棉花行业齐心协力推动气候行动

上周,良好棉花欢迎来自 450 个国家的 50 多名与会者参加在瑞典马尔默和在线举行的良好棉花会议。 我们一起从性别、小农生计、可追溯性和可持续金融等各种角度审视了气候行动的总体会议主题。

在两天多的时间里,我们听取了 70 多位代表整个棉花供应链的鼓舞人心的演讲者的发言——从良好棉花种植者到组织,如 未来论坛, 沃尔玛, 宜家, 马克斯和斯宾塞, 托尼的巧克力, 雨林联盟, 世界自然基金会 还有很多。

我们在合作、挑战想法和热情方面度过了美妙的几天。 从 Safia Minney 的主题演讲,重点关注时尚行业的问题以及企业转向再生模式的机会,到我们关于衡量和报告影响的分组讨论,引发了关于棉花行业如何围绕正确的指标进行调整的动态讨论,我们在很短的时间内覆盖了很多领域。

图形艺术家 Carlotta Cataldi 以视觉方式捕捉讨论,他创作了精彩的插图,展示了所涵盖主题的深度和广度。 

我们非常感谢我们的赞助商—— 链点, 棉花巴西, Gildan, JFS SAN, 路易达孚公司, 光谱苏比玛 – 演讲者、与会者、组织团队、我们的活动合作伙伴 Altitude Meetings 以及使良好棉花会议成为可能的良好棉花员工。

会议可能已经结束,但让我们保持势头,共同推动棉花气候行动。 

查阅

参加 Cotton 2040 的圆桌会议,创建气候适应型棉花行业

今年早些时候,Cotton 2040 在合作伙伴 Acclimatise 和 Laudes Foundation 的支持下,撰写了 首次对 2040 年代全球棉花种植区的自然气候风险进行全球分析,以及印度棉花种植区的气候风险和脆弱性评估。 Cotton 2040 现在邀请您参加我们的三场圆桌会议,我们将更深入地研究这些数据,分享对不同棉花种植区的预期影响和影响的特定地理分析,试图了解对参与者的关键影响整个供应链,并共同优先考虑整个棉花行业的紧急和长期行动。

申请参加到 2021 年 2040 月和 XNUMX 月的这一系列圆桌活动,届时 Cotton XNUMX 及其合作伙伴将齐聚一堂,通过气候和社会适应使棉花行业面向未来。 三场两小时的圆桌会议旨在在五周内相互补充,鼓励参与者参加所有三场会议。 每个会话将在每个日期在线运行两次,以适应美洲、欧洲、非洲、印度和东南亚的时区。

了解更多信息

查找有关圆桌会议活动的更多详细信息并注册 此处.

  1. 圆桌会议 1:11 月 XNUMX 日星期四: 了解棉花部门面临的气候风险并探索对未来生产的影响
  2. 圆桌会议 2:30 月 XNUMX 日星期二: 深入了解建立更具气候适应能力的棉花部门所需的适应反应
  3. 圆桌会议 3:14 月 XNUMX 日,星期二: 为气候适应型棉花部门制定合作行动的途径

圆桌召集人: 

Better Cotton 如何做出贡献?

作为 Cotton 2040 的“气候适应规划”工作组的一部分,Better Cotton 与合作伙伴合作开发了今年早些时候发布的资源,特别是设立了区域工作组来讨论如何优化印度和其他地区的数据。 我们将继续将这项研究用于我们的气候战略,并优先考虑气候风险高的地区。

Better Cotton 期待利用 Cotton 2040 气候变化适应工作流程的宝贵成果来更好地了解重点关注的优先区域,并确定这些地区农民面临的具体气候危害。 Better Cotton 还欢迎印度气候风险和脆弱性评估报告中非常有用的研究,该报告指出气候变化适应力与社会经济因素(如贫困、识字率和女性工作参与)之间存在密切联系。 这强调了采取整体方法帮助棉农更好地适应气候变化的重要性,并强调了 Better Cotton 在这方面与多个合作伙伴密切合作的必要性。

