格拉斯哥气候公约的要点:COP26 和更好的棉花气候方法

作者:Better Cotton 首席执行官 Alan McClay

联合国气候变化会议或格拉斯哥 COP26 的明确教训之一是,如果不共同努力,我们将一事无成。 另一方面,如果我们确实设法进行真正的合作,那么我们可以实现的目标是没有限制的。

XNUMXD压花不锈钢板 联合国可持续发展目标 可持续发展目标 (SDGs) 尽管可能不完善,但它是一个非常强大的框架,可以在公共、私人和民间社会参与者之间实现更好和更深入的合作,因为它们都将我们引向同一个方向。 通过我们的气候变化方法和五个雄心勃勃的影响目标领域,将于 2030 月发布的良好棉花 11 战略支持 17 个可持续发展目标中的 XNUMX 个。 正如格拉斯哥向我们展示了联合应对气候变化的合作是多么紧迫和不完美,以及我们如何需要走得更远,我们看看可持续发展目标框架和格拉斯哥气候公约如何得到良好棉花战略的支持。

Alan McClay,Better Cotton 首席执行官

格拉斯哥气候公约的三个总体主题以及 Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略和气候变化方法如何支持其目标

立即行动

《格拉斯哥气候公约》强调了根据现有最佳科学扩大气候行动和支持的紧迫性,包括资金、能力建设和技术转让。 只有这样做,我们才能共同提高适应能力,增强抵御能力并降低我们对气候变化影响的脆弱性。 该协议还强调了考虑发展中国家的优先事项和需求的重要性。

Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略如何支持这一点: 随着 最近发表了我们有史以来第一次全球温室气体排放 (GHG) 研究 由 Anthesis Group 进行,我们已经有了确凿的数据,使我们能够为良好棉花的许多不同的当地环境制定有针对性的减排途径。 既然我们已经建立了良好棉花温室气体排放的基线,我们正在努力将缓解实践更深入地嵌入我们的计划、原则和标准中,并进一步完善我们的监测和报告方法。 我们的气候变化方法和缓解目标的详细信息将作为我们 2030 年战略的一部分进行分享。

合作的持续重要性

Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略如何支持这一点: 像 Greta Thunberg 这样的青年气候活动家激励了世界各地数以百万计的年轻人加入他们对气候变化采取更大行动的呼吁。 我们在 Better Cotton 听到了这些呼吁。

随着我们最终确定我们的气候方法和 2030 年战略,我们正在利用我们的网络和伙伴关系,但更重要的是,我们正在确保以农民和农场工人的需求为中心——尤其是对女性、年轻人和其他更弱势群体的需求——通过持续和加强对话。 例如,当我们在巴基斯坦试点工人语音技术时,正在开发新的方法来直接听取工人的意见。 我们专注于推动可以直接使这些人受益的现场级创新,这就是为什么我们正在利用我们在 70 个国家/地区的近 23 个现场级合作伙伴来设计缓解和适应的国家级行动计划。 我们还与新的受众接触,尤其是全球和国家政策制定者,以倡导变革。

本文承认非缔约方利益相关者,包括民间社会、土著人民、当地社区、青年、儿童、地方和地区政府以及其他利益相关者,在推动实现《巴黎协定》目标方面的重要作用。

积极涉及边缘化群体的公正过渡

《格拉斯哥气候公约》的介绍强调了确保所有生态系统完整性、保护生物多样性的重要性,以及在采取行动应对气候变化时“气候正义”概念的重要性。 在此基础上,第 93 条敦促缔约方积极让土著人民和当地社区参与设计和实施气候行动。

Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略如何支持这一点: 在 COP26 结束时的视频讲话中,联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯 (António Guterres) 对年轻人、土著社区、女性领导人和所有领导“气候行动大军”的人表示感谢。 在 Better Cotton,我们了解到棉农及其社区站在这支“气候行动大军”的最前沿,并将继续首先为他们服务。 这就是为什么一个 '公正过渡'是我们气候方法的三大支柱之一。

我们知道,气候变化的影响将不成比例地影响那些已经处于不利地位的人——无论是由于贫困、社会排斥、歧视还是多种因素的结合。 整个 2021 年,我们一直在与印度和巴基斯坦的农民和农场工人直接交谈,以更好地了解他们面临的挑战,并制定新战略,优先考虑小棉农、农场工人和农业边缘化群体的关切和声音社区。

