探索可追溯性——我们正在做些什么来使更好的棉花可追溯

Better Cotton Initiative 的成立有着明确的愿景,即让棉花生产的可持续实践成为世界各地的规范。 为了产生如此大的影响,快速扩展我们的程序是关键。 考虑到这一点,我们创建了一个监管链 (CoC) 框架,其中包含了“质量平衡” – 一个广泛使用的数量跟踪系统,允许良好棉花替代或与传统棉花混合,前提是等量的棉花来自良好棉花。

今天,BCI 是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划,超过 10,000 家供应链参与者使用我们的 Better Cotton Platform。 质量平衡使作为良好棉花来源的棉花数量快速增长,同时促进农民实施更好的实践以实现更可持续的生产。 但随着我们世界的进步,我们认识到现在是探索超越这种质量平衡 CoC 模型的时候了,为更好的棉花种植者和公司提供完整的可追溯性和更多价值。

对可追溯性的需求不断增长

我们所说的“可追溯性”究竟是什么意思? 虽然有许多不同的实施和使用模型,但本质上的原则就是名称——“追踪”某物的能力。 在我们的例子中,棉花。 对于良好棉花,这意味着,我们至少要确定籽棉的生产地区,并确定将其转化为成品所涉及的企业。

这从来没有像现在这样重要。 随着要求企业证明其供应链知识的立法在世界范围内变得越来越普遍,企业不仅被要求更多地了解其材料的来源,而且还被要求更多地了解它们的生产条件。 媒体和学术界越来越关注地缘政治问题,包括中国新疆地区维吾尔族穆斯林的待遇,进一步表明生产地点和可持续性是密切相关的。

鉴于这种快速变化的经营环境,零售商和品牌需要整合可持续发展 可追溯至他们的标准业务实践。 BCI 已经为公司提供了一种支持可持续农业实践和农民生计的有力方式,现在我们正将注意力集中在使棉花供应链更可追溯。

可追溯性的好处

到目前为止,为良好棉花开发可追溯系统的成本与收益阻碍了这项工作,但随着天平向另一个方向倾斜,我们处于独特的有利地位,可以实施全球可追溯系统以满足会员需求并支持我们在实现我们的使命。

这是由于可追溯性带来的好处的重要性发生了变化,在所有三个主要领域,供应链的各个层面都在增加:

  • 效率: 在利益相关者报告、库存和商品管理、战略采购支持、流程控制和数据管理方面的贡献
  • 风险管理: 在监管合规、影响监测、应急计划、预测方面的贡献
  • 创新:在消费者参与、循环经济和转售、协作、流程自动化和改进、实践和学习社区、市场洞察力方面的贡献

更高的供应链可见性还意味着零售商和品牌可以承担更大的责任并努力解决他们可能发现的任何问题,例如强迫劳动、不良农业实践等。

实施可追溯性的挑战

实现可追溯性并非易事。 这不仅仅是增加现有流程的问题——尽管我们可以利用现有成员在良好棉花平台上的参与作为跳板,但开发完整的可追溯性将需要大量投资,尤其是在我们努力快速推进这些发展的情况下。

主要挑战

  • 其他资源: 对于供应链参与者而言,这包括开发内部控制系统的费用、当许多公司同时要求可追溯棉花时有限供应的潜在成本影响,以及 BCI 的重要相关资源需求。 更高水平的供应链保证也是有代价的,因为验证服装的确切来源需要更多的检查和控制。
  • 采购和知识产权问题: 创造恰到好处的纱线和混纺面料通常需要从多个原产国采购——这使得“追溯农场”的想法成为可能,而这只是一个农场,甚至一个国家,这是非常不可能的。 对保护知识产权的担忧又增加了一层复杂性。
  • 与现有的追溯系统保持一致: 许多公司和其他倡议已开始开发自己的可追溯系统。 我们开发的系统需要与现有的可追溯系统保持一致并最终与公司的不同技术解决方案和原产国计划相结合,这将需要大量的协作和协调。
  • 全员支持: 最后,但同样重要的是,我们需要确保所有类别的 BCI 成员的支持,以推进我们的可追溯性计划。

