عضوية

قام ممثلون من عضو BCI Pioneer ، H&M ، بزيارة إلى مزارع القطن الأفضل في جوجورات ، الهند ، في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر. شاهد رئيس قسم الاستدامة ، هيلينا هيلميرسون ، وهارشا فاردهان (مسؤول عن البيئة - الإنتاج العالمي) وجاغان كابور (مدير المواد) ، مزارعو القطن المباشرون يشاركون في مجموعات التعلم BCI ، وشهدوا الفرق الذي تحدثه شركة Better Cotton في حياة هؤلاء. الذين يعيشون في المنطقة. كجزء من الزيارة ، انتهزت H&M أيضًا الفرصة لزيارة عضو BCI Spinning Mill ، Omaxe Cotspin ، وهي فرصة لمعرفة كيف تنتقل شركة Better Cotton عبر سلسلة التوريد ، وتشق طريقها من حقل إلى آخر.

لقد كانت BCI جزءًا أساسيًا من إستراتيجيتنا للاستدامة منذ أن كانت جزءًا من تأسيس المبادرة في عام 2005. والآن ، نحن ملتزمون بتوفير المزيد والمزيد من قطن أفضل لإنتاج منتجاتنا ، ولكن من المهم أيضًا إظهار الآخرين في دورنا كشركة رائدة الأعضاء أن إنتاج القطن أكثر استدامة ممكن. هؤلاء المزارعون هنا في الهند هم جزء من حركة عالمية لجعل ذلك حقيقة واقعة للعلامات التجارية وتجار التجزئة في جميع أنحاء العالم ".
هيلينا هيلميرسون ، رئيس قسم الاستدامة ، H&M

في عام 2013 ، أنتجت BCI 905,000 طن متري من Better Cotton ، 18 ٪ منها أنتجها المزارعون أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة في الهند. بدعم من أعضاء Pioneer مثل H&M ، تمكنت BCI في العام الماضي من الوصول إلى 146,000 مزارع في الهند وحدها - مزارعون ينتجون الآن قطنًا أفضل لمن ينتجه ، وأفضل للبيئة التي ينمو فيها ، وأفضل مستقبل القطاع.

H&M هي شركة رائدة في صناعة الأزياء الراقية الأكثر استدامة ، وتهدف إلى الحصول على جميع أنواع القطن من مصادر أكثر استدامة (قطن أفضل ، وقطن عضوي ، ومعاد تدويره) بحلول عام 2020. لقراءة المزيد عن التزامات الاستدامة الخاصة بشركة H&M انقر هنا.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

BCI Pioneer H&M visit Better Cotton farms in Gujurat, India

Events Friday, November 14th, 2014

Representatives from BCI Pioneer Member, H&M, paid a visit to Better Cotton farms in Gujurat, India, earlier this month. Head of Sustainability, Helena Helmersson, Harsha Vardhan (Environment Responsible – Global Production) and Gagan Kapur (Materials Manager), saw first-hand cotton farmers taking part in BCI Learning Groups, witnessing the difference that Better Cotton is making to the lives of those who live in the region. As part of the visit, H&M also took the opportunity to visit BCI Spinning Mill Member, Omaxe Cotspin, an opportunity to see how Better Cotton travels through the supply chain, making its way from field to store.

“BCI has been a key part of our sustainability strategy since being a part of founding the initiative in 2005. Now, we are committed to sourcing more and more Better Cotton to produce our products, but also importantly to show others in our role as Pioneer members that more sustainable cotton production is possible. These farmers here in India are part of a global movement to make this a reality for brands and retailers all over the world.”
Helena Helmersson, Head of Sustainability, H&M

In 2013, BCI produced 905,000 metric tonnes of Better Cotton, 18% of which was produced by smallholder farmers in India. With the support of Pioneer members such as H&M, last year BCI were able to reach 146,000 Farmers in India alone – farmers who are now producing cotton that is better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in, and better for the sector’s future.

H&M are an industry leader in more sustainable high-street fashion, aiming to source all cotton from more sustainable sources (Better Cotton, Organic and Recycled) by 2020. To read more about H&M’s sustainability commitments click here.