更好的棉花和再生农业:我们的方法

作者:Chelsea Reinhardt,标准与保证总监

如今,再生农业似乎受到了所有人的关注。 从新的再生农业认证到大品牌的采购承诺,这一概念越来越受到关注。  

切尔西莱因哈特

许多再生实践已经融入了良好棉花标准体系,随着围绕再生农业的研究和对话的发展,我们正在努力深化我们的影响。 

下面,我们将讨论与良好棉花相关的再生农业——从我们如何定义它到我们前进的方法。 

什么是再生农业? 

虽然目前没有普遍接受的再生农业定义,但它通常与促进土壤健康和恢复土壤中的有机碳的做法有关。 这些做法可能包括减少耕作(免耕或低耕)、使用覆盖作物、复杂的作物轮作、轮作牲畜以及避免或尽量减少使用合成肥料和杀虫剂——这些做法有可能改变农业土壤变成净碳汇。  

良好棉花标准中的再生农业  

我们目前未在良好棉花标准中使用“再生农业”一词。 然而,如今被认为是再生农业的做法与构成我们标准基础的许多可持续农业实践相一致。 我们在全球 23 个国家/地区的实地实施合作伙伴支持农民实施这些做法,这些做法可以在《良好棉花原则和标准》中找到。 

良好棉花原则和标准中的再生农业

  • 土壤健康原则 3: 良好棉花种植者需要实施一项多年土壤管理计划,其中包括增强土壤结构、土壤肥力和改善养分循环,其中包括分解有机质和土壤呼吸等过程,以促进吸收土壤养分,如碳、氮和磷。 鼓励和支持农民确定最适合当地情况的做法。 这些通常包括覆盖作物、轮作、覆盖和其他再生方法。  
  • 关于生物多样性和土地利用的原则 4:良好棉花种植者必须采用生物多样性管理计划,明确鼓励作物轮作和退化地区的恢复。 
  • 其他优良棉花原则: 由于可持续农业实践的相互关联性,再生农业实践也包含在其他原则中。 例如,作物保护的第一原则引入了综合害虫管理计划 帮助农民减少农药使用 关于水资源管理的原则二详细说明了土壤水分做法,例如覆盖和覆盖种植。 

我们如何更深入地研究再生农业以产生更大的影响 

虽然我们认识到可再生农业实践的价值,并支持人们日益认识到农业在应对气候变化中的作用,但我们对在该领域的科学仍在发展的情况下对土壤碳贡献做出承诺持谨慎态度。 例如,尽管在许多情况下,免耕农业已被证明可以在短期内改善碳固存,但从长远来看,结果并不那么确定。 一些研究表明,即使是定期耕作也可以逆转多年的碳效益。 其他研究指出对土壤有机碳的混合影响,取决于土壤层的含量和深度。 

不管再生农业的长期碳效益如何,我们将继续专注于支持农民改善土壤健康。 这对于提高长期土壤肥力、减少侵蚀和适应气候变化至关重要。 它还在提高农业社区的产量和生计方面发挥着关键作用。 

下一步是什么

气候智能型农业实践 在即将修订良好棉花原则和标准后,将在良好棉花标准中发挥更突出的作用。 它们还将在我们的 2030 年战略和相关气候变化战略中占据重要地位,该战略将涵盖如何通过减轻和适应气候变化的影响、减少碳排放和衡量进展来提高良好棉花种植者和社区的抵御能力。 

一种持续改进的方法 是再生农业和我们的 2030 战略的核心。 为此,我们目前正在最终确定结果目标和相关指标,以作为更好的棉花种植者变革的驱动力。 结果目标问题领域可能包括减缓气候变化和土壤健康。 这些目标将使人们能够衡量良好棉花使命的进展情况,并激励农民寻找新的方法来丰富他们农场内外的环境。  

请继续关注——我们将分享有关这些目标的更多信息,并在年底推出我们的 2030 战略。  

了解有关良好棉花标准如何解决土壤健康和气候变化减缓和适应的更多信息

查阅

棉花种植和 Covid-19:在巴基斯坦的实地

在这里,我们与巴基斯坦的三个 BCI 实施合作伙伴(REEDS、桑塔尼妇女农村发展组织和世界自然基金会巴基斯坦分会)进行了交谈,以了解更多关于他们在 Covid-19 大流行期间如何支持 BCI 农民和农业社区的信息。

查阅

随着 22 万农民接受有关改进农业实践的培训,可持续棉花占全球产量的 2.3%

 
今天,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 发布了 2019 年年度报告。 在报告中,BCI 分享了良好棉花——由获得许可的 BCI 农民生产的符合该倡议的良好棉花原则和标准的棉花——现在占 全球棉花产量的 22%*.

