可持续性

在塔吉克斯坦,农民面临着水资源短缺和极端天气等挑战。 2015-16 年,洪水冲走了 Sughd 北部地区新种植的种子,夏季异常高温损坏了全国的棉花作物。 农民还努力确保季节性棉花采摘者的合同和安全的工作条件。

自 2013 年以来,查曼古尔·阿卜杜萨洛莫娃 (Chamangul Abdusalovova) 一直是我们在塔吉克斯坦的知识产权机构 Sarob 的农业顾问,支持现场指导员向农民提供培训和建议。 作为一名受过培训的农艺师,她经常举办田间活动来展示新技术并进行实际示范,以帮助农民实施每一项 BCSS 生产原则。 她还提供有关体面工作的重要建议。 她的一天开始得很早,通常是在收获季节的黎明。

“农业没有工作时间,”她说。 “在九月,收获季节,我在早上 6 点去田间检查农民的收获情况,以及他们遵守 BCSS 标准的情况。 例如,重要的是他们不要使用塑料袋来储存棉花,因为这会增加水分。 收获后,我通过保护运输中的棉花并将其存放在干燥的地方来帮助他们最大程度地减少损失。 我还监测农民是否为季节性采棉工人提供饮用水,以及田间是否有儿童或孕妇。”

Chamangul 每天拜访两到三个农民,就如何最好地解决他们遇到的问题和实施最佳实践向农民和工人提供建议。 她的想法和演示的“工具包”在赛季中会有所不同。 例如,在棉花季节开始时,她通过测量土壤温度并提供最佳播种天气建议,帮助农民确定播种的最佳时机。 她解释说,农民和季节性棉花采摘者都渴望向她学习。

“当工人们有时间放松一下时,他们经常问我关于棉花种植的问题——从高质量种子的好处或降低土壤酸度到识别他们在田间看到的昆虫,无所不包。” 她说。 “通常,我会举办问答环节来解决常见的挑战,并与我的团队分享所有信息,以便其他学习小组也能从中受益。”

当被问及她是否观察到了实地的积极变化时,查曼古尔说她看到了农民采用更先进的环境和社会实践的证据,并取得了积极的成果。 “有益昆虫和使用合成农药的非化学替代品,帮助 BCI 农民(与非 BCI 农民相比)在 23-2015 年减少了 16% 的合成农药使用。”

“在我工作的农村,农民们越来越多地学会负责任地处理农药瓶,而不是将它们扔进河里,”她说。 “这有助于保持当地供水的质量。 同样,由于喷洒农药,农民不再在区域附近放牧动物。

我还看到农民引进“有益昆虫”并种植“诱捕”害虫的野花和植物,这有助于减少他们对化学品的依赖。 通过采用简单、具有成本效益的害虫管理技术,他们还可以节省资金并减轻对环境的压力。”

从社会角度来看,Chamangul 解释说,农民越来越多地承担起为工人提供清洁饮用水的责任,尤其是在收获季节。 此外,孩子们往往只在学校以外的时间帮助他们的父母,通过简单的活动,比如照顾田野边的野花。

“我希望更多的农民加入塔吉克斯坦的 BCI,因为他们会真正看到好处,尤其是随着对良好棉花的需求增长,” 她总结道。

分享此页

A Day in the Life of an Agricultural Advisor

In Tajikistan, farmers face challenges including water scarcity and extreme weather. In 2015-16, flood waters washed away newly planted seeds in the northern Sughd region, and unseasonably high summer temperatures damaged cotton crops across the country. Farmers also struggle to ensure contracts, and safe working conditions for seasonal cotton pickers.

Chamangul Abdusalomova has been an agricultural advisor with Sarob, our IP in Tajikistan, since 2013, supporting field facilitators in delivering training and advice to farmers. An agronomist by training, she holds field days to showcase new technologies and runs practical demonstrations to help farmers implement each BCSS production principle. She also provides important advice on decent work. Her day begins early, often at dawn in the harvest season.

“Agriculture does not have working hours,” she says. “In September, harvest season, I go to the field at 6am and check how farmers are getting on with harvesting, and how well they’re following the BCSS criteria. For example, it’s important that they don’t use plastic bags to store cotton, as this encourages moisture. After the harvest, I help them to minimise losses by protecting the cotton in transport and storing it in a dry spot. I also monitor whether farmers are providing seasonal cotton pickers with drinking water, and whether there are children or pregnant women in the field.”

Chamangul visits two to three farmers a day, advising farmers and workers on how best to address the issues they’re experiencing and implement best practices. Her ‘toolkit’ of ideas and demonstrations varies during the season. For example, at the beginning of the cotton season, she helps farmers gauge the best moment to sow seeds by measuring soil temperature and giving advice on optimum weather for sowing. Both farmers and seasonal cotton pickers are keen to learn from her, she explains.

“When workers have a moment to relax, they often ask me questions about cotton growing – everything from the benefits of higher quality seeds or reducing soil acidity to identifying the insects they see in the fields,” she says. “Often, I run question and answer sessions to address common challenges, and I share all the information with my team, so that other Learning Groups can benefit too.”

Asked whether she has observed positive changes on the ground, Chamangul says she has seen evidence of farmers adopting both more progressive environmental and social practices, with positive results. “Beneficial insects, and using non-chemical alternatives to synthetic pesticides, helped BCI Farmers (compared to non-BCI Farmers) reduce their use of synthetic pesticides by 23% in 2015-16.”

“In the rural villages where I work, farmers are increasingly learning to dispose of pesticide bottles responsibly, rather than throwing them in the river,” she says. “This is helping to preserve the quality of local water supplies. Similarly, farmers are no longer grazing animals near areas due for pesticide spraying.

I’m also seeing farmers introduce ‘beneficial insects’ and cultivate wild flowers and plants that ‘trap’ pest insects , which is helping to reduce their reliance on chemicals. By adopting simple, cost effective pest management techniques, they’re also saving money and putting less strain on the environment.”

From a social perspective, Chamangul explains that farmers are increasingly stepping up to their responsibility to provide clean drinking water for workers, particularly during the harvest season. Additionally, children are tending to help their parents only outside of school time, with simple activities such as looking after the wild flowers bordering the field.

“I hope that more farmers will join BCI in Tajikistan because they will really see the benefits, particularly as demand for Better Cotton grows,” she concludes.