实地结果和影响

良好棉花倡议 (BCI)与实地合作伙伴合作,在世界各地培训数百万棉农,支持他们实施更可持续的农业实践,以保护和恢复环境,同时改善他们的生计。 为了确保我们的程序正在发挥作用,我们正在致力于衡量良好棉花种植地区的可持续性改进,并评估其对环境、社会和经济的影响更好的棉花标准系统。

衡量参与项目并满足良好棉花标准的棉农数量或获得许可的良好棉花数量很重要,但我们作为多方利益相关者仅了解其程度还不够驱动的可持续性标准有助于棉花生产变得更具可持续性。 我们需要更多。

这就是为什么BCI旨在衡量棉农在各种背景下所取得的变化,从获得机械的机会有限的小农到技术最先进的农业经营。 BCI 的数据驱动监测,评估和学习课程种类专注于农场层面的结果,旨在衡量最重要的根据我们的变革理论:棉花种植的环境、社会和经济条件不断改善。

要做到这一点,we使用复合e初步研究和评估方法,并与独立组织和研究人员合作评估领域水平结果BCI 计划的影响s.没有一种方法或方法可以满足了解可持续发展计划的范围、效率、结果和最终影响的所有需求.脑机接口方法的多样性对于有效衡量结果和影响是必要的无论是在规模上还是在深度上。

全计划监测

BCI 和 BCI 的现场级合作伙伴收集有关 BCI 全球影响力的信息dATAincludes练习接触和培训的农民数量,练习良好棉花种植面积,以及良好棉花种植量。结果有助于监控 BCI 在实现其组织目标方面的进展。

采样监测

这涉及评估 BCI 农民的社会经济和环境成果,以创建年度快照。 每个棉花季节从 BCI 农民那里收集有关农艺(水、农药、肥料使用)和经济(产量、盈利能力)结果的定量数据,如果可用,还会收集来自非 BCI 或“比较农民”的数据。 结果决定了 BCI 培训和支持在多大程度上改善了农业实践。

调研

R研究c支持影响评估和深入研究了解是否在现场层面发生了积极的变化,并分析 BCI 计划对特定问题和目标地区的潜在和实际影响。研究可由第三方研究人员、独立组织、大学或 BCI 进行。

合作伙伴

BCI 还与其他可持续发展标准和组织合作,支持统一指标,包括衡量可持续发展目标的进展情况, 特别关注可持续农业生产。 例如,在 2019 年,练习三角洲项目BCI全球咖啡平台、国际棉花咨询委员会和国际咖啡协会,以弥合在衡量和报告可持续发展绩效方面的差距两个最重要的商品部门,棉花和咖啡。

访问新的 信息图表 将 BCI 评估现场级结果和影响的方法可视化。

分享此页

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI)works with on-the-ground partners totrain millions of cotton farmers around the world, supporting them to implement more sustainable farming practices which protect and restore the environment, while also improving their livelihoods. To ensure our programmesare making a difference, we arecommitted to measuring sustainability improvements everywhere Better Cotton is grown and to evaluating the environmental, social and economic impact of theBetter Cotton Standard System.

Measuring the numbers of farmers participating in projects and meeting the Better Cotton Standard, or the volumes of Better Cotton licensed, is important but it is not enough for us to know to what extent we as a multi-stakeholder-driven sustainability standard are contributing to cotton production becoming more sustainable. We need more.

That is whyBCIalsoseeks to measure the change cotton farmers achieve in a diverse set of contexts, from smallholders with limited access to machinery to the most technologically advanced farming operation. BCI’s data-drivenMonitoring, Evaluation and LearningProgrammefocuses on farm-level results, aiming to measure what matters most according to ourTheory of Change: continuous improvement of environmental, social, and economic conditions in cotton cultivation.

To do this,weuse complementary research and evaluation methods and work with independent organisations and researchers to assess the field-levelresults andimpacts of the BCI programmes.No single approach or methodology can meet all the needs for understanding the reach, efficiency, results, and ultimately impact, of a sustainability initiative.BCI’sdiversity of approaches is necessary to effectively measure results and impactboth at scale and in depth.

Programme-wide monitoring

BCI and BCI’s field-level partnerscollect information about BCI’s global reachdataincludesthenumber of farmers reached and trained,thearea under Better Cotton cultivation, and volumes of Better Cotton grown.The outcomes help to monitor BCI’s progress towards its organisational targets.

Sampled monitoring

This involves the assessment of socioeconomic and environmental outcomes of BCI Farmers to create an annual snapshot. Quantitative data on agronomic (water, pesticide, fertiliser use) and economic (yield, profitability) results are collected from BCI Farmers each cotton season, and when available, data from non-BCI, or “Comparison Farmers’, is also collected. The outcomes determine to what extent BCI training and support is leading to improved farming practices.

Research

Research consists of impact evaluations and indepth studies tounderstand whether positive change is occurring at field level and toanalyse the potential and real impact of BCI programmes on specific issues and in targeted geographies.Research could be carried out by third-party researchers, independent organisations, universities or BCI.

Partnerships

BCI also partners with other sustainability standards and organisations to support alignment on common metrics, including measuring progress toward the Sustainable Development Goals, especially focused onsustainable agricultural production. For example, in 2019,theDelta Projectwas developed together withBCI, theGlobal Coffee Platform, the International Cotton Advisory Committee and the International Coffee Association, in order to bridge the gap in measuring and reporting sustainability performance intwo of the most important commodity sectors, cotton and coffee.

Access new infographics that visualise BCI’s approach to assessing field-level results and impact.

Translate »