全球可持续农业挑战赛获胜者揭晓

 
良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 和 IDH、可持续贸易倡议很高兴地宣布, 以色列农业技术初创公司 Agritask Ltd. 赢得了良好棉花创新挑战赛.

印度农业技术公司 CropIn Technology Solutions 获得第二名。 获胜团队现在将分别获得 100,000 和 35,000 美元的现金奖励。

由 BCI 和 IDH 发起并由 Dalberg Advisors 组织的良好棉花创新挑战赛于 2019 年 XNUMX 月启动,旨在寻找新的创新理念来扩大更可持续的棉花生产。 挑战集中在两个方面:

  • 定制培训: 为数十万棉农带来关于更可持续农业实践的定制培训的创新。
  • 数据采集​​: 减少数据收集时间和成本的创新,以实现更高效的 BCI 许可流程。

该挑战收到了近 100 份申请,其中 20 份在经过严格的审查程序后入围。 在入围的申请者中,五名决赛选手——Agritask、CropIn、Ricult、WaterSprint 和 eKutir——被选为 在现场试用他们的可持续解决方案 与 BCI 农民。 在为期八周的试点期结束后,由 BCI、IDH 和 Dalberg 代表组成的评审团根据六点标准对入围者进行了评估并选出了获胜者:影响力、技术性能、采用的可能性、可扩展性、财务可持续性和团队能力.

农业任务: 获胜者

Agritask 提供了一个整体的农艺平台,使包括农民在内的农业利益相关者能够以高度灵活的方式获取和利用一系列数据。 Agritask 移动应用程序是可定制的,允许农民以适合他们的方式直观地采用数字解决方案。 此外,该平台还支持通过卫星和虚拟气象站进行远程监控,并支持与第三方系统的交互。 然后汇总和处理通过应用程序捕获的数据,以提供针对每个用户量身定制的可操作见解。

Agritask 业务发展主管 Arsira Thumaprudti 评论道,“我们很自豪能与 BCI 等可持续发展领域的全球领导者合作。 我们从实地试验中走出来,对在实地实施和监测可持续发展计划所涉及的复杂性有了更深的认识,而这正是我们正在寻找的挑战类型设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

图片: ¬©农业任务。 C2020 年以色列的 otton 农业

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

裁剪: 亚军

CropIn 的解决方案是一种数字农场管理解决方案,可实现农业流程的完全数字化。 该平台支持数据驱动的决策制定,并以近乎实时的方式提供人员、流程和绩效的完整可见性。 它使农民能够有效地管理农业实践,同时确保他们遵守合规性和认证要求。 该解决方案将帮助农民解决病虫害和作物健康等问题,并管理预算和投入,帮助农民实现收益最大化。

=支持可持续农业的技术干预比以往任何时候都更加紧迫。 CropIn 的数字平台旨在以高效、可预测和可持续的方式为农民实现每英亩的价值最大化。 我们的解决方案使棉农能够以准确、负担得起和可扩展的方式管理和监控作物种植。”,Pallavi Kanak 说,Cropin 董事印度海。

两个获胜的解决方案都是从数据收集挑战类别中选出的。

=设立创新挑战赛的目的是帮助确定解决方案和合作伙伴关系,以加快棉农采用 BCI 原则和实践实现更可持续棉花种植的收益。 获胜的创新在现场试验中展示了采用新的参与模式和技术如何支持和加强现场层面的影响,”IDH 纺织品和制造全球总监 Pramit Chanda 说。

BCI 项目经理 Cristina Martin Cuadrado 称赞了决赛选手, ”祝贺 Agritask 和 CropIn,他们与其他三名挑战决赛选手一起坚持下来,尽管今年 Covid-19 带来了挑战和挫折,但仍试行了他们的解决方案。 现在挑战已经结束,我们很高兴能够探索下一步和潜在的推出计划。 我们期待很快分享进一步的更新。”

有关良好棉花创新挑战的更多信息,请访问: Bettercottonchallenge.org.

