成员现在可以在良好棉花委员会选举中投票

良好棉花 2022 理事会选举的投票期现已开放。

在今年的选举中,有四个席位可供选举。 经过几个月的候选人和会员互动和竞选活动,良好棉花会员现在可以投票给他们的理事会代表。 

投票将持续到 5 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日星期二午夜。

投票详情已与会员分享,但如果您有任何疑问,请联系 [电子邮件保护]

成员还可以通过以下专门讨论组之一与理事会候选人互动。

零售商和品牌成员讨论组
供应商和制造商讨论组
制作人组织讨论组

良好棉花委员会

良好棉花的未来由良好棉花委员会塑造,该委员会是一个推动棉花走向真正可持续未来的民选委员会。 理事会位于组织的中心,负责良好棉花的战略方向。 理事会成员共同制定最终有助于实现我们使命的政策:帮助棉花社区生存和繁荣,同时保护和恢复环境。

了解更多关于良好棉花委员会的信息。

查阅

2022 年良好棉花理事会选举:在 15 月 XNUMX 日之前提交您的申请

良好棉花会员申请良好棉花委员会职位的截止日期越来越近了!

良好棉花委员会是一个选举产生的委员会,旨在推动棉花走向真正可持续的未来。 理事会位于组织的中心,负责我们的战略方向。 12 名良好棉花委员会成员共同制定了最终有助于实现我们使命的政策:帮助棉花社区生存和繁荣,同时保护和恢复环境。
 
在今年的选举中,以下每个良好棉花成员类别都有一个席位可供选举:公民社会、生产者组织、零售商和品牌以及供应商和制造商。 

对于会员来说,这是一个很好的机会,可以代表他们在棉花供应链的领域,分享宝贵的行业见解,并为更好的棉花 2030 战略的实施做出贡献,同时成为多利益相关者治理机构的一部分。

请有兴趣的候选人在 15 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日之前提交申请. 可以在网站的会员区访问所有详细信息和选举时间表。

了解更多关于良好棉花委员会和现有成员的信息 此处.

查阅

2021 年 BCI 理事会选举:成员申请截止日期延长

 
BCI 会员申请 BCI 理事会职位的截止日期已延长至 21 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日。

由 BCI 会员选举产生的 脑机接口理事会 确保组织有明确的战略方向和政策,以履行其使命,使全球棉花生产更好地为生产它的人、更好的环境和更好的行业未来发展。

理事会由四个 BCI 会员类别平等代表,反映了整个棉花供应链:零售商和品牌、供应商和制造商、民间社会和生产者组织。 每个会员类别有 XNUMX 个席位,并由最多 XNUMX 名额外的独立会员补充。

在即将到来的2021年选举中,有四个席位可供选举, 以下每个 BCI 会员类别中的一个:

  • 生产者组织
  • 供应商和制造商
  • 零售商和品牌
  • 文明社会

邀请有兴趣的 BCI 会员通过以下方式向 BCI 提交申请 21 1月2021。

BCI 会员可以了解更多信息并访问应用程序包 此处.

这是 BCI 成员代表其棉花供应链领域、分享宝贵的行业见解并为 BCI 未来几年的战略方向做出贡献的绝佳机会,同时也是模范多利益相关方治理机构的一部分。

电子选举将于 2021 年 2021 月举行,新一届理事会将于 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月下旬开始其任期。请将与选举有关的任何问题发送至:[电子邮件保护].

理事会是如何组成的?

由所有 BCI 成员组成的大会是 BCI 的最终权力机构,并选举一个理事会来代表它。 理事会职位向所有 BCI 会员开放(准会员除外)。 Each membership category has three seats, two elected and one appointed, forming a total of 12 seats. Once elected, the Council has the option to appoint up to three additional independent Council Members. 有关当前构成和未平仓头寸的更多信息,请参阅应用程序包。

查看当前的 BCI 委员会 此处.