在我们今年晚些时候推出 2030 战略时,了解更多关于 Better Cotton 的气候方法的信息,包括五个影响目标领域。

查阅

保持 1.5 度在可及范围内:COP26 和更好的棉花气候方法

世界一直在注视着全球领导人、专家和活动家等人在备受期待的联合国气候变化会议 - COP26 上发表自己的声音。

在整个活动期间的一系列博客中,我们一直在研究良好棉花的气候方法将如何在三个途径下指导更大的行动—— 减轻, 适应确保公正的过渡 ——以及这对良好棉花种植者和合作伙伴的实际意义。 随着 COP26 接近尾声,我们正在关注缓解途径,仔细研究棉花对气候紧急情况的影响。

保持 1.5 度触手可及

作者:Kendra Park Pasztor,Better Cotton,监测与评估高级经理

COP26 的第一个目标——到本世纪中叶确保全球净零排放,并将全球气温上升限制在工业化前水平以上 1.5 度——无疑是最雄心勃勃的。 如果我们想防止最灾难性的气候灾害发生,这也是我们唯一的选择。 为实现这一目标,COP26 呼吁各国承诺实现雄心勃勃的 2030 年减排目标。

什么是温室气体排放?

温室气体或 GHG 包括二氧化碳、甲烷和一氧化二氮。 有时,“碳”被用作“温室气体排放”的简写。 通常,排放量以“碳当量”表示 - CO2e.

与此同时,由于森林和土壤储存了大量的大气碳,而施肥和灌溉系统的电力是造成大量排放的原因,因此农业在减排方面也发挥着核心作用。 认识到这一点, COP26 上的 26 个国家已经做出了新的承诺 制定更可持续、污染更少的农业政策。

了解良好棉花对减缓气候变化的贡献

平均而言,良好棉花生产每吨皮棉的排放强度比中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的比较生产低 19%。

在 Better Cotton,我们认真对待棉花行业在减缓气候变化方面的作用。 今年 XNUMX 月,我们发布了我们的 第一份量化全球温室气体排放量的报告 (GHG) 的良好棉花和可比产量。 这是帮助我们在 2030 年战略中设定减排目标的重要第一步。

良好棉花温室气体研究,由 花团 并于 2021 年受 Better Cotton 委托,发现获得 Better Cotton 许可的农民的棉花生产的排放量显着降低。

研究中的另一项分析评估了良好棉花(或公认的同等)生产的排放量,占巴西、印度、巴基斯坦、中国和美国获得许可的良好棉花全球产量的 80% 以上。 这些数据使我们能够为良好棉花的许多当地环境制定有针对性的减排战略。

将数据转化为行动:设定 Better Cotton 的 2030 年目标

Anthesis 的研究为我们提供了我们正在使用的宝贵见解——以及最新的 气候科学 — 制定 2030 年良好棉花温室气体减排目标,与 UNFCCC 时尚宪章 Better Cotton 是其中的一员。 现在我们已经建立了良好棉花温室气体排放的基线,我们可以进一步完善我们的监测和报告方法。

了解更多

注册收听 Kendra 演讲 在“实现雄心勃勃的企业目标:可持续性标准如何促进景观采购区气候和可持续性计划?”的会议上于 17 月 XNUMX 日在使净零价值链成为可能活动中举行。

阅读 Alan McClay 的博客 合作的重要性 和切尔西莱因哈特的博客 实现公正的过渡 作为我们“COP26 和更好的棉花气候方法”博客系列的一部分。

当我们在今年晚些时候推出 Better Cotton 的 2030 战略时,了解更多关于 Better Cotton 的气候方法的信息,包括关键的重点领域。 查找有关我们关注的更多信息 温室气体排放 和我们的 最近发布的 Anthesis 研究.

查阅

良好棉花发布首份温室气体排放研究

图片来源:Better Cotton/Demarcus Bowser 地点:美国田纳西州伯利森。 2019. 棉花包从布拉德威廉姆斯的农场运输。

15 年 2021 月 2021 日发布的一份新报告揭示了良好棉花和可比生产的全球温室气体排放量的首次量化。 该报告由 Anthesis Group 进行,并于 XNUMX 年受 Better Cotton 委托,发现获得 Better Cotton 许可的农民棉花生产的排放量显着降低。

Anthesis 分析了三个季节(200,000-2015 至 16-2017)的 18 多个农场评估,并使用了 酷农具 作为温室气体排放计算引擎。 Better Cotton 提供的主要数据包括投入物的使用和类型、农场规模、生产和大致的地理位置,而一些信息是通过案头研究填写的,原始数据不可用。

