可持续性

 
Brice Lalonde 是联合国全球契约的前可持续发展顾问,她的职业生涯致力于可持续发展和环境,令人鼓舞。 在他的职业生涯中,他曾与环境非政府组织合作,担任法国政府部长和气候变化谈判代表等重要角色。

Brice 将作为主讲嘉宾在 BCI 2018 全球棉花大会上分享他的知识和见解。 他的演讲将重点关注可持续发展目标、它们如何影响所有行业以及对农业的影响。 他还将探讨气候变化可能如何影响未来十年的决策。

我们在会议前采访了布莱斯,了解他对我们应该如何应对可持续发展挑战的看法。

  • How 能够 可持续发展努力解决一些世界上最紧迫的可持续性挑战?

可持续发展需要一个整体的方法。 以水为例,(我在水和气候领域工作)如果不考虑全局,就无法管理水。 向上游看是集水区的环境特征; 天气状况,是否有雨或干旱,是否有湿地和河岸森林。 向下游看,您需要考虑水的使用情况; 向城市居民、农村农民、牲畜(如牛)、野生动物和工业高效、公平地分配水。 然后我们需要考虑我们如何清洁水以重新使用它。 所有这些元素都是相互关联的。 在世界上的一些地方,水非常稀缺,过度抽取地下化石水虽然被视为一种直接的解决方案,但可能会在未来导致灾难。 可持续的政策、合作与协作是应对水资源挑战的关键。

  • 您认为多方利益相关者的努力可以有效应对关键的可持续性挑战吗?

我相信多方利益相关者联盟是应对可持续性挑战的最有效方式,我认为良好棉花倡议是这种方法的一个很好的例子。 政府间谈判可能很慢; 民族国家并不总是容忍干涉或任何形式的超国家控制,而且它们不能越界行事。 因此,存在挑战。 建立一个由公司、非政府组织、地方政府、大学和媒体组成的国际联盟,都专注于非常有针对性的目标,并拥有自己的问责制系统,在应对关键的可持续性挑战方面要有效得多。 民族国家现在已经完成了他们的工作。 他们通过了 17 项可持续发展目标,并签署了《巴黎协定》,该协定将所有国家聚集在一起,共同为应对气候变化并适应其影响作出雄心勃勃的努力。 我们知道国际社会想要什么。 在这个框架内,我们希望看到多方利益相关者项目的蓬勃发展,这些项目将结合每个成员的实力和能力来应对关键的可持续发展挑战。

  • BCI 管理着一个整体标准,其中包含了可持续发展的经济、社会和环境要素。 您如何看待这些元素中的每一个共同作用以影响真正持久的变化?

如果可持续发展的不同层面没有适当地交织在一起,就没有办法应对世界挑战。 在三角形的一个角落,人口的生活和他们的经济与自然息息相关。 如果自然被破坏,一个社会的格局和经济的基础就会被破坏。 在三角形的第二个角落,稳定健康的社会与繁荣的经济相连,您需要强大的经济来管理环境。 社会正义和性别平等可能是人们对社区感到有用并乐于在社区中生活的最重要条件。 如果不平等扩大并且人们处于不利地位,就会有很大的动荡风险。 在三角形的第三个角落,社会需要长期创造财富。 如今,许多公司都希望在追求其使命的同时为共同利益做出贡献。 尽管他们有一个限制:不要赔钱。 我们可以看到三角形的每一点都是相连的,可持续性的所有元素都相互影响。

加入我们参加 BCI 2018 全球棉花会议。
迈向 2030:通过合作扩大影响
比利时布鲁塞尔 | 26 月 28 日至 XNUMX 日
在这里注册.

分享此页

Sustainable Development: Q&A with Brice Lalonde

Announcements Tuesday, June 5th, 2018

 
Brice Lalonde, former sustainability advisor to the UN Global Compact, has built an inspiring career dedicated to sustainable development and the environment. His profession has seen him working with environmental NGOs, as a minister in the French government and as a climate change negotiator, among other important roles.

Brice will be sharing his knowledge and insights as a keynote speaker at the BCI 2018 Global Cotton Conference. His talk will focus on the Sustainable Development Goals, how they are influencing all industries, and the implications for agriculture. He will also explore how climate change is likely to influence decision making in the next decade.

We caught up with Brice ahead of the conference to get his thoughts on how we should be tackling sustainability challenges.

  • How can sustainable development efforts address some of the world’s most pressing sustainability challenges?

Sustainable development requires a holistic approach. Using water as an example, (I work in the areas of water and climate) you cannot manage water if you do not take into account the full picture. Looking upstream you have the environmental features of the water catchment area; the weather conditions, whether there is rain or drought, whether there are wetlands and riparian forests. Looking downstream you need to consider how water is being used; the efficient and fair distribution of water to the urban dwellers, to rural farmers, to farmed animals such as cattle, to wild animals and to industries. Then we need to consider how we clean the water to reuse it. All of these elements are interconnected. In some places of the world, water is very scarce, and over pumping of underground fossil water, although seen as an immediate solution, could lead to disaster in the future. Sustainable policies, cooperation and collaboration are key to addressing the water challenge.

  • Do you think multi-stakeholder efforts can be effective in addressing key sustainability challenges?

I believe multi-stakeholder alliances are the most effective way to tackle sustainability challenges, and I think the Better Cotton Initiative is a good example of such an approach. Inter-governmental negotiations can be slow; nation states don’t always tolerate interference nor any form of supranational control, and they cannot act beyond their borders. Therefore, there are challenges. Building an international coalition of corporations, NGOs, local governments, universities and media, all focussing on very targeted goals with a system of accountability of its own is much more effective in addressing key sustainability challenges. Nation states have now done their job. They have adopted the 17 Sustainable Development Goals, and they have signed The Paris Agreement, which brings all nations together for the common cause of undertaking ambitious efforts to combat climate change and adapt to its effects. We know what the international community wants. Inside this framework we hope to see a flourishing of multi-stakeholder projects that will combine the strength and competencies of each member to address key sustainability challenges.

  • BCI stewards a holistic Standard that incorporates economic, social and environmental elements of sustainability. How do you see each of these elements working together to affect real lasting change?

There is no way of addressing the world’s challenges if the different dimensions of sustainable development are not intertwined properly. In one corner of the triangle, the life of the population and their economies are embedded in nature. If nature is destroyed, the pattern of a society and the basis for the economy will be ruined. In the second corner of the triangle, a stable and healthy society is connected to a thriving economy, and you need a strong economy to steward the environment. Social justice and gender equity are probably the most important conditions in order for people to feel useful to the community and be happy to be in that community. There is a strong risk of unrest if inequalities widen and if people are disadvantaged. And in the third corner of the triangle, a society needs to create wealth for the long term. Today a lot of corporations want to contribute to the common good while pursuing their mission. Although they have one constraint: not to lose money. We can see that each point of the triangle is connected, and all elements of sustainability have an impact on one another.

Join us for the BCI 2018 Global Cotton Conference.
Toward 2030: Scaling Impact Through Collaboration
Brussels, Belgium | 26 – 28 June
Register here.