我们现在在做什么

2020 年 XNUMX 月,我们召开了新成立的多利益相关方第一次会议 产销监管链咨询小组,并已开始获得有关优先要求和关键问题的意见。 我们也在为第一阶段寻求资金,本周已经开始招聘额外的人力资源来完成这项工作。

清楚创建良好棉花可追溯系统的好处和挑战后,我们制定了一个高级计划,以在四个不同的阶段向前推进:

  • 设置和规划
  • 开发和试点
  • 利益相关者的参与和推广
  • 监控合规性和维护性能

有了合适的资金和资源,我们预计解决方案最早可以在 2022 年完成,并在 2021 年底进行试点。

在我们深入规划的第一阶段时,我们正在与其他成员和利益相关者协商以确定解决方案要求,包括关键数据元素、接口、运营模式、资金安排和治理结构。 我们也在制定详细的预算和项目计划。 根据利益相关者的反馈、可用资金和长期成功的可能性,我们将确定我们将采取的行动方案,并知道我们已经与我们的成员合作探索了各种选择。

加入我们,我们在质量平衡的基础上创造更多价值

虽然我们正在研究这个新的、可追溯的 CoC 模型,但重要的是要注意我们并没有完全摆脱我们当前的质量平衡系统。 质量平衡在为全球公司和农民实现规模可持续发展方面发挥着重要作用。 我们只是想在此基础上为我们的零售商和品牌成员提供他们整个供应链的更大可见性,对于那些需要它的人,这最终使我们更接近于使棉花的可持续性成为常态的愿景。

现在是开始这项工作的时候了。 我们将在新的一年对会员和其他利益相关者进行调查——请留意这些邀请并分享您的意见。 我们也将在本周开始招聘以支持这项工作——请密切关注 BCI 页面上的工作.

查阅

Better Cotton 推出新的监管链咨询小组

上个月,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 推出了新的产销监管链咨询小组。

新咨询小组的目的是就良好棉花产销监管链的发展提供建议——这是将良好棉花需求与供应联系起来的关键框架,有助于激励棉农采用更可持续的做法。

该咨询小组由 BCI 成员和非成员组成,将确保任何新的产销监管链发展对 BCI 的多利益相关方成员具有商业相关性、可行性和吸引力。

监管链咨询小组成员

零售商和品牌

  • 凯伦佩里 | 约翰刘易斯合伙人
  • 伊森·巴尔 | 目标
  • Syed Rizwan Vajahat | 宜家
  • 德国加西亚| 索引

供应商、制造商和贸易商

  • 菲利普·萨纳 | 保罗莱因哈特股份公司
  • 贝西姆·奥泽克 | Bossa Sanayi ve Ticaret Isletmeleri TAS
  • 法齐亚·亚斯敏 | 帕哈塔利纺织和袜厂

生产者组织

  • 托德·斯特雷利 | Quarterway 棉花种植者

文明社会

  • Melissa Ho & Anis Ragland | 世界自然基金会

非会员

  • 阿米娜昂 | RSPO
  • 查克·罗杰斯 | Bureau Veritas 消费品服务公司

虽然它不是决策机构,但该小组将为 BCI 会员和供应链团队提供战略建议,并允许更集中地讨论良好棉花产销监管链。

=这是一个如此多元化的团体,成员拥有广泛的专业知识和经验。 我们很高兴能共同努力,帮助塑造良好棉花产销监管链的未来。” – Joyce Lam,BCI 供应链完整性经理。

了解更多有关 更好的棉花监管链.

