Better Cotton Onboards 来自强迫劳动和体面工作工作组的建议

 
2020 年 XNUMX 月,BCI 成立了 强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组 审查当前的全球良好棉花标准体系。 工作组的目的是突出差距并提出建议,以提高该系统在识别、预防、减轻和补救强迫劳动风险方面的有效性。 该小组由来自民间社会、零售商和品牌以及负责任采购咨询公司的专家组成。

工作组致力于审查当前的 BCI 系统,讨论关键问题和差距,并提出建议。 该过程包括与更广泛的利益相关者群体进行广泛磋商,最终形成了一份综合报告,该报告于 2020 年 XNUMX 月发布,可在 脑机接口网站.

BCI 领导团队和委员会现已完成对报告调查结果的全面审查,并做出正式回应,其中还总结了截至 2021 年 XNUMX 月 BCI 已开展的工作。回应概述了 BCI 的短期、中期和长期预期加强我们的强迫劳动和体面工作制度的优先事项。

BCI 首席执行官 Alan McClay 表示:“体面工作和强迫劳动是棉花生产中至关重要的可持续性问题。 在 BCI,我们致力于进一步加强我们在这些问题上的能力。 在我们启动 2030 战略时,工作组的建议帮助我们做到了这一点。 落实这些建议的工作已经在进行中。”

响应欢迎工作组的综合调查结果及其确定的 BCI 将继续集中更多资源和努力的多个领域。 工作组已经认识到 BCI 作为真正的全球合作伙伴网络具有在数百万棉农和工人之间实施变革的潜力。

回应还承认将 BCI 的强迫劳动和体面工作努力纳入更广泛的 BCI 战略的重要性。 这反映在 BCI 的 2030 战略中,其中包括对体面劳动的高度关注。 我们预计其中一些建议领域的工作将跨越未来十年甚至更久的大部分时间。

BCI 将使用分阶段的方法来实施计划中概述的活动,迅速解决速效问题和高优先级领域,同时对一些需要专门资金和资源的更具挑战性的工作领域保持长期愿景。 风险评估将告知这种方法; 首先关注强迫劳动风险高且 BCI 影响较大的领域。

BCI 将寻求与他人积极合作应对其中一些关键挑战,例如农场工人提出申诉的有效工具。 整个农业部门都面临着这些挑战,BCI 不仅希望与当地专家和基层组织合作,而且还希望与其他倡议合作,以分享经验和开拓新工具。

BCI 立即着手执行工作组的一些关键建议,并将在下个季节(即 XNUMX 月开始在北半球)及时将这些建议付诸实施。 BCI 领导团队非常感谢工作组成员投入时间和专业知识帮助 BCI 审查我们当前的方法并开辟一条前进的道路,以改变我们的强迫劳动和体面工作能力。

BCI 的工作组建议计划摘要可在 BCI 网站上找到,可在以下网址找到 此处.

查阅

强迫劳动和体面工作工作队完成关键调查结果和建议

棉花种植在世界上面临严峻挑战的地区,包括环境和社会挑战。 Better Cotton 的使命要求我们在其中许多地区开展业务,因此,我们必须管理复杂的社会政治和经济条件,以便在影响最大的地方提供支持和干预。 特别是为了适应和应对体面劳动和强迫劳动挑战,Better Cotton 积极参与与主题专家和主要利益相关者(包括民间社会组织、零售商和品牌以及道德供应链顾问)就这些问题进行的对话。

为此,本着我们对持续改进的承诺的精神,Better Cotton 于 2020 年 12 月成立了强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组,以审查全球当前的 Better Cotton 标准体系。 工作组的目的是突出差距并提出建议,以提高该系统在识别、预防、减轻和补救强迫劳动风险方面的有效性。 该小组由代表民间社会、零售商和品牌以及道德供应链咨询公司的 XNUMX 名专家组成。 工作组实际上工作了六个月,以审查当前的良好棉花系统,讨论关键问题和差距,并提出建议。 该过程包括与更广泛的零售商和品牌、现场级实施合作伙伴和以工人为中心的组织等进行广泛协商。 他们的工作最终形成了一份概述主要调查结果和建议的综合报告。

