ISEAL 授予 Better Cotton 正式会员资格

Better Cotton Initiative 很高兴地宣布,它完全符合 ISEAL 的标准制定规范,已被接纳为 ISEAL 联盟的正式成员。 该决定得到了 ISEAL 成员委员会的批准,该委员会根据 ISEAL 的独立评估机制审查了 BCI 的表现。

良好棉花倡议旨在通过将良好棉花开发为一种可持续的主流商品来改变全球棉花生产,在对 ISEAL 制定社会和环境标准的良好实践准则(标准制定准则)的独立评估中,该倡议已证明总体合规。 该组织还展示了在实施影响准则和保证准则方面取得的进展。

“BCI 非常高兴被授予 ISEAL 的正式会员资格,”BCI 标准和保证总监 Damien Sanfilippo 说。 “这一认可证明了 BCI 作为可持续性标准的可信度,它让我们有机会通过与不同标准体系的社区合作,不断改进我们改变棉花未来的工作。”

BCI 作为 WWF 于 2005 年领导的圆桌计划的一部分而成立,其目标是为棉农、环境和该行业的未来寻找更可持续的解决方案。 为实现这一目标,BCI 与棉花供应链中的各种利益相关者合作,促进环境、农业社区和棉花产区经济的可衡量和持续改善。

ISEAL 联盟执行董事 Karin Kreider 表示:“我祝贺 BCI 获得了 ISEAL 的正式会员资格。 “多年来,我见证了 BCI 的成长,见证了他们对棉花生产转型的非凡奉献。 现在获得 ISEAL 正式会员资格反映了他们对可靠实践和确保持续改进的承诺。 我们期待在未来几年与 BCI 合作。”

棉花是世界上最重要的天然纤维之一。 全球25多个国家每年生产超过80万吨棉花,仅在生产阶段就支持了250亿人的生计。 棉花是一种可再生的自然资源,但棉花生产的未来容易受到环境管理不善、工作条件恶劣和市场不稳定的影响。

良好棉花标准体系确保棉花的生产方式通过最大限度地减少化肥和杀虫剂的负面影响以及保护水、土壤健康和自然栖息地来保护环境。 BCI 农民通过进入全球市场获得更高的产量和更多的财务保障,同时改善他们田间的工作条件。 随着时间的推移,BCI 农民也有望在关键的环境、社会和经济领域不断改进。 良好棉花标准可应用于不同规模的棉花生产——从马里、莫桑比克和塔吉克斯坦的小农场到巴西、中国和澳大利亚的大型工业化经营。

BCI 是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 在第五个收获季节,BCI 向全球五个地区的 1.2 个国家的 20 万农民授予了许可,占全球棉花产量的 7.6%。 BCI 现在拥有 700 多个成员组织,包括阿迪达斯、H&M、宜家、Levi Strauss & Co.、Marks & Spencer 和 Nike 等主要零售商和品牌,他们制定了雄心勃勃的公共目标,以在其供应链中采购可持续的良好棉花。

ISEAL 联盟现在拥有 21 名正式成员,涵盖各个领域和行业。 ISEAL 成员包括受尊重的标准,例如森林管理委员会、公平贸易国际、水资源管理联盟和水产养殖管理委员会。
ISEAL 是可持续发展标准的全球会员协会。 它的使命是通过定义可信度并将组织聚集在一起以增强其有效性来加强标准体系,以造福于人类和环境。

正如 ISEAL 信誉原则所反映的那样,成员接受产生积极影响的基本价值观。 ISEAL 的正式会员身份有助于区分他们采用的可靠做法以及通过标准提供和改善积极影响的承诺。

查阅

Better Cotton 获得 ISEAL 会员资格

我们很高兴地宣布,BCI 加入 ISEAL 联盟的申请已获批准,BCI 现已成为 ISEAL 的准会员。 ISEAL 是可持续性标准的全球会员协会,其成员包括世界上一些最受认可和最可信的标准体系,包括森林管理委员会 (FSC) UTZ 认证、公平贸易和雨林联盟。 所有成员都必须接受 ISEAL 信誉原则,满足 ISEAL 的入门级标准良好行为守则,同意在规定的时间内完全遵守准则,并致力于持续学习和改进。自 2005 年成立以来,BCI 一直致力于构建遵循 ISEAL 推荐的良好实践的系统。

BCI 首席执行官帕特里克·莱恩 (Patrick Laine) 表示:“随着全球范围内实施了 450 多项可持续发展计划,公司不确定要致力于哪些可持续发展计划是可以理解的。 可持续发展计划采用 ISEAL 实践为公司保证该计划是可信的,而不仅仅是营销计划或提高意识的活动。BCI 很高兴其计划获得了这种程度的认可。”

ISEAL 执行董事 Karin Kreider:“ISEAL 赞扬良好棉花倡议组织为成为 ISEAL 准会员所做的所有努力,并证明其全球标准计划遵循可靠和有效的做法。 我们很高兴在棉花行业有这样一个有影响力的倡议加入 ISEAL 联盟,并承诺与其他可持续发展标准一起工作,以产生积极影响。”

成为 ISEAL 的正式会员或准会员,是一种信任的标志,表明标准系统是可信的,并且是按照全球公认的良好实践开发的。 有了 ISEAL 的认可,潜在的 BCI 成员可以相信,通过支持 Better Cotton,他们正在支持整个棉花行业更可持续的未来。

按照这些链接了解更多关于 ISEAL更好的棉花标准系统。要阅读 ISEAL 网站上的公告, 请点击这里。

 

 

查阅

分享此页

ISEAL awards Better Cotton full membership status

The Better Cotton Initiative is pleased to announce that it has been accepted as a full member of the ISEAL Alliance by achieving full compliance with ISEAL’s Standard-Setting Code. The decision was approved by ISEAL’s Membership Committee, which reviewed BCI’s performance under ISEAL’s Independent Evaluation Mechanism.