查阅

2020 年良好棉花理事会选举的申请已开放

BCI 理事会由 BCI 成员选举产生,确保该组织具有明确的战略方向和政策,以履行其使命,即让全球棉花生产更好地造福于生产者、更好地生长环境并造福该行业的未来。

该委员会由四个 BCI 会员类别平等代表,反映了整个棉花供应链及其他方面:零售商和品牌、供应商和制造商、民间社会和生产者组织。 每个成员核心小组有 XNUMX 个席位,并由最多 XNUMX 名额外的独立成员补充。

每两年,在 BCI 大会期间,BCI 会员有机会选举新的 BCI 理事会代表,其席位将在三年任期结束时进行选举。 今年,大会实际上将在 9 月 XNUMX 日星期二(在线注册 即将开放)。

在大会召开之前,BCI 正在接受 2020 年理事会选举的申请。

BCI会员可下载选举申请包 此处. 当前的理事会组成和空缺席位可以在申请包中找到。

这是 BCI 成员代表其棉花供应链领域、分享宝贵的行业见解并为 BCI 未来几年的战略方向做出贡献的绝佳机会,同时也是模范多利益相关方治理机构的一部分。

查看当前的 BCI 委员会 此处.

如果您有兴趣在 BCI 委员会代表您的组织并有任何疑问,请联系 Eren Ozalay [电子邮件保护].

查阅

欢迎 Marc Lewkowitz 担任 Better Cotton 的新理事会主席

 
We are delighted to announce that Marc Lewkowitzhasbeen elected as the new Chairperson of the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) Council.

Marc Lewkowitz 是 Supima 的总裁兼首席执行官,Supima 是美国比马棉种植者的促销和营销组织。 他的职业生涯始于 1990 年,当时他通过一家位于巴拉圭的家族式轧棉厂进入棉花行业,并曾在 ContiCotton、Merrill Lynch、Itochu Cotton 和 Anderson Clayton/Queensland Cotton 等公司担任贸易商和经理。 Lewkowitz 还自 2016 年 2013 月起担任 BCI 委员会成员,并自 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月起担任国际棉花协会董事会顾问。

=我很荣幸被选为 BCI 委员会主席。 这是一个激动人心的时刻,因为 BCI 今年庆祝其成立 10 周年,同时还实现了一些令人难以置信的里程碑。 我们也在展望下一个十年并制定 BCI 的 2030 战略。 我期待与 BCI 会员和合作伙伴合作,确保 BCI 继续推动棉花生产的可持续性BCI 委员会主席 Marc Lewkowitz 说.

Marc 接替 Barry Clarke,自 2017 年起担任独立成员兼主席。 Barry 在卸任时评论道;

在过去的六年里在 BCI 委员会任职,并看到我们为可持续棉花的未来共同制定的计划取得成功,我感到非常荣幸。 我们已经有了一个令人鼓舞的开端,但还有很多事情要做。 所有可持续发展计划都面临着复杂的挑战,但 BCI 凭借协作成员和杰出的领导才能取得成功。 它将在其经验丰富的执行团队、强大的理事会和高素质的新主席下蓬勃发展设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

CSZ 脑机接口理事会由 BCI 成员选举产生,负责确保该组织具有明确的战略方向和政策,以履行其使命,即让全球棉花生产更好地造福于生产者、更好地生长环境并造福该行业的未来。 委员会成员来自代表 BCI 四个成员类别(零售商和品牌、供应商和制造商、公民社会和生产商组织)的组织,并辅以最多三个额外的独立成员。

我们想借此机会感谢 Barry 在过去几年中对 BCI 的贡献,并欢迎 Marc Lewkowitz 担任他的新角色。

了解更多有关 脑机接口理事会.