关于组织

良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 是一个全球性的非营利组织,也是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 它旨在通过将良好棉花开发为可持续的主流商品来改变全球棉花生产。 BCI 与实地实施合作伙伴合作,为 2.3 个国家/地区的 23 多名棉农提供有关更可持续农业实践的培训。 良好棉花占全球棉花产量的 22%。

IDH,可持续贸易倡议, 召集公司、民间社会组织、政府和其他公私伙伴关系,以推动新的经济可行方法的联合设计、共同资助和原型设计。 IDH 得到多个欧洲政府的支持,包括机构捐助者:BUZA、SECO 和 DANIDA。

达尔伯格顾问 是一家全球咨询公司,为关键机构、公司和政府的领导层提供高水平的战略、政策和投资建议,共同解决紧迫的全球问题并产生积极的社会影响。 达尔伯格的业务遍及全球,覆盖各大洲的 25 个国家。

查阅

创新挑战决赛入围者试点可持续农业解决方案

 
2019 年 XNUMX 月,在 Dalberg Advisors 的支持下,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 和 IDH 可持续贸易倡议 (IDH) 发起了良好棉花创新挑战赛——这是一个寻求创意和解决方案的全球项目,以改善周围地区的可持续棉花种植实践。世界。

第一轮挑战旨在发现创新方法和/或现有解决方案,以应对两个已确定的挑战:

挑战一:定制化培训
创新有助于为全球数十万棉农提供关于更可持续农业实践的定制培训。

挑战二:数据收集
可以减少农民数据收集的时间和成本的解决方案,以实现更高效的 BCI 流程。

由外部专家、BCI 代表、IDH 代表和 Dalberg 团队组成的评审团 评估了 87 个申请并入围了 20 个, 在选择五名候选人进入比赛的最后阶段之前。 五名决赛入围者现在有机会与 BCI Farmers 一起在该领域试点他们以可持续发展为重点的解决方案。

与决赛选手见面

决赛入围者挑战一:针对农民的定制培训

埃克提尔

Ekutir 的解决方案将培训内容重组为更短、易于理解的模块,在一年中的适当时间交付给农民。 它还根据农民在棉花生长周期中的进展和实时天气数据,为他们提供量身定制的、可立即采取行动的建议。 Ekutir 的解决方案使一般培训内容的交付自动化,并创建了多条交付路线,以满足识字和文盲、启用智能手机和不使用智能手机的农民的需求。

水上冲刺

Water Sprint 提供交互式决策支持系统 (DSS),旨在通过提供当地和区域层面的土壤、气候和农艺条件的实际和预测措施来帮助农民管理他们的作物。 根据测量结果,系统计算所需的灌溉、化肥和杀虫剂需求。 这项提议的技术将使用遥感和地理信息系统 (GIS) 从卫星收集数据,并通过智能手机应用程序制定并向农民传达信息。

决赛入围者挑战二:数据收集效率

农业任务

Agritask 提供了一个管理整个棉花验证过程的平台,包括数字数据收集、现场检查计划、遥感和其他技术。 它的移动应用程序使农民能够以数字方式保存记录,并让现场指导员(由 BCI 的实施合作伙伴雇用的现场工作人员,他们为农民提供实地培训)以数字方式记录检查。 Agritask 支持通过卫星和虚拟气象站进行远程监控,并向农民提供农艺建议。 它还可以与其他技术(例如基于语音的移动应用程序)集成以促进数据收集。

裁剪

CropIn 提出的解决方案是一种数字农场管理解决方案(具有移动和网络界面),可实现农业流程的完全数字化。 该平台支持数据驱动的决策制定,并以近乎实时的方式提供人员、流程和绩效的完整可见性。 它使农民能够有效地管理农业实践,同时确保他们遵守合规性和认证要求。 该解决方案将帮助农民解决病虫害和作物健康等问题,并管理预算和投入,帮助农民实现收益最大化。

邪教

Ricult 是一个基于人工智能的综合数字平台,它直接从农民(通过手机)并通过遥感、卫星图像、加工厂、中间商和其他棉花供应链参与者收集数据。 该平台处理和分析数据并生成可操作的见解,然后通过手机和基于网络的应用程序在整个农业生态系统中分发。 生成的见解既具有预测性又具有诊断性,将帮助农民提高产量和作物健康,同时还使棉纺厂能够获得产量预测。

实地试验

田间试验为五名决赛选手提供了在真实农业环境中测试他们提出的解决方案的机会。 为了支持决赛入围者,每个组织都与一名 BCI 实施合作伙伴配对,该合作伙伴将在八周的试验期间为他们提供支持。

在因 Covid-19 而面临轻微延迟后,目前正在印度、巴基斯坦和以色列进行试验。 旅行限制和社交距离要求也促使决赛入围者想出替代方法来远程进行许多试验活动,例如数据收集和培训课程的提供。 尽管面临挑战,但试验进展顺利,应在 XNUMX 月底完成。

现场级试验完成后,由执行伙伴代表、BCI 代表、IDH 代表和 Dalberg 团队组成的新陪审团将评估入围者并根据六点标准选出最终获胜者:影响、技术性能、采用的可能性、可扩展性、财务可持续性和团队能力。