Better Cotton Initiative 是 Cotton 2040 的骄傲成员 - Cotton 2040 是一项跨行业合作伙伴关系,将零售商和品牌、棉花标准和行业倡议结合在一起,以协调优先行动领域的努力。 阅读有关 Better Cotton 与 Cotton XNUMX 合作的更多信息:

  • 三角洲框架 – 在 2019 年和 2020 年期间,我们一直通过 Cotton 2040 Impacts Alignment 工作组与其他可持续棉花标准、计划和规范合作,以调整棉花种植系统的可持续性影响指标和指标。
  • 棉花UP – CottonUP 指南是帮助品牌和零售商跨多个标准快速跟踪可持续采购的交互式指南,回答了有关采购可持续棉花的三大问题:为什么它很重要,您需要知道什么和做什么,以及如何开始。

通过访问 Cotton 2040 的“气候适应规划”工作流程了解更多信息 微型.

查阅

更好的棉花出现在应对气候变化的生态纺织品新闻中

4 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日,Ecotextile News 发表了“棉花能否冷却气候变化?”,探讨棉花种植在气候变化中的作用。 这篇文章仔细研究了 Better Cotton 的气候战略,并借鉴了对首席运营官 Lena Staafgard 和标准与保证总监 Chelsea Reinhardt 的采访,以了解我们计划如何影响气候变化减缓和适应。

加快变革步伐

随着 Better Cotton 最近委托 Anthesis 进行的温室气体排放研究以及我们与 棉2040,我们现在有了更好的信息来确定排放量最大的区域以及哪些区域将受气候变化的影响最大。 我们现有的标准和由良好棉花网络的合作伙伴和农民实地实施的计划目前正在解决这些问题领域。 但我们需要迅速采取行动,在已有的基础上再接再厉,以加深我们的影响。






我们真正想做的是完善我们的重点并加快变革步伐,对那些是排放的主要驱动因素的特定领域产生更深层次的影响。

– Chelsea Reinhardt,标准和保证总监





与棉花行业合作

最近的棉花 2040 研究表明,在未来几十年中,一半的棉花种植区面临极端天气条件的高风险,我们有机会在这些地区采取行动,并有可能召集相关利益相关者。 在提供与当地条件相关的解决方案方面存在挑战,因此我们正在利用我们对这些问题的细微理解,并能够通过我们拥有的网络以适当的策略解决这些问题。 确保我们将小农和大型农场环境纳入我们的方法很重要。





我们应该能够到达那里,但这将是困难的,需要大量的合作,吸收我们在大型农场拥有的技术和知识,并找到方法使其在小农一级可用世界农业的发生。



Lena Staafgard,首席运营官



Better Cotton 处于这样一个位置,我们拥有资源和网络来合作实现变革。 加入我们即将举行的会员专享网络研讨会,了解更多关于 Better Cotton 的 2030 年气候变化战略.

阅读全文 Ecotextile 新闻文章,“棉花可以冷却气候变化吗?”

查阅

Better Cotton 与行业领袖和专家一起推动对可持续服装联盟董事会的影响

我很高兴被选为可持续服装联盟董事会成员,在那里我将与来自品牌、零售商、制造商、非政府组织、政府、学术界等的领导人和专家一起指导该组织的发展方向影响。 作为董事会成员,我将加入多元化的利益相关者,推动消费品行业的系统性变革。 我很自豪能加入我的同行和可持续发展倡导者,因为我们一起帮助 SAC 实现他们的愿景,即一个为地球及其人民付出更多的行业。

Last month, Lena Staafgard, COO of Better Cotton was elected to sit as a Director on the Sustainable Apparel Coalition Board (SAC) representing the Affiliate Category of the SAC Membership. SAC 是一个全球性的、多方利益相关者的时尚行业非营利联盟。 在此职位上,Lena 将与 SAC 领导团队和董事会其他成员密切合作,通过全球鞋类、服装和纺织品价值链的可持续生产推动影响,包括减少对环境的影响和促进社会正义。

