Better Cotton 汇聚全球时尚品牌,确保棉花可追溯性

新的可追溯性小组投资超过 1 万英镑用于供应链创新.

Better Cotton 召集了一批领先的国际零售商和品牌,以帮助实现新的可追溯性解决方案的交付,并为棉花供应链带来更大的可见性。 其中包括 Marks & Spencer(M&S)、Zalando 和 BESTSELLER 等名称。

该小组已经筹集了最初的 1 万英镑资金。 它将与供应商、非政府组织和供应链保证方面的独立专家合作,开发一种满足当今行业紧迫需求的方法。

随着大西洋两岸的立法者开始收紧规则,棉花供应链内的可追溯性将很快成为市场“必须”。 欧盟委员会今年 XNUMX 月提出的新规则旨在更好地保护消费者免受虚假环境声明的侵害,并禁止漂绿。

例如,如果没有公共机构的认证或认可,则不允许卖家在其产品上贴上可持续性标签。 它还禁止卖家在不能证明环境绩效的情况下提出“环保”或“绿色”等通用环境声明。

许多时装零售商根本不知道他们衣服里的棉花是从哪里来的。 不知道的原因有很多,而且在许多情况下是合理的。 这个可追溯性小组是朝着解决无法追溯源头背后的原因迈出的重要一步。 我们打算直接解决采购和知识产权问题。 更高的供应链保证是有代价的——因为验证服装的确切来源需要更多的检查和控制——因此额外资源的投资至关重要。

良好棉花可追溯性小组将讨论棉花供应链的各个方面,从田间的农民到生产再到消费者。 迄今为止,良好棉花已从 1,500 多家组织收集了意见,这些组织明确表示可追溯性对整个行业的业务至关重要,但零售商和品牌也需要整合可持续性  可追溯至其标准业务实践。 这项研究的结果表明,84% 的企业表示企业“需要知道”其产品中的棉花是在哪里种植的。 事实上,接受调查的供应商中有五分之四寻求增强可追溯性系统的好处。 根据毕马威最近的一项研究,目前只有 4% 的服装公司声称对进入其产品的原材料有充分的了解。

在与 Better Cotton 合作十多年后,在 M&S,我们一直站在采购更负责任的棉花的最前沿。 我们兑现了 100 年在服装中实现 2019% 负责任采购棉花的承诺——但在提高可追溯性方面仍有工作要做。 我们很自豪能成为良好棉花可追溯性小组的一员,这将有助于进一步加快行业内的进步。

具体而言,良好棉花和新小组将为以下方面提供大量投资:

  • 进一步发展现有农场到杜松子酒的追溯安排,以支持物理可追溯性
  • 建立在其现有交易平台的基础上,通过 8000 个组织跟踪全球四分之一的棉花动向,使之成为可能。 完全追踪几年内进入系统的任何棉花。 
  • 使用不同的技术解决方案和可信度安排来明确区分最初的原产国和最终种植者的环境和社会实践。
  • 创建为农民带来价值的新市场机制,例如奖励他们的碳封存。
  • 关注农民——无论大小——提供培训,确保适当的工作条件,帮助他们获得优惠融资并确保他们进入国际价值链的能力。

时尚消费者越来越要求了解他们购买的商品的来源,而在 Zalando,我们的目标是为我们的客户提供这种更深层次的透明度。 我们都知道这个问题在我们的行业中有多么复杂,良好棉花可追溯性小组等举措将有助于加快进展——采取行动支持供应链中所有人的可持续业务增长。 这包括设定雄心勃勃的目标并确保及时采取行动。

Better Cotton 及其合作伙伴还在 2.5 个国家/地区培训了超过 25 万农民,自 99 年以来筹集了 2010 万欧元,用于资助能力建设和其他田间活动。 预计到 125-2021 赛季,这一数字将增长到略高于 22 亿欧元。

了解有关良好棉花可追溯性之旅的​​更多信息。

Better Cotton 会员可以参加我们即将在 26 月 XNUMX 日开始的可追溯性网络研讨会系列。 在这里注册.

查阅

这就是为什么时装零售商需要知道他们的棉花来自哪里

作者:Better Cotton 数据和可追溯性高级总监 Alia Malik。 这篇文章最初由世界经济论坛于 12 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日分享。 阅读原始文章.

