监测评估和学习

 
BCI 农民展示了实施更可持续的农业实践的好处

在 2017-18 棉季*,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 及其实地合作伙伴为 21 个国家/地区的超过 XNUMX 万棉农提供了有关更可持续农业实践的培训。 通过培训、工具和能力建设,BCI 农民解决和解决棉花生产中的相关问题,从用水到害虫管理再到体面劳动。 通过实施良好棉花原则和标准,农民以一种对他们自己、环境和农业社区明显更好的方式生产棉花。

每个棉花季节,BCI 及其合作伙伴都会从 BCI 农民那里收集数据,以监测和评估一系列社会、环境和经济指标。 BCI Farmer 2017-18 棉花季节的结果清楚地表明了在世界各地实施更可持续的做法的好处。以下是来自中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的一些关键亮点。

公共信息交流

  • 在土耳其,74% 的 BCI 农民对童工问题有较高的认识。
  • 在塔吉克斯坦,接受过健康和安全实践培训的 BCI 农民中有 25% 是女性。

环保

  • 印度的 BCI 农民用水量比比较农民少 10%。
  • 巴基斯坦的 BCI 农民使用的合成肥料比比较农民少 17%。
  • 塔吉克斯坦的 BCI 农民使用的农药比比较农民少 40%。

经济

  • 中国的 BCI 农民的产量比比较农民高 14%。
  • 巴基斯坦的 BCI 农民获得的利润比比较农民高 40%。

访问2017-18 BCI 农民结果 了解 BCI 如何推动棉花生产的显着改善。

关于比较农民的注意事项:BCI 农民结果将获得许可的 BCI 农民与未参与 BCI 计划的同一地理区域的非 BCI 农民所达到的关键社会、环境和经济指标的国家平均值进行比较。 我们将后一种农民称为比较农民。

*棉花在世界各地以不同的年度周期播种和收获。 对于 BCI,2017-18 棉花季节的收获在 2018 年底完成。BCI 农民结果指标数据必须在棉花收获后的 12 周内提交给 BCI。 然后,所有数据都经过严格的数据清理和验证过程,然后才能发布。

分享此页

BCI Farmers Achieve a Reduction in Water and Pesticide Use while Increasing Yields and Profits

Announcements Wednesday, October 23rd, 2019

 
BCI Farmers Demonstrate the Benefits of Implementing more Sustainable Farming Practices

In the 2017-18 cotton season*, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) and its on-the-ground partners provided training on more sustainable farming practices to more than two million cotton farmers in 21 countries. Through training, tools and capacity building, BCI Farmers address and tackle pertinent issues in cotton production, from water use to pest management to Decent Work. By implementing the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria, farmers produce cotton in a way that is measurably better for themselves, the environment and farming communities.

Each cotton season, BCI and its partners collect data from BCI Farmers to monitor and assess a range of social, environmental and economic indicators. BCI Farmer results from the 2017-18 cotton season clearly demonstrate the benefits of implementing more sustainable practices around the world. Here are some key highlights from China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

Social

  • In Turkey, 74% of BCI Farmers had advanced awareness of child labour issues.
  • In Tajikistan, 25% of BCI Farmers trained on health and safety practices were women.

Environmental

  • BCI Farmers in India used 10% less water than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Pakistan used 17% less synthetic fertiliser than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Tajikistan used 40% fewer pesticides than comparison farmers.

Economic

  • BCI Farmers in China achieved 14% higher yields than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Pakistan achieved 40% higher profits than comparison farmers.

Access the 2017-18 BCI Farmer Results to see how BCI is driving measurable improvements in cotton production.

Note about Comparison Farmers: BCI Farmer Results compare the country averages of key social, environmental and economic indicators achieved by licensed BCI Farmers to non-BCI farmers in the same geographic area who are not participating in the BCI programme. We refer to the latter farmers as Comparison Farmers.

*Cotton is sown and harvested in different annual cycles all over the world. For BCI, the 2017-18 cotton season harvest was completed towards the end of 2018. BCI Farmer results indicator data must be submitted to BCI within 12 weeks of the cotton harvest. All data then goes through a rigorous data cleaning and validation process before it can be published.