The Better Cotton Initiative, which exists to transform cotton production worldwide by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity, has demonstrated overall compliance during an independent evaluation against ISEAL’s Code of Good Practice for Setting Social and Environmental Standards (Standard-Setting Code). The organisation has also demonstrated progress towards implementing the Impacts Code and the Assurance Code.

”BCI is extremely pleased to be awarded ISEAL’s full membership status,” said Damien Sanfilippo, Director of Standards and Assurance at BCI. ”This recognition is a testament to BCI’s credibility as a sustainability standard, and it gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our work of transforming the future of cotton through collaboration with a community of diverse standard systems.”

BCI was founded as part of a round table initiative led by WWF in 2005 with the goal of finding more sustainable solutions for cotton farmers, the environment and the future of the sector. To achieve this goal, BCI works with a diverse range of stakeholders across the cotton supply chain to promote measurable and continuing improvements for the environment, farming communities and the economies of cotton-producing areas.

”I would like to congratulate BCI on achieving full ISEAL membership status,” said Karin Kreider, Executive Director at ISEAL Alliance. ”I have watched BCI grow over the years and witnessed their incredible dedication to transforming cotton production. To now achieve full ISEAL membership reflects their commitment to credible practices and ensuring continuous improvement. We look forward to working with BCI in the years to come.”

Cotton is one of the world’s most important natural fibres. Over 25 million tonnes of cotton are produced every year in over 80 countries around the world, supporting 250 million people’s livelihoods in the production stages alone. Cotton is a renewable natural resource but the future of cotton production is vulnerable to poor environmental management, poor working conditions and unstable markets.

The Better Cotton Standard System gives assurance that cotton is being produced in a way that cares for the environment by minimising the negative impact of fertilisers and pesticides, and caring for water, soil health and natural habitats. BCI Farmers achieve higher yields and more financial security through access to global markets, while improving the working conditions in their fields. BCI Farmers are also expected to continuously improve in key environmental, social and economic areas over time. The Better Cotton Standard can be applied to different scales of cotton production – from smallholder farms in Mali, Mozambique and Tajikistan to large, industrialised operations in Brazil, China and Australia.

BCI is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. In its fifth harvest season, BCI licensed 1.2 million farmers in 20 countries across five regions of the world, and accounted for 7.6% of global cotton production. BCI now counts over 700 member organisations, including major retailers and brands such as adidas, H&M, IKEA, Levi Strauss & Co., Marks & Spencer, and Nike, who have set ambitious public targets to source sustainable Better Cotton in their supply chains.

Now with 21 full members, the ISEAL Alliance covers a diverse range of sectors and industries. ISEAL membership includes respected standards, such as Forest Stewardship Council, Fairtrade International, the Alliance for Water Stewardship and Aquaculture Stewardship Council.
ISEAL is the global membership association for sustainability standards. Its mission is to strengthen standards systems for the benefit of people and the environment by defining credibility and bringing organisations together to strengthen their effectiveness.

Members embrace the essential values for delivering positive impacts, as reflected in the ISEAL Credibility Principles. Full ISEAL membership helps to distinguish their adoption of credible practices and commitment to delivering and improving positive impacts through standards.

Read more

Better Cotton Achieves ISEAL Membership

We are delighted to announce that BCI’s application to join the ISEAL Alliance has been approved and BCI has now become an associate member of ISEAL. ISEAL is the global membership association for sustainability standards, and includes as members some of the most recognised and credible standards systems in the world, including Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) UTZ Certified, Fairtrade and RainforestAlliance. All members must embrace the ISEAL Credibility Principles, meet the entry level criteria of ISEAL’sCodes of Good Practice,agree to fully comply with the Codes within a set time frame, and commit to continuous learning and improvement.Since being established in 2005, BCI has been working hard to build the system that follows good practices as recommended by ISEAL.

Patrick Laine, CEO, BCI: ”With more than 450 sustainability initiatives being implemented around the globe, it is understandable that companies are unsure about which ones to commit to. Adoption of ISEAL practices by sustainability initiatives provides companies assurance that the initiative is credible, and not just a marketing program or awareness-raising campaign.BCI is delighted that its program has received this level of recognition.”

Karin Kreider, Executive Director, ISEAL: ”ISEAL applauds the Better Cotton Initiative on all of the effort the organisation has put in to become an ISEAL associate member and demonstrate that its global standards programme follows credible and effective practices. We are thrilled to have such an influential initiative in the cotton sector joining the ISEAL Alliance and committing to working alongside other sustainability standards to deliver positive impacts.”

Being an ISEAL member, full or associate, is a sign of trust that a Standards System is credible and has been developed following globally recognised good practices. With the recognition of ISEAL, prospective BCI members can have confidence that by supporting Better Cotton, they are supporting a more sustainable future for the cotton sector as a whole.

Follow these links to learn more about ISEAL and the Better Cotton Standards System.To read the announcement on ISEAL’s website, click here.

 

 

Read more
Translate »