查阅

H&M、Cotton Australia 和 Basil Commodities 加入 BCI 委员会

 

我们很高兴地宣布 2018 年 BCI 理事会选举的结果。

理事会选举于 14 月 18 日至 XNUMX 日通过在线平台进行。 There was one seat eligible for election in each of the membership categories listed below. 以下是成功候选人的名单。 你可以找到完整的结果点击此处。

生产者组织
澳大利亚棉花,西蒙·科里什

供应商和制造商
罗勒商品,Pathik Patel

零售商和品牌
Hennes & Mauritz, Harsha Vardhan

关于 BCI 委员会

理事会是一个选举产生的董事会,其职责是确保 BCI 拥有明确的战略方向和适当的政策以成功完成其使命。 理事会成员是代表不同成员类别的组织:民间社会; 生产者; 零售商和品牌; 以及供应商和制造商。

理事会是如何组成的?
由所有 BCI 成员组成的大会是 BCI 的最终权力机构,并选举一个理事会来代表它。 职位向所有会员开放(准会员除外)。 Each membership category has three seats, two elected and one appointed, for a total of 12. Once elected, the council has the option to appoint up to three additional independent Council Members. 查看所有 BCI 委员会成员 此处.

关于良好棉花倡议
更好的棉花倡议 (BCI) 是一个全球性的非营利组织,是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 去年,我们与合作伙伴一起为来自 1.6 个国家的 23 万农民提供了关于更可持续农业实践的培训。 我们确实是一个共同的努力,涵盖从农场到时尚和纺织品牌的所有组织,推动棉花行业走向可持续发展。 由于这些努力,良好棉花占全球棉花产量的 12% 左右。 BCI 旨在通过将良好棉花开发为可持续的主流商品来改变全球棉花生产。 到 2020 年,我们的目标是为全球 5 万农民提供更可持续的农业实践培训,占全球棉花产量的 30%。

查阅

Better Cotton 任命首席运营官

BCI 宣布任命前全球供应项目总监 Lena Staafgard 为首席运营官,向首席执行官 Alan McClay 汇报工作。 在她的新角色中,Lena 将监督该组织的全球运营效率,包括供应计划。

Lena Staafgard 于 2010 年加入 BCI,担任业务总监,负责监督会员、筹款、财务、人力资源和运营。 2015 年,她转任全球供应计划总监一职,负责国家政府的参与以及在所有运营国家/地区的现场层面实施良好棉花标准。 Lena 与可持续贸易倡议 IDH 合作开发了一个新的全球基金,即 BCI 增长与创新基金,该基金支持全球八个国家的良好棉花项目。 在加入 BCI 之前,她曾在伦敦的未来论坛工作多年,就如何将可持续发展融入其商业模式和战略向私营部门提供建议。

“BCI 的快速扩张和雄心勃勃的计划促使我们通过创建新的首席运营官角色来加强组织的管理结构,监督全球运营。 我们很高兴 Lena 担任这个职位,她将运用她的技能和经验来加强组织效率并加速 BCI 的发展,”BCI 首席执行官 Alan McClay 对新任命评论道。

关于 BCI
BCI 的存在是为了通过将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品,使全球棉花生产对生产它的人来说更好,对棉花生长的环境更好,对行业的未来也更好。 2015 年,BCI 培训了 1.5 万农民,他们生产了 2.7 万吨优质棉皮,相当于全球棉花产量的 12%。

查阅

Better Cotton 的香港大会以行业领先者为特色

BCI 2016 大会将于 14 月 15 日至 XNUMX 日在香港举行,届时将以杰出的演讲嘉宾阵容召集和激励来自世界各地的 BCI 成员。

从其他行业的转型到可追溯性、标准和农业研究与技术的变革趋势,BCI 很自豪地欢迎这些行业领导者:

除了 BCI 理事会选举之外,本次会议还是 BCI 的重要活动和机会,可以激励和激励成员努力实现可扩展的商品转型。 完整的会议详情在线: www.amiando.com/BCI2016GeneralAssembly.

