مزارعو BCI يوضحون فوائد تنفيذ ممارسات زراعية أكثر استدامة

في موسم القطن 2017-18 * ، قدمت مبادرة القطن الأفضل (BCI) وشركاؤها على الأرض تدريبًا على ممارسات الزراعة الأكثر استدامة لأكثر من مليوني مزارع قطن في 21 دولة. من خلال التدريب والأدوات وبناء القدرات ، يقوم مزارعو BCI بمعالجة ومعالجة القضايا ذات الصلة في إنتاج القطن ، من استخدام المياه إلى إدارة الآفات إلى العمل اللائق. من خلال تنفيذ مبادئ ومعايير أفضل للقطن ، ينتج المزارعون القطن بطريقة أفضل بشكل يمكن قياسه لأنفسهم ، والبيئة والمجتمعات الزراعية.

في كل موسم قطن ، تقوم BCI وشركاؤها بجمع البيانات من BCI Farmers لرصد وتقييم مجموعة من المؤشرات الاجتماعية والبيئية والاقتصادية. تظهر نتائج BCI Farmer من موسم القطن 2017-18 بوضوح فوائد تطبيق ممارسات أكثر استدامة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، وفيما يلي بعض النقاط البارزة من الصين والهند وباكستان وطاجيكستان وتركيا.

التواصل الإجتماعي

  • في تركيا ، 74٪ من المزارعين في BCI لديهم وعي متقدم بقضايا عمالة الأطفال.
  • في طاجيكستان ، كان 25٪ من مزارعي BCI المدربين على ممارسات الصحة والسلامة من النساء.

بيئي

  • استخدم مزارعو BCI في الهند مياه أقل بنسبة 10 ٪ من المزارعين المقارنة.
  • استخدم مزارعو BCI في باكستان سمادًا اصطناعيًا أقل بنسبة 17 ٪ من المزارعين المقارنة.
  • استخدم مزارعو BCI في طاجيكستان مبيدات حشرية أقل بنسبة 40 ٪ من المزارعين المقارنة.

اقتصادي

  • حقق مزارعو BCI في الصين غلات أعلى بنسبة 14 ٪ من المزارعين المقارنة.
  • حقق مزارعو BCI في باكستان أرباحًا أعلى بنسبة 40٪ مقارنة بالمزارعين.

وصول إلىنتائج المزارعين 2017-18 BCI لنرى كيف تقود BCI تحسينات قابلة للقياس في إنتاج القطن.

ملاحظة حول مقارنة المزارعين: تقارن نتائج BCI Farmer متوسطات الدولة للمؤشرات الاجتماعية والبيئية والاقتصادية الرئيسية التي حققها مزارعو BCI المرخصون للمزارعين غير التابعين لـ BCI في نفس المنطقة الجغرافية الذين لا يشاركون في برنامج BCI. نشير إلى المزارعين الأخيرين على أنهم مزارعون مقارنة.

* يزرع القطن ويحصد في دورات سنوية مختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم. بالنسبة لـ BCI ، تم الانتهاء من حصاد موسم القطن 2017-18 في نهاية عام 2018. يجب تقديم بيانات مؤشر نتائج المزارعين BCI إلى BCI في غضون 12 أسبوعًا من حصاد القطن. تمر جميع البيانات بعد ذلك بعملية تنظيف صارمة للبيانات والتحقق من صحتها قبل نشرها.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

BCI Farmers Achieve a Reduction in Water and Pesticide Use while Increasing Yields and Profits

Announcements Wednesday, October 23rd, 2019

 
BCI Farmers Demonstrate the Benefits of Implementing more Sustainable Farming Practices

In the 2017-18 cotton season*, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) and its on-the-ground partners provided training on more sustainable farming practices to more than two million cotton farmers in 21 countries. Through training, tools and capacity building, BCI Farmers address and tackle pertinent issues in cotton production, from water use to pest management to Decent Work. By implementing the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria, farmers produce cotton in a way that is measurably better for themselves, the environment and farming communities.

Each cotton season, BCI and its partners collect data from BCI Farmers to monitor and assess a range of social, environmental and economic indicators. BCI Farmer results from the 2017-18 cotton season clearly demonstrate the benefits of implementing more sustainable practices around the world. Here are some key highlights from China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

Social

  • In Turkey, 74% of BCI Farmers had advanced awareness of child labour issues.
  • In Tajikistan, 25% of BCI Farmers trained on health and safety practices were women.

Environmental

  • BCI Farmers in India used 10% less water than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Pakistan used 17% less synthetic fertiliser than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Tajikistan used 40% fewer pesticides than comparison farmers.

Economic

  • BCI Farmers in China achieved 14% higher yields than comparison farmers.
  • BCI Farmers in Pakistan achieved 40% higher profits than comparison farmers.

Access the 2017-18 BCI Farmer Results to see how BCI is driving measurable improvements in cotton production.

Note about Comparison Farmers: BCI Farmer Results compare the country averages of key social, environmental and economic indicators achieved by licensed BCI Farmers to non-BCI farmers in the same geographic area who are not participating in the BCI programme. We refer to the latter farmers as Comparison Farmers.

*Cotton is sown and harvested in different annual cycles all over the world. For BCI, the 2017-18 cotton season harvest was completed towards the end of 2018. BCI Farmer results indicator data must be submitted to BCI within 12 weeks of the cotton harvest. All data then goes through a rigorous data cleaning and validation process before it can be published.