GIF 多年资助项目的基线研究和最终评估

良好棉花增长与创新基金 (Better Cotton GIF) 成立于 2016 年,旨在改变全球棉花生产,并将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品。 今年 GIF 已授予四个计划合作伙伴(或 IP),印度和巴基斯坦各两个,多年项目 (MYP) 赠款。 这项任务的目的是评估这四个项目的有效性。

查阅

可持续棉花和咖啡标准寻求调整影响测量和报告

 
有许多可持续性标准和公共部门举措在商品部门内促进和推动可持续性。 然而,数据的收集和报告方式并不一致,这使得很难清楚地了解这些计划在全球范围内朝着联合国可持续发展目标 (SDG) 取得进展的集体能力。

随着可持续性标准和倡议越来越关注可靠数据和可信报告,生产商需要更多关于其环境、社会和经济绩效的信息。 这导致数据收集变得更加耗时和昂贵,而不一定为生产者增加任何价值。

为了弥合这些差距并提高效率,开发了 Delta 项目,以协调农场层面跨可持续性标准和商品的可持续性绩效的衡量和报告。 该项目是良好棉花倡议 (BCI)、全球咖啡平台 (GCP)、国际棉花咨询委员会 (ICAC) 和国际咖啡协会 (ICO) 之间的合作。 它由 ISEAL 创新基金资助。

=Delta 项目最终将导致“Delta 框架”的创建,该框架旨在为可持续发展报告建立一种通用的方法和语言,与 SDG 目标相关联,”BCI 的监测和评估经理 Eliane Augareils 说。

该框架将采用一套通用的环境、社会和经济指标来衡量棉花和咖啡商品部门的可持续性,但指标数量将受到限制,以确保该框架对公司和政府而言仍然易于管理。 该项目还将提供良好和不良做法的示例; 促进框架采用的工具和信息; 以及关于公司如何向客户传达可持续发展信息的建议。

=咖啡农和棉花农也将能够使用为该框架生成的信息来跟踪自己的进度,将他们的表现与同行进行比较,并访问更多资源和数据以获得更好的洞察力,”GCP 的 IT 和流程经理 Andreas Terhaer 说。

标准化框架并使其适用于一系列商品也将促进农业可持续发展的通用语言的发展,并使收集和比较数据变得更加容易。 预计结果将提高农民未来获得的支持和服务的质量,包括更好的融资条件和更有利的政府政策,以促进农业部门的可持续性。

虽然 Delta 项目目前专注于两种商品,棉花和咖啡,但它的设计目的是进一步扩展。 我们对它未来在可可、大豆、棕榈油、糖和其他商品领域的潜在应用感到非常兴奋,”ISEAL 的政策和外展总监 Norma Tregurtha 说。

了解更多有关 三角洲项目.

由于 ISEAL 创新基金的资助,该项目成为可能,该基金得到了瑞士国家经济事务秘书处 SECO 的支持。

图片
左:¬© BCI / Paulo Escudeiro | BCI 农场工人 | 莫桑比克尼亚萨省,2018 年。
右图:¬© 全球棉花平台,2019

查阅

更好的棉农减少了水和农药的使用,同时提高了产量和利润

 
BCI 农民展示了实施更可持续的农业实践的好处

在 2017-18 棉季*,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 及其实地合作伙伴为 21 个国家/地区的超过 XNUMX 万棉农提供了有关更可持续农业实践的培训。 通过培训、工具和能力建设,BCI 农民解决和解决棉花生产中的相关问题,从用水到害虫管理再到体面劳动。 通过实施良好棉花原则和标准,农民以一种对他们自己、环境和农业社区明显更好的方式生产棉花。

每个棉花季节,BCI 及其合作伙伴都会从 BCI 农民那里收集数据,以监测和评估一系列社会、环境和经济指标。 BCI Farmer 2017-18 棉花季节的结果清楚地表明了在世界各地实施更可持续的做法的好处。以下是来自中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的一些关键亮点。

公共信息交流

  • 在土耳其,74% 的 BCI 农民对童工问题有较高的认识。
  • 在塔吉克斯坦,接受过健康和安全实践培训的 BCI 农民中有 25% 是女性。

环保

  • 印度的 BCI 农民用水量比比较农民少 10%。
  • 巴基斯坦的 BCI 农民使用的合成肥料比比较农民少 17%。
  • 塔吉克斯坦的 BCI 农民使用的农药比比较农民少 40%。

经济

  • 中国的 BCI 农民的产量比比较农民高 14%。
  • 巴基斯坦的 BCI 农民获得的利润比比较农民高 40%。

访问2017-18 BCI 农民结果 了解 BCI 如何推动棉花生产的显着改善。

关于比较农民的注意事项:BCI 农民结果将获得许可的 BCI 农民与未参与 BCI 计划的同一地理区域的非 BCI 农民所达到的关键社会、环境和经济指标的国家平均值进行比较。 我们将后一种农民称为比较农民。

*棉花在世界各地以不同的年度周期播种和收获。 对于 BCI,2017-18 棉花季节的收获在 2018 年底完成。BCI 农民结果指标数据必须在棉花收获后的 12 周内提交给 BCI。 然后,所有数据都经过严格的数据清理和验证过程,然后才能发布。

查阅

随着 XNUMX 万农民接受有关改进耕作方法的培训,可持续棉花生产达到新水平

 
今天,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 在其 2018年报 更好的棉花——符合该倡议的棉花生产 良好棉花原则和标准 – 现在占 全球棉花产量的 19%*.

