Better Cotton 公布美国试点第一年的结果

BCI 于 2014 年在美国完成了其标准体系的小规模试点。四个州(阿肯色州、德克萨斯州、新墨西哥州和加利福尼亚州)的 11,000 个农场参与了试点项目,共生产了超过 26 公吨(3百万磅)的棉绒。 每个农场都完成了自我评估,并接待了独立、XNUMXrd 验证方确认他们符合 BCI 的环境管理和工作条件标准。 所有完成该过程的参与者现在都获得了向参与商户销售良好棉花的许可。

阿肯色州东北部 Black Oak Gin 的 Cheryl Luther 指导三名农民完成许可程序。 她说:“起初我很怀疑。 多年来,我一直是可持续发展的支持者,我知道品牌需要透明度和验证,但我认为流程和文书工作将是一种负担。 不过,最后还是很简单,很容易收集。” 阿肯色州莱克城的三位黑橡树种植者之一的 Danny Qualls 说:“我喜欢种植棉花,但市场需要更多像 BCI 这样的创新理念。”

加利福尼亚州圣华金谷 Bowles Farming Company 的所有者 Cannon Michael 说:“我们为我们对待员工、关心环境和努力改进的方式感到自豪。 我认为这个根据独立标准和验证“证明”的机会对我们和我们的客户都有好处。” Bowles 是美国皮马棉营销协会 Supima 的六个参与农场之一。 Supima 总裁 Jesse Curlee 回应了 Michael 的观点,他说:“我们是出于非常实际的商业原因加入的。 英国零售商 Marks & Spencer 是我们的重要客户。 他们也是 BCI 成员,采购良好棉花是他们企业可持续发展战略的关键组成部分。”

BCI 首席执行官帕特里克·莱恩 (Patrick Laine) 补充说:“我们很高兴看到美国棉花种植者的合作和努力,将美国良好棉花引入供应链。 这响应了许多全球品牌的要求。 第一批进入市场的美国良好棉花是立即购买的——我们打算在未来几年通过扩大美国良好棉花的供应来满足这种需求。这是一个非常积极的开始,我们期待与更多的美国合作农民不断改进与其业务直接相关的做法。”

在西德克萨斯,Hart Producers Coop Gin 的 XNUMX 名成员参与了该项目。 Gin 经理 Todd Straley 说:“我们认为这是保持领先地位的好方法,能够对不断变化的市场预期做出反应,并展示我们的种植者对可持续性和持续改进的承诺。”

自 2010 年以来,BCI 一直在世界其他棉花种植区开展工作,以促进环境、农业社区及其经济的可衡量和持续改善。 去年,在主要品牌和零售商使用良好棉花作为供应基准的强烈兴趣的刺激下,我们选择将重点扩大到美国。

BCI 将在新年初期召集多方利益相关者的流程,回顾试点期间吸取的经验教训,并从参与该项目或对 BCI 发展感兴趣的所有各方那里获得反馈。

 

查看更多

2013 年良好棉花收获报告现已提供中文和法文版本下载

我们很高兴地宣布,BCI 2013 年收获报告已以中文和法文出版。 为了回应我们成员的反馈,我们首次以其他语言报告我们在全球和国家层面的收获数据。 这些报告是使良好棉花进入全球市场的关键贡献。 访问我们的 年度报告网页 下载和分享报告。

2013 年收获报告的英文版于 XNUMX 月发布。

一些亮点包括:

» 近 680,000 名农民达到了获得良好棉花种植许可证的标准。 由于在成功的全球伙伴关系方面取得了巨大进展,这比去年增加了 400%。
» 生产了 905,000 公吨良好棉花,其中包括根据两个新的基准标准生产的棉花:非洲棉花 (CmiA) 和巴西的 ABR 标准。
» 更好的棉花在全球 15 个国家生产。
» 在中国和马里进行了独立案例研究,包括农民自己对自成为良好棉花运动的一部分以来他们所看到的最显着变化的定性反馈。

更好的棉花在世界各地以不同的年度周期播种和收获,这意味着我们会在收集、检查和整理所有数据后提供下一年晚些时候的收获结果。

我们为我们在 2013 年进入扩张阶段所取得的一切感到无比自豪,随着 2014 年的继续,我们将在使良好棉花成为更具可持续性的主流商品方面取得巨大进展。

查看更多

良好棉花 2013 年收获报告发布

我们很高兴地宣布出版 BCI 2013 年收获报告。 这份报告详细介绍了我们在全球和田间层面的收获数据,并完成了 2013 年两个报告阶段中的第二个阶段——第一个阶段是我们的年度报告。

