استدامة

يتمتع جميع العمال بالحق في العمل اللائق - العمل الذي يوفر أجرًا عادلًا وأمنًا وفرصًا متساوية للتعلم والتقدم ، في بيئة يشعر فيها الناس بالأمان والاحترام والقدرة على التعبير عن مخاوفهم أو التفاوض بشأن ظروف أفضل. مساعدة المزارعين BCI على تعزيز العمل اللائق أمر حيوي لتحسين رفاهية المزارعين والعمال وسبل عيشهم. هذا هو السبب في أنها واحدة من ستة أفضل أنظمة القطن القياسية مبادئ الإنتاج، وجزءًا مهمًا من التدريب الذي نقدمه من خلال عناوين IP الخاصة بنا.

يواجه مزارعو القطن في جميع أنحاء العالم العديد من تحديات العمل اللائق ، بدءًا من حماية العمال من التعرض لمبيدات الآفات ، والتمييز ضد المرأة ، وتوفير وسائل النقل والغذاء والسكن المناسبة للعمال الموسميين ، إلى تحديد ومنع عمالة الأطفال.

لتعزيز العمل اللائق في تركيا ، يقوم الشريك المنفذ IPUD (جمعية الممارسات الجيدة للقطن) في BCI بإجراء زيارات ميدانية وعقد دورات تدريبية لرفع وعي المزارعين BCI بقضايا الساعة. في عام 2016 ، استند إلى هذه الجهود من خلال تطوير برنامج تدريب شامل للعمل اللائق ، بالشراكة مع جمعية العمل العادل (FLA) ، يغطي مجموعة واسعة من موضوعات العمل اللائق. للوصول إلى أكبر عدد ممكن من الناس ، شرع IPUD في إعداد مديري وحدة المنتج (PU) والميسرين الميدانيين لتدريب وتبادل المعرفة مع زملائهم المزارعين والعاملين.

أولاً ، قدم IPUD ثلاثة أيام من تدريب "تدريب المدرب" لـ 64 من مديري PU والميسرين الميدانيين في منطقتي أيدين وشانلي أورفا. من خلال المواد التعليمية التي تم تطويرها بالشراكة مع رابطة العمل العادل (FLA) ، تعرف المزارعون على قضايا العمل اللائق المتعلقة بالزراعة والقطن ، والاختلافات الإقليمية ومعايير BCSS ، بالإضافة إلى اللوائح الدولية والوطنية والمحلية. كما تمكن المشاركون من تبادل المعرفة وتعلم تقنيات أفضل الممارسات لتدريب المزارعين والعمال. كما تعلموا عن مراقبة الامتثال لمعايير العمل اللائق في الميدان ، والشراكة مع المنظمات غير الحكومية لتحسين ظروف العمل.

وبدعم من IPUD و FLA ، نظمت كل وحدة منتجة تدريبًا ميدانيًا لمزارعيها وعمالها طوال الموسم ، مع تكييفه ليناسب احتياجاتهم. على سبيل المثال ، تعلم العمال الموسميون ، الذين يساعدون في ري المحاصيل ، عن تأمين تصاريح العمل والأجر العادل ، بينما ركز العمال الدائمون ، الذين يساعدون عادةً في إزالة الأعشاب الضارة والحصاد ، على القضايا التعاقدية. كما دعا بعض الأطباء المحليين لتقديم جلسات إضافية للصحة والسلامة.

بشكل عام ، شارك 998 شخصًا في التدريب ، والنتائج واضحة بالفعل. يقوم بعض مديري PU بإجراء تحسينات على الشروط التعاقدية ، ويقدمون عقودًا للعمال المهاجرين. وفي أماكن أخرى ، قاموا بتحسين ظروف المعيشة والنقل للعمال الموسميين.

يقول عمر أوكتاي ، أخصائي التدريب الميداني وبناء القدرات في IPUD: "بعد التدريب ، لاحظنا تحسنًا كبيرًا في الوعي بقضايا العمل اللائق بين المزارعين والعاملين على حد سواء". "سنشجع مديري وحدات الإنتاج على البناء على هذا النجاح من خلال الاستمرار في مشاركة معارفهم حول العمل اللائق مع المزارعين والعمال كل عام."

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Helping Farmers Promote Decent Work

All workers have the right to decent work – work that offers fair pay, security and equal opportunities for learning and progression, in an environment where people feel safe, respected, and able to express their concerns or negotiate better conditions. Helping BCI Farmers to promote decent work is vital to improving farmers’ and workers’ wellbeing and livelihoods. That’s why it is one of the six Better Cotton Standard System Production Principles, and an important part of the training we provide through our IPs.

Cotton farmers across the world face multiple decent work challenges, ranging from protecting workers from pesticide exposure, discrimination against women and providing adequate transport, food and accommodation for seasonal workers, to identifying and preventing child labour.

To promote decent work in Turkey, BCI’s Implementing Partner IPUD (Good Cotton Practices Association) conducts field visits and holds training events to raise BCI Farmers’ awareness of topical issues. In 2016, it built on these efforts by developing a comprehensive decent work training programme, in partnership with the Fair Labor Association (FLA), covering a broad range of decent work topics. To reach as many people as possible, IPUD set out to prepare producer unit (PU) managers and field facilitators to train and share knowledge with fellow farmers and workers.

Firstly, IPUD provided three days of ‘train the trainer’ training to 64 PU managers and field facilitators in the Aydın and Şanlıurfa regions. Through learning materials developed in partnership with the Fair Labor Association (FLA), farmers learnt about decent work issues related to agriculture and cotton, regional differences and BCSS criteria, as well as international, national and local regulations. Participants were also able to exchange knowledge, and learn best practice techniques for training farmers and workers. They also learnt about monitoring compliance with decent work standards in the field, and partnering with NGOs to improve labour conditions.

With the support of IPUD and the FLA, each producer unit organised field-level training for its farmers and workers throughout the season, adapting it to suit their needs. For example, seasonal workers, who help with irrigating crops, learnt about securing work permits and fair pay, while permanent workers, who typically help with weeding and harvesting, focused on contractual issues. Some PUs also invited local doctors to provide additional health and safety sessions.

Overall, 998 people participated in the training, and the results are already visible. Some PU managers are making improvements to contractual conditions, and providing contracts to migrant workers. Elsewhere, they improved the living and transport conditions for seasonal workers.

“Following on from the training, we noticed a significant improvement in the awareness of decent work issues among both farmers and workers,” says Ömer Oktay, IPUD’s field training and capacity building specialist. “We’ll encourage production unit managers to build on this success by continuing to share their decent work knowledge with farmers and workers every year.”