问一个时装零售商,他们衣服里的棉花是从哪里来的,大多数人都举手:他们根本不知道。 '我们通过采购代理购买'; '棉纤维混纺'; “追踪单个农场的机制根本不存在。”

他们给出的不知道的理由很多,而且在大多数情况下是完全真实的。 除了原油、大豆和小麦等无处不在的产品外,棉花也是世界上交易最广泛的商品之一。 与这些其他大批量原材料一样,它是散装运输、散装加工和散装销售的。

什么是可追溯性,为什么它是一个日益严重的问题?

购物者关心他们衣服的出处,他们正在用他们的钱包行事。 看看不断增长的销量 有机标签棉. 事实上,这是市场中唯一在棉花离开农场后保持物理分离的部分,因此是可追溯的(尽管有 一些问号),绝非巧合。

立法者也开始觉醒。 例如,欧盟委员会目前正在考虑一项影响深远的 提案 这将要求企业大幅收紧其供应链中的尽职调查要求。 同样,美国海关当局现在正在 更严格的透明度条件 来自高风险国家的棉花进口。

阿莉亚·马利克

为什么棉花行业不公开其产品的来源?

这是零售商和该行业的其他主要参与者自己提出的问题。 棉花行业的绝大多数人现在都接受可追溯性不再是“可有可无”。 我们最近对供应商的调查 更好的棉花 网络发现,超过十分之八(8%)的人将有关他们购买的棉花来源的数据视为“业务需要了解”。 然而,据统计,目前只有约 10% 的服装公司声称拥有有关其产品原材料的完整信息。 毕马威最近的研究.

症结在于市场的运作方式。 为了降低成本和提高效率,个体棉农的产量几乎一离开农场大门就与其他棉农的产量合并。 保持隔离或使用新兴技术对原棉进行数字标记并非不可能,但这样做的时间和成本相当可观。

棉花也不会直接从农场流向零售商。 有多个中间人,从轧花厂、贸易商和纺纱厂到面料厂、服装制造商,最后是品牌本身。 同样,在每个阶段引入检查和控制可能是可行的,但成本高且在技术上具有挑战性。

最后,还有一些关于知识产权的合理问题需要考虑。 纱线和织物生产商通常会利用多种不同类型的棉花来获得他们正在寻找的特定混纺。 最终结果是服装中的棉花很可能来自许多农场,也可能来自多个国家。

正在采取什么措施来应对这些挑战?

我们有可能应对这些挑战,尽管没有人假装它们很容易。 但它们也不是不可克服的,尤其是考虑到这一领域技术创新的速度。 因此,我们在 Better Cotton 决定将一群领先的行业参与者聚集在一起,考虑一个可行的可追溯性解决方案可能是什么样的——以及我们如何共同创造它。

该小组包括零售商和 Bestseller、Marks & Spencer 和 Zalando 等品牌,正在研究采购过程的每个阶段,从现有的监管链系统到管理和共享产品来源数据的新兴方法。

这种彻底的重新思考需要时间。 在某些情况下,潜在的中断将使许多零售商退出市场。 在其他情况下,技术解决方案尚未准备好大规模使用。 在某些情况下,演员还没有准备好改变。

除了所有这些问题,还有物理隔离问题需要考虑。 目前,Better Cotton 推广类似于绿色能源市场的数量跟踪系统。 它允许零售商和品牌购买保证持牌农民受益的信用额度,并且等量的良好棉花被拉入供应链,但并不一定意味着他们购买的特定棉花来自参与良好棉花的农场程序。

为了满足客户和监管机构开始要求的可追溯性水平,很可能有必要引入将棉花与许可农场分开的机制。 这将增加交易的刚性,并减少混合和混合的机会。

因此,我们的首要任务是想办法让这项工作能够满足消费者的需求(就可追溯性而言)和农民的需求(就运作良好的市场而言)。

幸运的是,我们不是从一开始。 Better Cotton 已经在追踪棉花从农场到轧花机,并且可以建立在已经通过我们现有的 Better Cotton 平台流动的大量交易和加工信息的基础上。

这会产生什么影响?

