活动

世界贸易组织(WTO)将主持启动 世界棉花日7 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日在其位于瑞士日内瓦的总部举行。

世界棉花日将庆祝棉花,从其作为天然纤维的品质到人们从其生产、转化、贸易和消费中获得的利益。 该活动还将有助于阐明世界各地,尤其是最不发达国家的棉花产业面临的挑战。

当天的活动将包括:

  • 与国家元首、国际组织负责人、部长和高级官员以及工业和商业领袖的全体会议;
  • 一些主题会外活动聚集了棉花问题的公共和私营部门领导人和专家,以进行信息性讨论和建立联系;
  • 组织了一次合作伙伴会议,以利用资源和促进技术专长,特别是在八个非洲试点国家发展棉花副产品价值链的技术转让新项目;
  • 一场时装秀,展示来自世界不同地区的棉花时装和设计师,特别关注非洲;
  • 新闻发布会; 和
  • 棉花展览、展示摊位、快闪店、摄影比赛、招待会和世界各地棉花庆祝活动的直播。

来自良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 的代表将出席此次活动,首席执行官艾伦·麦克莱 (Alan McClay) 将主持由国际棉花咨询委员会 (ICAC) 组织的小组讨论。 15 月 30 日欧洲中部时间 17:00-7:XNUMX 与 BCI 和来自棉花公司、C&A 基金会、H&M 集团、世界纺织信息网、溢达集团和 Vardeman 农场的行业专家会面。 该小组将讨论棉花面临的许多挑战,包括气候变化、人口增长、塑料污染、创新和不断变化的消费者偏好。

此外,BCI 非洲运营经理 Lisa Barratt 将就非洲棉花行业的可持续发展问题发表演讲,然后参加以棉花行业市场和政策趋势为重点的小组讨论。

如需更多信息和注册,请访问世界棉花日网页. 网上报名必须不迟于 20 2019九月.

更多细节

世贸组织秘书处正在与联合国粮食及农业组织 (FAO)、联合国贸易和发展会议 (UNCTAD)、国际贸易中心 (ITC) 和国际棉花咨询委员会 (廉政公署)。 此次活动源于Cotton-4(贝宁、布基纳法索、乍得和马里)向联合国大会正式申请承认世界棉花日,体现了棉花作为全球商品的重要性。

分享此页

Join BCI at World Cotton Day | Registration Closes on 20 September 2019

Announcements Tuesday, September 17th, 2019

The World Trade Organisation (WTO) will host the launch of World Cotton Day on 7 October 2019 at its headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland.

World Cotton Day will celebrate cotton, from its qualities as a natural fibre to the benefits people obtain from its production, transformation, trade and consumption. The event will also serve to shed light on the challenges faced by cotton industries around the world, and particularly in the least-developed countries.

The day’s events will include:

  • A plenary session with heads of state, heads of international organisations, ministers and high-level officials as well as industry and business leaders;
  • Several thematic side events gathering public and private sector leaders and experts on cotton for informative discussions and networking;
  • A partners’ conference organised to leverage resources and catalyse technical expertise specifically towards a new project on technology transfer for the development of cotton by-product value chains in eight pilot African countries;
  • A fashion show to display cotton fashion and designers from different parts of the world with a special focus on Africa;
  • A press conference; and
  • Cotton exhibitions, display booths, a pop-up store, a photo contest, a reception and livestreaming of cotton celebrations around the world.

Representatives from the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) will attend the event and Alan McClay, CEO, will moderate a panel discussion organised by the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC). Join BCI and industry experts from Cotton Incorporated, C&A Foundation, H&M Group, World Textile Information Network, Esquel Group and Vardeman Farms between 15:30-17:00 CET on 7 October. The panel will address many of cotton’s challenges, including climate change, population growth, plastic pollution, innovation and changing consumer preferences.

In addition, Lisa Barratt, BCI Africa Operations Manager, will deliver a presentation on sustainability issues in the cotton sector in Africa, before participating in a panel discusson focused on market and policy trends in the cotton sector.

For further information and to register, please visit the World Cotton Day webpage. Online registration must be completed no later than 20 September 2019.

Additional details

The WTO Secretariat is organising the event in collaboration with the Secretariats of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), the International Trade Centre (ITC) and the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC). This event stems from the Cotton-4’s (Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad and Mali) official application for the recognition of a World Cotton Day by the United Nations General Assembly, reflecting the importance of cotton as a global commodity.