随着 XNUMX 万农民接受有关改进耕作方法的培训,可持续棉花生产达到新水平

 
今天,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 在其 2018年报 更好的棉花——符合该倡议的棉花生产 良好棉花原则和标准 – 现在占 全球棉花产量的 19%*.

在 2017-18 棉季,与我们的 69 个实地合作伙伴一起,在来自 1,4000成员, BCI 向超过 21 个国家的 XNUMX 万棉农(多于 99% 的 BCI 农民是小农,在不到 20 公顷的土地上耕作)。 这将全球市场上更可持续生产的棉花数量推向了一个新的水平。

到 2020 年,BCI 的目标是支持 5 万棉农采用更可持续的农业实践并改善他们的生计。 为此,我们关注世界各地棉农面临的各种社会、环境和经济挑战,从澳大利亚的干旱到中国的洪水和巴基斯坦的性别平等。

=我们的综合培训、实践示范和知识共享计划帮助农民提高产量、减少对环境的影响并改善工作条件。 我们解决了多个环境问题——从土壤健康和杀虫剂的使用到水资源管理——并提高对体面劳动重要性的认识,特别关注促进妇女赋权和防止童工,” BCI 首席执行官 Alan McClay 说。

在供应链的另一端,BCI 的零售商和品牌成员 例如 Hennes & Mauritz AB、IKEA Supply AG、Gap Inc.、adidas AG 和 Nike Inc.在 2018 年底通过了一个重要的里程碑,采购了超过 XNUMX 万吨良好棉花– BCI 的记录。 这比 45 年增长了 2017%,向市场发出了一个明确的信号,即良好棉花正在成为一种可持续的主流商品。BCI 的需求驱动型融资模式意味着良好棉花的零售商和品牌采购直接转化为增加对棉农培训的投资关于更可持续的做法。

更好的棉花吸收现在占 占全球棉花消费量的 4%. 这一进展使 BCI 更接近我们 2020 年的目标,即全球 10% 的棉花都来自良好棉花。

=这一历史性良好棉花吸收水平是一个令人鼓舞的指标,表明 BCI 在实现我们的 2020 年五个目标方面取得了多大进展,”McClay 说。

早在 2012 年,BCI 委员会向所有 BCI 成员、合作伙伴、利益相关者和员工提出了一项艰巨的挑战,发布了 2020 年的五个雄心勃勃的目标。 BCI 委员会要求我们证明,多个利益相关者共同努力可以改变全球系统,使可持续性成为主流。 在 BCI 2018 年度报告中,我们分享了我们为实现这五个目标而共同取得的进展。

探索完整 BCI 2018 年报 在交互式报告微型网站上。 PDF 版本可供下载。

感谢我们所有忠诚的利益相关者,他们通过支持和参与 BCI,将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品并推动变革。

*该百分比是根据廉政公署 2018 年全球产量数据计算得出的。

查阅

与塔吉克斯坦良好棉花实施合作伙伴 Sarob 的问答

 
Cooperative Sarob 是 BCI 在塔吉克斯坦的实施合作伙伴。 我们采访了 Tahmina Sayfullaeva,讨论了该组织迄今为止的进展。

告诉我们您的组织。

Sarob 是一个农学家组织,为塔吉克斯坦的棉农提供农业咨询。 我们的目标是通过能力建设、改善市场准入和确保棉农获得必要的农业投入来全面发展农业。 作为我们工作的一部分,我们提供理论和实践培训,并通过现场示范帮助农民实施新技术和机器。

告诉我们 Cooperative Sarob 与 Better Cotton Initiative 的合作伙伴关系以及迄今为止取得的进展。

2013 年,Sarob 决定加入 BCI,以便为棉花生产创造更好的条件,提高棉花产量,并为棉农提供进入新的良好棉花国际市场的机会。 我们得到了德国国际合作协会 (GIZ) 和私营部门发展框架和融资 (FFPSD) 的支持,以便在塔吉克斯坦实施 BCI 计划。 2017 年,我们与 1,263 名获得许可的 BCI 农民合作,覆盖面积为 17,552 公顷。 BCI 农民被分为 Khatlon 和 Sughd 地区的四个生产者单位,小农被组织成 103 个较小的学习小组,并由 100 名现场指导员进行培训。 在 2016-17 季节,与比较农民相比,塔吉克斯坦的 BCI 农民平均用水量减少了 3%,农药减少了 63%,产量提高了 13%,利润增加了 48%。

您是否有优先解决的特定可持续性挑战?