最终获奖者将在 XNUMX 月底左右公布! 我们期待着分享进一步的更新。

查阅

可持续农业解决方案入围全球良好棉花创新挑战赛

 
2019 年 XNUMX 月,在 Dalberg Advisors 的支持下,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 和 IDH 可持续贸易倡议 (IDH) 发起了良好棉花创新挑战赛——一个寻求创新理念和解决方案的全球项目,以改善周围地区的可持续棉花种植实践。世界。

挑战分为两类:

挑战一:定制化培训
挑战一寻求创新,以帮助为全球数十万棉农提供关于更可持续农业实践的定制培训。

挑战二:数据收集
挑战二寻求可以减少农民数据收集时间和成本的解决方案,以实现更高效的 BCI 许可流程。

在 87 年 2020 月的截止日期之前,总共提交了 36 份申请——51 份针对定制培训挑战的申请,以及 XNUMX 份针对数据收集挑战的申请。

=我们很高兴挑战赛得到了世界各地组织的高度关注。 感谢那些花时间提交深思熟虑、创造性和实用的解决方案的人。” – Cristina Martin,BCI 项目经理。

创新挑战小组审查了所有 87 份申请,并筛选出前 20 名的解决方案,以进入下一阶段的挑战。 来自印度、巴基斯坦、希腊、以色列、肯尼亚、澳大利亚和美国的 20 名入围申请者获得了棉花行业专家和 BCI 的指导,因为他们为其解决方案准备了高质量、详细的建议,包括计划在现场测试他们的创新等级。

由外部专家以及 BCI、IDH 和 Dalberg 组成的陪审团随后评估了详细的申请,并选出了五名最终候选人,以进入下一阶段的实地试验。

在筛选解决方案时,陪审团考虑了:

  • 影响:解决方案是否有效?
  • 适应性:是否具有适应性和灵活性?
  • 可扩展:它是否可扩展和可复制?
  • 可行性:它在财务上是否可行和可持续?
  • 能力:团队是否有能力实施解决方案?
  • 务实:提出的实地测试是否实用?
  • X-Factor:BCI 项目是否新颖?

在比赛的下一阶段,五名申请者将有机会与 BCI Farmers 一起在田间试点他们以可持续发展为重点的解决方案。

=鉴于 Covid-19 的蔓延和全球旅行限制,挑战赛的现场测试部分已推迟至 2020 年 XNUMX 月,以保护参与更好棉花创新挑战赛的每个人的健康和福祉。 我们期待在今年晚些时候与我们的决赛创新者继续这场激动人心的比赛,并分享他们的解决方案r。” – Cristina Martin,项目经理。

了解更多关于挑战的信息 此处.

查阅

分享此页

Winners of Global Sustainable Farming Challenge Revealed

 
The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) and IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative are delighted to announce that Agritask Ltd., an Israel-based agricultural-tech start-up, has won the Better Cotton Innovation Challenge.

CropIn Technology Solutions, an India-based agricultural-tech company, was awarded with second place. The winning teams will now receive cash prizes of €100,000 and €35,000 respectively.

The Better Cotton Innovation Challenge, initiated by BCI and IDH and organised by Dalberg Advisors, launched in November 2019 to find new and innovative ideas to scale more sustainable cotton production. The challenge focused on two areas:

  • Customised training: Innovations to bring customised training on more sustainable farming practices to hundreds of thousands of cotton farmers.
  • Data collection: Innovations to reduce the time and cost of data collection to enable more efficient BCI licensing processes.

The challenge received close to 100 applications, 20 of which were shortlisted after a rigorous review process. Of the shortlisted applicants, five finalists – Agritask, CropIn, Ricult, WaterSprint and eKutir – were selected to trial their sustainable solutions in the field with BCI Farmers. Following the eight-week pilot period, a jury composed of BCI, IDH and Dalberg representatives, assessed the finalists and selected the winners based on a six-point criteria: impact, technical performance, likelihood of adoption, scalability, financial sustainability and team capability.

Agritask: winner

Agritask offers a holistic agronomic platform that enables agricultural stakeholders, including farmers, to capture and make use of a range of data in a highly flexible manner. The Agritask mobile app is customisable, allowing farmers to adopt digital solutions intuitively in a way that works for them. In addition, the platform enables remote monitoring via satellite and virtual weather stations and supports interaction with third-party systems. Data that is captured through the app is then aggregated and processed to provide actionable insights, tailored to each user.

Arsira Thumaprudti, Head of Business Development at Agritask commented, ”We are proud to work with global leaders in sustainability such as BCI. We are coming out of the field trials with a deeper appreciation of the complexity involved in implementing and monitoring sustainability programmes in the field, and this is exactly the type of challenge we were looking for.”