在 BCI 2016 大会之前,BCI 将于 13 月 XNUMX 日在香港举办招聘会议。 这对行业开放,是更新良好棉花标准体系和全球供应的绝佳平台。 与会者还将有机会听取 Nike, Inc. 和 Dayao Textile Co. 等成员的意见,并与 BCI 领导团队建立联系。 本次招聘会名额有限,请前往 www.bettercotton.org/get-involved/events/ 以获得更多细节。

 

查阅

BCI 委员会任命 Alan McClay 为新首席执行官

我们很高兴地宣布,我们的理事会已任命 Alan McClay 担任 BCI 的新首席执行官,自 28 月 XNUMX 日起生效。 Alan 接替即将退休的 Patrick Laine,但将在过渡期间继续管理特定的 BCI 项目。

“我们对这次任命感到非常高兴,”BCI 委员会主席(兼耐克公司全球服装材料副总裁)Susi Proudman 评论道。 ”艾伦之前的经验,包括 25 年在消费品行业中影响部门行为的高级领导角色,使他有资格应对 BCI 面临的挑战。 他在消费品论坛及其前身实体建立合作伙伴关系和取得成果方面吸取的经验教训将为我们提供良好的服务,因为我们努力招募数十个新品牌和零售商加入我们的计划。 此外,他最近与参与可持续发展之旅的非政府组织和公司的咨询工作将确保我们的信息能够与我们的目标受众产生共鸣。 最后,艾伦的剑桥大学、巴黎政治学院和伦敦商学院的教育背景提供了一个战略思维框架,随着我们的成长和发展,这将是非常有用的。”

Alan McClay 表示:“很荣幸被选为 BCI 下一阶段发展的领导者。” “BCI 制定了可靠的战略,并对 2020 年的目标有明确的愿景。我期待与理事会合作并领导 BCI 团队与全球众多合作伙伴结盟,以实现这一愿景实现棉花产业转型。 BCI 的改良农业实践计划不仅将有助于改善数百万农民的福祉和更好的环境,还将促进全球品牌更多地使用棉花,帮助确保该行业的长期生存能力。”

BCI 的存在是为了通过将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品,使全球棉花生产对生产它的人来说更好,对棉花生长的环境更好,对行业的未来也更好。 为实现这一使命,BCI 与棉花供应链中的各种利益相关者合作,促进环境、农业社区和棉花产区经济的可衡量和持续改善。

查阅

Better Cotton 选举新主席

BCI 宣布,耐克全球服装和设备材料部副总裁 Susi Proudman 已被选为良好棉花倡议委员会主席。 Proudman 将接替 IKEA 的 Guido Verijke,其自 2012 年以来的理事会主席任期已届满。

Solidaridad 的 Janet Mensink 被选为副主席。

耐克的 Proudman 评论道:“我很高兴也很荣幸被理事会邀请担任 BCI 主席。该倡议近年来在寻求将负责任和可持续的做法引入棉花生产主流方面取得了巨大进展。我期待与其他理事会成员和我们的合作伙伴合作,继续这一成功的扩张,特别是确保系统和流程到位,以吸引更多品牌和零售商参与该计划,以支持全球数百万棉农地球。”

理事会是一个治理机构,由 BCI 成员选举产生,其作用是确保 BCI 具有明确的战略方向和适当的政策,以成功完成其使命 让全球棉花生产对生产它的人更好,对它生长的环境更好,对这个行业的未来更好. 理事会由代表不同成员类别的组织组成——零售商和品牌、供应商和制造商、民间社会和生产者组织,每个组织拥有三个席位,并辅以最多三名因其专业知识而得到认可的独立成员。

要阅读有关 BCI 委员会的更多信息,包括所有成员的名单,请 请点击这里。

查阅

分享此页

BCI Council Elections 2021: Deadline for Member Applications Extended

 
The deadline for BCI Members to apply for a position on the BCI Council has been extended to 21 January 2021.

Elected by BCI Members, the BCI Council ensures the organisation has a clear strategic direction and policy to fulfil its mission of making global cotton production better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in, and better for the sector’s future.

