可持续性

04.11.13 团结
www.solidaridadnetwork.org

Solidaridad 在马里项目中的良好棉花实施始于 2010 年与棉花公司、Compagnie Malienne Pour le Development des Textiles (CMDT) 和非洲棉花生产协会 (APROCA) 在锡卡索地区 Koutaiala 区的合作。该地区的棉花产量占该国全国籽棉产量的三分之一。

经过三年的实施,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 项目已经超过了所有针对受训生产者和籽棉生产的项目。 通过与生产者学习小组合作获得良好棉花许可证的农民比例现在超过 95%。 该项目取得的主要成果包括提高现场代理人和农民在良好农业实践方面的技能水平。

自 2010 年以来,Solidaridad 帮助马里的小农根据更好的棉花倡议 (BCI) 原则进行生产。 这些原则是关于以减轻当地环境压力、改善农业社区的生计和福利的方式种植棉花,目的是创造长期变革。 三年后,该项目已经发展壮大,现在已覆盖 32.500 名农民,其中 95% 以上获得 BCI 许可,以良好棉花的形式出售他们的棉花,这对国际品牌和零售商尤其感兴趣。

其他成就有:
» 将棉花田的平均处理量从 7 季减少到 13 季(与未参与该计划的农民相比,农药喷洒量减少了 17%);
» 通过降低生产成本来增加生产者收入(棉花的盈利能力提高 16%); 通过改进收获和储存技术的培训来提高棉花质量; 使用棉花收获袋避免污染;
» 童工现象减少,农村妇女更多地参与培训,尤其是领导技能培训。

此前,由于女性参与项目活动的比例低,结果喜忧参半。 妇女构成了农场的劳动力,但她们从棉花中获得的收入很少。 他们也没有参与农民团体的决策过程。

妇女的主要成就
为了弥补女性参与率低的问题,Tata Coulibaly 女士(来自 APROCA 的国家 BCI 协调员)发起了领导力培训,以使女性能够参与并主张她们在棉花行业的权利。 在 2012/2013 赛季,她为 300 名女性组织了领导力培训,在赛季结束之前,女性开始与男性参加会议。 参加培训的女性的主要成就之一是获得了自信和自尊。”女性现在更好地认识到自己作为变革推动者的角色,并准备通过创造压力来动员起来变得更加引人注目他们村里的团体。 这意味着妇女对村子里男子做​​出的决定的影响是咨询性的。 但女性不再希望仅限于咨询角色,未来希望以有意义的方式为决策做出贡献,”库利巴利夫人说。 在培训期间,妇女们向库利巴利夫人表示感谢。 受益人之一,Tonasso 村的 Rokiatot Traor√© 女士说; “我们现在意识到我们是村级变革的真正推动者。 以前,我们知道杀虫剂的危害,但还没有达到这个水平,重要的是,我们不知道我们可以在几乎不使用杀虫剂的情况下生产棉花,”她解释说。 项目奖授予了 Coulibaly 夫人,她受邀参加了今年 23 月 24 日至 XNUMX 日在新加坡举办的 BCI 年度研讨会,并在会上获得了她的平板电脑奖。 她通过培训马里的农村农民(包括顶级纺织业零售商)来促进性别平等的努力受到了每年组织比赛的 BCI 秘书处的称赞。

您可以通过以下方式阅读 2013 年良好棉花“田间故事”比赛的获奖作品点击这里

分享此页

Mali project receives Better Cotton award

press Monday, November 4th, 2013

04.11.13 Solidaridad
www.solidaridadnetwork.org

The Implementation of Better Cotton by Solidaridad in the Mali project began in collaboration with cotton company, Compagnie Malienne pour le Development des Textiles (CMDT) and the Association des Productuers de Cotton Africain (APROCA) in the Koutaiala district of the Sikasso region in 2010. Cotton production from this region represents one-third of the country’s national seed cotton output.

After three years of implementation, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) project has exceeded all projects for trained producers and seed cotton production. The percentage of farmers earning a Better Cotton license through working with producer learning groups now exceeds 95 percent. Major results achieved by the project include improvements in skills levels of field agents and farmers in good agricultural practices.

Since 2010 Solidaridad helps small farmers in Mali to produce according to the The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) principles. These principles are about growing cotton in a way that reduces stress on the local environment, and improves the livelihoods and welfare of farming communities, with the aim of creating long-term change.’ After three years the project has grown and now reaches 32.500 farmers of which more than 95% are licensed by BCI to sell their cotton as Better Cotton, which is especially interesting for international brands and retailers.

Other achievements are:
» the reduction of average treatments on cotton plots from 7 to 13 season (Pesticide sprayings is 17% decrease compared to farmers who are not in the program);
» increases in producer incomes through reductions in production costs (16% profitability increase on cotton); improvements in cotton quality through training in improved harvest and storage techniques as well as; use of cotton harvest bags to avoid contamination;
» and a decrease in incidence of child labour and increased participation of rural women in training, particularly in leadership skills.

 Previously, results were mixed because of the low participation of women in project activities. Women constitute the workforce on farms but they received very little earnings from cotton. They were also absent from decision-making processes in the farmer groups.

Major achievements for women
To compensate for the low participation by women, Madame Tata Coulibaly (National BCI Coordinator from APROCA,) initiated leadership training to enable the women to participate and claim their rights in the cotton sector. During the 2012/2013 season, she organised leadership training for 300 women and before the season was over, the women began participating in meetings with men. One of the major achievements for the women who attended the training is the acquisition of self-confidence and self-esteem.“The women now perceive their roles better as agents of change and are prepared to mobilise to become more visible through the creation of pressure groups in their villages. This means that the influence of women on decisions that are taken by men in the village is advisory. But women no longer want to be limited to an advisory role only and going forward want to contribute to decisions in a meaningful way,” said Madame Coulibaly. During the training, women expressed their gratitude to Madame Coulibaly. One of the beneficiaries, Mrs Rokiatot Traoré of Tonasso village said; “we are now aware of the fact that we are true agents of change at the village level. Before, we knew the dangers of pesticides, but not up to this level and importantly, we did not know that we could produce cotton with little or no insecticides,” she explained. The project prize was awarded to, Madame Coulibaly, who was invited to the BCI annual workshop organized in Singapore on September 23-24 this year, where she was presented with her prize of a computer tablet. Her efforts to promote gender equality through the training rural farmers in Mali that included top textile industry retailers were lauded by the BCI Secretariat, which organises the competition every year.

You can read the winning entry to the Better Cotton 2013 ‘Stories from the Field’ competition by clicking here.