可持续性

所有工人都有权获得体面的工作——在人们感到安全、受到尊重并能够表达他们的担忧或谈判更好的条件的环境中,提供公平的薪酬、安全和平等的学习和进步机会的工作。 帮助 BCI 农民促进体面工作对于改善农民和工人的福祉和生计至关重要。 这就是为什么它是六个良好棉花标准系统之一的原因 生产原理,以及我们通过 IP 提供的培训的重要组成部分。

世界各地的棉农面临着多重体面工作挑战,从保护工人免于接触农药、歧视妇女和为季节性工人提供足够的交通、食物和住宿,到识别和防止童工。

为了在土耳其促进体面劳动,BCI 的执行伙伴 IPUD(良好棉花规范协会)进行实地考察并举办培训活动,以提高 BCI 农民对热点问题的认识。 2016 年,它与公平劳工协会 (FLA) 合作,在这些努力的基础上,制定了全面的体面劳动培训计划,涵盖广泛的体面劳动主题。 为了让尽可能多的人受益,IPUD 着手准备生产者单位 (PU) 管理人员和现场协调员,以培训并与其他农民和工人分享知识。

首先,IPUD 为 Aydın 和 Şanlıurfa 地区的 64 名 PU 经理和现场协调员提供了为期三天的“培训师培训”培训。 通过与公平劳工协会 (FLA) 合作开发的学习材料,农民了解了与农业和棉花相关的体面劳动问题、地区差异和 BCSS 标准,以及国际、国家和地方法规。 参与者还能够交流知识,并学习培训农民和工人的最佳实践技术。 他们还了解了如何监督该领域体面劳动标准的遵守情况,以及与非政府组织合作改善劳动条件。

在 IPUD 和 FLA 的支持下,每个生产者单位在整个季节为其农民和工人组织了实地培训,使其适应他们的需求。 例如,帮助灌溉作物的季节性工人学习了获得工作许可和公平薪酬的知识,而通常帮助除草和收割的长期工人则专注于合同问题。 一些 PU 还邀请当地医生提供额外的健康和安全课程。

总共有998人参加了培训,效果已经可见。 一些 PU 经理正在改善合同条件,并向农民工提供合同。 在其他地方,他们改善了季节性工人的生活和交通条件。

“在培训之后,我们注意到农民和工人对体面劳动问题的认识有了显着提高,”IPUD 的现场培训和能力建设专家 Ömer Oktay 说。 “我们将鼓励生产单位经理继续每年与农民和工人分享他们的体面劳动知识,从而在这一成功的基础上再接再厉。”

分享此页

Helping Farmers Promote Decent Work

All workers have the right to decent work – work that offers fair pay, security and equal opportunities for learning and progression, in an environment where people feel safe, respected, and able to express their concerns or negotiate better conditions. Helping BCI Farmers to promote decent work is vital to improving farmers’ and workers’ wellbeing and livelihoods. That’s why it is one of the six Better Cotton Standard System Production Principles, and an important part of the training we provide through our IPs.

Cotton farmers across the world face multiple decent work challenges, ranging from protecting workers from pesticide exposure, discrimination against women and providing adequate transport, food and accommodation for seasonal workers, to identifying and preventing child labour.

To promote decent work in Turkey, BCI’s Implementing Partner IPUD (Good Cotton Practices Association) conducts field visits and holds training events to raise BCI Farmers’ awareness of topical issues. In 2016, it built on these efforts by developing a comprehensive decent work training programme, in partnership with the Fair Labor Association (FLA), covering a broad range of decent work topics. To reach as many people as possible, IPUD set out to prepare producer unit (PU) managers and field facilitators to train and share knowledge with fellow farmers and workers.

Firstly, IPUD provided three days of ‘train the trainer’ training to 64 PU managers and field facilitators in the Aydın and Şanlıurfa regions. Through learning materials developed in partnership with the Fair Labor Association (FLA), farmers learnt about decent work issues related to agriculture and cotton, regional differences and BCSS criteria, as well as international, national and local regulations. Participants were also able to exchange knowledge, and learn best practice techniques for training farmers and workers. They also learnt about monitoring compliance with decent work standards in the field, and partnering with NGOs to improve labour conditions.

With the support of IPUD and the FLA, each producer unit organised field-level training for its farmers and workers throughout the season, adapting it to suit their needs. For example, seasonal workers, who help with irrigating crops, learnt about securing work permits and fair pay, while permanent workers, who typically help with weeding and harvesting, focused on contractual issues. Some PUs also invited local doctors to provide additional health and safety sessions.

Overall, 998 people participated in the training, and the results are already visible. Some PU managers are making improvements to contractual conditions, and providing contracts to migrant workers. Elsewhere, they improved the living and transport conditions for seasonal workers.

“Following on from the training, we noticed a significant improvement in the awareness of decent work issues among both farmers and workers,” says Ömer Oktay, IPUD’s field training and capacity building specialist. “We’ll encourage production unit managers to build on this success by continuing to share their decent work knowledge with farmers and workers every year.”