良好棉花发布 2021 年年度报告

我们很高兴推出《良好棉花 2021 年年度报告》,其中重点介绍了过去一年和棉花季节的关键更新、成功和挑战。 

在报告中,我们分享了这一点:

  • 在 2020-21 棉季,良好棉花计划惠及 2.9 个国家的 26 万棉农。
  • 2.2 个国家的 24 万持牌农民种植了 4.7 万吨良好棉花——占全球棉花产量的 20%。
  • 2021 年,良好棉花的会员基础超过 2,400 名,遍布 63 个国家。
  • 零售商和品牌成员采购了 2.5 万吨良好棉花——占全球棉花产量的 10%。 

我们都同意,在 Covid-2021 大流行以及日益严峻的气候和生物多样性挑战中,19 年是充满挑战的一年。 然而,我们仍然坚定不移地致力于促进更可持续的棉花生产。 在今年的众多亮点中,我很自豪地分享良好棉花计划继续发展并在最重要的领域产生影响,截至 2021 年,我们可以说良好棉花是主流——占全球棉花的 20% 以上生产。

Better Cotton 首席执行官艾伦·麦克莱 (Alan McClay)

在报告中,我们深入探讨了我们雄心勃勃的 2030 年战略的启动、我们的品牌重塑、良好棉花的财务和治理,以及 2021 年良好棉花的关键重点领域和优先事项,分享了我们迄今为止取得的进展以及到 2030 年的计划。

采取气候行动

除了农业在减少排放方面发挥作用外,它还具有在土壤中储存大量大气碳的潜力。 ​2021 年,我们启动了气候减缓目标: by 到 2030 年,我们的目标是将每生产一吨良好棉花的温室气体排放量减少 50% (与 2017 年基线相比)。 

开发可追溯性解决方案 

我们制定了一项全面的四年活动计划和详细预算,用于将可追溯性引入良好棉花网络。 我们的首要任务是找到实现这项工作的方法,以提供消费者在可追溯性方面的需求以及农民实现繁荣市场所需的东西

以农民为中心 

没有农民,就不会有更好的棉花。 2021年,我们 投入时间和资源进行研究,以更好地了解农民的需求和需求,Better Cotton 是否实现了这一目标,以及我们如何进一步改善我们为农民及其社区提供的产品。​​​

阅读2021年度报告

我们将在 22 月 23 日至 XNUMX 日举行的良好棉花会议上与与会者分享年度报告结果等。 在这里获取门票.

查阅

棉花隐藏的声音:25月XNUMX日

25 月 XNUMX 日星期三,与 Better Cotton 的数据和可追溯性高级总监 Alia Malik 和其他演讲嘉宾一起参加由主办方主办的“Cotton's Hidden Voices” 利兹大学. 该活动将探讨棉花的复杂、具有挑战性和全球重要的历史、生产和消费。

从田地到面料:棉花要经过复杂的生产过程,在供应链中经过许多不同的手触摸,然后才能转化为您穿的衣服。

加入我们,探索棉花生产的环境和社会挑战,以及支撑时尚产业的棉花种植的复杂性和多样性。 在探讨棉花对农民及其家庭的重要性之前,我们将先了解我们听到的有关时装业的一些常见可持续性挑战。 我们将分享全球供应链工人的见解,并研究西方消费者的负责任消费方式以及快时尚的需求。

演讲者:Mark Sumner 博士(利兹大学)、Alia Malik(Better Cotton)、Allan Williams(棉花研发公司——澳大利亚棉花)

查阅

在 2022 年地球日庆祝土壤

我们脚下的地球是一个复杂而有生命的系统。 仅仅一茶匙的健康土壤就可以包含比地球上总人口更多的微生物。

健康的土壤是农业生产力和可持续性的起点。 没有它,我们既不能种植棉花,也不能支持我们不断增长的全球人口。 然而,它也往往是农业中最被忽视和低估的资源。

在#EarthDay2022,我们将重点关注土壤健康以及正在开展的鼓舞人心的工作,以改善棉花种植中的土壤健康。

什么是土壤健康,为什么重要?

