澳洲
首页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 澳大利亚的良好棉花 (myBMP)

澳大利亚的良好棉花 (myBMP)

棉花是澳大利亚的主要作物,占其种植地区农业总产量的 30% 至 60%(按价值计算)。

滑动1
0
持牌农民
0,000
良好棉花吨数
0,000
收获的公顷

棉花是一种高产作物,澳大利亚皮棉产量通常是世界平均产量的三倍。 澳大利亚棉农使用高精度、机械化技术,并且越来越多地使用水资源管理的最佳实践来帮助保护水资源。

澳大利亚更好的棉花合作伙伴

澳大利亚棉花生产商的官方机构 Cotton Australia 于 2012 年作为成员加入了 Better Cotton。两年后的 2014 年,它成为战略合作伙伴,遵循正式的基准流程以符合澳大利亚棉花的棉花可持续性标准,即“我的最佳管理实践” ' (myBMP) 标准,采用良好棉花标准系统。 myBMP 是澳大利亚棉花行业以对环境和道德负责的方式种植棉花的标准。

myBMP 现在被认为等同于良好棉花标准系统。 这意味着选择良好棉花许可并满足 myBMP 认证要求的种植者能够将其认证棉花作为良好棉花进行销售。

可持续性挑战

近年来,澳大利亚面临严重干旱。 由于该国实行严格的水资源共享制度,农民们小心翼翼地只使用分配给他们的水量来灌溉庄稼。

有时这还不够,并导致近年来良好棉花产量下降,从 92,000-2018 棉花季节的 19 吨减少到 31,000-2019 的 20 吨。 然而,Cotton Australia 致力于继续帮助农民应对水资源短缺的挑战。

响应于 由于水资源短缺,澳大利亚的一些农民正在使用精密技术来优化用水和灌溉。 例如,一些农民将他们棉花作物的卫星图像与数字土壤湿度读数和当地天气数据结合起来,以确定在特定日期准确施用多少水。 同样,使用精确技术来确定土壤和作物的需求,农民能够有效地使用农药和化肥,并总体上减少了他们的总投入使用。

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

随着水资源短缺问题的加剧,精准灌溉和节水技术变得越来越重要。 Better Cotton Initiative 和 Cotton Australia 正在帮助农民提高产量,提高他们对极端天气的适应能力并保护环境。

随着越来越多的农民加入运动,更广泛的社区也会受益。 农民和地区社区正在充分利用更高效、更有利可图的农业系统、更健康的自然环境以及更安全、更有价值的工作机会

联系我们

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Australia
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Australia (myBMP)

Better Cotton in Australia (myBMP)

Cotton is a major crop in Australia, representing from 30% to 60% of total agricultural production in the regions where it’s grown (by value).

Slide 1
0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

Cotton is a very productive crop, with Australian lint yields often producing three times the world average yield. Australian cotton farmers use high-precision, mechanised techniques and are increasingly using best practices in water management to help conserve water resources.

Better Cotton Partner in Australia

Cotton Australia, the official body for Australia’s cotton producers, joined Better Cotton as a member in 2012. Two years later in 2014, it became a Strategic Partner following a formal benchmarking process to align Cotton Australia’s cotton sustainability standard, the ‘my Best Management Practice’ (myBMP) Standard, with the Better Cotton Standard System. myBMP is the Australian cotton industry’s standard for growing cotton in an environmentally and ethically responsible way.

myBMP is now recognised as equivalent to the Better Cotton Standard System. This means that growers who opt for Better Cotton licensing and meet the requirements of the myBMP certification are able to market their certified cotton as Better Cotton.

Sustainability challenges

Australia has faced serious droughts over recent years. With a strict system of water sharing operating in the country, farmers are careful to only use the amount of water allocated to them to irrigate their crops.

Sometimes this isn’t enough and has led to a decline in Better Cotton production in recent years, decreasing from 92,000 tonnes in the 2018-19 cotton season to 31,000 tonnes in 2019-20. However, Cotton Australia is committed to continuing to help farmers navigate the challenges of water scarcity.

In response to increasing water scarcity, some farmers in Australia are using precision technology to optimise water use and irrigation. For example, some farmers combine satellite imagery of their cotton crops with digital soil moisture readings and local weather data in order to determine exactly how much water to apply on a particular day. Similarly, using precision technology to pinpoint soil and crop needs, farmers have been able to apply pesticides and fertilisers efficiently and overall reduce their total input use.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Precision irrigation and water-saving techniques are becoming more important as water scarcity concerns rise. The Better Cotton Initiative and Cotton Australia are helping farmers raise their yields, improve their resilience to extreme weather and protect the environment.

The wider community benefits too, as more farmers join the movement. Farmers and regional communities are making the most of more efficient and profitable farming systems, a healthier natural environment, and safer, more rewarding work opportunities

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.