作为我们在塔吉克斯坦农场管理工作的一部分,我们非常重视水资源管理和效率。 我们的方法基于实施易于构建且对农民而言成本低的水测量设备。 自 2016 年以来,我们与水生产力项目 (WAPRO) 合作,这是一项多方利益相关者倡议,旨在解决亚洲水稻和棉花生产中的用水效率问题——该倡议由塔吉克斯坦的 Helvetas 实施。

查阅

跨国棉花合作:Cotton Australia 与巴基斯坦和印度农民合作

 
2017 年,澳大利亚外交和贸易部 (DFAT) 在巴基斯坦资助了三个 BCI 项目,旨在改善巴基斯坦农民进入全球棉花市场的机会。 在项目框架下,良好棉花倡议和澳大利亚棉花生产商机构 Cotton Australia 合作开发了一种分享棉花生产最佳实践的新模式。 该项目旨在在澳大利亚和巴基斯坦农民之间建立有效的知识交流,并提高棉花的全球声誉。

作为该项目的一部分,今年 XNUMX 月,BCI 巴基斯坦国家经理 Shafiq Ahmad 博士; Bilal Khan,巴基斯坦进步棉农,BCI 理事会成员; 巴基斯坦木尔坦棉花研究所所长 Saghir Ahmad 博士; 来自印度的良好棉花生产单位经理 Rajesh Kumar 参加了 Cotton Australia 的年度农场之旅。

与 Country Road Group、Hanes、Jeanswest、RM Williams 和 Sportscraft 等澳大利亚时尚和零售品牌的代表一起,该小组参观了棉花农场、轧棉机、种子生产设施和棉花研发公司。 他们还与农民、农艺师和顾问会面,讨论棉花生产技术和粉虱管理。

澳大利亚农民分享了他们的知识:

  • 传统耕作与机械化耕作;
  • 更好的作物管理;
  • 利用技术提高棉花生产的可持续性;
  • 管理粉虱和其他棉花害虫;
  • 棉花研发; 和
  • 棉花种子生产、加工和分销。

Shafiq Ahmad 博士认为,跨国知识共享项目有很多好处。 “这次旅行开辟了许多新的机会。 我们在更可持续的棉花生产、作物管理和病虫害管理方面获得了宝贵的见解,我们可以在巴基斯坦和印度实施这些见解。 该项目还为棉花研究开辟了新方向,这将促进巴基斯坦和澳大利亚科学家之间的进一步合作,”他说。

Bilal Khan 评论道:“我对澳大利亚棉带进行了一次彻底的教育和愉快的访问。 澳大利亚使用的技术的复杂性非常有趣。 我要感谢 Cotton Australia 和 BCI 使这次旅行成为可能。 不久之后,这一举措的好处就会显现出来。”

查阅

分享此页

Sustainable Cotton Production Reaches New Levels as Two Million Farmers Receive Training on Improved Farming Practices

 
Today, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) revealed in its 2018 Annual Report that Better Cotton – cotton produced in line with the initiative’s Better Cotton Principles and Criteria – now accounts for 19% of global cotton production*.

In the 2017-18 cotton season, together with our 69 on-the-ground partners and with support from 1,4000 members, BCI provided training on sustainable agricultural practices to more than two million cotton farmers in 21 countries(more than 99% of BCI Farmers are smallholders, farming on less than 20 hectares of land). This drove the volume of more sustainably produced cotton available on the global market to a new level.

By 2020, BCI aims to support 5 million cotton farmers in adopting more sustainable agricultural practices and improving their livelihoods. To do this, we focus on the diverse social, environmental and economic challenges faced by cotton farmers around the world, from drought in Australia to flooding in China and gender equality in Pakistan.

Our comprehensive programme of training, practical demonstrations and knowledge-sharing helps farmers to raise their yields, reduce their impacts on the environment and improve working conditions. We address multiple environmental issues – from soil health and pesticide use to water stewardship – and raise awareness of the importance of Decent Work, focusing in particular on promoting women’s empowerment and preventing child labour,” says Alan McClay, CEO at BCI.

At the opposite end of the supply chain, BCI’s Retailer and Brand Members such as Hennes & Mauritz AB, IKEA Supply AG, Gap Inc., adidas AG, and Nike Inc.passed an important milestoneat the end of 2018, sourcing more than one million metric tonnes of Better Cotton– a record for BCI. That’s a 45% increase on 2017 and sends a clear signal to the market that Better Cotton is becoming a sustainable mainstream commodity.BCI’s demand-driven funding model means that retailer and brand sourcing of Better Cotton directly translates into increased investment in training for cotton farmers on more sustainable practices.

Better Cotton uptake now accounts for 4% of global cotton consumption.This progress has moved BCI closer to our2020 target to see 10% of global cotton sourced as Better Cotton.

This historic level of Better Cotton uptake is an encouraging indicator of how well BCI is progressing toward our five 2020 targets,” says McClay.