消费者信心是棉花供应链的一大胜利,在该供应链中,可以轻松准确地追踪原材料。 有了原产地数据,目前通过良好棉花采购的近 300 个品牌也可以更加可信地谈论他们的可持续发展努力。 但农民也将受益。 一个强大、可访问的可追溯系统将使那些遵循良好棉花标准的生产商能够进入日益受到监管的国际价值链。 否则,他们可能会冒被抛在后面的风险。

更好地了解个体农民的信息还可以更好地奖励农民,通过优惠融资、保费和其他量身定制的支持形式等机会提高其农场的可持续性。 将良好棉花种植者与国际碳信用市场联系起来——以表彰他们 排放率降低 19% 正如最近在中国、印度、巴基斯坦和塔吉克斯坦开展的一项研究表明的那样——就是一个很好的例子。

仍有许多工作要做,但变革的车轮正在转动。 我们计划今年在重点市场开展一系列试点,以期在明年年底全面推出增强型追溯系统。 可追溯性不会消失。 事实上,整个棉花供应链对透明度的要求只会越来越严格。 我们现在没有所有的答案,但我们会的。 不知道不再是一种选择。

良好棉花会员可以注册加入我们即将于 8 月 XNUMX 日开始的可追溯性网络研讨会系列。 在这里注册.

查阅

信息请求 (RFI):棉花可追溯性解决方案

随着良好棉花进入下一个战略阶段,为实现我们的 2030 年愿景并为农民推动实地变革,良好棉花将使通过全球供应网络追踪良好棉花成为可能。 此请求的目的是收集有关给定可追溯性解决方案功能的更多信息,以生成供应商候选名单,然后邀请他们参与提案请求。

查阅

信息请求 (RFI):棉花可追溯性解决方案

随着良好棉花进入下一个战略阶段,为实现我们的 2030 年愿景并为农民推动实地变革,良好棉花将使通过全球供应网络追踪良好棉花成为可能。 此请求的目的是收集有关给定可追溯性解决方案功能的更多信息,以生成供应商候选名单,然后邀请他们参与提案请求。

查阅

信息请求 (RFI):棉花可追溯性解决方案

随着良好棉花进入下一个战略阶段,为实现我们的 2030 年愿景并为农民推动实地变革,良好棉花将使通过全球供应网络追踪良好棉花成为可能。 此请求的目的是收集有关给定可追溯性解决方案功能的更多信息,以生成供应商候选名单,然后邀请他们参与提案请求。

查阅

信息请求 (RFI):棉花可追溯性解决方案

随着良好棉花进入下一个战略阶段,为实现我们的 2030 年愿景并为农民推动实地变革,良好棉花将使通过全球供应网络追踪良好棉花成为可能。 此请求的目的是收集有关给定可追溯性解决方案功能的更多信息,以生成供应商候选名单,然后邀请他们参与提案请求。

查阅

更好的棉花出现在生态纺织品新闻中,谈论物理可追溯性解决方案的计划

8 年 2021 月 25 日,Ecotextile News 发表了“Better Cotton 计划 XNUMX 万欧元的可追溯性系统”,与数据和可追溯性高级总监 Alia Malik 和高级可追溯性协调员 Josh Taylor 就我们在整个行业的合作和长期计划进行了交谈在棉花供应链中建立完整的物理可追溯性。

创新实现完整的物理可追溯性

在我们从现有的可追溯性解决方案中学习的同时,我们也明白实现完全的物理可追溯性是一项雄心勃勃、非常复杂的工作,需要新的方法来满足棉花供应链的需求。 我们估计该项目将在四年内需要 25 万欧元的资金,并于 2023 年底启动,以补充当前的质量平衡系统。

Better Cotton 将推出一个数字追溯平台。 所以我们现在要追求伟大的创新。

Alia Malik,Better Cotton,数据和可追溯性高级总监

跨部门合作

自去年以来,Better Cotton 一直与零售商和品牌小组密切合作,以了解我们如何以对会员最有意义的方式提供可追溯性,并通过将供应链与可追溯性。 我们明白,持续合作对于激发、影响和学习我们的合作伙伴关系至关重要。

ISEAL 对此非常感兴趣,因为随着监管环境的变化,服装以外的许多不同标准系统正在研究他们需要进行哪些调整以支持更好的可追溯性。 因此,我们有机会领导并帮助塑造该行业。

阅读全文 Ecotextile 新闻文章,“Better Cotton 计划耗资 25 万欧元的可追溯系统”。

查阅

分享此页

Better Cotton Brings Together Global Fashion Brands to Ensure Cotton Traceability

New Traceability Panel invests over £1million in supply chain innovations.

