棉花行业齐心协力推动气候行动

上周,良好棉花欢迎来自 450 个国家的 50 多名与会者参加在瑞典马尔默和在线举行的良好棉花会议。 我们一起从性别、小农生计、可追溯性和可持续金融等各种角度审视了气候行动的总体会议主题。

在两天多的时间里,我们听取了 70 多位代表整个棉花供应链的鼓舞人心的演讲者的发言——从良好棉花种植者到组织,如 未来论坛, 沃尔玛, 宜家, 马克斯和斯宾塞, 托尼的巧克力, 雨林联盟, 世界自然基金会 还有很多。

我们在合作、挑战想法和热情方面度过了美妙的几天。 从 Safia Minney 的主题演讲,重点关注时尚行业的问题以及企业转向再生模式的机会,到我们关于衡量和报告影响的分组讨论,引发了关于棉花行业如何围绕正确的指标进行调整的动态讨论,我们在很短的时间内覆盖了很多领域。

图形艺术家 Carlotta Cataldi 以视觉方式捕捉讨论,他创作了精彩的插图,展示了所涵盖主题的深度和广度。 

我们非常感谢我们的赞助商—— 链点, 棉花巴西, Gildan, JFS SAN, 路易达孚公司, 光谱苏比玛 – 演讲者、与会者、组织团队、我们的活动合作伙伴 Altitude Meetings 以及使良好棉花会议成为可能的良好棉花员工。

会议可能已经结束,但让我们保持势头,共同推动棉花气候行动。 

查阅

注册 2022 年良好棉花大会的最后机会

距离在线注册参加 2022 年良好棉花大会仅剩一天时间。 不要错过! 在 5 月 21 日星期二 CEST 下午 XNUMX 点之前注册以确保您的位置。

为期两天的会议包括一系列由良好棉花种植者和会员主持的主题演讲,以及关于以下主题的全体会议和分组会议:

  • 气候变化能力建设
  • 小农生计
  • 突破性方法
  • 妇女采取气候行动
  • 影响力投资和可持续金融
  • 小农和大农场面板
  • 棉花的可追溯性
  • 再生农业
  • 景观方法
  • 棉花尽职调查
  • 不断变化的立法格局
  • 生态系统服务支付
  • 可持续采购目标
  • 衡量和报告影响
  • 还有更多

该会议将于 22 年 23 月 2022 日至 XNUMX 日在瑞典马尔默和在线会议上将整个棉花行业聚集在一起,探讨气候行动 + 棉花的主题,并就棉花行业更可持续的未来展开合作。  

加入我们,参与富有洞察力的会议、充满活力的对话,并有机会再次与同行面对面交流。

感谢我们的会议赞助商。

查阅

全球农业及其“50:50”时刻

由 Better Cotton 首席执行官 Alan McClay 撰写。

本文最初发表于 Devex 在14 2022月。

世界有“50:50”的机会在未来五年内超过1.5摄氏度的消息是对世界的警钟。 如果你是一个在干旱中挣扎的棉农 South Africa 或与棉铃虫(与高降雨量有关)在 旁遮普,气候更加不稳定的前景是不受欢迎的消息。

与全球农业格局一样,棉花行业多年来一直在大力投资建设其气候适应能力。 调研 例如,对耐旱品种的研究正在继续快速发展,评估和规划未来气候风险的工具也是如此。

Alan McClay,Jay Louvion 的 Better Cotton 首席执行官。

意识是一回事,但行动的能力是另一回事。 估计 350万人 目前依靠棉花生产维持生计,其中一半人面临高或非常高的气候风险。 这些, 大多数是小农,即使他们想对气候变化采取行动,也缺乏这样做的经济手段或市场激励。

气候警钟响起,全球发展机构担心,如果没有小农的支持,将农业转变为可持续的基础是不可能发生的。 作为依靠地球生产力维持生计的人,农民比任何人都更有动力去管理自然环境。

