征求建议书:良好棉花创新与学习项目

图片来源:更好的棉花/艾玛厄普顿

地点:塔吉克斯坦苦盏。 2019. 描述:更好的棉花种植者 Sharipov Habibullo 为邻近的农民提供培训。

与长期合作伙伴一起 IDH,可持续贸易倡议, Better Cotton 启动了一个新的创新与学习项目,以寻求解决方案,以帮助 Better Cotton 及其实施合作伙伴加速对全球棉农产生积极影响。

创新与学习项目涉及三个关键领域:

重点领域 1:良好棉花如何在其 2030 年战略影响领域取得进展?

我们在寻找什么:有助于加强和推进良好棉花 2030 年五个影响领域的解决方案:土壤健康、妇女赋权、小农生计、杀虫剂和毒性以及减缓气候变化。

重点领域 2:良好棉花如何支持农民适应不断变化的气候?

我们在寻找什么:可以帮助我们识别、修改和复制(大规模)相关气候变化适应实践的解决方案,特别是在小农中。

重点领域 3:Better Cotton 如何更多地了解向农民提供的培训质量?

我们在寻找什么:可以帮助 Better Cotton 和我们的实施合作伙伴建立强大的监控和评估系统的解决方案,并将反馈循环回馈给农民。

针对上述三个主题中的任何一个主题的建议可能包括新的操作流程、现场干预、行为洞察或以让更多棉农受益的方式开展计划活动的方式。 创新还包括采用现有方法并以新方式、新地区或新环境应用它们。

在 Better Cotton,我们专注于为世界各地的棉农和农业社区带来真正的影响。 这意味着不断改进我们的做法,同时寻找应对棉花种植挑战的创新解决方案。 我们很高兴与 IDH 合作启动这个新项目,并鼓励在项目重点领域具有经验和专业知识的人提交提案。

了解有关该项目的更多信息并了解如何提交提案。

此提案征集对现有的良好棉花实施合作伙伴和外部组织开放。 提交截止日期为29年2021月XNUMX日。

查看更多

Better Cotton 推出增长和创新基金

BCI 已启动其增长与创新基金 (GIF),该基金于 1 年 2016 月 5 日生效。该基金是 BCI 新的全球投资工具,用于支持全球棉花种植区的良好棉花项目。 该基金的规模将帮助 BCI 推进其到 30 年达到 2020 万农民并占全球棉花产量 2010% 的目标。该投资组合由 BCI、其合作伙伴以及来自商界、民间社会和政府的成员共同运营. 该基金由 BCI 的战略合作伙伴 IDH(可持续贸易倡议)管理,该倡议还在 2015 年至 XNUMX 年开展了非常成功的良好棉花快速通道计划 (BCFTP)。

在培训和能力建设方面的联合投资使 BCI GIF 能够解决棉花种植中最紧迫的可持续性问题,包括农药使用、用水效率和恶劣的工作条件,如童工、性别问题和不公平薪酬。 通过动员公共和私人资金,BCI 努力将良好棉花纳入主流,这种棉花的种植方式明显有利于环境和农业社区。 该基金投资于能力建设项目,培训棉花生产商优化投入、以更安全的方式使用化学品、提高产量和产生更高的利润。 该模型基于持续改进,这意味着 BCI 农民需要制定计划以随着时间的推移不断改进他们的做法。

该基金的私人合作伙伴是一些世界上最大的棉花买家,包括阿迪达斯、H&M、宜家、耐克、Levi Strauss & Co. 和 M&S,他们已同意支付与使用良好棉花相关的基于数量的费用。 在供应链中使用良好棉花的零售商和品牌商为农民能力建设提供资金。 BCI 目前拥有超过 50 个组织的零售商和品牌会员,目标是到 60 年底超过 2016 个。邀请全球机构捐助者匹配私营部门捐助的费用,以实现乘数效应。

BCI GIF(及其前身 BCFTP)提供了五年有效的大规模基金管理记录。 每年收集的结果都表明该领域发生了强烈的积极变化,这转化为大规模的环境效益以及棉花生产者及其家庭的社会和经济改善。 对于 2014 年的结果,请查看我们最近的 收获报告.

 

查看更多

畅销书加入良好棉花快速通道计划

我们很高兴地宣布 BESTSELLER 已成为良好棉花快速通道计划 (BTFCP) 的最新成员。 作为欧洲最大的时尚品牌之一,BESTSELLER 自 2011 年以来一直是良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 的成员,现在正在加紧承诺采购更多良好棉花。

BCFTP 于 2010 年通过可持续贸易倡议和领先的非政府组织成立,将资金直接用于围绕良好棉花标准设计的农民培训和能力建设计划。 这使 BCI 及其合作伙伴能够覆盖更多地区,培训更多农民并生产更多良好棉花,从而显着加速全球良好棉花的规模化。

要阅读 BCFTP 关于他们最新成员的公告, 请点击这里。

查看更多

分享此页

Call for Proposals: Better Cotton Innovation & Learning Project

Photo Credit: Better cotton/Emma Upton

Location: Khujand, Tajikistan. 2019. Description: Better Cotton Farmer Sharipov Habibullo delivers training to neighbouring farmers.