随着 Better Cotton 为我们的 2030 战略而努力,整个行业和我们的成员之间的合作将继续对深化影响和实现我们改善农村社区生活和生计以及彻底改变棉花行业的雄心至关重要。

SAC 一直是一个 良好棉花准会员 自 2019 年以来。通过持续的合作和知识共享,我们共同努力以更可持续的耕作方式接触棉花种植社区。

Better Cotton 还是 SAC 附属会员,自 250 年以来,已有 2013 多个领先品牌、零售商、供应商、服务提供商、贸易协会、非营利组织、非政府组织和学术机构成为 SAC 会员。为人类和地球带来积极变化。 我们孜孜不倦地工作,以确保 Higg 指数的性能改进有力且真实地反映了良好棉花作为原材料的环境性能。

了解更多 国资委网站.

查阅

在全球分享渐进的环境实践

气候变化对世界棉农构成真实且日益严重的威胁,其中许多棉农在特别容易受到气候风险影响的国家种植农作物。 尤其是不规则的降雨,带来了严峻的挑战,农民面临着减少用水来种植传统用水密集型作物的压力。

查阅

世界自然基金会和宜家发布更好的棉花项目报告

BCI 很高兴分享我们两个最活跃的成员之间鼓舞人心的合作成果。

WWF 和宜家都是 BCI 的创始成员,并且一直是支持我们通过将良好棉花开发为可持续的主流商品来改变全球棉花生产的努力的基础。 2005 年,世界自然基金会和宜家开始在印度和巴基斯坦开展合作项目,最近还发布了一份鼓舞人心的“进展报告”。 该报告概述了迄今为止的合作历史和故事,并详细介绍了 2013 年的项目成果,包括减少化学农药、化肥和水的使用,以及提高工人的收入和社会福利。

通过 BCI,在我们的合作伙伴和成员(包括 WWF 和宜家)的支持下,印度和巴基斯坦的 193,000 名农民现在正在使用棉花种植技术,这些技术对生产它的人来说更好,对种植环境更好,对行业的未来也更好.

点击这里 阅读完整的报告。

查阅

良好棉花计划寻求中国政府合作

13.11.13 生态纺织品新闻
www.ecotextile.com

日内瓦——良好棉花倡议快速通道计划的一份新报告概述了该协会与中国政府合作开发新的良好农业规范和更好地了解中国棉花政策的目标。

为了应对棉花生产中面临的可持续性挑战并努力将可持续棉花纳入主流,参与良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 良好棉花快速通道计划的零售商还包括 Marks and Spencer、Levi Strauss 和 VF Corporation。

2012 年良好棉花快速通道计划年终报告,从田间到时尚,报告着眼于全球快速通道计划的影响,包括 BCFTP 资助的 ABRAPA (Associa√ß√£o Brasileira dos Produtores de Algod√£o),项目在巴西占地 210,000 多英亩和 100 名农民,在印度的 20 个项目覆盖了 90,000 多名工人和农民,在中国进行了 390 000 欧盟的投资。

报告称,中国国家棉花储备计划最近对市场造成的扭曲是零售品牌从中国供应商那里采购良好棉花的最大挑战,根据 BCI 的数据,中国种植了全球约 25% 的棉花产量。 .

“BCI 正在积极寻求与中央和地方政府的合作(最初是通过与农业部农村经济研究中心合作,开发中国良好农业规范)……了解中国的棉花政策并探索解决方案显然对所有人来说都是必不可少的棉花供应链中的利益相关者,”报告指出。

2012 年是良好棉花在中国获得许可和生产的第一年,有 32,000 兆吨(MT)皮棉被许可为良好棉花,其中 29,000 吨被轧花厂使用。

展望未来,该报告指出,BCI 的目标是为品牌设定目标,以在未来几年兑现其公开承诺,同时“希望超越服装公司的可持续发展部门,深入其运营和商业业务。”

查阅

分享此页

Cotton Sector Comes Together to Drive Climate Action

Last week, Better Cotton welcomed more than 450 participants from 50 countries to the Better Cotton Conference in Malmö, Sweden and online. Together, we examined the overarching conference theme of climate action through a variety of lenses, including gender, smallholder livelihoods, traceability and sustainable finance.