Better Cotton has convened a group of leading international retailers and brands to help enable the delivery of new traceability solutions and bring greater visibility to the cotton supply chain. These include names like Marks & Spencer(M&S), Zalando and BESTSELLER.

The panel has pulled together an initial £1m tranche of funding. It will work with suppliers, NGOs and independent experts in supply chain assurance to develop an approach that meets the pressing needs of industry today.

Traceability within the cotton supply chain will soon become a market “must” with legislators on both sides of the Atlantic moving to toughen rules. New rules presented this March by the European Commission aim to better protect consumers against false environmental claims and introduce a ban on greenwashing.

For example, sellers will not be allowed to put a sustainability label on their product if there is no certification or recognition by a public authority for it. It also prohibits sellers from making generic environmental claims such as “eco-friendly” or “green” if they cannot demonstrate environmental performance.

Many fashion retailers simply don’t know where the cotton in their clothes comes from. The reasons for not knowing are numerous, and in many cases, legitimate. This traceability panel is a major step towards addressing the reasons behind this inability to trackback to the source. We intend to address sourcing and intellectual property issues head on. Higher supply chain assurance comes at a cost –- as verifying the exact origins of a garment requires more checks and controls – so the investment of additional resources will be critical.

The Better Cotton Traceability Panel will address all aspects of the cotton supply chain, from farmers in the field through production to the consumer. Better Cotton has gathered input from over 1,500 organisations so far who have made it clear that traceability is business-critical across the whole industry but also that retailers and brands need to integrate sustainability and traceability into their standard business practices. Findings from this research highlighted that 84% indicated a business ‘need to know’ where the cotton in their products was grown. In fact, 4 in 5 suppliers surveyed sought the benefit of an enhanced traceability system. Currently only 15% of apparel companies claim to have full visibility of the raw materials that go into their products according to a recent study by KPMG.

Having worked in partnership with Better Cotton for over a decade, at M&S we have been at the forefront of sourcing more responsible cotton. We met our commitment of reaching 100% responsibly sourced cotton in our clothing in 2019 – but there is still work to be done to improve traceability. We’re proud to be a part of Better Cotton’s Traceability Panel which will help to further accelerate progress within the industry.

Specifically Better Cotton and the new panel will provide substantial investment to:

  • Further develop existing farm to gin tracing arrangements to underpin physical traceability
  • Build on its existing trading platform tracking movement of a quarter of the world’s cotton through 8000 organisations to make it possible. Fully trace any of the cotton that enters the system within a few years. 
  • Use different technology solutions and credibility arrangements to clearly distinguish country of origin initially and environmental and social practices by growers eventually.
  • Create new market mechanisms that bring value for farmers, such as rewarding them for carbon sequestration.
  • Focus on farmers – both big and small – providing training, ensuring proper working conditions, helping them access preferential financing and securing their ability to enter international value chains.

Fashion consumers are increasingly demanding to know the provenance of their purchases and at Zalando, we aim to offer this deeper level of transparency to our customers. We are all aware how complex this issue is within our industry and initiatives like the Better Cotton traceability panel will help to accelerate progress – with action to support sustainable business growth for all in the supply chain. This includes setting ambitious targets and ensuring these are actioned promptly.

Better Cotton and its partners have also trained over 2.5 million farmers in 25 countries, having raised €99 million since 2010 to fund capacity building and other field-level activities. This is projected to grow to just over €125 million by the 2021- 22 season.

Learn more about Better Cotton traceability journey.

Better Cotton Members can join our upcoming traceability webinar series, kicking off on 26 May. Register here.

Read more

Here’s Why Fashion Retailers Need to Know Where Their Cotton Comes From

By Alia Malik, Senior director, Data and Traceability, Better Cotton. This post was originally shared by World Economic Forum on 12 April 2022. Read the original post.