在 2017-18 棉季,与我们的 69 个实地合作伙伴一起,在来自 1,4000成员, BCI 向超过 21 个国家的 XNUMX 万棉农(多于 99% 的 BCI 农民是小农,在不到 20 公顷的土地上耕作)。 这将全球市场上更可持续生产的棉花数量推向了一个新的水平。

到 2020 年,BCI 的目标是支持 5 万棉农采用更可持续的农业实践并改善他们的生计。 为此,我们关注世界各地棉农面临的各种社会、环境和经济挑战,从澳大利亚的干旱到中国的洪水和巴基斯坦的性别平等。

=我们的综合培训、实践示范和知识共享计划帮助农民提高产量、减少对环境的影响并改善工作条件。 我们解决了多个环境问题——从土壤健康和杀虫剂的使用到水资源管理——并提高对体面劳动重要性的认识,特别关注促进妇女赋权和防止童工,” BCI 首席执行官 Alan McClay 说。

在供应链的另一端,BCI 的零售商和品牌成员 例如 Hennes & Mauritz AB、IKEA Supply AG、Gap Inc.、adidas AG 和 Nike Inc.在 2018 年底通过了一个重要的里程碑,采购了超过 XNUMX 万吨良好棉花– BCI 的记录。 这比 45 年增长了 2017%,向市场发出了一个明确的信号,即良好棉花正在成为一种可持续的主流商品。BCI 的需求驱动型融资模式意味着良好棉花的零售商和品牌采购直接转化为增加对棉农培训的投资关于更可持续的做法。

更好的棉花吸收现在占 占全球棉花消费量的 4%. 这一进展使 BCI 更接近我们 2020 年的目标,即全球 10% 的棉花都来自良好棉花。

=这一历史性良好棉花吸收水平是一个令人鼓舞的指标,表明 BCI 在实现我们的 2020 年五个目标方面取得了多大进展,”McClay 说。

早在 2012 年,BCI 委员会向所有 BCI 成员、合作伙伴、利益相关者和员工提出了一项艰巨的挑战,发布了 2020 年的五个雄心勃勃的目标。 BCI 委员会要求我们证明,多个利益相关者共同努力可以改变全球系统,使可持续性成为主流。 在 BCI 2018 年度报告中,我们分享了我们为实现这五个目标而共同取得的进展。

探索完整 BCI 2018 年报 在交互式报告微型网站上。 PDF 版本可供下载。

感谢我们所有忠诚的利益相关者,他们通过支持和参与 BCI,将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品并推动变革。

*该百分比是根据廉政公署 2018 年全球产量数据计算得出的。

查阅

分享此页

Sustainable Cotton and Coffee Standards Seek to Align Impact Measurement and Reporting

 
There are many sustainability standards and public-sector initiatives that promote and drive sustainability within commodity sectors. However, there is no alignment on how data is collected and reported, which makes it difficult to have a clear view on the collective ability of these programmes to progress towards the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) on a global scale.

As the sustainability standards and initiatives increasingly focus on reliable data and credible reporting, more information is being required from producers on their environmental, social and economic performance. This leads to data collection becoming more time consuming and costly, while not necessarily adding any value for producers.

To bridge these gaps and improve efficiency, the Delta Project was developed to align the measurement and reporting on sustainability performance at farm level across sustainability standards and commodities. The project is a collaboration between the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), the Global Coffee Platform (GCP), the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC) and the International Coffee Association (ICO). It is funded by the ISEAL Innovation Fund.

The Delta Project will ultimately lead to the creation of the “Delta Framework’ which aims to build a common approach and language for sustainability reporting that is linked to SDG targets,” says Eliane Augareils, Monitoring and Evaluation Manager at BCI.

The framework will feature a common set of environmental, social, and economic indicators to measure sustainability across the cotton and coffee commodity sectors, though the number of indicators will be limited to ensure that the framework remains manageable for companies and governments. The project will also provide examples of good and bad practices; tools and information to facilitate the framework’s adoption; and recommendations on how companies can communicate sustainability information to their customers.

Coffee and cotton farmers will also be able to use the information produced for the framework to track their own progress, compare their performance to their peers and access more resources and data to develop better insights,” says Andreas Terhaer, Manager IT & Processes at GCP.

Standardising a framework and making it adaptable to a range of commodities will also foster the development of a common language for sustainability in agriculture and make it easier to collect and compare data. The results are expected to improve the quality of support and services farmers receive in the future, including better financing terms and more favourable government policies that promote sustainability in the agricultural sector.

While the Delta Project currently focuses on two commodities, cotton and coffee, it is being designed to allow for further expansion. We’re really excited about its potential application to cocoa, soy, palm oil, sugar, and other commodity sectors in the future,”saysNorma Tregurtha,Policy and Outreach Director at ISEAL.