The Council is equally represented by four BCI membership categories, reflecting the entire cotton supply chain: retailers and brands, suppliers and manufacturers, civil society and producer organisations. There are three seats per membership category, supplemented by up to three additional independent members.

In the upcoming 2021 elections, four seats are up for election, one in each of the following BCI membership categories:

  • Producer Organisations
  • Suppliers and Manufacturers
  • Retailers and Brands
  • Civil Society

Interested BCI Members are invited to submit applications to BCI by 21 January 2021.

BCI Members can find out more and access the application package here.

This is a great opportunity for BCI Members to represent their area of the cotton supply chain, share valuable industry insights, and contribute to BCI’s strategic direction in the coming years, while being part of an exemplary multi-stakeholder governance body.

The electronic elections will take place in February 2021 and the incoming Council will begin its mandate in late March 2021. Please send any questions relating to the elections to:[email protected].

How is the Council Formed?

The General Assembly, consisting of all BCI Members, is the ultimate authority of BCI and elects a Council to represent it. Council positions are open to all BCI Members (except Associate Members). Each membership category has three seats, two elected and one appointed, forming a total of 12 seats. Once elected, the Council has the option to appoint up to three additional independent Council Members. More information on the current composition and open positions can be found in the application package.

View the current BCI Council here.

Read more

Applications Are Open for the Better Cotton 2020 Council Elections

Elected by BCI Members, the BCI Council ensures the organisation has clear strategic direction and policy to fulfil its mission of making global cotton production better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in, and better for the sector’s future.

The Council is equally represented by four BCI membership categories, reflecting the entire cotton supply chain and beyond: retailers and brands, suppliers and manufacturers, civil society and producer organisations. There are three seats per membership caucus, supplemented by up to three additional independent members.

Every two years, during the BCI General Assembly, BCI Members have the opportunity to elect their new BCI Council representatives whose seats are up for election at the end of their three-year term. This year, the General Assembly will take place virtually on Tuesday 9 June (online registration will open soon).

Ahead of the General Assembly, BCI is accepting applications for the 2020 Council elections.

BCI Members can download the election application package here. The current Council composition and open seats can be found in the application package.

This is a great opportunity for BCI Members to represent their area of the cotton supply chain, share valuable industry insights, and contribute to BCI’s strategic direction in the coming years, while being part of an exemplary multi-stakeholder governance body.

View the current BCI Council here.

If you are interested in representing your organisation on the BCI Council and have any questions, please contact Eren Ozalay at [email protected].

Read more

Welcoming Marc Lewkowitz as Better Cotton’s New Council Chair

 
We are delighted to announce that Marc Lewkowitzhasbeen elected as the new Chairperson of the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) Council.

Marc Lewkowitz is President and CEO of Supima, the promotional and marketing organisation for American Pima cotton growers. He began his career in 1990, when he entered into the cotton industry through a family-owned gin in Paraguay and has worked as a trader and manager for firms including ContiCotton, Merrill Lynch, Itochu Cotton and Anderson Clayton/Queensland Cotton. Lewkowitz has also served as a member of the BCI Council since June 2016 and as an advisor to the Board of Cotton Council International since February 2013.

I am honoured to have been elected to serve as Chair of the BCI Council. It is an exciting time as BCI celebrates its 10th anniversary this year along with some incredible milestones. We are also looking ahead to the next decade and developing BCI’s 2030 strategy. I look forward to working collaboratively with BCI Members and Partners to ensure BCI continues to drive sustainability in cotton production,” said Marc Lewkowitz, BCI Council Chair.

Marc succeeds Barry Clarke, an independent member and Chairperson since 2017. On stepping down from his position, Barry commented;

It has been a great privilege to serve on the BCI Council for the past six years and to see the successful outcome of the plans we laid together for the future of sustainable cotton. We have made an encouraging start but have so much more to do. All sustainability initiatives face complex challenges but BCI is set for success with collaborative members and outstanding leadership. It will thrive under its experienced executive team, strong Council and highly qualified new Chair.”