但气候友好型农业的回报需要明确、快速和公平地支付。 在前两个方面,有一个越来越令人信服的案例。 例如,在印度,我们已经能够证明,在一个季节内,良好棉花倡议农民的利润是 24%,同时使用较少量的合成杀虫剂和化肥,而不是那些没有实施更可持续做法的人。

相比于市场的沧桑, 多年采购保证 来自大买家的产品为寻求转型的农业生产者提供了更具吸引力的前景。 例如,在巴西,美国商品贸易商 邦吉 提供长期融资 大豆生产商 制定了强有力的反森林砍伐政策。 然而,小农商有机会谈判如此复杂的合同安排是困难的,如果不是不可能的话。

传统的碳融资项目也存在同样的障碍。 以碳补偿为例。 在纸面上,提倡覆盖种植和减少耕作等减碳做法的气候智能型农民可以很好地出售信用。 然而,证明这些努力的气候效力绝非易事。 而且,即使农民可以,在 Nori 等碳信用市场上注册,甚至找到相关的信用计划也是一项挑战。

但想象一下,情况并非如此。 相反,想象一个世界,在这个世界中,发展机构、多边银行、金融机构、商业买家和慈善家齐心协力,设计满足小农融资需求的融资机制——保守估计为 的美元240亿元 每年。

问题解决了,对吧? 很遗憾,没有。 有朝一日,气候积极的农业回报可能会变得清晰而迅速,如果它们没有公平分配,那么农业的气候转型在它开始之前就已经死在水中了。

当然,“公平”是一个主观术语。 然而,无论如何,确保它包括 95% 的农民 世界各地在不到 5 公顷土地上经营的人必须是中心。 同样,保证在这个群体中的平等机会和机会 570亿农户 一点都不重要。

性别不公是最明显的例子。 在许多农业地区,特别是在全球南部,女性农民 缺乏正式权利,例如土地所有权,以及难以获得信贷、培训和其他关键支持机制。 尽管这对农业决策产生了重大影响。 例如,在印度和巴基斯坦, 大多数棉花农场工人是女性。

农业部门的生产者、购买者和其他主要参与者可以而且必须寻求将社会正义和包容性问题纳入其气候努力的方法。 没有慎重的行动,它根本不会发生。 即便如此,我们在 更好的棉花,我们多年来一直优先考虑性别平等,这表明改变需要时间。

气候积极型农业是一个农业问题,其特点是技术创新和智能实践。 这也是一个财务问题,需要大量增加资本投资。 但是,从本质上讲,这是一个正义问题。 将边缘化的农民群体纳入其中不仅是正确的做法; 这是农业中有效气候行动的一个条件。

 现代工业化农业的产量飙升。 但它对高资本支出和基于化石燃料的投入的强调也导致经济不平等和环境破坏成为系统的一部分。 应对气候变化的紧迫威胁为解决这些系统性缺陷提供了机会。

查阅

良好棉花宣布 2022 年会议议程

我们很高兴地宣布将于 22 月 23 日至 XNUMX 日在马尔默和在线举行的良好棉花大会的议程!

与会者可以期待参加关于再生农业、可追溯性、性别平等、气候变化能力建设等主题的发人深省的会议。 下面我们分享一下全体会议和分组会议的先睹为快。

全体会议

来自棉花行业及其他行业的专家发言人将在为期两天的会议期间主持一系列全体会议,重点关注气候减缓和适应、可追溯性、性别、可持续采购、小农生计等。 请参阅下面的部分会议。

与未来论坛和棉花 2040 合作开展气候变化能力建设 

了解棉花行业面临的气候风险并探索对未来生产的影响。  

棉花行业如何建立弹性并适应气候变化的影响? 

小农生计和农民小组 

需要什么来改变棉花种植经济,从而改善小农及其社区的生计和福祉? 气候变化如何影响我们可用的选择? 

