会员区

BCI 于 1 年 2016 月 5 日进入“主流化”阶段,启动了新的农民能力建设融资机制,即 BCI 增长和创新基金 (GIF)。 在 GIF 的资助下,BCI 的目标是到 30 年达到 2020 万农民,占全球棉花产量的 2020%。今年,BCI 将调整我们的战略,以促进实现 XNUMX 年目标,并改变未来棉布。

这些调整包括对我们当前的会员价值主张和自 2013 年以来适用于我们的零售商和品牌会员采购的良好棉花的基于数量的费用 (VBF) 的审查。 审查过程将确保 BCI 及其费用结构支持我们在整个主流化阶段雄心勃勃的扩大规模。 特别是 VBF 将用于资本化 GIF,同时将邀请机构捐助者和政府机构匹配私营部门提供的费用,以实现乘数效应。

在收到会员关于 BCI 费用结构复杂性的反馈后,我们正在与外部顾问合作,以极大地简化它们。 同时,对于从生产者组织到零售商和品牌的所有行业参与者,我们将继续成为有吸引力的可持续发展计划。 我们期待以简单、清晰和一致的方式传达 BCI 的新费用结构——使它们在您的业务中易于销售。 修订后的提案将于 XNUMX 月提交给 BCI 委员会批准。

最终,易于理解且基于明确价值主张的会员费和 VBF 模型将激励采购,使 GIF 能够投资农民培训并成功解决棉花种植中最紧迫的可持续性问题,包括农药使用、用水效率和恶劣的工作条件,如童工、性别问题和不公平的薪酬。 整个领域的积极变化将帮助 BCI 实现其使命,即让棉花生产更好地为种植它的人、更好的环境和整个行业的未来发展。

分享此页

BCI to review volume-based fee and member value proposition

Announcements, Uncategorized Friday, February 12th, 2016

BCI entered its “mainstreaming” phase on 1 January 2016 with the launch of a new funding mechanism for farmer capacity building, the BCI Growth and Innovation Fund (GIF). With funding from the GIF, BCI aims to reach 5 million farmers and account for 30% of global cotton production by 2020. This year, BCI will make adjustments to our strategy in order to facilitate progress toward our 2020 goals, and transform the future of cotton.

Among these adjustments is a review of both our current member value proposition and the Volume-based Fee (VBF) applied since 2013 to Better Cotton sourced by our retailer and brand members. The review process will ensure that BCI and its fee structures support our ambitious scale up throughout the mainstreaming phase. The VBF in particular will be used to capitalise the GIF, while institutional donors and government agencies will be invited to match fees contributed by the private sector in order to achieve a multiplier effect.

Upon receiving feedback from members regarding the complexity of BCI fee structures, we are working with an external consultant to dramatically simplify them. At the same time, we will continue to be an attractive sustainability initiative for all sector players from producer organisations to retailers and brands. We look forward to communicating BCI’s new fee structures in a simple, clear and consistent manner – making them an easy sell within your business. The revised proposals will be presented to the BCI Council for approval in June.

Ultimately, a membership fee and VBF model, which is easy to understand and based on a clear value proposition, will incentivise procurement, enabling the GIF to invest in farmer training and successfully address the most pressing sustainability issues in cotton farming, including pesticide use, water efficiency and severe working conditions such as child labour, gender issues and unfair pay. Positive changes in the field overall will help BCI achieve its mission of making cotton production better for the people who grow it, better for the environment it grows in and better for the future of the sector as a whole.