在 2018-19 棉花季节,与实地执行伙伴的专家一起,以及来自超过 1,800成员, BCI 提供了关于更可持续的农业实践的培训 2.3 百万棉农 - 2.1 万获得了销售良好棉花的许可. 这将全球市场上更可持续生产的棉花数量推向了一个新的水平。

在供应链的另一端,BCI 的零售商和品牌成员在 2019 年底通过了一个重要的里程碑,采购超过 1.5 万吨良好棉花 ¬≠– BCI 的记录。 这比 40 年增长了 2018%,向市场发出了一个明确的信号,即良好棉花正在成为一种可持续的主流商品。 更好的棉花吸收现在占 占全球棉花产量的 6%.

=由于我们的成员、合作伙伴和其他利益相关者的共同努力,BCI 在实现 2020 年目标方面取得的进展尤其令人高兴。 还有两个棉花季节(2019-20 和 2020-21)在田间取得进一步进展,我们致力于不仅继续在田间带来有益的变化,而且还要从经验中学习并适应成为更加有效。 我们还不知道我们离 2020 年的目标有多近,我们仍在评估当前的 Covid-19 大流行将如何影响我们的努力。 但有一点是肯定的,过去 10 年我们取得了重大且不可否认的进步,有许多成功值得庆祝。” – Alan McClay,BCI 首席执行官。

2019年报告亮点

  • 在 23-2018 棉花季节,19 个国家/地区种植了 Better Cotton。
  • 获得许可的 BCI 农民生产了 5.6 万吨良好棉花。 这足以生产大约 8 亿条牛仔裤,世界上每个人每人一条。
  • 良好棉花目前占全球棉花产量的 22%。
  • BCI 及其 76 个实地合作伙伴为总计 2.3 万农民提供了培训和支持。
  • 2.1 万棉农获得了 BCI 许可证,可以将他们的棉花作为良好棉花出售——99% 是种植面积不足 20 公顷的小农。
  • BCI 零售商和品牌会员在 1.5 年采购了 2019 万吨棉花作为良好棉花——创纪录的数量。
  • 良好棉花的使用量现在占全球棉花产量的 6%。
  • BCI 在 400 年迎来了 2019 多名新成员。
  • 截至年底,BCI 在五个会员类别中拥有 1,842 名会员,比 29 年增长 2018%。

访问交互式 BCI 2019 年报 详细了解我们的成功、挑战以及我们在实现 2020 年目标方面取得的进展。

*该百分比是根据廉政公署 2019 年全球产量数据计算得出的。

查阅

分享此页

Better Cotton and Regenerative Agriculture: Our Approach

By Chelsea Reinhardt, Director, Standards & Assurance

Regenerative agriculture seems to be on everyone’s radar these days. From new regenerative agriculture certifications to sourcing commitments from big brands, the concept is gaining traction.  

Chelsea Reinhardt

Many regenerative practices are already woven into the Better Cotton Standard System, and as the research and conversations around regenerative agriculture evolve, we are working to deepen our impact along with it. 

Below, we discuss regenerative agriculture as it relates to Better Cotton — from how we define it to our approach moving forward. 

What is Regenerative Agriculture? 

While there is currently no universally accepted definition of regenerative agriculture, it is generally related to practices that promote soil health and restore organic carbon in the soil. These practices may include reducing tilling (no-till or low-till), use of cover crops, complex crop rotation, rotating livestock with crops and avoiding or minimising the use of synthetic fertilisers and pesticides — practices that have the potential to turn agricultural soil into a net carbon sink.  

Regenerative Agriculture in the Better Cotton Standard  

We don’t currently use the term ‘regenerative agriculture’ in the Better Cotton Standard. However, what is considered regenerative agriculture today is aligned with many of the sustainable farming practices that form the basis of our Standard. Our on-the-ground Implementing Partners in 23 countries around the world support farmers to implement these practices, which can be found throughout the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. 

Regenerative Agriculture in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

  • Principle 3 on Soil Health: Better Cotton Farmers are required to implement a multi-year soil management plan which covers enhancing soil structure, soil fertility and improving nutrient cycling, which includes processes such as breaking down of organic matter and soil respiration that facilitates uptake of soil nutrients like carbon, nitrogen and phosphorous. Farmers are encouraged and supported to identify practices that are most appropriate to their local context. These typically include cover cropping, crop rotation, mulching and other regenerative methods.  
  • Principle 4 on Biodiversity and Land Use: Better Cotton Farmers must adopt a biodiversity management plan which explicitly encourages crop rotation and the restoration of degraded areas. 
  • Other Better Cotton Principles: Due to the interconnected nature of sustainable farming practices, regenerative agriculture practices are embedded within other principles as well. For example, principle one on crop protection introduces an Integrated Pest Management Programme to help farmers reduce their pesticide use and principle two on water stewardship details soil moisture practices such as mulching and cover cropping. 