Ask a fashion retailer where the cotton in their clothes comes from and most throw up their hands: they simply don’t know. ‘We buy through sourcing agents’; ‘Cotton fibres get blended’; ‘The mechanisms for tracking back to individual farms simply don’t exist.’

The reasons they give for not knowing are legion, and, in most cases, perfectly genuine. Along with ubiquitous products like crude oil, soybeans and wheat, cotton is one of the most extensively traded commodities in the world. As with these other high-volume raw materials, it is shipped in bulk, processed in bulk, and sold in bulk.

What is traceability and why is it a growing issue?

Shoppers care about the provenance of their clothes, and they are acting with their wallets. Just look at the rising sales of organic-labelled cotton. The fact that this is the only segment of the market that remains physically separated once the cotton leaves the farm, and is consequently traceable (albeit with some question marks), is no coincidence.

Legislators are also beginning to wake up. The European Commission, for instance, is currently considering a far-reaching proposal that would require corporations to dramatically tighten due diligence requirements in their supply chains. In a similar vein, customs authorities in the United States are now putting more stringent transparency conditions on cotton imports from high-risks countries.

Alia Malik

Why doesn’t the cotton sector open up about the origin of its products?

This is a question that retailers and other key actors in the industry are themselves asking. The vast majority in the cotton industry now accept that traceability is no longer a ‘nice-to-have’. Our recent survey of suppliers in the Better Cotton network found that more than 8 out of 10 (84%) see data about the origin of the cotton they purchase as a ‘business need-to-know’. And yet, at present only around 15% of apparel companies claim to have full information about the raw materials that go into their products, according to recent research by KPMG.

The sticking point is the way the market works. To reduce costs and drive efficiencies, the output of individual cotton farmers is consolidated with the output of other farmers almost as soon as it leaves the farm gate. It is not impossible to keep it segregated or to use emerging technologies to digitally mark raw cotton, but the time and costs of doing so are considerable.

Cotton doesn’t go straight from the farm to the retailer, either. There are multiple intermediary actors, from ginners, traders, and yarn spinners through to the fabric mills, garment manufacturers, and, eventually, the brands themselves. Again, introducing checks and controls at every stage may be doable, but it is costly and technically challenging.

Finally, there are legitimate questions about intellectual property to consider. Yarn and fabric producers will often draw on multiple different types of cotton to get the specific blend they are looking for. The net result is that the cotton in a garment most is likely to come from many farms, feasibly from multiple countries.

What is being done to address these challenges?

It is possible for us to address these challenges, although no-one is pretending they are easy. But nor are they insurmountable, especially given the speed of technological innovation in this space. Hence our decision at Better Cotton to bring together a group of leading industry players to consider what a workable traceability solution might look like – and how we can go about collectively creating it.

The group, which includes retailers and brands such as Bestseller, Marks & Spencer and Zalando, are looking at each stage of the procurement process, from existing chain of custody systems through to emerging methods for managing and sharing data about product origins.

A root-and-branch rethink of this kind takes time. In some instances, the potential disruptions will price many retailers out of the market. In other instances, the technological solutions aren’t yet ready to use at scale. In some cases the actors aren’t ready for change.

All these issues aside, there’s the question of physical segregation to consider. At present, Better Cotton promotes a volume tracking system akin to the green energy market. It allows retailers and brands to buy credits that guarantee licensed farmers benefit, and that the equivalent amount of Better Cotton is pulled into the supply chain, but doesn’t necessarily mean that the specific cotton they purchase comes from farms that participate in the Better Cotton programme.

To meet the level of traceability that both customers and regulators are beginning to demand, it may well be necessary to introduce mechanisms for keeping cotton from licensed farms physically separate. This will add rigidity to trading, as well as reduce opportunities for mixing and blending.

Our top priority, therefore, is to find ways to make this work in a way that delivers what consumers want (in terms of traceability) and what farmers need (in terms of a well-functioning market).

Fortunately, we are not starting from square one. Better Cotton is already tracing cotton from the farm to gin and can build on a wealth of trading and processing information already flowing through our exiting better cotton platform.

What impact could this have?