“Better Cotton 很荣幸能够与世界一流的独立专家团队合作,”BCI 首席执行官 Alan McClay 评论道。 “他们的知识和经验使我们能够建立一个坚实的基础,我们将在此基础上重新平衡我们的活动,更加关注体面工作和强迫劳动。”

良好棉花委员会和管理团队正在审查该报告,并将通过良好棉花 2030 战略的视角仔细考虑工作组的调查结果和建议。 他们将针对这些建议准备一份详细的回应,并将于 XNUMX 月分享。 Better Cotton 认识到加强我们的体面劳动计划将是一个多年的过程,需要额外的资源和资金。 短期内,我们将通过员工、实施合作伙伴和第三方验证者的能力建设,加强我们对选择和留住实施合作伙伴的尽职调查,并修订我们的保证流程以更好地识别和减轻我们的强迫劳动能力。强迫劳动风险。

2021 年,Better Cotton 还将探索在一个或两个高度优先地区试点更全面的体面劳动活动的机会,包括详细的强迫劳动风险评估和民间社会参与策略。

Better Cotton 谨向工作组成员表示最诚挚的感谢,他们都自愿贡献了时间和专业知识,全心全意地参与了这个过程。 他们的努力导致对社会可持续性的一个重要领域和良好棉花标准体系进行了彻底而复杂的分析,并将在我们继续努力创造变革的同时为良好棉花服务。 我们致力于开拓创新方法,为工人和农民在棉田中促进体面的工作条件,如果没有不同利益相关者的大力参与,这是不可能实现的。

请在下方留下一些详细信息以下载报告

请注意,通过下载表格提交的所有数据都将保密。 它不会被共享或用于任何通信目的。

查阅

Better Cotton 成立强迫劳动和体面工作专家工作组

良好棉花标准体系是可持续棉花生产的整体方法,涵盖可持续性的所有三个支柱:社会、环境和经济,并解决棉花生产的许多挑战。 七人之一 良好棉花原则和标准 直接针对体面劳动和强迫劳动。 体面工作被定义为在人们感到安全、受到尊重并能够表达他们的担忧或协商更好的条件的环境中,提供公平的薪酬、安全和平等的学习和进步机会的工作。

为了适应和应对棉花种植中体面劳动的挑战,无论此类挑战可能出现在何处,BCI 都积极参与与我们的利益相关者(包括民间社会组织、零售商和品牌以及专家组织)就体面劳动和强迫劳动问题进行对话。

强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组

BCI 目前正在努力加强 更好的棉花原则六:体面的工作 并设立了专家 强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组 审查良好棉花标准体系的选定要素。 根据这次审查,工作组将提出建议,以提高系统在识别、预防、减轻和补救强迫劳动风险方面的有效性。

专责小组成员

强迫劳动和体面劳动工作组汇集了来自民间社会、零售商、品牌和咨询公司的代表,他们在供应链中,尤其是纺织部门的人权和强迫劳动问题方面拥有丰富的专业知识。 工作队还利用了一名项目顾问的专业知识,该顾问在国际劳工组织处理棉花收获中童工和强迫劳动风险方面具有背景。

文明社会

  • Patricia Jurewicz,创始人兼副总裁 | 负责任的采购网络
  • Shelly Han,参谋长兼董事或参与 | 公平劳工协会
  • 棉花运动协调员 Allison Gill | 国际劳工权利论坛
  • Isabelle Rogers,全球棉花项目经理 | 团结
  • Chloe Cranston,商业和人权经理 | 反奴役国际
  • Komala Ramachandra,高级研究员 | 人权观察

咨询/研究机构

  • Rosey Hurst,创始人兼董事 | 冲击
  • Aarti Kapoor, 董事总经理 | 嵌入
  • Brett Dodge,高级顾问 | 埃尔贡

零售商和品牌

  • Fiona Sadler,道德贸易主管(将暂时代表玛莎百货)| Lydia Hopton,道德贸易经理 | M&S 服装和家居
  • Aditi Wanchoo,高级经理 - 发展伙伴关系社会与环境事务 | 阿迪达斯
  • Jason Tucker,劳工绩效总监,可持续制造与采购 | Nike

项目顾问

  • 斯蒂芬麦克莱兰,独立高级顾问

了解有关工作组成员的更多信息 此处.