聚焦女性采取气候行动 

突出妇女在棉花中采取气候行动的个人经历,探索气候变化与性别平等之间的联系。

分组会议

来自棉花行业及其他行业的专家发言人将在为期两天的会议期间主持一系列全体会议,重点关注气候减缓和适应、可追溯性、性别、可持续采购、小农生计等。 请参阅下面的部分会议。

再生农业 

再生农业如何帮助气候行动等等。 

生态系统服务支付 

如何有效地使用生态系统服务支付来造福农民? 有哪些机遇和挑战? 

三角洲项目 

创建一种共享方法来衡量和交流可持续性进展—— 三角洲框架

六月加入我们,看看该行业如何合作创造和推动集体影响,为棉花塑造一个更可持续的未来。  

该会议由全球知名组织赞助。 我们有多种赞助套餐可供选择,请联系 [电子邮件保护] 获取更多信息. 

有关更多详细信息,请访问 会议网站

查阅

良好棉花会议注册开放:提前两周提供早鸟票

我们很高兴地宣布,2022 年良好棉花大会现已开放注册!  

以混合形式举办——提供虚拟和面对面的加入选项——我们期待有机会将我们的全球棉花社区聚集在一起并再次面对面交流。 

Date: 22 年 23 月 2022 日至 XNUMX 日 
位置: 瑞典马尔默或在线加入我们  
目的: 上市
价格: 早鸟票 272 欧元起(不含增值税)

在 4 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日之前注册以享受早鸟价。 


会议主题

今年的会议主题是气候行动。 我们将通过这个镜头探索广泛的主题,包括: 

  • 再生农业,
  • 可追溯性
  • 性别平等,
  • 气候变化能力建设等等。

加入我们,看看该行业如何在这些领域进行合作,以创造和推动集体影响,为棉花塑造更可持续的未来。 


赞助机会

我们有许多赞助机会,从支持棉农参加活动到赞助会议晚宴。

请联系活动协调员 Annie Ashwell,地址为 [电子邮件保护] 了解更多信息。 

查阅

分享此页

Cotton Sector Comes Together to Drive Climate Action

Last week, Better Cotton welcomed more than 450 participants from 50 countries to the Better Cotton Conference in Malmö, Sweden and online. Together, we examined the overarching conference theme of climate action through a variety of lenses, including gender, smallholder livelihoods, traceability and sustainable finance.

Over two days, we heard from more than 70 inspiring speakers representing the entire cotton supply chain – from Better Cotton Farmers to organisations such as Forum for the Future, Walmart, IKEA, Marks and Spencer, Tony’s Chocolonely, Rainforest Alliance, WWF and many more.

We had a fantastic few days of collaboration, challenging ideas and passion. From Safia Minney’s keynote address that spotlighted issues in the fashion industry and the opportunities for businesses to move towards a regenerative model, to our breakout panel on measuring and reporting on impact that sparked a dynamic discussion on how the cotton industry can align around the right metrics, we covered a lot of ground in a short timeframe.

There to capture the discussions visually was the graphic artist Carlotta Cataldi, who created wonderful illustrations that showcase the depth and breadth of topics covered. 

We want to say a huge thank you to our sponsors – ChainPoint, Cotton Brazil, Gildan, JFS SAN, Louis Dreyfus Company, Spectrum and Supima –speakers, attendees, the organising team, our event partners Altitude Meetings, and Better Cotton staff who made the Better Cotton Conference possible.

The conference may be over, but let’s keep the momentum going as we work together to drive climate action in cotton. 

Read more

Last Chance to Register for the 2022 Better Cotton Conference

There is just one day left to register to attend the 2022 Better Cotton Conference online. Don’t miss out! Register by 5pm CEST on Tuesday 21 June to secure your spot.