查阅

Better Cotton 发布修订后的产销监管链指南

良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 已发布了良好棉花监管链指南的修订版。

监管链指南 V1.4

良好棉花产销监管链 (CoC) 是连接良好棉花需求与供应的关键框架,有助于激励棉农采用更可持续的做法。 CoC 指南包含两种不同的监管链模型:农场和轧花厂之间的产品隔离以及轧花厂级别之后的质量平衡。

最新的 CoC 指南修订版主要侧重于删除过时的 CoC 要求、澄清和加强现有要求、解决任何含糊不清的语言和重组文档的布局。 更新后的 CoC 指南 V1.4 现在也明确定义和区分强制性要求和最佳实践指南。

重要的是,基本的产销监管链要求没有改变——BCI 仍然需要在农场和轧花厂级别之间建立产品隔离模型(即良好棉花必须与传统棉花隔离),并且质量平衡监管链模型适用于杜松子酒水平。 有关不同供应链组织的这些模型和要求的更多信息,请参见 CoC 指南。

修订后的指南取代了之前的V1.3,将于1年2020月XNUMX日开始生效,即ICAC国际棉花季的开始。更多信息,请阅读 常见问题主要变化总结 文档。

在网站上了解有关良好棉花监管链的更多信息 脑机接口网站.

查阅

随着 22 万农民接受有关改进农业实践的培训,可持续棉花占全球产量的 2.3%

 
今天,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 发布了 2019 年年度报告。 在报告中,BCI 分享了良好棉花——由获得许可的 BCI 农民生产的符合该倡议的良好棉花原则和标准的棉花——现在占 全球棉花产量的 22%*.

在 2018-19 棉花季节,与实地执行伙伴的专家一起,以及来自超过 1,800成员, BCI 提供了关于更可持续的农业实践的培训 2.3 百万棉农 - 2.1 万获得了销售良好棉花的许可. 这将全球市场上更可持续生产的棉花数量推向了一个新的水平。

在供应链的另一端,BCI 的零售商和品牌成员在 2019 年底通过了一个重要的里程碑,采购超过 1.5 万吨良好棉花 ¬≠– BCI 的记录。 这比 40 年增长了 2018%,向市场发出了一个明确的信号,即良好棉花正在成为一种可持续的主流商品。 更好的棉花吸收现在占 占全球棉花产量的 6%.

=由于我们的成员、合作伙伴和其他利益相关者的共同努力,BCI 在实现 2020 年目标方面取得的进展尤其令人高兴。 还有两个棉花季节(2019-20 和 2020-21)在田间取得进一步进展,我们致力于不仅继续在田间带来有益的变化,而且还要从经验中学习并适应成为更加有效。 我们还不知道我们离 2020 年的目标有多近,我们仍在评估当前的 Covid-19 大流行将如何影响我们的努力。 但有一点是肯定的,过去 10 年我们取得了重大且不可否认的进步,有许多成功值得庆祝。” – Alan McClay,BCI 首席执行官。

2019年报告亮点

  • 在 23-2018 棉花季节,19 个国家/地区种植了 Better Cotton。
  • 获得许可的 BCI 农民生产了 5.6 万吨良好棉花。 这足以生产大约 8 亿条牛仔裤,世界上每个人每人一条。
  • 良好棉花目前占全球棉花产量的 22%。
  • BCI 及其 76 个实地合作伙伴为总计 2.3 万农民提供了培训和支持。
  • 2.1 万棉农获得了 BCI 许可证,可以将他们的棉花作为良好棉花出售——99% 是种植面积不足 20 公顷的小农。
  • BCI 零售商和品牌会员在 1.5 年采购了 2019 万吨棉花作为良好棉花——创纪录的数量。
  • 良好棉花的使用量现在占全球棉花产量的 6%。
  • BCI 在 400 年迎来了 2019 多名新成员。
  • 截至年底,BCI 在五个会员类别中拥有 1,842 名会员,比 29 年增长 2018%。