Learn more about the Delta Project.

The project is possible thanks to a grant from the ISEAL Innovations Fund, which is supported by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO.

Images
Left:© BCI / Paulo Escudeiro | BCI farm worker |Niassa Province, Mozambique, 2018.
Right:© Global Cotton Platform, 2019

Read more

Better Cotton Farmers Achieve a Reduction in Water and Pesticide Use while Increasing Yields and Profits

 
BCI Farmers Demonstrate the Benefits of Implementing more Sustainable Farming Practices

In the 2017-18 cotton season*, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) and its on-the-ground partners provided training on more sustainable farming practices to more than two million cotton farmers in 21 countries. Through training, tools and capacity building, BCI Farmers address and tackle pertinent issues in cotton production, from water use to pest management to Decent Work. By implementing the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria, farmers produce cotton in a way that is measurably better for themselves, the environment and farming communities.

Each cotton season, BCI and its partners collect data from BCI Farmers to monitor and assess a range of social, environmental and economic indicators. BCI Farmer results from the 2017-18 cotton season clearly demonstrate the benefits of implementing more sustainable practices around the world.Here are some key highlights from China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

Social

  • In Turkey, 74% of BCI Farmers had advanced awareness of child labour issues.
  • In Tajikistan, 25% of BCI Farmers trained on health and safety practices were women.

Environmental

  • BCI Farmers in India used 10% less water than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Pakistan used 17% less synthetic fertiliser than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Tajikistan used 40% fewer pesticides than comparison farmers.

Economic

  • BCI Farmers in China achieved 14% higher yields than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Pakistan achieved 40% higher profits than comparison farmers.

Access the2017-18 BCI Farmer Results to see how BCI is driving measurable improvements in cotton production.

Note about Comparison Farmers: BCI Farmer Results compare the country averages of key social, environmental and economic indicators achieved by licensed BCI Farmers to non-BCI farmers in the same geographic area who are not participating in the BCI programme. We refer to the latter farmers as Comparison Farmers.

*Cotton is sown and harvested in different annual cycles all over the world. For BCI, the 2017-18 cotton season harvest was completed towards the end of 2018. BCI Farmer results indicator data must be submitted to BCI within 12 weeks of the cotton harvest. All data then goes through a rigorous data cleaning and validation process before it can be published.

Read more

Sustainable Cotton Production Reaches New Levels as Two Million Farmers Receive Training on Improved Farming Practices

 
Today, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) revealed in its 2018 Annual Report that Better Cotton – cotton produced in line with the initiative’s Better Cotton Principles and Criteria – now accounts for 19% of global cotton production*.

In the 2017-18 cotton season, together with our 69 on-the-ground partners and with support from 1,4000 members, BCI provided training on sustainable agricultural practices to more than two million cotton farmers in 21 countries(more than 99% of BCI Farmers are smallholders, farming on less than 20 hectares of land). This drove the volume of more sustainably produced cotton available on the global market to a new level.

By 2020, BCI aims to support 5 million cotton farmers in adopting more sustainable agricultural practices and improving their livelihoods. To do this, we focus on the diverse social, environmental and economic challenges faced by cotton farmers around the world, from drought in Australia to flooding in China and gender equality in Pakistan.

Our comprehensive programme of training, practical demonstrations and knowledge-sharing helps farmers to raise their yields, reduce their impacts on the environment and improve working conditions. We address multiple environmental issues – from soil health and pesticide use to water stewardship – and raise awareness of the importance of Decent Work, focusing in particular on promoting women’s empowerment and preventing child labour,” says Alan McClay, CEO at BCI.

At the opposite end of the supply chain, BCI’s Retailer and Brand Members such as Hennes & Mauritz AB, IKEA Supply AG, Gap Inc., adidas AG, and Nike Inc.passed an important milestoneat the end of 2018, sourcing more than one million metric tonnes of Better Cotton– a record for BCI. That’s a 45% increase on 2017 and sends a clear signal to the market that Better Cotton is becoming a sustainable mainstream commodity.BCI’s demand-driven funding model means that retailer and brand sourcing of Better Cotton directly translates into increased investment in training for cotton farmers on more sustainable practices.

Better Cotton uptake now accounts for 4% of global cotton consumption.This progress has moved BCI closer to our2020 target to see 10% of global cotton sourced as Better Cotton.

This historic level of Better Cotton uptake is an encouraging indicator of how well BCI is progressing toward our five 2020 targets,” says McClay.

Back in 2012, the BCI Council laid down a formidable challenge to all BCI Members, Partners, stakeholders and staff with the publication of five ambitious targets for 2020. The BCI Council asked us to demonstrate that multiple stakeholders, working together, can shift a global system so that sustainability becomes the mainstream. In the BCI 2018 Annual Report, we share the progress we’ve collectively made towards achieving these five targets.

Explore the complete BCI 2018 Annual Report on the interactive reportmicrosite. A PDF version is available for download.

Thank you to all of our committed stakeholders, who, by supporting and participating in BCI, are developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity and driving change.

*The percentage has been calculated using ICAC’s 2018 global production figures.

Read more
Translate »