The packed two-day conference includes a series of keynotes led by Better Cotton Farmers and Members, as well as plenaries and breakout sessions on the following topics:

  • Climate change capacity building
  • Smallholder livelihoods
  • Breakthrough approaches
  • Women taking climate action
  • Impact investing and sustainable finance
  • Smallholder and large farm panels
  • Traceability in cotton
  • Regenerative agriculture
  • Landscape approaches
  • Due diligence in cotton
  • The evolving legislative landscape
  • Ecosystem service payments
  • Sustainable sourcing targets
  • Measuring and reporting on impact
  • And more

The conference will bring the entire cotton sector together on 22 & 23 June 2022 in Malmö, Sweden and online, to explore the theme of Climate Action + Cotton and collaborate on a more sustainable future for the cotton sector.  

Join us to engage in insightful sessions, dynamic dialogue and an opportunity to meet face to face with peers once again.

Thank you to our conference sponsors.

Read more

Global Farming and Its ‘50:50’ Moment

By Alan McClay, CEO, Better Cotton.

This article was first published by Devex on 14 June 2022.

News that the world has a “50:50” chance of exceeding the 1.5 degrees Celsius mark in the next five years is a wake-up call to the world. If you’re a cotton farmer struggling with drought in South Africa or with bollworm — which is linked to high rainfall — in Punjab, the prospect of a more erratic climate comes as unwelcome news.

As across the global agricultural landscape, the cotton industry has been investing heavily in building its climate resilience for some years now. Research into drought-tolerant breeds is continuing apace, for instance, as are tools for assessing and planning for future climate risks.

Alan McClay, CEO, Better Cotton by Jay Louvion.

Awareness is one thing, but the ability to act is another. An estimated 350 million people currently rely on cotton production for their livelihoods, half of whom face high or very high exposure to climate risk. Of these, most are smallholders, who, even if they wanted to act on climate change, lack the economic means or market incentives to do so.

Loud as the climate alarm bells ring and as much as global development agencies fret, transitioning agriculture onto a sustainable footing simply won’t happen without smallholder buy-in. As people who depend on the Earth’s productivity for their livelihoods, farmers have more incentive to steward the natural environment than anyone.

But the returns on climate-friendly agriculture need to pay clearly, quickly, and fairly. On the first two, there is an increasingly compelling case to be made. In India, for example, we have been able to show that over a season, Better Cotton Initiative farmers’ profits were 24% higher, while using a lower volume of synthetic pesticides and fertilizers, than those not implementing more sustainable practices.

Compared to the vicissitudes of the market, multiyear purchasing guarantees from large buyers present a far more attractive prospect for agricultural producers looking to transition. In Brazil, for example, the U.S. commodity trader Bunge offers long-term financing to soybean producers that have robust anti-deforestation policies in place. However, opportunities for smallholders to negotiate such complex contractual arrangements is difficult, if not impossible.

The same hurdle presents itself with conventional carbon finance projects. Take carbon offsetting, for example. On paper, climate-smart farmers that promote carbon-reducing practices such as cover cropping and reducing tillage are well positioned to sell credits. Yet, proving the climate efficacy of such efforts is by no means straightforward. And, even if a farmer can, registering on a carbon credit marketplace such as Nori or even locating a relevant credit programme presents a challenge.

But imagine that wasn’t the case. Imagine, instead, a world in which development agencies, multilateral banks, finance institutions, commercial buyers, and philanthropists come together to devise funding mechanisms that meet the financing needs of small farmers — conservatively estimated at $240 billion per year.

Problem solved, right? Regrettably, no. Clear and quick as climate-positive farming returns may one day become, if they are not distributed fairly, then climate transition in agriculture is dead in the water before it gets going.

Of course, “fairness” is a subjective term. By any measure, however, ensuring it includes the 95% of farmers around the world who operate on less than 5 hectares has to be central. Likewise, guaranteeing equal access and opportunities within this grouping of some 570 million agricultural households is every bit as critical.

Gender injustice presents the starkest example. In many agricultural regions, especially in the global south, women farmers lack formal rights, such as land ownership, and struggle to access credit, training, and other key support mechanisms. This is despite exercising a significant influence over farming decisions. In India and Pakistan, for instance, the majority of cotton farm workers are female.