访问交互式 BCI 2019 年报 详细了解我们的成功、挑战以及我们在实现 2020 年目标方面取得的进展。

*该百分比是根据廉政公署 2019 年全球产量数据计算得出的。

查阅

Better Cotton 创建新的监管链咨询小组:立即申请

 
随着 BCI 制定其 2030 年战略和未来十年的目标,除了深化 BCI 在田间层面的影响外,重点仍然是扩大良好棉花的可持续生产和采购 - 获得许可的 BCI 农民种植的棉花符合良好棉花原则和标准。

在这个目标领域,BCI 将考虑现有的良好棉花产销监管链 (CoC),它构成了连接良好棉花供需的关键框架,有助于激励棉农采用更可持续的做法。

良好棉花 CoC 目前包含两种不同的监管链模型:供应链开始时的产品隔离(农场到轧花厂)和轧花厂阶段之后的质量平衡*。 展望未来,BCI 将考虑是否可以为所有良好棉花供应链参与者(包括 BCI 成员和非成员)提供更广泛的监管链选项。

BCI 新的成员制产销监管链咨询小组的目的是就良好棉花 CoC 的发展提供建议,包括项目和活动,例如在主要良好棉花生产国的棉花监测访问和供应链审计。

该咨询小组由 BCI 成员和非成员组成,将确保任何新的监管链发展对 BCI 的多利益相关者成员资格具有商业相关性、可行性和吸引力。 虽然它不是组织的决策机构,但该小组将提供战略建议,并允许对良好棉花 CoC 进行更集中的讨论。

BCI 想邀请感兴趣的利益相关者加入新的监管链咨询小组,以帮助塑造 BCI 的未来。

下载该应用程序 形式.

您可以找到更多背景信息、咨询小组工作范围的详细信息以及职权范围 此处.

申请监管链咨询小组的截止日期为 8 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日星期五。

请联系 BCI 供应链诚信经理 Joyce Lam [电子邮件保护] 如果您想参加,或者如果您需要更多信息。

*在分离方法中,目的是确保在农场和轧花厂之间不会将良好棉花混合或替换为常规棉花。 在质量平衡方法中,目标是确保购买的良好棉花数量不超过出售的良好棉花数量。 了解有关良好棉花监管链的更多信息 此处.

查阅

分享此页

Exploring Traceability – What We’re Doing to Make Better Cotton Traceable

The Better Cotton Initiative was founded with a clear vision of making sustainable practices in cotton production the norm around the world. To make such a big impact, scaling our programme quickly was key. With that in mind, we created a Chain of Custody (CoC) framework that incorporates the concept of ”mass balance” – a widely-used volume-tracking system that allows Better Cotton to be substituted or mixed with conventional cotton provided equivalent volumes are sourced as Better Cotton.

Today, BCI is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world, with more than 10,000 supply chain actors using our Better Cotton Platform. Mass balance has enabled the rapid growth of the amount of cotton sourced as Better Cotton while at the same time facilitating farmers to implement better practices to produce more sustainably. But as our world progresses, we recognise that it is time to explore going beyond this mass balance CoC model to offer full traceability and even more value to Better Cotton farmers and companies.

The Rising Demand for Traceability

What exactly do we mean by “traceability’? While there are many different models for implementation and use, essentially the principle is in the name – the “ability to trace’ something. In our case, cotton. For Better Cotton, this means that, at minimum, we seek to determine the region in which the seed cotton was produced and identify the businesses involved in its transformation to a finished good.

This has never been as important as it is now. As legislation requiring businesses to demonstrate knowledge of their supply chains is becoming more common around the world, companies are not only being asked to know more about the origins of their materials but also about the conditions under which they are produced. Increasing media and academic attention on geopolitical issues, including the treatment of Uyghur Muslims in the Xinjiang area of China, has further demonstrated that production location and sustainability are crucially interlinked.

Given this quickly changing operating environment, retailers and brands need to integrate both sustainability and traceability into their standard business practices. BCI already offers companies a powerful way to support sustainable agricultural practices and farmers’ livelihoods, and now we are focusing our attention on making cotton supply chains more traceable as well.

