公司信息

今天是 国际妇女节 2021 年是庆祝女性在社会、经济、文化和政治方面取得的成就的全球盛会。 在良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 中,我们通过分享来自该领域的鼓舞人心的故事、反思和加强我们在棉花领域的性别平等目标以及与同行和成员共享资源来庆祝女性的成就。

什么是国际妇女节?

每年的 8 月 XNUMX 日为国际妇女节 (IWD),它呼吁采取行动加快性别平等的进步和提高认识。 IWD 可追溯到 1911,一百多年后,我们离性别平等的世界还很远。

这对 BCI 意味着什么?

性别不平等仍然是棉花行业的一个紧迫挑战。 在全球范围内,棉花生产中的女性承担着各种重要的角色,但她们的劳动往往未被认可且报酬不足。 在女性的贡献仍然被忽视的情况下,她们在采用更可持续的做法和创造一个转变的、公平的棉花未来方面的关键作用被忽略了。 例如,一个 2018-19 在印度马哈拉施特拉学习 透露,在过去两年中,接受调查的女性棉花种植者中只有 33% 参加了培训。 然而,当为妇女提供培训时,采用更好的耕作方法的人数增加了 30-40%。 有一个明确的商业案例,可以让女性更好地获得棉花方面的资源和知识。 作为行业领导者,BCI 有机会应对这些挑战,并将性别平等作为可持续棉花的基石。

了解更多!

实地的故事

棉花种植社区的妇女可能面临严重的歧视和挑战,部分原因是先前存在的关于性别角色的社会态度和信念。 BCI 和我们的合作伙伴努力确保棉花种植社区的所有妇女得到平等和尊重的待遇,今天,我们想通过分享来自巴基斯坦和马里的实地故事来庆祝妇女的成就。

鲁克萨娜·考萨 (Ruksana Kausar) 跟随母亲的脚步,年轻时嫁给了一位棉农。 像她所在社区的许多妇女一样——在那里的棉花社区耕种土地以求生存——Ruksana 在她家的棉花农场努力工作,在旁遮普的炎热中播种、除草和采摘棉花。 了解更多 关于 Ruksana 的旅程。

 

 

自 2010 年以来,Tata Djire 一直为 BCI 在马里的实地合作伙伴 Association des Producteurs de Coton Africains 工作,在那里她介绍了 BCI 计划。 塔塔对马里 BCI 计划的成功发挥了重要作用,支持小农和农业妇女。 了解更多 关于塔塔的旅程.

 

 

认识巴基斯坦棉农 Almas Parveen,听听她鼓舞人心的旅程,让其他农民——无论男女——都能从可持续农业实践中受益。 阿尔玛斯定期与学校里的女孩们交谈,她帮助在她的村子里建立了一所新的小学。 了解更多 关于阿尔玛斯的旅程.

 

 

BCI 性别战略和工作组

新的 BCI 性别策略于 2019 年 2020 月发布,概述了我们将性别敏感方法纳入主流的行动计划。 该战略为男性和女性在棉花领域提供了背景、挑战和机遇。 BCI 还在 2030 年 XNUMX 月成立了一个跨职能的性别工作组。该小组的目的是:建立实施 BCI 性别战略的共同责任,为所有参与者创造学习和领导机会,支持 BCI XNUMX 战略和影响目标的制定,并采取新的机会和伙伴关系。

商业网络

本周,企业对抗贫困将在 9 月 10 日、11 日和 XNUMX 日举办免费的在线性别峰会,演讲嘉宾将讨论以下主题——“释放企业”、“解决基于性别的暴力”和“建设农民生计”。 要注册, 只需点击此链接.

在线与我们一起庆祝国际妇女节! 我们将在整个星期分享更新。 加入对话。 #GenerationEquality #ChooseToChallenge #IWD2021

分享此页

General

Today is International Women’s Day 2021, a global event to celebrate the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. At the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), we are celebrating women’s achievements by sharing inspiring stories from the field, reflecting on and reinforcing our goals on gender equality in cotton, and sharing resources with our peers and members.

What is International Women’s Day?

International Women’s Day (IWD), marked annually on 8 March, is a call to action to accelerate progress and awareness about gender equality. IWD dates back to 1911, and over a hundred years later we’re still far from a world of gender equality.

What does this mean for BCI?

Gender inequality remains a pressing challenge in the cotton sector. Globally, women in cotton production take on varied, essential roles, but their labour is often unrecognised and under-remunerated. Where the contributions of women remain invisible, their critical role in adopting more sustainable practices, and creating a transformed, equitable cotton future, is missed. For example, a 2018-19 study in in Maharashtra, India revealed that only 33% of women cotton cultivators surveyed had attended training in the last two years. Yet, when training was provided to women, there was a 30-40% increase in adoption of better farming practices. There is a clear business case to create better access to resources and knowledge for women in cotton. As an industry leader, BCI has an opportunity to address these challenges and to integrate gender equality as a cornerstone of sustainable cotton.

Learn more!

Stories from the Field

Women in cotton farming communities can face significant discrimination and challenges, partly as a result of pre-existing social attitudes and beliefs about gender roles. BCI and our partners seek to ensure equal and respectful treatment for all women in cotton farming communities, and today, we’d like to celebrate women’s achievements by sharing stories from the field from Pakistan and Mali.

Following her mother’s footsteps, Ruksana Kausar married a cotton farmer when she was young. Like many women in her community — where cotton communities farm the land to survive — Ruksana works hard on her family’s cotton farm, sowing seeds, weeding the fields and picking cotton amid the searing heat of Punjab. Learn more about Ruksana’s journey.

 

 

Since 2010, Tata Djire has worked for BCI’s on-the-ground partner in Mali, Association des Producteurs de Coton Africains, where she introduced the BCI Programme. Tata was instrumental to the success of the BCI Programme in Mali, supporting smallholder farmers and women in agriculture. Learn more about Tata’s journey.

 

 

Meet Pakistani cotton Farmer Almas Parveen and hear about her inspiring journey, enabling other farmers — both men and women — to benefit from sustainable agricultural practices. Almas regularly gives talks to girls in schools, and she helped to establish a new primary school in her village. Learn more about Almas’ journey.

 

 

BCI Gender Strategy and Working Group

The BCI Gender Strategy, published in November 2019, outlines our action plan to mainstream a gender sensitive approach. The strategy presents the context, challenges and opportunities for men and women in cotton. BCI also launched a cross-functional Gender Working Group in July 2020. The purpose of the Group is to: establish shared accountability for delivering BCI’s Gender Strategy, create learning and leadership opportunities for all participants, support the development of BCI’s 2030 strategy and impact targets, and action new opportunities and partnerships.

Network

This week, Business Fights Poverty is hosting a free, online Gender Summit on 9, 10 & 11 March with guest speakers tackling the following themes – “Unleashing Enterprise”, “Tackling Gender-Based Violence”, and “Building Farmer Livelihoods.” To register, just follow this link.

Celebrate International Women’s Day with us online! We will be sharing updates throughout the week. Join the conversation. #GenerationEquality #ChooseToChallenge #IWD2021

Translate »