farming/ 

了解更多信息

查阅

分享此页

Celebrating Soil on Earth Day 2022

The earth beneath our feet is a complex and living system. Just one teaspoon of healthy soil can contain more microorganisms than the total number of people on the planet.

Healthy soil is the starting point for farm productivity and sustainability. Without it, we could neither grow cotton nor support our growing global population. However, it is also often the most neglected and under-appreciated resource in farming.

On #EarthDay2022, we are focusing on soil health and the inspiring work that is happening on the ground to improve soil health in cotton farming.

What is soil health and why does it matter?

Learn more from our soil health experts

Farmer insights

Sabari Jagan Valvi joined the Better Cotton and Lupin Human Welfare And Research Foundation programme in India three years ago.

By adopting more sustainable farming practices such as intercropping and using vermicompost and neem extract, Sabari has witnessed an improvement in soil health on her farm and has managed to reduce her costs.

“This year I have sown cotton over two acres following the practices promoted by Better Cotton. Through single seed sowing and seed treatment, I managed to save 50% of the cost of sowing this season.” – Sabari Jagan Valvi, Better Cotton Farmer.

Join the discussion

At this year’s Better Cotton Conference – taking place in Malmö, Sweden and online on 22-23 June – we’ll be joined by partners and members to explore how regenerative agriculture can help to tackle climate change and much more.

Read more

Supporting Farmers in Mali to Improve Soil Health  

By Lisa Barratt, Africa Operations Manager and Abdoul Aziz Yanogo West Africa Regional Managerboth Better Cotton.

Healthy soils are vital to growing flourishing cotton crops and improving livelihoods. At Better Cotton we work closely with partners on the ground to help cotton farming communities adopt better soil health practices. We develop a full understanding of local challenges and aim for practical, effective and affordable techniques, so that they’re accessible to smallholders. Together, we focus on continuously raising farmers’ yields and lowering their environmental impacts by safeguarding the future of their soils. 

In 2021, the Better Cotton Mali Team undertook one such project, working with our longstanding Implementing Partner, Compagnie Malienne pour le Développement des Textiles (CMDT), to help demonstrate the impact of sustainable soil management techniques to Better Cotton Farmers. We often find that it helps farmers to see the benefits of a certain technique before they try it on their own farm, so they can see that it works. That’s why we bring it to life for them through demonstration plots in their communities, where they can see exactly how improving soil health, for example, leads to healthier, more resilient crops. 

Lisa Barratt & Abdoul Aziz Yanogo

Understanding Soil Health Challenges in Mali 

Cotton is Mali’s principal crop and second largest export. However, cotton farmers in Mali face multiple challenges, including irregular weather and shorter growing seasons, fluctuating prices and high input costs, and poor soil health. In particular, the soils are low in organic matter, so the plants aren’t benefitting from the nutrients inherent to healthy, thriving, biodiverse soils. They’re also low in the vital minerals all plants need like nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium. 

Action on the Ground 

Our aim was to raise awareness of local soil heath challenges, explain the benefit of sustainable practices, and work together with farmers to implement action plans, based on practical demonstrations and field-based support. We also supported soil testing as an important means of checking soil health to help inform any fertilisation efforts. 

This began with understanding how farmers currently fertilised their fields. We interviewed 120 farmers to get an idea of prevalent practices. We also identified four good demonstration plots and sent soil samples for laboratory analysis. Among our findings, we noticed that farmers were applying the same level of mineral fertilisers to all their fields (despite the different needs of the soil), the organic matter they were adding wasn’t enough in relation to the soil’s needs, and they weren’t including enough legumes when rotating crops. 

We adapted our training to suit their needs, starting with training those CDMT representatives who’d be helping farmers on the ground. From there, we were ready to develop a three-year plan that would really help farmers move forward and grow healthier crops. The goals of the plan include reducing the use of synthetic fertilisers and improving soil organic matter, which assists in improving soil moisture retention.  

So what did we recommend? 

All the practices we advised were designed to restore, maintain, and monitor soil fertility. For example, in addition to taking soil samples and having them analysed, we recommended using well-decomposed organic manure, which farmers could get from local cattle farmers or their own cattle. We also recommended adding mineral fertilisers to ensure the right levels of nitrogen, potassium and phosphorus, all vital for healthy crop growth. To help preserve the soil’s natural structure, promote moisture retention and reduce erosion, we also proposed reducing the frequency and depth of tillage (whereby farmers churn up the soil to prepare the fields for sowing). Instead, we suggested that farmers use dry hoeing and dry scraping to help the soil retain its structure.  

Cotton plot with a stone border to protect the field against water erosion
Use of organic manure on cotton plot before ploughing

To further prevent erosion, we suggested ploughing along the contour lines or forming ridges perpendicular to the slope top help retain rainwater in the field. And to improve levels of organic matter in the soil, we integrated woody legumes such as mimosa and acacia, which can be used as mulch to promote better soil once they’re harvested. This is fundamental to improving soil fertility. And to give the soil a rest from growing one type of crop exclusively, we recommended a soil rotation system, including these legumes.  

What next? 

As we establish the demonstration plots in 2022, we’ll keep supporting farmers throughout, monitoring their progress and helping them to achieve continuous improvement. Importantly, these efforts will help us to develop a similar programme in Mozambique, and they’ll also help inform Better Cotton’s 2030 soil health target to support all Better Cotton Farmers in achieving healthier soils.  