Benefits of Traceability

Up until now, the costs versus benefits of developing a traceability system for Better Cotton have prevented this work, but as the scales tip in the other direction, we are uniquely well-positioned to implement a global traceability system to meet member needs and support us in achieving our mission.

This is due to the shifting in significance of the benefits offered by traceability, which in all three main areas are increasing at every level of the supply chain:

  • Efficiency: contributions in stakeholder reporting, inventory and merchandise management, strategic sourcing enablement, process control and data management
  • Risk management: contributions in regulatory compliance, impact monitoring, contingency planning, forecasting
  • Innovation: contributions in consumer engagement, circular economy and resale, collaboration, process automation and improvement, community of practice and learning, market insight

Greater visibility of supply chains also means that retailers and brands can take greater responsibility and work to address any problems they may find, such as forced labour, poor agricultural practices and more.

Challenges to Implementing Traceability

Implementing traceability is no easy feat. It’s not simply a matter of adding on to existing processes – though we can use the existing participation from members on the Better Cotton Platform as a springboard, developing full traceability will require substantial investment, especially as we work to move quickly on these developments.

Main Challenges

  • Additional resources: This includes, for supply chain actors, the expense of developing internal control systems, potential cost implications from limited supply when many companies request traceable cotton at the same time, and significant associated resource requirements for BCI. A higher level of supply chain assurance also comes at a cost, as verifying the exact origins of a garment requires many more checks and controls.
  • Sourcing and intellectual property concerns: Creating just the right yarn and fabric blends often requires sourcing from several countries of origin – making the idea of “tracing back to the farm’, and it being just one farm, or even country, very unlikely. Concerns about protecting intellectual property add another layer of complexity.
  • Alignment with existing traceability systems: Many companies and other initiatives have begun developing their own traceability systems. The system we develop will need to align and eventually interface with existing traceability systems, from companies, for different technology solutions and country of origin programmes, which will require a great deal of collaboration and coordination.
  • Full member support: Last, but certainly not least, we need to ensure support from all categories of BCI members to move ahead with our traceability plans.

What We’re Doing Now

In July 2020 we had the first meeting of our newly formed multi-stakeholder Chain of Custody Advisory Group, and have begun getting input on priority requirements and key questions. We are also in the process of seeking funding for the first phase and this week have launched the recruitment for additional staff resources to deliver this work.

With the benefits and challenges of creating a Better Cotton traceability system clear, we have developed a high-level plan for moving forward in four distinct phases:

  • Set up and planning
  • Development and piloting
  • Stakeholder engagement and roll-out
  • Monitoring compliance and maintaining performance

With the right funding and resources, we anticipate a solution could be ready as early as 2022, following piloting in late 2021.

As we dive into the first phase of planning, we are consulting with additional members and stakeholders to identify solution requirements, including key data elements, interfaces, operating models, funding arrangements and governance structures. We are also making a detailed budget and project plan. Based on stakeholder feedback, available funding and the likelihood of long-term success, we will then determine what course of action we will take, with the knowledge that we have explored the options in partnership with our members.

Join Us as We Build on Mass Balance to Deliver More Value

While we are working on this new, traceable CoC model, it’s important to note that we are not getting rid of our current mass balance system altogether. Mass balance has an important role to play in achieving scale in sustainability for companies and farmers across the globe. We simply want to build upon this foundation to offer our retailer and brand members greater visibility of their whole supply chain, for those that want it, which ultimately brings us closer to our vision of making sustainability in cotton the norm.

Now is the time to start this work. We will be surveying members and other stakeholders in the new year – please look out for these invitations and share your input. We are also starting recruitment this week to support this work – keep an eye on the Jobs at BCI page.

Read more

Better Cotton Launches New Chain of Custody Advisory Group

Last month, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) launched its new Chain of Custody Advisory Group.