Over two days, we heard from more than 70 inspiring speakers representing the entire cotton supply chain – from Better Cotton Farmers to organisations such as Forum for the Future, Walmart, IKEA, Marks and Spencer, Tony’s Chocolonely, Rainforest Alliance, WWF and many more.

We had a fantastic few days of collaboration, challenging ideas and passion. From Safia Minney’s keynote address that spotlighted issues in the fashion industry and the opportunities for businesses to move towards a regenerative model, to our breakout panel on measuring and reporting on impact that sparked a dynamic discussion on how the cotton industry can align around the right metrics, we covered a lot of ground in a short timeframe.

There to capture the discussions visually was the graphic artist Carlotta Cataldi, who created wonderful illustrations that showcase the depth and breadth of topics covered. 

We want to say a huge thank you to our sponsors – ChainPoint, Cotton Brazil, Gildan, JFS SAN, Louis Dreyfus Company, Spectrum and Supima –speakers, attendees, the organising team, our event partners Altitude Meetings, and Better Cotton staff who made the Better Cotton Conference possible.

The conference may be over, but let’s keep the momentum going as we work together to drive climate action in cotton. 

Read more

Participate in Cotton 2040’s Roundtable Events to Create a Climate-Resilient Cotton Sector

Earlier this year, Cotton 2040, with partners Acclimatise and support from Laudes Foundation, authored the first-ever global analysis of physical climate risks across global cotton growing regions for the 2040s, as well as a Climate Risk and Vulnerability Assessment of cotton growing regions in India. Cotton 2040 are now inviting you to join us for three roundtable events where we will dive into this data in deeper detail, sharing a geography-specific analysis of the expected impacts and implications across different cotton growing regions, seeking to understand the critical impacts for actors across the supply chain and to collectively prioritise both urgent and long-term action across the cotton sector.

Apply to participate in this series of roundtable events through November and December 2021, where Cotton 2040 and its partners will come together to future-proof the cotton sector through climate and social adaptation. The three two-hour roundtable sessions are designed to build on each other over the course of five weeks and participants are encouraged to attend all three sessions. Each session will run online twice on each date, to suit time zones across the Americas, Europe, Africa, India and South East Asia.

Learn more

Find more details on the roundtable events and register here.

  1. Roundtable 1: Thursday 11 November: Understanding the climate risks facing the cotton sector and exploring the implications for future production
  2. Roundtable 2: Tuesday 30 November: Developing a deeper understanding of the adaptation response required to build a more climate resilient cotton sector
  3. Roundtable 3: Tuesday, 14 December: Shaping a pathway towards collaborative action for a climate resilient cotton sector

Roundtable Conveners: 

  • Dhaval Negandhi, Associate Director of Climate Change, Forum for the Future
  • Erin Owain, Lead Associate – Climate and Resilience Hub, and Alastair Baglee, Director, Corporates – Climate & Resilience Hub, Willis Towers Watson
  • Charlene Collison, Associate Director, Sustainable Value Chains and Livelihoods, Forum for the Future

How is Better Cotton contributing?

As part of Cotton 2040’s ‘Planning for Climate Adaptation’ working group, Better Cotton worked with partners to develop the resources released earlier this year, particularly in setting up regional working groups to discuss how to optimise data in India and other regions. We will continue to use this research to feed into our climate strategy and prioritise areas with high climate risk.