从我们的土壤健康专家那里了解更多信息

农民见解

Sabari Jagan Valvi 加入了良好棉花和 羽扇豆人类福利与研究基金会 三年前在印度的计划。

通过采用更可持续的耕作方式,例如间作和使用蚯蚓粪和印楝提取物,Sabari 见证了她农场土壤健康的改善,并设法降低了成本。

“今年我按照良好棉花推广的做法播种了两英亩以上的棉花。 通过单粒播种和种子处理,我成功地节省了本季播种成本的50%。” – Sabari Jagan Valvi,良好棉花种植者。

加入讨论

在今年 22 月 23 日至 XNUMX 日在瑞典马尔默和在线举行的良好棉花大会上,我们将与合作伙伴和成员一起探讨再生农业如何帮助应对气候变化等等。

查阅

良好棉花宣布 2022 年会议议程

我们很高兴地宣布将于 22 月 23 日至 XNUMX 日在马尔默和在线举行的良好棉花大会的议程!

与会者可以期待参加关于再生农业、可追溯性、性别平等、气候变化能力建设等主题的发人深省的会议。 下面我们分享一下全体会议和分组会议的先睹为快。

全体会议

来自棉花行业及其他行业的专家发言人将在为期两天的会议期间主持一系列全体会议,重点关注气候减缓和适应、可追溯性、性别、可持续采购、小农生计等。 请参阅下面的部分会议。

与未来论坛和棉花 2040 合作开展气候变化能力建设 

了解棉花行业面临的气候风险并探索对未来生产的影响。  

棉花行业如何建立弹性并适应气候变化的影响? 

小农生计和农民小组 

需要什么来改变棉花种植经济,从而改善小农及其社区的生计和福祉? 气候变化如何影响我们可用的选择? 

聚焦女性采取气候行动 

突出妇女在棉花中采取气候行动的个人经历,探索气候变化与性别平等之间的联系。

分组会议

来自棉花行业及其他行业的专家发言人将在为期两天的会议期间主持一系列全体会议,重点关注气候减缓和适应、可追溯性、性别、可持续采购、小农生计等。 请参阅下面的部分会议。

再生农业 

再生农业如何帮助气候行动等等。 

生态系统服务支付 

如何有效地使用生态系统服务支付来造福农民? 有哪些机遇和挑战? 

三角洲项目 

创建一种共享方法来衡量和交流可持续性进展—— 三角洲框架

六月加入我们,看看该行业如何合作创造和推动集体影响,为棉花塑造一个更可持续的未来。  

该会议由全球知名组织赞助。 我们有多种赞助套餐可供选择,请联系 [电子邮件保护] 获取更多信息. 

有关更多详细信息,请访问 会议网站

查阅

分享此页

Better Cotton Launches 2021 Annual Report

We are delighted to launch the Better Cotton 2021 Annual Report which highlights key updates, successes and challenges from the past year and cotton season. 

In the report, we share that:

  • In the 2020-21 cotton season, the Better Cotton programme reached more than 2.9 million cotton farmers in 26 countries.
  • 2.2 million licensed farmers in 24 countries grew 4.7 million tonnes of Better Cotton – this accounted for 20% of global cotton production.
  • In 2021, Better Cotton’s membership base surpassed 2,400 members in 63 countries.
  • Retailer and Brand Members sourced 2.5 million tonnes of Better Cotton – accounting for 10% of global cotton production. 

We can all agree that 2021 was a challenging year, amid the Covid-19 pandemic, and growing climate and biodiversity challenges. However, we remained steadfast in our commitment and purpose to promote more sustainable cotton production. Of the year’s many highlights, I’m proud to share that the Better Cotton programme continued to grow and deliver impact where it mattered most, and as of 2021, we can say that Better Cotton is mainstream – representing more than 20% of global cotton production.

Alan McClay, CEO, Better Cotton

In the report, we dive into the launch of our ambitious 2030 Strategy, our rebrand, Better Cotton’s financials and governance, and key focus areas and priorities for Better Cotton in 2021, sharing the developments we’ve made so far and plans to 2030.

Taking Climate Action

As well as agriculture having a role to play in reducing emissions, it also has the potential to store large quantities of atmospheric carbon in the soil. ​In 2021, we launched our climate mitigation target: by 2030, we aim to reduce greenhouse gas emissions per tonne of Better Cotton produced by 50% (compared to 2017 baseline). 

Developing a Traceability Solution 

We’ve developed a comprehensive four-year activity plan and detailed budget for introducing traceability into the Better Cotton network. Our top priority is to find ways to make this work in a way that delivers what consumers want in terms of traceability and what farmers need to achieve a thriving market.​

Focus on Farmer Centricity 

Without farmers, there would be no Better Cotton. In 2021, we invested time and resources into research to better understand what farmers need and want, whether Better Cotton is delivering on this, and how we can further improve our offering for farmers and their communities.  ​

Read the 2021 Annual Report

We will share the Annual Report results and more with attendees at the Better Cotton Conference, taking place on 22 & 23 June. Get your tickets here.