TheBCI Councilis elected by BCI Members and is responsible for ensuring the organisation has a clear strategic direction and policy to fulfil its mission ofmaking global cotton production better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in, and better for the sector’s future. Council Memberscome from organisations representing four of BCI’s membership categories (retailers and brands, suppliers and manufacturers, civil society and producer organisations), supplemented by up to three additionalindependent members.

We’d like to take this opportunity to thank Barry for his contribution to BCI over the past few years and to welcome Marc Lewkowitz into his new role.

Find out more about the BCI Council.

Read more

H&M, Cotton Australia and Basil Commodities Join the BCI Council

 

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2018 BCI Council Election.

The Council Election was conducted 14-18 May via an online platform. There was one seat eligible for election in each of the membership categories listed below. Here is a list of the successful candidates. You can find the full resultshere.

Producer Organisations
Cotton Australia, Simon Corish

Suppliers and Manufacturers
Basil Commodities, Pathik Patel

Retailers and Brands
Hennes & Mauritz, Harsha Vardhan

About the BCI Council

The Council is an elected board whose role it is to ensure that BCI has a clear strategic direction and adequate policy to successfully fulfil its mission. Council Membersare organisations representing the different membership categories: civil society; producers; retailers and brands; and suppliers and manufacturers.

How is the Council Formed?
The General Assembly, consisting of all BCI Members, is the ultimate authority of BCI and elects a Council to represent it. Positions are open to all Members (except Associate Members). Each membership category has three seats, two elected and one appointed, for a total of 12. Once elected, the council has the option to appoint up to three additional independent Council Members. See all BCI Council Members here.

About the Better Cotton Initiative
The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), a global not-for-profit organisation, is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. Last year, together with our partners we provided training on more sustainable agricultural practices to 1.6 million farmers from 23 countries. We are truly a joint effort, encompassing organisations all the way from farms to fashion and textile brands, driving the cotton sector towards sustainability. Thanks to these efforts, Better Cotton accounts for around 12% of global cotton production. BCI aims to transform cotton production worldwide by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity. By 2020, our goal is to train 5 million farmers worldwide on more sustainable agricultural practises, and account for 30% of global cotton production.

Read more

Better Cotton appoints Chief Operating Officer

BCI announces the appointment of Lena Staafgard, formerly Programme Director-Global Supply, as Chief Operating Officer reporting to Alan McClay, CEO. In her new role, Lena will oversee the global operational effectiveness of the organisation, including the supply programme.

Lena Staafgard joined BCI in 2010 as Business Director overseeing membership, fundraising, finance, HR and operations. In 2015, she transitioned to the role of Programme Director-Global Supply and was responsible for national government engagement and implementation of the Better Cotton Standard at field level in all countries of operation. Lena developed a new global fund, the BCI Growth & Innovation Fund, in partnership with IDH, the Sustainable Trade Initiative, which supports Better Cotton projects in eight countries around the globe. Prior to joining BCI, she worked for many years at Forum for the Future in London, advising the private sector on how to integrate sustainability into their business models and strategies.

“The fast expansion and ambitious plans of BCI have prompted us to strengthen the management structure of the organization with the creation of the new role of COO, overseeing global operations. We are delighted that Lena is stepping into this role, where she will be applying her skills and experience to strengthen organisational efficiency and accelerate the growth of BCI,’ commented Alan McClay, CEO of BCI, on the new appointment.

ABOUT BCI
BCI exists to make global cotton production better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in and better for the sector’s future, by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity. In 2015, BCI trained 1.5 million farmers who produced 2.7 million MT of Better Cotton lint, equalling 12% of global cotton production.

Read more

Better Cotton’s Hong Kong general assembly features industry leaders

The BCI 2016 General Assembly on 14 – 15 June in Hong Kong is poised to convene and inspire BCI members from around the world with a distinguished line-up of speakers.