Back in 2012, the BCI Council laid down a formidable challenge to all BCI Members, Partners, stakeholders and staff with the publication of five ambitious targets for 2020. The BCI Council asked us to demonstrate that multiple stakeholders, working together, can shift a global system so that sustainability becomes the mainstream. In the BCI 2018 Annual Report, we share the progress we’ve collectively made towards achieving these five targets.

Explore the complete BCI 2018 Annual Report on the interactive reportmicrosite. A PDF version is available for download.

Thank you to all of our committed stakeholders, who, by supporting and participating in BCI, are developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity and driving change.

*The percentage has been calculated using ICAC’s 2018 global production figures.

Read more

Q&A with Sarob, Better Cotton Implementing Partner in Tajikistan

 
Cooperative Sarob is BCI’s Implementing Partner in Tajikistan. We caught up with Tahmina Sayfullaeva to discuss the organisation’s progress to date.

Tell us about your organisation.

Sarob is an organisation of agronomists providing agricultural consultation to cotton farmers in Tajikistan. Our goal is the comprehensive development of agriculture through capacity building, improving access to the market and ensuring cotton farmers have the necessary agricultural inputs. As part of our work we provide theoretical and practical training and help farmers to implement new technologies and machinery through demonstrations in the field.

Tell us about Cooperative Sarob’s partnership with the Better Cotton Initiative and the progress made to date.

In 2013, Sarob decided to join BCI in order create better conditions for cotton production, increase cotton yields and provide cotton farmers with access to a new international market for Better Cotton. We had the support of the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) and the Framework and Finance for Private Sector Development (FFPSD) to implement BCI programmes in Tajikistan. In 2017 we worked with 1,263 licensed BCI Farmers covering an area of 17,552 hectares. BCI Farmers are grouped into four Producers Units in the Khatlon and Sughd regions and smallholder farmers are organised into 103 smaller Learning Groups and trained by 100 Field Facilitators. In the 2016-17 season, BCI Farmers in Tajikistan used on average 3% less water, 63% less pesticides and saw 13% higher yields and a 48% increase in profits compared to comparison farmers.

Do you have a specific sustainability challenge which you are addressing as a priority?

We have a strong focus on water stewardship and efficiency as part of our farm management work in Tajikistan. Our methodology is based on implementing water measurement devices which are easily constructed and are of low cost to farmers. Since 2016 we have worked with The Water Productivity Project (WAPRO), a multi-stakeholder initiative to address water efficiency issues in rice and cotton production in Asia – the initiative is implemented by Helvetas in Tajikistan.

Read more

Cross-Country Cotton Collaboration: Cotton Australia Working with Pakistani and Indian Farmers

 
In 2017 the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Australia funded three BCI projects in Pakistan, with the aim of improving access to global cotton markets for Pakistani farmers. Under the project umbrella, the Better Cotton Initiative and Cotton Australia, the body for Australia’s cotton producers, collaborated on a new model of sharing cotton production best practices. The project sought to create an effective knowledge exchange between Australian and Pakistani farmers and to improve the global reputation of cotton.

As part of the project, in April this year, Dr. Shafiq Ahmad, BCI Country Manager Pakistan; Bilal Khan, a progressive cotton farmer from Pakistanand BCI Council Member; Dr. Saghir Ahmad, Director at the Cotton Research Institute in Multan, Pakistan; and Rajesh Kumar, a Better Cotton Producer Unit Manager from India, attended Cotton Australia’s annual farm tour.

Alongside representatives of Australian fashion and retail brands such as Country Road Group, Hanes, Jeanswest, RM Williams and Sportscraft, the group visited cotton farms, a cotton gin, a seed production facility, and the Cotton Research and Development Corporation. They also met with farmers, agronomists and consultants to discuss cotton production technology and whitefly management.

Australian farmers shared their knowledge on:

  • Traditional cultivation vs. mechanised farming;
  • Better crop management;
  • Use of technology to increase sustainability in cotton production;
  • Management of whitefly and other cotton pests;
  • Cotton research and development; and
  • Cotton seed production, processing and distribution.

Dr. Shafiq Ahmad believes there are many benefits to cross-country knowledge sharing projects. ”This trip has opened up many new opportunities. We’ve gained valuable insights into more sustainable cotton production, crop management and pest management which we can take away and implement in Pakistan and India. This project has also opened up a new direction for cotton research which will lead to further collaboration between Pakistani and Australian scientists,” he said.

Bilal Khan commented, ”I had a thoroughly educational and enjoyable visit to theAustralian cotton belt. The sophistication of the technology used in Australia is extremely interesting. I would like to express my gratitude to Cotton Australia and BCI for making this trip possible. It will not be long before the benefits of this initiative are realised.”

Read more
Translate »