التحسين المستمر

 
أطلقت مبادرة قطن أفضل اليوم تقريرها السنوي لعام 2019. في التقرير ، تشارك BCI أن Better Cotton - القطن الذي تنتجه شركة BCI Farmers المرخصة بما يتماشى مع مبادئ ومعايير Better Cotton - يمثل الآن 22٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي *.

في موسم القطن 2018-19 ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الشركاء المنفذين الخبراء على الأرض وبدعم من أكثر من أعضاء 1,800، قدمت BCI التدريب على الممارسات الزراعية الأكثر استدامة ل 2.3 مليون مزارع قطن - حصل 2.1 مليون على ترخيص لبيع قطن أفضل. وقد أدى ذلك إلى رفع حجم القطن المنتج بشكل أكثر استدامة والمتوفر في السوق العالمية إلى مستوى جديد.

في الطرف الآخر من سلسلة التوريد ، اجتاز بائع التجزئة وأعضاء العلامة التجارية في BCI خطوة كبيرة في نهاية عام 2019 ، حيث استعانوا بأكثر من 1.5 مليون طن متري من قطن أفضل ¬ ≠ - رقم قياسي لـ BCI. هذه زيادة بنسبة 40٪ عن عام 2018 وترسل إشارة واضحة إلى السوق بأن Better Cotton أصبح سلعة رئيسية مستدامة. إن امتصاص القطن الأفضل يمثل الآن 6٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي.

"إنه لمن دواعي سرورنا بشكل خاص مشاركة التقدم الذي تحرزه BCI ، بفضل الجهود المتضافرة لأعضائنا وشركائنا وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين ، نحو أهدافنا لعام 2020. مع وجود موسمين آخرين للقطن (2019-20 و2020-21) لتحقيق مزيد من التقدم على المستوى الميداني ، نحن ملتزمون ليس فقط بالاستمرار في إحداث تغيير مفيد على المستوى الميداني ، ولكن أيضًا للتعلم من التجربة والتكيف لتصبح أكثر فعالية. لا نعرف حتى الآن مدى اقترابنا من أهدافنا لعام 2020 ، وما زلنا نقيّم كيف سيؤثر جائحة كوفيد -19 الحالي على جهودنا. ولكن هناك شيء واحد مؤكد ، لقد أحرزنا تقدمًا كبيرًا لا يمكن إنكاره على مدار السنوات العشر الماضية ، وهناك العديد من النجاحات التي يجب الاحتفال بها. " - آلان ماكلاي ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة BCI.

أبرز أحداث تقرير 2019

  • تمت زراعة Better Cotton في 23 دولة في موسم القطن 2018-19.
  • أنتج مزارعو BCI المرخصون 5.6 مليون طن متري من قطن أفضل. هذا يكفي من القطن لصنع ما يقرب من 8 مليارات زوج من الجينز ، زوج لكل شخص في العالم.
  • يمثل القطن الأفضل الآن 22٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي.
  • قدمت BCI وشركائها الـ 76 على المستوى الميداني التدريب والدعم لما مجموعه 2.3 مليون مزارع.
  • حصل 2.1 مليون مزارع قطن على ترخيص BCI لبيع قطنهم على أنه قطن أفضل - 99 ٪ من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة يزرعون في أقل من 20 هكتارًا.
  • اشترت شركة BCI Retailer وأعضاء العلامة التجارية 1.5 مليون طن متري من القطن كـ Better Cotton في عام 2019 - وهو حجم قياسي.
  • يمثل استخدام القطن الأفضل الآن 6٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي.
  • استقبلت BCI أكثر من 400 عضو جديد في عام 2019.
  • بحلول نهاية العام ، كان لدى BCI 1,842،29 عضوًا عبر خمس فئات عضوية ، بزيادة قدرها 2018 ٪ عن عام XNUMX.

الوصول إلى الملف التفاعلي التقرير السنوي BCI 2019 لمعرفة المزيد حول نجاحاتنا والتحديات والتقدم الذي نحققه نحو أهدافنا لعام 2020.

* تم حساب النسبة المئوية باستخدام أرقام الإنتاج العالمي لـ ICAC لعام 2019.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Sustainable Cotton Reaches 22% of Global Production as 2.3 Million Farmers Receive Training on Improved Agricultural Practices

Announcements Monday, June 29th, 2020

 
Today, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) launched its 2019 Annual Report. In the report, BCI shares that Better Cotton – cotton produced by licensed BCI Farmers in line with the initiative’s Better Cotton Principles and Criteria – now accounts for 22% of global cotton production*.

In the 2018-19 cotton season, together with expert on-the-ground Implementing Partners and with support from more than 1,800 members, BCI provided training on more sustainable agricultural practices to 2.3 million cotton farmers – 2.1 million gained a license to sell Better Cotton. This drove the volume of more sustainably produced cotton available on the global market to a new level.

At the opposite end of the supply chain, BCI’s Retailer and Brand Members passed a significant milestone at the end of 2019, sourcing more than 1.5 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton ­– a record for BCI. That’s a 40% increase on 2018 and sends a clear signal to the market that Better Cotton is becoming a sustainable mainstream commodity. Better Cotton uptake now accounts for 6% of global cotton production.

It is particularly pleasing to share the progress BCI is making, thanks to the concerted efforts of our members, partners and other stakeholders, towards our 2020 targets. With two more cotton seasons (2019-20 and 2020-21) within which to make further advances at field level, we are committed to not only continuing to deliver beneficial change at field level, but also to learning from the experience and adapting to become more effective. We do not yet know how close we will come to our 2020 targets, and we are still assessing how the current Covid-19 pandemic will impact our efforts. But one thing is certain, we have made significant and undeniable progress over the past 10 years, and there are many successes to celebrate.” – Alan McClay, CEO, BCI.

2019 Report Highlights

  • Better Cotton was grown in 23 countries in the 2018-19 cotton season.
  • Licensed BCI Farmers produced 5.6 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton. That is enough cotton to make approximately 8 billion pairs of jeans, a pair each for every person in the world.
  • Better Cotton now accounts for 22% of global cotton production.
  • BCI and its 76 field-level partners delivered training and support to a total of 2.3 million farmers.
  • 2.1 million cotton farmers received a BCI license to sell their cotton as Better Cotton – 99% are smallholders farming on less than 20 hectares.
  • BCI Retailer and Brand Members sourced 1.5 million metric tonnes of cotton as Better Cotton in 2019 – a record volume.
  • Uptake of Better Cotton now accounts for 6% of global cotton production.
  • BCI welcomed more than 400 new members in 2019.
  • By the end of the year, BCI had 1,842 members across five membership categories, a 29% increase on 2018.

Access the interactive BCI 2019 Annual Report to learn more about our successes, challenges and the progress we are making towards our 2020 targets.

*The percentage has been calculated using ICAC’s 2019 global production figures.