How We’re Diving Deeper into Regenerative Agriculture for Greater Impact 

While we recognise the value of regenerative agriculture practices and support the growing awareness of the role of farming in combatting climate change, we are cautious about making promises about soil carbon contributions while the science in this area is still evolving. For example, although no-till agriculture has been shown to improve carbon sequestration in the short term in many cases, in the long term, the outcomes are less certain. Some studies have shown that even periodic ploughing can reverse years of carbon benefits. Other research points to mixed impacts on soil organic carbon, depending on the content and depth of the soil layer. 

Regardless of the long-term carbon benefits of regenerative agriculture, we will continue to focus on supporting farmers to improve their soil health. This is crucial to enhance long-term soil fertility, reduce erosion and adapt to climate change. It also plays a key role in improving yields and livelihoods for farming communities. 

What’s Next

Climate-smart agriculture practices will play a more prominent role in the Better Cotton Standard after an upcoming revision of the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. They will also feature strongly in our 2030 Strategy and connected climate change strategy, which will cover how Better Cotton Farmers and communities can become more resilient by mitigating and adapting to the effects of climate change, reducing carbon emissions and measuring their progress. 

An approach of continuous improvement is at the heart of both regenerative agriculture and our 2030 Strategy. To that end, we are currently in the process of finalising outcome targets and associated indicators to act as drivers of change for Better Cotton Farmers. The outcome target issue areas will likely include climate change mitigation and soil health. These targets will enable progress to be measured towards the Better Cotton mission and incentivise farmers to find new ways to enrich the environment in and around their farms.  

Stay tuned — we will be sharing more information on these targets and launching our 2030 Strategy at the end of the year.  

Learn more about how the Better Cotton Standard addresses soil health and climate change mitigation and adaptation

Read more

Sustainable Cotton Reaches 22% of Global Production as 2.3 Million Farmers Receive Training on Improved Agricultural Practices

 
Today, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) launched its 2019 Annual Report. In the report, BCI shares that Better Cotton – cotton produced by licensed BCI Farmers in line with the initiative’s Better Cotton Principles and Criteria – now accounts for 22% of global cotton production*.

In the 2018-19 cotton season, together with expert on-the-ground Implementing Partners and with support from more than 1,800 members, BCI provided training on more sustainable agricultural practices to 2.3 million cotton farmers – 2.1 million gained a license to sell Better Cotton. This drove the volume of more sustainably produced cotton available on the global market to a new level.

At the opposite end of the supply chain, BCI’s Retailer and Brand Members passed a significant milestoneat the end of 2019, sourcing more than 1.5 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton ¬≠– a record for BCI. That’s a 40% increase on 2018 and sends a clear signal to the market that Better Cotton is becoming a sustainable mainstream commodity. Better Cotton uptake now accounts for 6% of global cotton production.

It is particularly pleasing to share the progress BCI is making, thanks to the concerted efforts of our members, partners and other stakeholders, towards our 2020 targets. With two more cotton seasons (2019-20 and 2020-21) within which to make further advances at field level, we are committed to not only continuing to deliver beneficial change at field level, but also to learning from the experience and adapting to become more effective. We do not yet know how close we will come to our 2020 targets, and we are still assessing how the current Covid-19 pandemic will impact our efforts. But one thing is certain, we have made significant and undeniable progress over the past 10 years, and there are many successes to celebrate.” – Alan McClay, CEO, BCI.

2019 Report Highlights

  • Better Cotton was grown in 23 countries in the 2018-19 cotton season.
  • Licensed BCI Farmers produced 5.6 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton. That is enough cotton to make approximately 8 billion pairs of jeans, a pair each for every person in the world.
  • Better Cotton now accounts for 22% of global cotton production.
  • BCI and its 76 field-level partners delivered training and support to a total of 2.3 million farmers.
  • 2.1 million cotton farmers received a BCI license to sell their cotton as Better Cotton – 99% are smallholders farming on less than 20 hectares.
  • BCI Retailer and Brand Members sourced 1.5 million metric tonnes of cotton as Better Cotton in 2019 – a record volume.
  • Uptake of Better Cotton now accounts for 6% of global cotton production.
  • BCI welcomed more than 400 new members in 2019.
  • By the end of the year, BCI had 1,842 members across five membership categories, a 29% increase on 2018.

Access the interactive BCI 2019 Annual Report to learn more about our successes, challenges and the progress we are making towards our 2020 targets.

*The percentage has been calculated using ICAC’s 2019 global production figures.

Read more
Translate »