Better Cotton looks forward to using the valuable outcomes of the Cotton 2040 Climate Change Adaptation workstream to better understand priority regions to focus on, and to identify specific climate hazards facing farmers in these areas. Better Cotton also welcomes the highly useful research in the India Climate Risk and Vulnerability Assessment report, which points to a strong linkage between climate change resilience and socio-economic factors such as poverty, literacy, and female work participation. This underscores the importance of a holistic approach in helping cotton farmers better adapt to climate change, and reinforces the need for Better Cotton to work closely with multiple partners on this front.

The Better Cotton Initiative is a proud member of Cotton 2040 – a cross-industry partnership that brings retailers and brands, cotton standards and industry initiatives together to align efforts in priority areas for action. Read more about Better Cotton’s collaboration with Cotton 2040:

  • Delta Framework – during 2019 and 2020, we have been working collaboratively with fellow sustainable cotton standards, programmes and codes via the Cotton 2040 Impacts Alignment Working Group to align sustainability impact indicators and metrics for cotton farming systems.
  • CottonUP – an interactive guide to help brands and retailers fast track sustainable sourcing across multiple standards, the CottonUP Guide answers three big questions about sourcing sustainable cotton: why it’s important, what you need to know and do, and how to get started.

Learn more about Cotton 2040’s ‘Planning for Climate Adaptation’ workstream by visiting their microsite.

Read more

Better Cotton Appears in Ecotextile News Addressing Climate Change

On 4 October 2021, Ecotextile News published “Can cotton cool climate change?”, exploring the role cotton growing plays in climate change. The article looks closely at Better Cotton’s climate strategy and draws from an interview with Lena Staafgard, COO, and Chelsea Reinhardt, Director of Standards and Assurance, to understand how we plan to impact climate change mitigation and adaptation.

Accelerating the pace of change

With Better Cotton’s recent study on GHG emissions commissioned with Anthesis and our work with Cotton 2040, we now have better information to identify the areas contributing most to emissions and which regions will be most affected by climate change. Our existing Standard and programmes implemented on-the-ground by partners and farmers across the Better Cotton network currently address these issue areas. But we need to act fast to build on what already exists to deepen our impact.






What we are looking to do really is to refine our focus and accelerate the pace of change, to have a deeper impact in those particular areas that are the big drivers of emissions.

– Chelsea Reinhardt, Director of Standards and Assurance





Collaborating across the cotton sector

The recent Cotton 2040 study shows that half of all cotton growing areas are at high risk of extreme weather conditions in the coming decades, and we have the opportunity to take action in these regions with our potential to convene relevant stakeholders. There are challenges in providing solutions that are relevant to localised conditions, so we are using our nuanced understanding of these issues and are in a position to address them with appropriate strategies through the network we have. Ensuring we bring smallholder and large farm contexts into our approach is important.





We should be able to get there, but it’s going to be difficult and it’s going to require a lot of collaboration, pulling in the technology and the knowledge we have at the large farms and finding ways of making it available at smallholder level where so much of the world’s agriculture takes place.



Lena Staafgard, COO



Better Cotton is in a position where we have the resources and network to collaborate towards change. Join our upcoming Member-Only Webinar to learn more about Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy on Climate Change.

Read the full Ecotextile News article, “Can cotton cool climate change?”

Read more

Better Cotton Joins Industry Leaders and Experts to Drive Impact on the Sustainable Apparel Coalition Board of Directors

I am very excited to be elected as a member of the Sustainable Apparel Coalition Board of Directors, where I will join leaders and experts from brands, retailers, manufacturers, NGOs, government, academia, and more in guiding the direction of the organisation for exponential impact. As a member of the Board, I will be joining a diverse set of stakeholders to drive systemic change across the consumer goods industry. I am proud to join my peers and fellow sustainability champions as we join together to help the SAC achieve their vision of an industry that gives more than it takes — to the planet and its people.

Last month, Lena Staafgard, COO of Better Cotton was elected to sit as a Director on the Sustainable Apparel Coalition Board (SAC) representing the Affiliate Category of the SAC Membership. The SAC is a global, multi-stakeholder non-profit alliance for the fashion industry. In this position, Lena will work closely with the SAC Leadership Team and other members of the board to drive impact through sustainable production across the global footwear, apparel and textile value chains, including reducing environmental impact and promoting social justice.