Read more

Cotton’s Hidden Voices: 25 May

Join Better Cotton’s Alia Malik, Senior Director of Data and Traceability, and other guest speakers on Wednesday 25 May for ‘Cotton’s Hidden Voices’, hosted by University of Leeds. The event will explore the complex, challenging and globally important history, production and consumption of cotton.

From field to fabric: cotton goes through a complex production process and is touched by many different hands in the supply chain before it can be transformed into the clothes you wear.

Join us to explore the environmental and social challenges of cotton production, and the complexity and diversity of cotton farming, which underpins the fashion industry. We’ll shine a light on some of the common sustainability challenges we hear about the fashion industry, before looking at the importance of cotton for farmers and their families. We’ll share insights from workers in the global supply chain, and examine what responsible consumption looks like for Western consumers, alongside the demands of fast fashion.

Speakers: Dr Mark Sumner (University of Leeds), Alia Malik (Better Cotton), Allan Williams (Cotton Research and Development Corporation – Australian Cotton)

Read more

Celebrating Soil on Earth Day 2022

The earth beneath our feet is a complex and living system. Just one teaspoon of healthy soil can contain more microorganisms than the total number of people on the planet.

Healthy soil is the starting point for farm productivity and sustainability. Without it, we could neither grow cotton nor support our growing global population. However, it is also often the most neglected and under-appreciated resource in farming.

On #EarthDay2022, we are focusing on soil health and the inspiring work that is happening on the ground to improve soil health in cotton farming.

What is soil health and why does it matter?

Learn more from our soil health experts

Farmer insights

Sabari Jagan Valvi joined the Better Cotton and Lupin Human Welfare And Research Foundation programme in India three years ago.

By adopting more sustainable farming practices such as intercropping and using vermicompost and neem extract, Sabari has witnessed an improvement in soil health on her farm and has managed to reduce her costs.

“This year I have sown cotton over two acres following the practices promoted by Better Cotton. Through single seed sowing and seed treatment, I managed to save 50% of the cost of sowing this season.” – Sabari Jagan Valvi, Better Cotton Farmer.

Join the discussion

At this year’s Better Cotton Conference – taking place in Malmö, Sweden and online on 22-23 June – we’ll be joined by partners and members to explore how regenerative agriculture can help to tackle climate change and much more.

Read more

Better Cotton Announces 2022 Conference Agenda

We are excited to announce the agenda for the Better Cotton Conference, taking place in Malmö and online on 22-23 June!

Attendees can look forward to joining thought-provoking sessions on the topics of regenerative agriculture, traceability, gender equality, climate change capacity building and many more. Below we share a sneak peek of the plenary and breakout sessions.

Plenary Sessions

Expert speakers from the cotton industry and beyond will lead a series of plenary sessions across the two-day conference, focusing on climate mitigation and adaptation, traceability, gender, sustainable sourcing, smallholder livelihoods and more. See a selection of the sessions below.

Climate Change Capacity Building in Collaboration with Forum for the Future and Cotton 2040 

Understanding the climate risks facing the cotton sector and exploring the implications for future production.  

How can the cotton sector build resilience and adapt to the impacts of climate change? 

Smallholder Livelihoods & Farmer Panel 

What is needed to shift the economics of cotton farming, and so improve the livelihoods and wellbeing of smallholder farmers and their communities? How does climate change affect the options available to us? 

Spotlight on Women Taking Climate Action 

Highlighting the personal experiences of women taking climate action in cotton, exploring the link between climate change and gender equality.

Breakout Sessions

Expert speakers from the cotton industry and beyond will lead a series of plenary sessions across the two-day conference, focusing on climate mitigation and adaptation, traceability, gender, sustainable sourcing, smallholder livelihoods and more. See a selection of the sessions below.

Regenerative Agriculture 

How regenerative agriculture can help with climate action and much more. 

Ecosystem Service Payments 

How can ecosystem service payments be used effectively to benefit farmers? What are the opportunities and challenges? 

Delta Project 

Creating a shared approach to measuring and communicating sustainability progress – the Delta Framework

Join us in June to see how the sector can collaborate to create and drive collective impact in shaping a more sustainable future for cotton.  

The conference is sponsored by globally renowned organisations. We have a variety of sponsorship packages available, please contact [email protected] for more information. 

For more details, please visit the conference website

Read more

Share this page