The purpose of the new Advisory Group is to provide advice on the development of the Better Cotton Chain of Custody – the key framework that connects demand with supply of Better Cotton and helps to incentivise cotton farmers to adopt more sustainable practices.

Consisting of BCI Members and non-members, the Advisory Group will ensure any new Chain of Custody developments are commercially relevant, feasible and attractive to BCI’s multi-stakeholder membership.

Chain of Custody Advisory Group Members

Retailers and Brands

  • Karen Perry | John Lewis & Partners
  • Ethan Barr | Target
  • Syed Rizwan Vajahat | IKEA
  • German Garcia | Inditex

Suppliers, Manufacturers and Traders

  • Philippe Saner | Paul Reinhart AG
  • Besim Ozek | Bossa Sanayi ve Ticaret Isletmeleri TAS
  • Fawzia Yasmeen | Pahartali Textile and Hosiery Mills

Producer Organisation

  • Todd Straley | Quarterway Cotton Growers

Civil Society

  • Melissa Ho & Anis Ragland | WWF

Non-members

  • Aminah Ang | RSPO
  • Chuck Rogers | Bureau Veritas Consumer Product Services

Though it is not a decision-making body, the group will provide strategic advice to the BCI Membership and Supply Chain Team and allow for more focused discussions on the Better Cotton Chain of Custody.

It is such a diverse group, and members have a wide range of expertise and experience. We are excited to work together to help shape the future of the Better Cotton Chain of Custody.” – Joyce Lam, Supply Chain Integrity Manager, BCI.

Find out more about the Better Cotton Chain of Custody.

Read more

Better Cotton Publishes Revised Chain of Custody Guidelines

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) has launched a revised version of the Better Cotton Chain of Custody Guidelines.

Chain of Custody Guidelines V1.4

The Better Cotton Chain of Custody (CoC) is the key framework that connects demand with supply of Better Cotton and helps to incentivise cotton farmers to adopt more sustainable practices. The CoC Guidelines incorporate two different chain of custody models: product segregation between the farm and gin and mass-balance after the gin level.

The latest CoC Guideline revisions focused predominately on removing outdated CoC requirements, clarifying and strengthening existing requirements, addressing any ambiguous language and restructuring the layout of the document. The updated CoC Guidelines V1.4 now also clearly define and distinguish between mandatory requirements and best practice guidance.

Importantly, the basic Chain of Custody requirements have not changed – BCI still requires a product segregation model in place between farm and gin level (i.e. Better Cotton must be kept segregated from conventional cotton) and a mass-balance chain of custody model is applicable after gin level. More information on these models and requirements for different supply chain organisations can be found in the the CoC Guidelines.

The revised guidelines replace the previous V1.3 and will be effective as of 1 August 2020, which is the beginning of the ICAC international cotton season.For more information, please read the FAQ and summary of the key changes documents.

Find out more about the Better Cotton Chain of Custody on the BCI website.

Read more

Sustainable Cotton Reaches 22% of Global Production as 2.3 Million Farmers Receive Training on Improved Agricultural Practices

 
Today, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) launched its 2019 Annual Report. In the report, BCI shares that Better Cotton – cotton produced by licensed BCI Farmers in line with the initiative’s Better Cotton Principles and Criteria – now accounts for 22% of global cotton production*.

In the 2018-19 cotton season, together with expert on-the-ground Implementing Partners and with support from more than 1,800 members, BCI provided training on more sustainable agricultural practices to 2.3 million cotton farmers – 2.1 million gained a license to sell Better Cotton. This drove the volume of more sustainably produced cotton available on the global market to a new level.

At the opposite end of the supply chain, BCI’s Retailer and Brand Members passed a significant milestoneat the end of 2019, sourcing more than 1.5 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton ¬≠– a record for BCI. That’s a 40% increase on 2018 and sends a clear signal to the market that Better Cotton is becoming a sustainable mainstream commodity. Better Cotton uptake now accounts for 6% of global cotton production.