Consumer confidence is the big win from a cotton supply chain in which raw materials can be traced with ease and accuracy. With origin data in hand, the nearly 300 brands that currently source through Better Cotton can also speak with extra credibility about their sustainability efforts. But farmers are also set to benefit. A robust, accessible traceability system will enable those producers who are following Better Cotton standards to enter international value chains that are becoming increasingly regulated. They might risk being left behind otherwise.

Better information about individual farmers will also make it possible to better reward farmers for improving the sustainability of their farms through opportunities such as preferential financing, premiums, and other tailored forms of support. Linking Better Cotton farmers to international carbon-credit markets – in recognition of their 19% lower emission rate as indicated in a recent study across China, India, Pakistan and Tajikistan – is a case in point.

Much remains to be done, but the wheels of change are turning. We plan to begin a series of pilots in key markets this year, with a view to a full roll-out of an enhanced traceability system at the end of next year. Traceability isn’t going away. In fact, the demands for transparency throughout the cotton supply chain are only going to get tougher. We don’t have all the answers right now, but we will. Not knowing is no longer an option.

Better Cotton Members can register to join our upcoming traceability webinar series, kicking off on 8 June. Register here.

Read more

Request for Information (RFI): Cotton Traceability Solutions

As Better Cotton enters its next strategic phase, to achieve our 2030 vision and drive change on the ground for farmers, Better Cotton will make it possible to trace Better Cotton through the global supply network. The purpose of this request is to gather additional information on the capabilities of a given traceability solution to produce a shortlist of vendors who will then be invited to participate in a Request for Proposal.

Read more

Request for Information (RFI): Cotton Traceability Solutions

As Better Cotton enters its next strategic phase, to achieve our 2030 vision and drive change on the ground for farmers, Better Cotton will make it possible to trace Better Cotton through the global supply network. The purpose of this request is to gather additional information on the capabilities of a given traceability solution to produce a shortlist of vendors who will then be invited to participate in a Request for Proposal.

Read more

Request for Information (RFI): Cotton Traceability Solutions

As Better Cotton enters its next strategic phase, to achieve our 2030 vision and drive change on the ground for farmers, Better Cotton will make it possible to trace Better Cotton through the global supply network. The purpose of this request is to gather additional information on the capabilities of a given traceability solution to produce a shortlist of vendors who will then be invited to participate in a Request for Proposal.

Read more

Request for Information (RFI): Cotton Traceability Solutions

As Better Cotton enters its next strategic phase, to achieve our 2030 vision and drive change on the ground for farmers, Better Cotton will make it possible to trace Better Cotton through the global supply network. The purpose of this request is to gather additional information on the capabilities of a given traceability solution to produce a shortlist of vendors who will then be invited to participate in a Request for Proposal.

Read more

Better Cotton Appears in Ecotextile News Speaking on Plans for a Physical Traceability Solution

On 8 December 2021, Ecotextile News published “Better Cotton plans €25m traceability system”, speaking to Alia Malik, Senior Director of Data and Traceability, and Josh Taylor, Senior Traceability Coordinator, about our collaboration across the sector and long-term plans for developing full physical traceability in the cotton supply chain.

Innovating towards full physical traceability

While we are learning from traceability solutions that exist, we also understand that achieving full physical traceability is a hugely ambitious, very complex piece of work that will require new approaches to suit the needs along the cotton supply chain. We have estimated that the project will require €25 million in funding over four years and launch by the end of 2023 to supplement the current mass balance system.

Better Cotton will launch a digital traceability platform. So we’re going to go for the great big innovation now.

Alia Malik, Better Cotton, Senior Director of Data and Traceability

Collaborating across the sector

Better Cotton has been working closely with a panel of retailers and brands since last year to understand how we may deliver traceability in a way most meaningful for our members and to facilitate the inclusion of producers in increasingly regulated international value chains by connecting the supply chain through traceability. We understand that continued collaboration will be essential to inspire, influence and learn from our partnerships.

ISEAL are very interested in this because, with the changing regulatory landscape, a lot of different standard systems outside of apparel, as well as in it, are looking at what tweaks they need to make to support better traceability. So it’s something that we have the opportunity to lead and to help shape for the sector.

Read the full Ecotextile News article, “Better Cotton plans €25m traceability system”.

Read more

Share this page