Together with longstanding partner IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative, Better Cotton has launched a new Innovation & Learning Project to seek solutions that will help Better Cotton and its Implementing Partners accelerate positive impact for cotton farmers around the world.

The Innovation & Learning Project addresses three key areas:

Focus area 1: How can Better Cotton make progress towards its 2030 strategy impact areas?

What we are looking for: Solutions that will help strengthen and make progress towards Better Cotton’s five impact areas for 2030: soil health, women’s empowerment, smallholder livelihoods, pesticides and toxicity, and climate change mitigation.

Focus area 2: How can Better Cotton support farmers adapting their lives to a changing climate?

What we are looking for: Solutions that can help us to identify, modify, and replicate (at scale) relevant climate change adaptation practices, particularly among smallholder farmers.

Focus area 3: How can Better Cotton learn more about the quality of training delivered to farmers?

What we are looking for: Solutions that can help Better Cotton and our Implementing Partners to set up strong monitoring and evaluation systems with feedback loops going back to farmers.

Proposals for any one of the three themes above may include new operational processes, field interventions, behavioural insights, or ways of delivering programme activities in such a way that it benefits more cotton farmers. Innovation also includes taking existing approaches and applying them in new ways, in new regions or in new contexts.

At Better Cotton, we are focused on delivering real impact for cotton farmers and farming communities around the world. This means continuously improving our practices, while looking for innovative solutions to cotton farming challenges. We are delighted to launch this new project in collaboration with IDH and encourage those with experience and expertise in the project focus areas to submit a proposal.

Learn more about the project and find out how to submit a proposal.

This call for proposals is open to existing Better Cotton Implementing Partners and external organisations. The deadline for submissions is 29 October 2021.

Read more

Better Cotton launches the Growth and Innovation Fund

BCI has launched its Growth and Innovation Fund (GIF), which came into force on 1 January 2016. The Fund is BCI’s new global investment vehicle for supporting Better Cotton projects in cotton-growing regions around the world. The scale of the Fund will help BCI advance its goal of reaching 5 million farmers and accounting for 30% of global cotton production by 2020. The portfolio is jointly run by BCI, its partners and members from the worlds of business, civil society and government. The Fund is managed by BCI’s strategic partner IDH, the Sustainable Trade Initiative, which also ran the very successful Better Cotton Fast Track Programme (BCFTP) from 2010 to 2015.

Joint investments in training and capacity building enable the BCI GIF to address the most pressing sustainability issues in cotton farming, including pesticide use, water efficiency and severe working conditions such as child labour, gender issues andunfair pay. By mobilising public and private funds, BCI strives to mainstream Better Cotton, which is grown in a way that is measurably better for the environment and farming communities. The fund invests in capacity building programmes that train cotton producers to optimise inputs, use chemicals in a safer manner, increase yields and generate higher profits. The model is based on continuous improvement, which means BCI farmers are required to develop plans to continuously improve their practices over time.

Private partners in the Fund are some of the world’s largest cotton buyers, including adidas, H&M, IKEA, Nike, Levi Strauss & Co. and M&S, who have agreed to pay a volume-based fee related to their use of Better Cotton. Retailers and brands who use Better Cotton in their supply chains contribute to the funding of farmer capacity building. BCI currently has a retailer and brand membership of over 50 organisations, with a target to pass 60 by the end of 2016. Global institutional donors are invited to match the fees contributed by the private sector in order to achieve a multiplier effect.

The BCI GIF (and its predecessor the BCFTP) offer a five year track record of effective large-scale fund management. Results collected each year show strong positive changes in the field, which translate into large-scale environmental benefits as well as social and economic improvements for cotton producers and their families. For 2014 results, please see our most recent Harvest Report.

 

Read more

BESTSELLER join the Better Cotton Fast Track Program

We are excited to announce that BESTSELLERhave become the newest Member of the Better Cotton Fast Track Program (BTFCP). One of Europe’s largest fashion brands, BESTSELLERhas been a member of the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) since 2011 and are now stepping up their commitment to sourcing more Better Cotton.

The BCFTP was set up in 2010 through the sustainable trade initiative and leading NGO’s to channel funds directly to farmer training and capacity-building programs designed around the Better Cotton Standard. This allows BCI and its partners to reach more regions, train more farmers and produce more Better Cotton, dramatically accelerating the scale up of Better Cotton worldwide.

To read BCFTP’s announcement on their newest member, click here.

Read more
Translate »