Images: ©Agritask. Cotton farming in Israel, 2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CropIn: runner-up

CropIn’s solution is a digital farm management solution that enables complete digitisation of farming processes. The platform empowers data-driven decision-making and provides complete visibility of people, processes and performance on a near real-time basis. It enables farmers to efficiently manage farming practices, while also ensuring they are adhering to compliance and certification requirements. The solution will assist farmers to address issues such as pest and crop-health and manage budgets and inputs, helping farmers to maximize their returns.

The need for technological interventions to support sustainable farming is more pressing than ever. CropIn’s digital platforms are built to maximise value per acre for farmers, in an efficient, predictable and sustainable manner. Our solutions enable cotton farmers to manage and monitor crop farming in an accurate, affordable and scalable manner”, said Pallavi Kanak, Cropin Director India SEA.

Both winning solutions were selected from the data collection challenge category.

The Innovation Challenge was set up to help identify solutions and partnerships that would accelerate the benefits for cotton farmers in their adoption of BCI principles and practices towards more sustainable cotton farming. The winning innovations have demonstrated in the field trials how adoption of new engagement models and technology can support and strengthen impact at field level,” said Pramit Chanda, Global Director Textiles and Manufacturing at IDH.

Cristina Martin Cuadrado, Programme Manager at BCI, praised the finalists, ”Congratulations to Agritask and CropIn, who persevered, along with the other three challenge finalists, and piloted their solutions despite the challenges and set-backs caused by Covid-19 this year. Now the challenge is over, we are excited to be exploring next steps and a potential roll out plan. We look forward to sharing further updates soon.”

Additional information about the Better Cotton Innovation Challenge can be found at: bettercottonchallenge.org.

About the organisations

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) is a global not-for-profit organisation and the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. It aims to transform cotton production worldwide by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity. BCI partners with on-the-ground Implementing Partners to provide training on more sustainable farming practices to more than 2.3 cotton farmers in 23 countries. Better Cotton accounts for 22% of global cotton production.

IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative, convenes companies, civil society organizations, governments, and others in public-private partnerships in order to drive the joint design, co-funding and prototyping of new economically viable approaches. IDH is supported by multiple European governments, including the institutional donors: BUZA, SECO, and DANIDA.

Dalberg Advisors is a global advisory firm that provides high-level strategic, policy and investment advice to the leadership of key institutions, corporations, and governments, working collaboratively to address pressing global problems and generate positive social impact. Dalberg has a global presence, covering 25 countries across continents.

Read more

Innovation Challenge Finalists Pilot Sustainable Farming Solutions

 
In November 2019, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) and IDH The Sustainable Trade Initiative (IDH), with the support of Dalberg Advisors, launched the Better Cotton Innovation Challenge – a global project seeking creative ideas and solutions to improve sustainable cotton farming practices around the world.

The first round of the challenge aimed to uncover innovative approaches and/or existing solutions to two identified challenges:

Challenge One: Customised Training
Innovations to help bring customised training on more sustainable farming practices to hundreds of thousands of cotton farmers across the globe.

Challenge Two: Data Collection
Solutions that could reduce the time and cost of farmer data collection to enable more efficient BCI processes.

A jury composed of external experts, BCI representatives, IDH representatives and the Dalberg team assessed 87 applications and shortlisted 20, before selecting five candidates to progress to the final phase of the competition. The five finalists now have the opportunity to pilot their sustainability-focused solutions in the field with BCI Farmers.

Meet the Finalists

Finalists Challenge One: Customised Training for Farmers

EKutir

Ekutir’s solution restructures training content into shorter, easily digestible modules delivered to farmers at the appropriate time of the year. It also provides individually tailored, immediately actionable advice to farmers based on a combination of their progress in the cotton growth cycle and real-time weather data. Ekutir’s solution automates the delivery of general training content and creates several delivery routes that cater to both literate and illiterate, smartphone-enabled and smartphone-less farmers.

WaterSprint

Water Sprint offers an interactive Decision Support System (DSS) which is designed to help farmers manage their crops by providing actual and forecasted measures of soil, climatic and agronomic conditions at local and regional levels. On the basis of the measurements, the system computes the required need for irrigation, fertilisers and pesticides. This proposed technology will use remote sensing and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to gather data from satellites and formulate and communicate information to farmers through a smartphone app.