一些亮点包括:

» 近 680,000 名农民达到了获得良好棉花种植许可证的标准。 由于在成功的全球伙伴关系方面取得了巨大进展,这比去年增加了 400%。
» 生产了 905,000 公吨良好棉花,其中包括根据两个新的基准标准生产的棉花:非洲棉花 (CmiA) 和巴西的 ABR 标准。
» 更好的棉花在全球 15 个国家生产。
» 在中国和马里进行了独立案例研究,包括农民自己对自成为良好棉花运动的一部分以来他们所看到的最显着变化的定性反馈。

更好的棉花在世界各地以不同的年度周期播种和收获,这意味着我们会在收集、检查和整理所有数据后提供下一年晚些时候的收获结果。

我们为我们在 2013 年进入扩张阶段所取得的一切感到无比自豪,随着 2014 年的继续,我们将在使良好棉花成为更具可持续性的主流商品方面取得巨大进展。 如果您想阅读更多信息,请访问我们的年度报告页面 点击这里

查看更多

良好棉花快速通道计划发布年度报告

“更好的棉花快速通道计划”(BCFTP) 由一群领先的私人和公共组织于 2009-10 年创立,由 IDH 可持续贸易倡议召集。 通过基于领先零售商和品牌的财务承诺并由一组公共资助者匹配资助的需求驱动战略,该计划投资于全球农民能力建设项目。 2013 年,快速通道基金支持了六个国家的 30 多个农场级项目,覆盖了 200,000 多名农民,他们生产了近 750,000 公吨的良好棉花。

有关 BCFTP 在其 4th 年,我们很高兴与您分享 良好棉花快速通道计划 2013 年年终报告 – “中游主流化”。

查看更多

良好棉花年度和收获报告。 一个新的过程。

2013 年 2014 月,我们发布了第一份 Harvest 报告。 我们想简化我们的沟通方式,专注于收获而不是生长季节。 从 2013 年开始,我们将进一步分解这份文件,将我们的报告分为 XNUMX 年年度报告——将于 XNUMX 月/XNUMX 月发布——以及我们的收获报告(包含该领域的数据)——将于 XNUMX 月发布.

我们为 2012 年取得的所有成就感到非常自豪。如果您想了解更多信息,请点击我们的年度报告页面 此处.

 

查看更多

分享此页

Better Cotton Announces Results of First Year US Pilot

BCI has completed a small scale pilot of its standard system in the USA during 2014. Twenty-two farms in four states (Arkansas, Texas, New Mexico and California) took part in the pilot project, and together produced over 11,000 metric tons (26 million lbs) of cotton lint. The farms each completed a self-assessment and hosted an on-farm visit by independent, 3rd party verifiers to confirm they meet BCI’s criteria for environmental stewardship and working conditions. All participants who completed the process are now licensed to sell Better Cotton to participating merchants.

Cheryl Luther of Black Oak Gin in northeastern Arkansas guided three farmers through the licensing process. She said ”I was skeptical at first. I’ve been a sustainability proponent for years, and I understood the brands want transparency and verification, but I thought the process and paperwork would be a burden. In the end, though, it was simple and easy to gather.” One of the three Black Oak growers, Danny Qualls of Lake City, Arkansas said,” I love growing cotton, but the market needs more innovative ideas like BCI.”

Cannon Michael, owner of Bowles Farming Company in California’s San Joaquin Valley, said, ”We take pride in the way we treat our employees, care for the environment and strive to improve. I think this opportunity to “prove up’ against independent standards and verification is good for us and our customers.” Bowles is one of six participating farms that are members of Supima, the US pima cotton marketing association. Supima president Jesse Curlee echoed Michael’s sentiments saying, ”We’re on board for very practical business reasons. British retailer Marks & Spencer is a key customer for us. They’re also a BCI member and sourcing Better Cotton is a key component of their corporate sustainability strategy.”

CEO of BCI Patrick Laine added, ”We’re delighted with the collaboration and efforts of cotton growers in the US to bring US Better Cotton to the supply chain. This responds to a request of many global brands. The first volumes of US Better Cotton to reach the market were purchased immediately – and we intend to satisfy that demand in coming years by expanding the supply of US Better Cotton.This is an extremely positive start, and we look forward to working with more USA farmers on continually improving practices that are directly relevant to their businesses.”