当有更多信息可用时,我们将分享有关工作组进展的最新信息。

查阅

帮助农民促进体面工作

所有工人都有权获得体面的工作——在人们感到安全、受到尊重并能够表达他们的担忧或谈判更好的条件的环境中,提供公平的薪酬、安全和平等的学习和进步机会的工作。

查阅

分享此页

Better Cotton Onboards Recommendations from the Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work

 
In April 2020, BCI formed the Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work to review the current global Better Cotton Standard System. The aim of the Task Force was to highlight gaps and develop recommendations to improve the effectiveness of this system in identifying, preventing, mitigating and remediating forced labour risks. The group was comprised of experts from civil society, retailers and brands, and responsible sourcing consultancies.

The Task Force worked to review current BCI systems, discuss key issues and gaps, and develop proposed recommendations. The process included extensive consultations with a wider group of stakeholders, and culminated in a comprehensive report, published in October 2020 and available in full on the BCI website.

The BCI Leadership Team and Council have now completed a full review of the report’s findings, producing a formal response that also summarises the work that BCI has already carried out as of January 2021. The response outlines BCI’s expected short, mid, and long-term priorities to strengthen our systems on forced labour and decent work.

Alan McClay, CEO of BCI said, ”Decent work and forced labour are crucial sustainability issues within cotton production. At BCI we are committed to strengthening further our capabilities on these issues. As we launch our 2030 strategy, the Task Force recommendations help us do that. The work to implement these recommendations is already underway.”

The response welcomes the comprehensive findings of the Task Force and its identification of multiple areas where BCI will continue to focus more resources and effort. The Task Force has recognised the potential that BCI has – as a truly global network of partners – to enact change across millions of cotton farmers and workers.

The response also recognises the importance of embedding BCI’s forced labour and decent work efforts within the broader BCI strategy. This is reflected in BCI’s 2030 strategy, which includes a strong focus on decent work. We expect that work in some of these recommendation areas will span most of the next decade and even beyond.

BCI will use a phased approach to implement the activities outlined in the plan, tackling quick wins and high-priority areas promptly, whilst maintaining a long-term vision on some of the more challenging work areas that will require dedicated funding and resources. This approach will be informed by risk assessment; focusing first on areas where forced labour risks are high and BCI has a significant footprint.

BCI will look to actively collaborate with others on some of these key challenges, such as effective tools for farm workers to raise grievances. These challenges are faced across the agricultural sector, and BCI expects to work not only with local experts and grassroots organisations, but also with other initiatives to share learnings and pioneer new tools.

BCI has lost no time getting started on some of the key recommendations of the task force and will bring these into effect in time for the next season, beginning in March in the Northern Hemisphere. The BCI Leadership team is extremely grateful to the Task Force members for dedicating their time and expertise to help BCI examine our current approach and forge a path forward to transform our forced labour and decent work capabilities.

A summary of BCI’s plan to onboard the Task Force’s recommendations is available on the BCI website and can be found here.

Read more

Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work Finalises Key Findings and Recommendations

 
Cotton is grown in areas of the world with formidable challenges, both environmental and social. BCI’s mission dictates that we operate in many of these regions, and therefore, we must manage complex, socio-political and economic conditions in order to deliver support and interventions where they will have the most impact. In order to adapt and respond to decent work and forced labour challenges, in particular, BCI is actively engaged in dialogue on these issues with subject matter experts and key stakeholders, including civil society organisations, retailers and brands, and ethical supply chains consultants.

To that end and in the spirit of our commitment to continuous improvement, BCI formed the Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work in April 2020 to review the current Better Cotton Standard System globally. The aim of the Task Force was to highlight gaps and develop recommendations to improve the effectiveness of this system in identifying, preventing, mitigating and remediating forced labour risks. The group was comprised of 12 experts representing civil society, retailers and brands, and ethical supply chain consultancies. The Task Force worked virtually for six months to review current BCI systems, discuss key issues and gaps, and develop proposed recommendations. The process included extensive consultations with a wider group of retailers and brands, field-level Implementing Partners and worker-focused organisations, among others. Their work culminated in a comprehensive report that outlines key findings and recommendations.

”It has been a privilege for BCI to be able to work with a world-class group of independent experts,” commented Alan McClay, BCI CEO. ”Their knowledge and experience have enabled us to build a robust foundation on which we shall rebalance our activities with a stronger focus on decent work and forced labour.”