本研究的目的有两个。 首先,我们想了解良好棉花种植者在种植棉花时是否比可比的非良好棉花种植者产生的排放量更低。 其次,我们希望量化占全球良好棉花产量 80% 的生产商的排放量,并使用该基线设定 2030 年的全球减排目标。

我们比较分析的结果

为了了解良好棉花种植者在种植棉花时的排放量是否低于可比较的非良好棉花种植者,比较数据由良好棉花提供。 每个季节,其合作伙伴都会收集和报告在相同地理区域使用相同或类似技术种植棉花但尚未参与良好棉花计划的农民的数据。 研究发现,与中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的比较生产相比,良好棉花生产的每吨皮棉平均排放强度低 19%。

良好棉花和对比生产之间排放性能差异的一半以上是由于肥料生产的排放差异造成的。 另有 28% 的差异是由于灌溉排放造成的。 

平均而言,良好棉花生产每吨皮棉的排放强度比中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的比较生产低 19%。

这将使 Better Cotton 及其合作伙伴的主要生产区的减排战略能够实施有意义且可衡量的气候变化减缓行动。

为 Better Cotton 的 2030 战略提供信息的分析

我们的目标是为气候做出并展示积极的现实世界变化。 这意味着有一个基线并测量随时间的变化。 为了帮助我们为即将到来的 2030 年战略和相关的全球减排目标提供信息,我们要求进行一项单独的分析,以评估良好棉花(或公认的同等)生产的排放量,该生产占巴西、印度、巴基斯坦获得许可的良好棉花全球生产的 80% 以上,中国和美国。 该分析分解了每个国家每个州或省的排放驱动因素。 这将使 Better Cotton 及其合作伙伴的主要生产区的减排战略能够实施有意义且可衡量的气候变化减缓行动。

研究发现,生产 8.74 万吨皮棉的平均年温室气体排放量为 2.98 万吨二氧化碳当量——相当于每生产一吨皮棉排放 2.93 吨二氧化碳当量。 不出所料,最大的排放热点是化肥生产,占良好棉花生产总排放量的 47%。 灌溉和施肥也被发现是排放的重要驱动因素。

Better Cotton 在温室气体排放方面的下一步行动

设定 2030 年目标

  • Better Cotton 将制定 2030 年温室气体减排目标。 这将会 以气候科学为依据服装和纺织行业的集体抱负,尤其是 UNFCCC 时尚宪章 Better Cotton 是其中的一员。
  • Better Cotton 的排放目标将包含在我们的 综合气候变化战略 目前正在开发中。
图片来源:BCI/Vibhor Yadav

朝着目标采取行动

  • 鉴于它们对总排放量的巨大贡献, 减少使用合成肥料和灌溉 可以显着减少排放。 通过提高效率 更好的产量 还将有助于降低排放强度,即每种植一吨棉花所排放的温室气体。
  • 采用管理实践,例如 覆盖作物、覆盖、免耕/减耕和有机肥施用 提供通过碳封存减少排放的重要机会。 这些做法可以同时对保持土壤水分和增强土壤健康产生积极影响。
  • 激发集体行动 最重要的地方也将支持减排——这包括确定热点、利用新资源和倡导良好棉花直接范围之外的变革(例如,生产棉皮的良好棉花排放量的大约 10% 来自轧花。如果一半的轧花业务是支持从化石燃料动力能源过渡到可再生能源,良好棉花排放量将减少 5%)。

图片来源:BCI/摩根费拉。

针对目标进行监控和报告

  • 更好的棉花是 合作一个由领导的项目 黄金标准,这将为良好棉花的排放量化方法提供指导和可信度。 我们是 测试 Cool Farm 工具 作为一种科学、可靠和可扩展的方法,帮助我们监测排放随时间的变化。
  • 从良好棉花种植者和项目中收集更多数据将使 排放量化的细化 随后几年的进程。

下载下面的报告并访问我们最近的 关于测量和报告温室气体排放网络研讨会的更好棉花更新演示幻灯片 以从报告中找到更多详细信息。

了解有关 Better Cotton 的工作的更多信息 温室气体排放。


查阅

BCI 关于测量和报告温室气体排放的更新

加入我们,了解 BCI 在测量和报告温室气体排放方面的工作的最新情况。 在网络研讨会期间,我们将分享与 Anthesis 合作进行的全球研究和分析的结果。 这将包括深入了解良好棉花生产的温室气体排放量化进展、确定关键驱动因素以及探索减少排放的建议。