Finalists Challenge Two: Efficiency of Data Collection

Agritask

Agritask offers a platform to manage the entire cotton verification process, including digital data collection, field inspection planning, remote sensing and other technologies. Its mobile app enables farmers to keep records digitally, and for Field Facilitators (field-based staff, employed by BCI’s Implementing Partners, who deliver on-the-ground training to farmers) to document inspections digitally. Agritask enables remote monitoring via satellite and virtual weather stations and provides agronomic advice to farmers. It can also integrate with other technologies such as voice-based mobile apps to facilitate data collection.

CropIn

CropIn’s proposed solution is a digital farm management solution (that has both mobile and web interfaces) that enables complete digitisation of farming processes. The platform empowers data-driven decision-making and provides complete visibility of people, processes and performance on a near real-time basis. It enables farmers to efficiently manage farming practices, while also ensuring they are adhering to compliance and certification requirements. The solution will help farmers to address issues such as pest and crop-health and manage budgets and inputs, helping farmers to maximize their returns.

Ricult

Ricult is an integrated Artificial Intelligence based digital platform that collects data directly from farmers (through mobile phones) and via remote sensing, satellite imagery, processing mills, middlemen and other cotton supply chain actors. The platform processes and analyses the data and generates actionable insights which are then distributed throughout the agriculture ecosystem through mobile phones and a web-based application. The generated insights are both predictive and diagnostic and will help farmers in improving their yield and crop health, while also enabling cotton mills to gain access to yield forecasts.

Field Trials

The field-level trials provide an opportunity for the five finalists to test their proposed solutions in a real farming environment. To support the finalists, each organisation has been paired with one BCI Implementing Partner who will support them during the eight weeks of the trials.

The trials are now underway in India, Pakistan and Israel, after facing a slight delay due to Covid-19. Travel restrictions and social distancing requirements have also led the finalists to come up with alternative approaches to conduct many of their trial activities remotely, such as data collection and delivery of training sessions. Despite the challenges, the trials are going well and should be complete by the end of September.

Once the field-level trials have been completed, a new jury composed of Implementing Partner representatives, BCI representatives, IDH representatives and the Dalberg team will assess the finalists and select the final winners based on a six-point criteria: impact, technical performance, likelihood of adoption, scalability, financial sustainability and team capability.

The final winners will be announced around the end of October! We look forward to sharing a further update then.

Read more

Sustainable Farming Solutions Shortlisted for Global Better Cotton Innovation Challenge

 
In November 2019, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) and IDH The Sustainable Trade Initiative (IDH), with the support of Dalberg Advisors, launched the Better Cotton Innovation Challenge – a global project seeking innovative ideas and solutions to improve sustainable cotton farming practices around the world.

The Challenge was divided into two categories:

Challenge One: Customised Training
Challenge one sought innovations to help bring customised training on more sustainable farming practices to hundreds of thousands of cotton farmers across the globe.

Challenge Two: Data Collection
Challenge two sought solutions that could reduce the time and cost of farmer data collection to enable more efficient BCI licensing processes.

A total of 87 applications were submitted before the January 2020 deadline – 36 applications for the customised training challenge, and 51 applications for the data collection challenge.

We are delighted that the Challenge received such a high level of interest from organisations all over the world. Thank you to those who took the time to submit thoughtful, creative and practical solutions.” – Cristina Martin, Programme Manager, BCI.

All 87 applications were reviewed by the Innovation Challenge Team, and the top 20 solutions were shortlisted to progress through to the next stage of the challenge. The 20 shortlisted applicants – from India, Pakistan, Greece, Israel, Kenya, Australia and the US – received mentorship from cotton sector experts and BCI as they prepared high-quality, detailed proposals for their solutions, including plans to test their innovations at field level.

A jury composed of external experts, alongside BCI, IDH and Dalberg, then assessed the detailed applications and selected five final candidates to progress to the next phase of on-the-ground trials.

When shortlisting the solutions, the jury considered:

  • Impact: Is the solution effective?
  • Adaptive: Is it adaptive and flexible?
  • Scalable: Is it scalable and replicable?
  • Viability: Is it financially viable and sustainable?
  • Capability: Is the team capable of implementing the solution?
  • Pragmatic: Is the on-the-ground test being proposed practical?
  • X-Factor: Is it novel and new to the BCI programme?

In the next stage of the competition, the five applicants will have the opportunity to pilot their sustainability-focused solutions in the field with BCI Farmers.

In light of the spread of Covid-19 and global travel restrictions, the field-testing element of the Challenge has been postponed until July 2020 in order to safeguard the health and wellbeing of everyone involved in the Better Cotton Innovation Challenge. We look forward to continuing this exciting competition with our finalist innovators, and sharing their solutions, later in the year.” – Cristina Martin, Programme Manager.

Find out more about the challenge here.

Read more
Translate »