Ranging in topics from transformation in other sectors, to transformative trends in traceability, standards and agricultural research & technology, BCI is proud to welcome these industry leaders:

In addition to the BCI Council elections, this meeting serves as a key BCI event and opportunity to inspire and motive members in their efforts to achieve scalable commodity transformation. Complete meeting details are online: www.amiando.com/BCI2016GeneralAssembly.

Prior to the BCI 2016 General Assembly, BCI is hosting a Recruitment Meeting on 13 June in Hong Kong. This is open to the industry and a great platform for updates on the Better Cotton Standard System and global supply. Attendees will also have the opportunity to hear from members like Nike, Inc. and Dayao Textile Co., and network with the BCI Leadership Team. Limited seats are still available for this recruitment meeting, go to www.bettercotton.org/get-involved/events/ for more details.

 

Read more

BCI Council Names Alan McClay as New CEO

We are pleased to announcethat ourCouncil has appointed Alan McClay to serve as the new CEO of BCI, with effect from September 28th. Alan replaces Patrick Laine who is retiring, but will continue to manage specific BCI projects during a transition period.

”We are absolutely delighted with this appointment,” commented Susi Proudman, Chair of the BCI Council (and Vice President of Global Apparel Materials at Nike, Inc.). ”Alan’s prior experience, including 25 years in senior leadership roles influencing sectoral behavior in the consumer goods industry, well-qualifies him for the challenges facing BCI. The lessons he has learned in building partnerships and delivering results at The Consumer Goods Forum and its predecessor entity will serve us well as we strive to recruit dozens of new brands and retailers to our initiative. Moreover,his recent consulting work with NGOs and companies engaging in the sustainability journey will ensure our message will resonate with our target audiences. Finally, Alan’s Cambridge, Sciences Po and London Business School educational background provides a framework of strategic thinking which will be of great utility as we grow and develop.”

”It is an honour to have been selected to lead the BCI during its next phase of growth”, said Alan McClay. ”BCI has a solid strategy in place, and a clear vision of where it wants to be in 2020. I look forward to working with the Council and leading the BCI team, in alliance with its many partners around the globe, to deliver that vision of achieving transformation in the cotton sector. BCI’s program of improved farming practices will not only contribute to the improved well-being of millions of farmers and a better environment, but also promote increased use of cotton by global brands, helping to ensure the long term viability of the sector.”

BCI exists to make global cotton production better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in and better for the sector’s future, by developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity. To achieve this mission, BCI works with a diverse range of stakeholders across the cotton supply chain to promote measurable and continuing improvements for the environment, farming communities and the economies of cotton-producing areas.

Read more

Better Cotton Elects New Chairperson

BCI has announced that Susi Proudman, Vice President of Global Apparel and Equipment Materials at Nike, has been elected Chairperson of the Better Cotton Initiative Council. Proudman will replace Guido Verijke from IKEA whose term as Council Chairperson since 2012 has expired.

Janet Mensink of Solidaridad has been elected Vice Chair.

Nike’s Proudman commented, ”I am delighted and honoured to have been asked by the Council to serve as Chair of the BCI.The initiative has made tremendous progress over recent years in its quest to bring responsible and sustainable practices to the mainstream of cotton production.I look forward to working with fellow Council members and our partners to continue this successful expansion, and in particular, ensuring that systems and processes are in place that will attract many more brands and retailers to the program in support of millions of cotton farmers around the globe.”

The Council is a governance body, elected by BCI members, whose role it is to ensure that BCI has clear strategic direction and adequate policy to successfully fulfil its mission of making global cotton production better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in, and better for the sector’s future. The Council is made up of organisations representing the different membership categories – Retailer and Brands, Suppliers and Manufacturers, Civil Society and Producer Organisations having three seats each, supplemented by up to three additionalindependent members recognized for their expertise.

To read more about the BCI Council including a list of all Members, please click here.

Read more
Translate »