查阅

棉花应对气候变化

Cotton 2040 将举办一次公共网络研讨会,利用为 Cotton 2040 倡议进行的 2040 年代全球棉花种植区物理气候风险的首次全球分析,分享研究的主要发现和数据。 该网络研讨会旨在帮助参与者了解气候变化可能如何影响主要棉花种植区和供应链。 演讲者将与制片人和行业参与者探讨这些发现对他们的组织意味着什么,以及应对挑战需要什么。

查阅

分享此页

Takeaways from the Glasgow Climate Pact: COP26 and the Better Cotton Climate Approach

By Alan McClay, Better Cotton, CEO

One of the clear lessons from the UN Climate Change Conference or COP26 in Glasgow is that we won’t get anywhere without working together. On the other hand, if we do manage to engage in genuine collaboration, there is no limit to what we can achieve.

The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), as imperfect as they may be, are a very powerful framework to enable better and deeper collaboration—between public, private and civil society actors—as they all steer us in the same direction. Through our climate change approach and five ambitious impact target areas, Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy to be released in December supports 11 out of the 17 SDGs. As Glasgow showed us just how urgent and imperfect the collaboration to unite against climate change is and how we need to go further, we look at how the SDG framework and the Glasgow Climate Pact is supported by the Better Cotton Strategy.

Alan McClay, Better Cotton, CEO

Three Overarching Themes from the Glasgow Climate Pact and How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy and Climate Change Approach Supports Their Objectives

Prioritising Action Now

The Glasgow Climate Pact emphasises the urgency of scaling up climate action and support, including finance, capacity-building and technology transfer, in line with the best available science. Only if we do this can we collectively enhance our capacity for adaption, strengthen our resilience and reduce our vulnerability to climate change impacts. The agreement also underlines the importance of taking into account the priorities and needs of developing countries.

How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy Supports This: With the recent publication of our first-ever global greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs) study conducted by Anthesis Group, we already have hard data that is enabling us to develop targeted emissions reduction pathways for Better Cotton’s many diverse local contexts. Now that we have established a baseline for Better Cotton GHG emissions, we are working to embed mitigation practices more deeply into our programmes and Principles and Criteria and further refine our monitoring and reporting methods. Details on our climate change approach and mitigation target will be shared as part of our 2030 Strategy.

The Ongoing Importance of Collaboration

How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy Supports This: Youth climate activists like Greta Thunberg have inspired millions of young people around the world to join their call for greater action on climate change. We have heard these calls at Better Cotton.

As we finalise our climate approach and 2030 strategy, we are leveraging our network and partnerships, but even more importantly, we are ensuring that farmers’ and farm workers’ needs are centred — particularly for women, young people, and other more vulnerable populations — through continued and enhanced dialogue. New approaches are being developed to hear directly from workers, for example, as we pilot worker voice technology in Pakistan. We’re focused on driving field-level innovations that can directly benefit these individuals, which is why we are drawing on our close to 70 field-level partners across 23 countries to design country-level action plans for both mitigation and adaptation. We are also engaging with new audiences, particularly global and national policymakers to advocate for change.

This article recognizes the important role of non-Party stakeholders, including civil society, indigenous peoples, local communities, youth, children, local and regional governments and other stakeholders, in contributing to progress towards the goals of the Paris Agreement.

A Just Transition That Actively Involves Marginalised Groups

The introduction to the Glasgow Climate Pact underscores the importance of ensuring the integrity of all ecosystems, the protection of biodiversity, and the importance of the concept of ‘climate justice’ when taking action to address climate change. Article 93 builds on that, urging Parties to actively involve Indigenous peoples and local communities in designing and implementing climate action.

How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy Supports This: In a video address at the close of COP26, United Nations Secretary General António Guterres acknowledged young people, Indigenous communities, female leaders and all those leading the ‘climate action army.’ At Better Cotton, we understand that cotton farmers and their communities are at the forefront of this ‘climate action army’ and will continue to serve them first and foremost. That’s why a ‘Just Transition’ is one of the three pillars of our climate approach.