The BCI Council and Management Team are reviewing the report and will carefully consider the Task Force’s findings and recommendations through the lens of BCI’s 2030 strategy. They will prepare a detailed response to the recommendations, which will be shared in January. BCI recognises that strengthening our decent work programme will be a multi-year process and will require additional resources and funding. In the short-term, we will focus on strengthening our forced labour capabilities through capacity building for staff, Implementing Partners and third-party verifiers, enhancing our due diligence for selecting and retaining Implementing Partners, and revising our assurance processes to better identify and mitigate forced labour risks.

In 2021, BCI is also exploring opportunities to pilot a more comprehensive set of decent work activities, including a detailed forced labour risk assessment and civil society engagement tactics, in one or two high priority regions.

BCI would like to express our sincerest gratitude to the Task Force members all of whom volunteered their time and expertise, engaging wholeheartedly in the process. Their efforts have resulted in a thorough and complex analysis of an important area of social sustainability, and of the Better Cotton Standard System, and will serve BCI as we continue striving to create change. We are committed to pioneering innovative approaches to promote decent work conditions in cotton fields for workers and farmers alike, which would not be possible without strong engagement from diverse stakeholders.

Please leave a few details below to download the report

[contact-form-7 id=”16193″ title=”Download: Task Force F&R 10/20″]

Please note that all data submitted via the download form will be kept confidential. It will not be shared or used for any communications purposes.

Read more

Better Cotton Sets Up Expert Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work

The Better Cotton Standard System is a holistic approach to sustainable cotton production which covers all three pillars of sustainability: social, environmental and economic, and addresses the many challenges of cotton production. One of the seven Better Cotton Principles and Criteria directly addresses Decent Work and forced labour specifically. Decent Work is defined as work which offers fair pay, security and equal opportunities for learning and progression, in an environment where people feel safe, respected, and able to express their concerns or negotiate better conditions.

In order to adapt and respond to Decent Work challenges in cotton farming, wherever such challenges may arise, BCI is actively engaged in dialogue on Decent Work and forced labour issues with our stakeholders, including civil society organisations, retailers and brands, and expert organisations.

Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work

BCI is currently working to strengthen Better Cotton Principle Six: Decent Work and has set up an expert Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work to review selected elements of the Better Cotton Standard System. Based on this review, the Task Force will produce recommendations to improve the effectiveness of the system in identifying, preventing, mitigating and remediating forced labour risks.

Task Force Members

The Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work brings together representatives from civil society, retailers, brands and consultancies with a strong expertise in human rights and forced labour issues in supply chains, particularly in the textile sector. The Task Force also draws on the expertise of a project adviser with a background in tackling the risks of child and forced labour in cotton harvests at the International Labour Organization.

Civil Society

  • Patricia Jurewicz, Founder and Vice President | Responsible Sourcing Network
  • Shelly Han, Chief of Staff & Director or Engagement | Fair Labour Association
  • Allison Gill, Cotton Campaign Coordinator | International Labor Rights Forum
  • Isabelle Rogers, Global Cotton Programme Manager | Solidaridad
  • Chloe Cranston, Business and Human Rights Manager | Anti-Slavery International
  • Komala Ramachandra, Senior Researcher | Human Rights Watch

Consultancies / Research Organisations

  • Rosey Hurst, Founder and Director | Impactt
  • Aarti Kapoor, Managing Director | Embode
  • Brett Dodge, Senior Consultant | Ergon

Retailers and Brands

  • Fiona Sadler, Head of Ethical Trade (will temporarily represent M&S) | Lydia Hopton, Ethical Trade Manager | M&S Clothing and Home
  • Aditi Wanchoo, Senior Manager – Development Partnerships Social & Environmental Affairs | adidas
  • Jason Tucker, Director of Labor Performance, Sustainable Manufacturing & Sourcing | Nike

Project Advisors

  • Stephen McClelland, Independent Senior Consultant

Find out more about the Task Force members here.

We will share updates on the progress of the Task Force as more information is available.

Read more

Helping Farmers Promote Decent Work

All workers have the right to decent work – work that offers fair pay, security and equal opportunities for learning and progression, in an environment where people feel safe, respected, and able to express their concerns or negotiate better conditions.

Read more
Translate »