可持续性

Better Cotton Initiative 很高兴地宣布,它完全符合 ISEAL 的标准制定规范,已被接纳为 ISEAL 联盟的正式成员。 该决定得到了 ISEAL 成员委员会的批准,该委员会根据 ISEAL 的独立评估机制审查了 BCI 的表现。

良好棉花倡议旨在通过将良好棉花开发为一种可持续的主流商品来改变全球棉花生产,在对 ISEAL 制定社会和环境标准的良好实践准则(标准制定准则)的独立评估中,该倡议已证明总体合规。 该组织还展示了在实施影响准则和保证准则方面取得的进展。

“BCI 非常高兴被授予 ISEAL 的正式会员资格,”BCI 标准和保证总监 Damien Sanfilippo 说。 “这一认可证明了 BCI 作为可持续性标准的可信度,它让我们有机会通过与不同标准体系的社区合作,不断改进我们改变棉花未来的工作。”

BCI 作为 WWF 于 2005 年领导的圆桌计划的一部分而成立,其目标是为棉农、环境和该行业的未来寻找更可持续的解决方案。 为实现这一目标,BCI 与棉花供应链中的各种利益相关者合作,促进环境、农业社区和棉花产区经济的可衡量和持续改善。

ISEAL 联盟执行董事 Karin Kreider 表示:“我祝贺 BCI 获得了 ISEAL 的正式会员资格。 “多年来,我见证了 BCI 的成长,见证了他们对棉花生产转型的非凡奉献。 现在获得 ISEAL 正式会员资格反映了他们对可靠实践和确保持续改进的承诺。 我们期待在未来几年与 BCI 合作。”

棉花是世界上最重要的天然纤维之一。 全球25多个国家每年生产超过80万吨棉花,仅在生产阶段就支持了250亿人的生计。 棉花是一种可再生的自然资源,但棉花生产的未来容易受到环境管理不善、工作条件恶劣和市场不稳定的影响。

良好棉花标准体系确保棉花的生产方式通过最大限度地减少化肥和杀虫剂的负面影响以及保护水、土壤健康和自然栖息地来保护环境。 BCI 农民通过进入全球市场获得更高的产量和更多的财务保障,同时改善他们田间的工作条件。 随着时间的推移,BCI 农民也有望在关键的环境、社会和经济领域不断改进。 良好棉花标准可应用于不同规模的棉花生产——从马里、莫桑比克和塔吉克斯坦的小农场到巴西、中国和澳大利亚的大型工业化经营。

BCI 是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 在第五个收获季节,BCI 向全球五个地区的 1.2 个国家的 20 万农民授予了许可,占全球棉花产量的 7.6%。 BCI 现在拥有 700 多个成员组织,包括阿迪达斯、H&M、宜家、Levi Strauss & Co.、Marks & Spencer 和 Nike 等主要零售商和品牌,他们制定了雄心勃勃的公共目标,以在其供应链中采购可持续的良好棉花。

ISEAL 联盟现在拥有 21 名正式成员,涵盖各个领域和行业。 ISEAL 成员包括受尊重的标准,例如森林管理委员会、公平贸易国际、水资源管理联盟和水产养殖管理委员会。
ISEAL 是可持续发展标准的全球会员协会。 它的使命是通过定义可信度并将组织聚集在一起以增强其有效性来加强标准体系,以造福于人类和环境。

正如 ISEAL 信誉原则所反映的那样,成员接受产生积极影响的基本价值观。 ISEAL 的正式会员身份有助于区分他们采用的可靠做法以及通过标准提供和改善积极影响的承诺。

分享此页

ISEAL awards BCI full membership status

Announcements Tuesday, March 29th, 2016

The Better Cotton Initiative is pleased to announce that it has been accepted as a full member of the ISEAL Alliance by achieving full compliance with ISEAL’s Standard-Setting Code. The decision was approved by ISEAL’s Membership Committee, which reviewed BCI’s performance under ISEAL’s Independent Evaluation Mechanism.

The Better Cotton Initiative, which exists to transform cotton production worldwide by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity, has demonstrated overall compliance during an independent evaluation against ISEAL’s Code of Good Practice for Setting Social and Environmental Standards (Standard-Setting Code). The organisation has also demonstrated progress towards implementing the Impacts Code and the Assurance Code.

“BCI is extremely pleased to be awarded ISEAL’s full membership status,” said Damien Sanfilippo, Director of Standards and Assurance at BCI.  “This recognition is a testament to BCI’s credibility as a sustainability standard, and it gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our work of transforming the future of cotton through collaboration with a community of diverse standard systems.”

BCI was founded as part of a round table initiative led by WWF in 2005 with the goal of finding more sustainable solutions for cotton farmers, the environment and the future of the sector. To achieve this goal, BCI works with a diverse range of stakeholders across the cotton supply chain to promote measurable and continuing improvements for the environment, farming communities and the economies of cotton-producing areas.

“I would like to congratulate BCI on achieving full ISEAL membership status,” said Karin Kreider, Executive Director at ISEAL Alliance. “I have watched BCI grow over the years and witnessed their incredible dedication to transforming cotton production. To now achieve full ISEAL membership reflects their commitment to credible practices and ensuring continuous improvement. We look forward to working with BCI in the years to come.”

Cotton is one of the world’s most important natural fibres. Over 25 million tonnes of cotton are produced every year in over 80 countries around the world, supporting 250 million people’s livelihoods in the production stages alone. Cotton is a renewable natural resource but the future of cotton production is vulnerable to poor environmental management, poor working conditions and unstable markets.

The Better Cotton Standard System gives assurance that cotton is being produced in a way that cares for the environment by minimising the negative impact of fertilisers and pesticides, and caring for water, soil health and natural habitats. BCI Farmers achieve higher yields and more financial security through access to global markets, while improving the working conditions in their fields. BCI Farmers are also expected to continuously improve in key environmental, social and economic areas over time. The Better Cotton Standard can be applied to different scales of cotton production – from smallholder farms in Mali, Mozambique and Tajikistan to large, industrialised operations in Brazil, China and Australia.

BCI is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. In its fifth harvest season, BCI licensed 1.2 million farmers in 20 countries across five regions of the world, and accounted for 7.6% of global cotton production. BCI now counts over 700 member organisations, including major retailers and brands such as adidas, H&M, IKEA, Levi Strauss & Co., Marks & Spencer, and Nike, who have set ambitious public targets to source sustainable Better Cotton in their supply chains.

Now with 21 full members, the ISEAL Alliance covers a diverse range of sectors and industries. ISEAL membership includes respected standards, such as Forest Stewardship Council, Fairtrade International, the Alliance for Water Stewardship and Aquaculture Stewardship Council.
ISEAL is the global membership association for sustainability standards. Its mission is to strengthen standards systems for the benefit of people and the environment by defining credibility and bringing organisations together to strengthen their effectiveness.

Members embrace the essential values for delivering positive impacts, as reflected in the ISEAL Credibility Principles. Full ISEAL membership helps to distinguish their adoption of credible practices and commitment to delivering and improving positive impacts through standards.