We know that the impact of climate change will disproportionately affect those who are already disadvantaged — whether due to poverty, social exclusion, discrimination or a combination of factors. Throughout 2021, we have been talking directly to farmers and farm workers in India and Pakistan to better understand the challenges that they face and develop new strategies that prioritise the concerns and voices of smallholder cotton farmers, as well as farm workers and marginalised groups in farming communities.

Learn more about Better Cotton’s climate approach, including five impact target areas, when we launch our 2030 Strategy later this year.

Read more

Keeping 1.5 Degrees within Reach: COP26 and the Better Cotton Climate Approach

The world has been watching as global leaders, experts and activists alike have been making their voices heard at the much-anticipated UN Climate Change Conference – COP26.

In a series of blogs throughout the event, we’ve been looking at how Better Cotton’s climate approach will guide greater action under three pathways — mitigation, adaptation and ensuring a just transition —and what that willmean in real terms for Better Cotton Farmers and partners. As COP26 draws to a close, we are zeroing in on the mitigation pathway, taking a closer look at the impact of cotton on the climate emergency.

Keeping 1.5 Degrees Within Reach

By Kendra Park Pasztor, Better Cotton, Senior Manager of Monitoring & Evaluation

The first COP26 goal — secure global net zero by mid-century and limit global temperature rise to 1.5 degrees above pre-industrial levels — is without a doubt the most ambitious. It’s also our only option if we want to prevent the most catastrophic climate disasters from occurring. To achieve this goal, COP26 has called on countries to commit to ambitious 2030 emissions reductions targets.

What are Greenhouse Gas Emissions?

Greenhouse gases or GHGs include carbon dioxide, methane and nitrous oxides. Sometimes ‘carbon’ is used as shorthand for ‘GHG emissions.’ Generally, emissions are expressed in ‘carbon equivalent’ – CO2e.

At the same time, agriculture also has a central role to play in emissions reductions as forests and soil store large quantities of atmospheric carbon, and fertiliser application and power for irrigation systems are responsible for significant emissions. Recognising this, 26 nations at COP26 have already set out new commitments to create more sustainable and less polluting agricultural policies.

Understanding Better Cotton’s Contribution to Climate Change Mitigation

On average, Better Cotton production had a 19% lower emissions intensity per tonne lint than comparison production across China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

At Better Cotton, we are taking the cotton sector’s role in climate change mitigation seriously. In October of this year, we released our first report quantifying global greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs) of Better Cotton and comparable production. This is an important first step that is helping us set our emissions reduction target in our 2030 Strategy.

The Better Cotton GHG study, conducted by Anthesis Group and commissioned by Better Cotton in 2021, found significantly lower emissions from Better Cotton-licensed farmers’ cotton production.

Another piece of analysis in the study assessed emissions from Better Cotton (or recognised equivalent) production constituting over 80% of licensed Better Cotton’s global production across Brazil, India, Pakistan, China and the US. This data is enabling us to develop targeted emissions reduction strategies for Better Cotton’s many local contexts.

Translating Data into Action: Setting Better Cotton’s 2030 Target

Anthesis’ study provided us with valuable insights that we are using — along with the latest climate science — to set a 2030 target for Better Cotton GHG emissions reduction, aligned with the UNFCCC Fashion Charter of which Better Cotton is a member. Now that we have established a baseline for Better Cotton GHG emissions, we can further refine our monitoring and reporting methods moving forward.

Learn More

Register to hear Kendra speak at the session “Achieving Ambitious Corporate Targets: How Can Sustainability Standards Contribute To Landscape Sourcing Area Climate And Sustainability Programmes?” taking place on 17 November at the Making Net-zero Value Chains Possible event.

Read Alan McClay’s blog on the importance of collaboration and Chelsea Reinhardt’s blog on enabling a just transition as part of our ‘COP26 and the Better Cotton Climate Approach’ blog series.

Learn more about Better Cotton’s climate approach, including key focus areas, when we launch Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy later this year. Find more information on our focus on GHG emissions and our recently released study with Anthesis.

Read more

Better Cotton Releases Our First Study on GHG Emissions

Photo Credit: Better Cotton/Demarcus Bowser Location: Burlison, Tennessee, USA. 2019. Cotton bales being transported from Brad Williams’ farm.

A new report published on 15 October 2021 has revealed the first-ever quantification of global greenhouse gas emissions of Better Cotton and comparable production. The report, conducted by Anthesis Group and commissioned by Better Cotton in 2021, found significantly lower emissions from Better Cotton licensed farmers’ cotton production.