Producers, buyers, and other key players within the agricultural sector can and must seek ways of incorporating issues of social justice and inclusivity into their climate efforts. Without deliberative action, it simply won’t happen. Even then, our experience at Better Cotton, where we have been prioritizing gender equality for a number of years now, suggests change takes time.

Climate-positive farming is an agricultural issue, characterized by technological innovation and smart practices. It’s also a finance issue, for which a huge increase in capital investment is needed. But, at its heart, it is a justice issue. Bringing marginalized farmer groups into the fold is not only the right thing to do; it is a condition of effective climate action in agriculture.

 Modern industrial agriculture has seen yields spike. But its emphasis on high capital expenditure and fossil fuel-based inputs has also seen economic inequality and environmental damage become baked into the system. Responding to the urgent threat of climate change presents an opportunity to resolve these systemic failings.

Read more

Better Cotton Announces 2022 Conference Agenda

We are excited to announce the agenda for the Better Cotton Conference, taking place in Malmö and online on 22-23 June!

Attendees can look forward to joining thought-provoking sessions on the topics of regenerative agriculture, traceability, gender equality, climate change capacity building and many more. Below we share a sneak peek of the plenary and breakout sessions.

Plenary Sessions

Expert speakers from the cotton industry and beyond will lead a series of plenary sessions across the two-day conference, focusing on climate mitigation and adaptation, traceability, gender, sustainable sourcing, smallholder livelihoods and more. See a selection of the sessions below.

Climate Change Capacity Building in Collaboration with Forum for the Future and Cotton 2040 

Understanding the climate risks facing the cotton sector and exploring the implications for future production.  

How can the cotton sector build resilience and adapt to the impacts of climate change? 

Smallholder Livelihoods & Farmer Panel 

What is needed to shift the economics of cotton farming, and so improve the livelihoods and wellbeing of smallholder farmers and their communities? How does climate change affect the options available to us? 

Spotlight on Women Taking Climate Action 

Highlighting the personal experiences of women taking climate action in cotton, exploring the link between climate change and gender equality.

Breakout Sessions

Expert speakers from the cotton industry and beyond will lead a series of plenary sessions across the two-day conference, focusing on climate mitigation and adaptation, traceability, gender, sustainable sourcing, smallholder livelihoods and more. See a selection of the sessions below.

Regenerative Agriculture 

How regenerative agriculture can help with climate action and much more. 

Ecosystem Service Payments 

How can ecosystem service payments be used effectively to benefit farmers? What are the opportunities and challenges? 

Delta Project 

Creating a shared approach to measuring and communicating sustainability progress – the Delta Framework

Join us in June to see how the sector can collaborate to create and drive collective impact in shaping a more sustainable future for cotton.  

The conference is sponsored by globally renowned organisations. We have a variety of sponsorship packages available, please contact [email protected] for more information. 

For more details, please visit the conference website

Read more

Better Cotton Conference Registration Is Open: Early Bird Tickets Available for Two Weeks

We are pleased to announce that registration for the Better Cotton Conference 2022 is now open!  

Hosted in a hybrid format—with both virtual and in-person options for joining—we look forward to the opportunity to bring our global cotton community together and engage face-to-face once again. 

Date: 22 – 23 June 2022 
Location: Malmö, Sweden or join us online  
Audience: Public
Price: Early bird tickets start at €272 (excl. VAT)

Register before 4 April 2022 to take advantage of the early bird rates. 


Conference Theme

This year the conference theme is Climate Action. We will be exploring a wide range of topics through this lens including: 

  • regenerative agriculture,
  • traceability,
  • gender equality,
  • climate change capacity building and many more.

Join us to see how the sector can collaborate in these areas to create and drive collective impact in shaping a more sustainable future for cotton. 


Sponsorship Opportunities

We have a number of sponsorship opportunities available, from supporting cotton farmers’ travel to the event, to sponsoring the conference dinner.

Please contact Events Coordinator Annie Ashwell at [email protected] to find out more. 

Read more

Share this page