In West Texas, twelve members of the Hart Producers Coop Gin participated in the project. Gin Manager Todd Straley said, “We see this as a great way to stay ahead of the curve, being responsive to changing market expectations and demonstrating our growers’ commitment to sustainability and continual improvement.”

BCI has been working in other cotton growing regions of the world since 2010 to promote measurable and continuing improvements for the environment, farming communities, and their economies. Last year, spurred by strong interest from major brands and retailers using Better Cotton as a supply benchmark, we chose to expand our focus to include the US.

BCI will convene a multi-stakeholder process early in the new year to review the lessons learned during the pilot, and receive feedback from all parties engaged in this project or interested in BCI’s development.

 

Read more

Better Cotton 2013 Harvest Report now available for download in Chinese and French

We are very pleased to announce the publication of theBCI 2013 Harvest Report in Chinese and in French. In answer to feedback from our members, we are reporting on our harvest data – at global and country level – in additional languages for the very first time. These reports are a key contribution in making Better Cotton accessible to a global market. Visit our Annual Reports web page to download and share the reports.

The English language version of the 2013 Harvest Report was released in September.

Some highlights include:

» Almost 680,000 farmers met the standard to earn a licence to grow Better Cotton. That’s a 400% increase on last year thanks to great progress made on successful global partnerships.
» 905,000 metric tonnes of Better Cotton were produced, included that produced under two newly benchmarked standards: Cotton made in Africa (CmiA) and the ABR standard in Brazil.
» Better Cotton was produced in 15 countries worldwide.
» Independent case studies were conducted in China and Mali, including qualitative feedback from the farmers themselves on the most significant changes they have seen since becoming part of the Better Cotton movement.

Better Cotton is sown and harvested in different annual cycles all over the world, which means we provide the results of a harvest late on in the following year when all data has been collected, checked and collated.

We’re incredibly proud of everything we achieved on entering our Expansion Phase in 2013, and as the 2014 season continues we’re making strong progress towards making Better Cotton a more sustainable mainstream commodity.

Read more

Better Cotton 2013 Harvest Report released

We are very pleased to announce the publication of the BCI 2013 Harvest Report. This report details our harvest data at global and field level, and completes the second of two reporting stages for 2013 – the first being our Annual Report.

Some highlights include:

» Almost 680,000 farmers met the standard to earn a licence to grow Better Cotton. That’s a 400% increase on last year thanks to great progress made on successful global partnerships.
» 905,000 metric tonnes of Better Cotton were produced, included that produced under two newly benchmarked standards: Cotton made in Africa (CmiA) and the ABR standard in Brazil.
» Better Cotton was produced in 15 countries worldwide.
» Independent case studies were conducted in China and Mali, including qualitative feedback from the farmers themselves on the most significant changes they have seen since becoming part of the Better Cotton movement.

Better Cotton is sown and harvested in different annual cycles all over the world, which means we provide the results of a harvest late on in the following year when all data has been collected, checked and collated.

We’re incredibly proud of everything we achieved on entering our Expansion Phase in 2013, and as the 2014 season continues we’re making strong progress towards making Better Cotton a more sustainable mainstream commodity. If you wish to read more, go to our Annual Reports page by clicking here.

Read more

Better Cotton Fast Track Program Release Annual Report

”Better Cotton Fast Track Program” (BCFTP) was founded in 2009-10 by a group of leading private and public organizations, convened by IDH the Sustainable Trade Initiative. Through a demand-driven strategy based upon the financial commitment of leading retailers and brands and match-funded by a group of public funders the Program invests in farmer capacity building projects across the globe. In 2013, the Fast Track Fund supported over 30 farm level projects in six countries, reaching out over 200,000 farmers who have produced almost 750,000 metric tons of Better Cotton.

For more information on the progress of BCFTP in its 4th year, we are pleased to share the Better Cotton Fast Track Program End Year Report 2013 – “Mainstreaming the Midstream’.

Read more

Better Cotton Annual and Harvest Reports. A new process.

In September 2013 we published our very first Harvest report. We wanted to simplify how we communicate, focusing on the harvests rather than the growing seasons. As of 2014 , we will be breaking this document down further, dividing our reporting into an Annual Report for 2013 – to be published in March/April – and our Harvest Report (containing the data from the field,) – to be published in September.

We’re really proud of everything we achieved in 2012. If you wish to read more about it, you can go to our Annual Reports page by clicking here.

 

Read more

Share this page