Anthesis analysed more than 200,000 farm assessments from three seasons (2015-16 to 2017-18) and used the Cool Farm Tool as the GHG emissions calculation engine. The primary data provided by Better Cotton covered input use and types, farm sizes, production and approximate geographical locations, while some information was filled via desk research where primary data was not available.

The aims of this study were two-fold. Firstly, we wanted to understand if Better Cotton farmers have produced lower emissions while growing cotton than comparable non-Better Cotton farmers. Secondly, we wanted to quantify emissions for producers contributing 80% of Better Cotton global production and use this baseline to set a global emissions reductions target for 2030.

Results from our comparative analysis

To understand if Better Cotton farmers have produced lower emissions while growing cotton than comparable non-Better Cotton farmers, comparison data was provided by Better Cotton. Each season its partners collect and report data from farmers cultivating cotton in the same geographic areas using same or similar technologies, but who are not yet participating in the Better Cotton programme. The study found that on average Better Cotton production had a 19% lower emissions intensity per tonne lint than comparison production across China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

Over half of the difference in emissions performance between Better Cotton and comparison production was due to difference in emissions from fertiliser production. A further 28% of the difference was because of emissions from irrigation. 

On average Better Cotton production had a 19% lower emissions intensity per tonne lint than comparison production across China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

This will enable emissions reduction strategies across Better Cotton’s and its partners’ major production areas to implement meaningful and measurable climate change mitigation actions.

Analysis that informs Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy

We aim to make, and demonstrate, positive real-world change for the climate. This means having a baseline and measuring change over time. To help inform our forthcoming 2030 strategy and associated global target on emissions reduction, we requested a separate piece of analysis to assess emissions from Better Cotton (or recognised equivalent) production constituting over 80% of licensed Better Cotton’s global production across Brazil, India, Pakistan, China and the US. The analysis breaks down emissions drivers for each state or province per country. This will enable emissions reduction strategies across Better Cotton’s and its partners’ major production areas to implement meaningful and measurable climate change mitigation actions.

The study found production had average annual GHG emissions of 8.74 million tonnes carbon dioxide equivalents to produce 2.98 million tonnes lint – equating to 2.93 tonnes carbon dioxide equivalents per tonne lint produced. Unsurprisingly, the largest emissions hotspot was found to be fertiliser production, which accounted for 47% of total emissions from Better Cotton production. Irrigation and fertiliser application were also found to be significant drivers of emissions.

Better Cotton’s next steps on GHG Emissions

Set a 2030 Target

  • Better Cotton will set a 2030 target on GHG emissions reduction. This will be informed by climate science and the collective ambition of the apparel and textile sector, including notably the UNFCCC Fashion Charter of which Better Cotton is a member.
  • Better Cotton’s emissions target will sit within our comprehensive climate change strategy currently under development.
Photo Credit: BCI/Vibhor Yadav

Take Action Towards the Target

  • Given their sizable contribution to total emissions, reductions in the use of synthetic fertilisers and irrigation can unlock significant reductions in emissions. Efficiency improvements through better yields will also contribute to reducing emissions intensity, i.e. GHGs emitted per tonne of cotton grown.
  • The adoption of management practices such as cover cropping, mulching, no/reduced tillage and application of organic manures offer significant opportunities to reduce emissions through carbon sequestration. These practices can simultaneously have a positive impact on conserving soil moisture and enhancing soil health.
  • Galvanising collective action where it matters most will also support emissions reductions – this includes identifying hotspots, leveraging new resources and advocating for change outside Better Cotton’s direct scope (e.g. approximately 10% of Better Cotton emissions to produce cotton lint comes from ginning. If half the ginning operations were supported to transition away from fossil fuel-powered energy to renewables, Better Cotton emissions would reduce by 5%).

Photo Credit: BCI/Morgan Ferrar.

Monitor & Report Against the Target

  • Better Cotton is partnering on a project led by the Gold Standard, which will provide guidance and credibility to Better Cotton’s emissions quantification method. We are testing the Cool Farm Tool as a scientific, credible and scalable approach to help us monitor change in emissions over time.
  • The collection of additional data from Better Cotton farmers and projects will enable refinement of the emissions quantification process in subsequent years.

Download the report below and access our recent Better Cotton Update on Measuring and Reporting Greenhouse Gas Emissions Webinar and presentation slides to find more details from the report.

Learn more about Better Cotton’s work on Greenhouse Gas Emissions.


Read more
Translate »