It is particularly pleasing to share the progress BCI is making, thanks to the concerted efforts of our members, partners and other stakeholders, towards our 2020 targets. With two more cotton seasons (2019-20 and 2020-21) within which to make further advances at field level, we are committed to not only continuing to deliver beneficial change at field level, but also to learning from the experience and adapting to become more effective. We do not yet know how close we will come to our 2020 targets, and we are still assessing how the current Covid-19 pandemic will impact our efforts. But one thing is certain, we have made significant and undeniable progress over the past 10 years, and there are many successes to celebrate.” – Alan McClay, CEO, BCI.

2019 Report Highlights

  • Better Cotton was grown in 23 countries in the 2018-19 cotton season.
  • Licensed BCI Farmers produced 5.6 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton. That is enough cotton to make approximately 8 billion pairs of jeans, a pair each for every person in the world.
  • Better Cotton now accounts for 22% of global cotton production.
  • BCI and its 76 field-level partners delivered training and support to a total of 2.3 million farmers.
  • 2.1 million cotton farmers received a BCI license to sell their cotton as Better Cotton – 99% are smallholders farming on less than 20 hectares.
  • BCI Retailer and Brand Members sourced 1.5 million metric tonnes of cotton as Better Cotton in 2019 – a record volume.
  • Uptake of Better Cotton now accounts for 6% of global cotton production.
  • BCI welcomed more than 400 new members in 2019.
  • By the end of the year, BCI had 1,842 members across five membership categories, a 29% increase on 2018.

Access the interactive BCI 2019 Annual Report to learn more about our successes, challenges and the progress we are making towards our 2020 targets.

*The percentage has been calculated using ICAC’s 2019 global production figures.

Read more

Better Cotton Creates New Chain of Custody Advisory Group: Apply Now

 
As BCI develops its 2030 strategy and targets for the next decade, in addition to deepening BCI’s impact at field level, the focus remains on scaling the sustainable production and sourcing of Better Cotton – the cotton grown by licensed BCI Farmers in line with the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria.

Under this target area, BCI will consider the existing Better Cotton Chain of Custody (CoC), which constitutes the key framework that connects supply with demand of Better Cotton and helps to incentivise cotton farmers to adopt more sustainable practices.

The Better Cotton CoC currently incorporates two different chain of custody models: product segregation at the beginning of the supply chain (farm to gin) and mass-balance after the gin stage*. Going forward, BCI will consider whether it can provide a wider range ofchain of custodyoptions for all Better Cotton supply chain players, both BCI Members and non-members.

The purpose of BCI’s new member-based Chain of Custody Advisory Group is to provide advice on the development of the Better Cotton CoC, including projects and activities such asgin monitoring visits and supply chain audits in key Better Cotton producing countries.

Consisting of BCI Members and non-members, the Advisory Group will ensure any new chain of custody developments are commercially relevant, feasible and attractive to BCI’s multi-stakeholder membership. Though it is not a decision-making body for the organisation, the group will provide strategic advice and allow for more focused discussions on the Better Cotton CoC.

BCI would like to invite interested stakeholders to join the new Chain of Custody Advisory Group to help shape the future of BCI.

Download the application form.

You can find further background information, details on the Advisory Group scope of work, and the Terms of Reference here.

The deadline to apply for the Chain of Custody Advisory Group is Friday 8 May 2020.

Please contact BCI Supply Chain Integrity Manager Joyce Lam at [email protected] if you would like to participate, or if you require further information.

*In the segregation method, the purpose is to ensure that Better Cotton is not mixed or substituted with conventional cotton between the farm and gin. In the mass balance approach, the objective is to ensure that the quantity of Better Cotton purchased does not exceed the quantity of Better Cotton sold. Find out more about the Better Cotton Chain of Custody here.

Read more
Translate »