Learn more about Better Cotton and soil health

Read more

Understanding the Living Soil: There Really Is a Universe Beneath Our Feet  

By Karen Wynne, US Programme Coordinator, Better Cotton 
Karen is certified as a Soil Scientist and Classifier by the Soil Science Society of America.

You may think that below the ground there’s only dirt. Roots grow through it, and maybe an earthworm or two lives there. And do you ever wonder how plants get water and nutrients? Maybe they grab what they need from the soil and farmers top up the nutrients with fertilisers? Well, it may come as a surprise, but soil is quite a lot more complex than that. 

There’s literally a whole universe beneath our feet.  

The mineral soil, the silt, sand, and clay, even the roots, are home to all kinds of macro- and microorganisms (also known as the soil biome) that spend their time eating plant residues and each other, and in the process transform and store nutrients, and build soil structure. Just one teaspoon of healthy soil can contain more microorganisms than the total number of people on Earth. That’s amazing, right?  

In fact, soil is a complex and living system that we hardly understand. Soil scientists call the earthy world of microorganisms the ‘black box’. We’re still gaining knowledge of these microbes and how they interact with each other, their environment and plants. DNA sequencing and other amazing scientific advances have transformed our capacity to understand more about this underground world, and faster than ever before.  

Why it’s important to act on soil health now 

Healthy, biodiverse soil is fundamental to thriving crops, cycling nutrients, and filtering water. Soil can also increase our resilience to climate change by returning carbon to the ground, and buffering the impact of drought and flooding. But today, humans have a greater impact on the landscape than any other force. Our soils have become so degraded and eroded from industrial and agricultural development, that they no longer contain the diversity of life that’s integral to nourishing plants and crops. 

Within cotton farming, it’s vital that we encourage farmers to help create the best conditions for soil organisms to do their thing. That’s why healthy soils are a key focus for us at Better Cotton. We work closely with our on-the-ground partners and farmers to introduce effective, sustainable soil health practices. For example, maintaining continuous living roots creates a habitat to keep soil organisms active. Increasing the diversity of crops and cover crops builds diversity below ground too. Meanwhile, reducing tillage helps to protect the fragile underground ecosystem.  

We also collaborate with scientists and agronomists worldwide to help gather and share knowledge to encourage progress across the cotton sector. This year, to make further progress, we’ll be launching a 2030 soil health target as part of our 2030 Strategy

A thriving soil community 

Here are a few of my favourite members of the soil community. Let’s look at the valuable role they play in creating healthy soils. 

Earthworms are typically present in healthy soils. Darwin wrote the page-turner The Formation of Vegetable Mould through the Action of Worms, with Observations of their Habits back in the 1800s. It was a bestseller. He tells us that earthworms can break down at least their weight’s worth of plant materials in a week, grinding them into a powder-like [compost], known as castings, that helps nourish the soil. Raising worms and farming their castings is a super low-tech system that produces stable organic fertiliser. This approach can easily be used on a small farm or even in an apartment. Worms don’t take up much space.

Arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi (AMF) form mutually beneficial relationships with plants. They have an extensive system of branches called hyphae that insert themselves into the actual root cells, extending the plant’s access to water and nutrients, especially phosphorus, far beyond the roots’ reach. In return, the fungus gets sugars from the plant. AMF also produce glomalin, a kind of glue that holds soil particles together and provides an ideal habitat. One scientist in British Columbia has written a book on how trees communicate and share nutrients through their roots and the fungal network that connects them. It’s amazing how different species cooperate.

Mycobacterium vaccae, a bacteria found in soils, has been shown to work as an antidepressant. They produce a fat that seems to counter stress-related inflammation in our bodies that can lead to depression. The connection isn’t completely understood yet, but this little bacterium may well have the ability to counteract our natural stress responses. Maybe that explains why I am happier with a little soil under my fingernails. 

Dung Beetles are another helpful sign of healthy soils. They live in many different ecosystems on every continent, except Antarctica. The beetles feed on manure and, depending on the species, may transport it to their underground tunnel or roll it into a ball and bury it in the soil to lay eggs. And here’s a fun fact – they also orient themselves using the sun, moon and Milky Way as a guide. 

And finally, soil enemies… There are plenty of pests and pathogens in the soil too, and these can pose a risk to healthy crops and people. An unbalanced ecosystem can result in the loss of predators of these pests. For example, nematodes (microscopic roundworms) can be pests, but predatory nematodes such as the Steinernema species can attack grubs in the soil, including common cotton pests like pink bollworm and armyworm. A well balanced soil biome helps maintain these beneficial species of nematodes and prevent outbreaks of cotton pests. 

The good news is we have momentum. There’s more investment, more collaboration and outreach with farmers, and more communication on these issues. There are enough films about soil for a small film festival. There are a lot of smart and committed soil scientists out there asking all the right questions, farmers working together to share knowledge, and organisations like Better Cotton helping farmers to make changes without expensive lab tests or tools. 

More and more, the farming community is realising that to create the best environment for a very dynamic system, we need healthy soils. And when farmers use practices that support the soil biome, they can often save money by enabling natural systems to do the work. If we can continue this democratic and cooperative approach, we should really make a difference. 

For more information on how Better Cotton is promoting soil health on cotton farms, please read more here: https://bettercotton.org/field-level-results-impact/key-sustainability-issues/soil-health-cotton-farming/ 

Learn more

Read more

Share this page