As Better Cotton works towards our 2030 Strategy, collaboration across the sector and our membership will continue to be essential in deepening impact and delivering our ambitions to improve lives and livelihoods in rural communities, and transform the cotton sector – for good.

The SAC has been a Better Cotton Associate Member since 2019. Through ongoing collaboration and knowledge sharing, we work together to reach cotton farming communities with more sustainable farming practices.

Better Cotton is also a SAC Affiliate Member, joining over 250 leading brands, retailers, suppliers, service providers, trade associations, non-profits, NGOs and academic institutions in the SAC Membership since 2013. We share a common journey as we endeavor to create positive change for people and the planet. We work tirelessly to ensure that the Higg Index performance improvements robustly and factually reflect the environmental performance of Better Cotton as a raw material.

Learn more at the SAC website.

Read more

Sharing Progressive Environmental Practices Globally

Climate change poses a real and growing threat for the world’s cotton farmers, many of whom cultivate their crops in countries that are particularly vulnerable to climate risks. Irregular rainfall, in particular, creates a steep challenge, with farmers under pressure to use less water to grow a traditionally water-intensive crop.

Read more

WWF and IKEA Release Better Cotton Project Report

BCI are pleased to share the results of an inspiring collaboration between two of our most active members.

WWF and IKEA are both founding members of BCI, and have always been fundamental in supporting our efforts to transform cotton production worldwide by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity. In 2005, WWF and IKEA started collaborating on joint projects in India and Pakistan, and have recently released an inspiring “progress report’. The report outlines the partnership history and story so far, and details 2013 project results including reduced usage of chemical pesticides, chemical fertilisers and water, along with improved earnings and social benefits for workers.

Through BCI, and supported by our partners and members including WWF and IKEA, 193,000 farmers in India and Pakistan are now using cotton farming techniques that are better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in and better for the sector’s future.

Click here to read the full report.

Read more

Better Cotton Programme seeks China government collaboration

13.11.13 Ecotextile News
www.ecotextile.com

GENEVA – A new report from the Better Cotton Initiative’s Fast Track Program, which includes clothing retailers, Adidas, H&M and Walmart, has outlined the association’s aim to collaborate with Chinese government to develop new good agricultural practices and a greater understanding of China’s cotton policy.

Aiming to address the sustainability challenges faced in the production of cotton and work to mainstream sustainable cotton, retailers involved in the Better Cotton Initiative’s (BCI) Better Cotton Fast Track Program also include Marks and Spencer, Levi Strauss and VF Corporation.

The Better Cotton Fast Track Program End Year Report 2012, From field to fashion, report looks the impact of the fast track program worldwide, including the BCFTP funded ABRAPA (Associação Brasileira dos Produtores de Algodão), project in Brazil covering over 210,000 acres and 100 farmers,20 projects in India reaching more than 90,000 workers and farmers, and an investment of EU 390 000 made in China.

The recent distortion of the market by China’s national cotton reserve program has been the biggest challenge for retail brands to procure Better Cotton from Chinese suppliers, the report claims, with thecountry cultivating around 25 per cent of the total global cotton production, according to BCI figures.

”BCI is actively seeking collaboration with central and local government (initially by engaging with the Ministry of Agriculture’s Research Centre for the Rural Economy to develop the China Good Agricultural Practices )… Developing an understanding of China’s cotton policy and exploring solutions is clearly indispensable to all stakeholders in the cotton supply chain,” the report states.

2012 was the first year Better Cotton was licensed and produced in China, with 32,000 megatonnes(MT) of lint licensed as Better Cotton, from which 29,000 MT was taken up by ginners.

Looking forward, the report states the BCI is aiming to set targets for brands to deliver on their public commitments in the coming years, whilst ”looking to evolve beyond sustainability departments of apparel companies get entrenched in their operations and commercial business.”

Read more

Share this page