供应链

包括 Burberry、阿迪达斯、加德满都和 Timberland 在内的 100 家全球最著名的服装和纺织公司已承诺到 2025 年采购 13% 以上的可持续棉花。这些公司加入了最初做出承诺的 XNUMX 家主要品牌和零售商的行列 今年早些时候,使承诺的公司总数达到 36 家,其中包括一些 BCI 零售商和品牌成员。

题为“可持续棉花公报”的承诺是威尔士亲王殿下出席的高级别会议的结果,该会议由威尔士亲王的国际可持续发展部门 (ISU) 与 Marks & Spencer 和土壤协会合作组织。 它表明需要更可持续的棉花,公司做出的承诺将有助于推动整个行业的可持续实践。 反过来,这将有助于减轻与棉花生产相关的环境和社会成本,包括过度使用杀虫剂、释放温室气体、当地水资源枯竭和生产成本上升。

现在承诺到 100 年 2025% 承诺的品牌是: ASOS,Adidas, AZ, BikBOk, Burberry, Burton Snowboards, Carlings, Coyuchi, Cubus, Days like This, Dressmann, EILEEN FISHER, 乐购的 F&F, 绿色纤维, H&M, Hanky Panky, 弗雷泽之家,宜家, 本土设计, KAPPAHL, 加德满都, 开云, 李维斯, 指数, 螳螂世界, 多发性硬化症, 元磨损耐克, 奥托集团, prAna, 塞恩斯伯里,臭鼬, Timberland, 城市, 伏特,Woolworths的 哇。

承诺支持的公司在采购更可持续棉花的过程中处于不同阶段,其中一些公司已经确保所有棉花都来自可持续来源。 然而,所有人都清楚,需要跨部门合作才能带来变革。

承诺公告是在一年一度的纺织品交易所可持续发展大会上宣布的,400 多位纺织和服装行业领袖齐聚一堂,讨论行业面临的最重要的可持续发展问题。 宣布之后,BCI 的首席运营官 Lena Staafgard 加入了一个小组讨论,重点是扩大更可持续棉花的使用。

 

这个故事最初由纺织品交易所通过 CSR线.

分享此页

Twenty-Three Renowned Companies Pledge to Source 100% More Sustainable Cotton by 2025

Announcements Thursday, October 12th, 2017

Twenty-three of the world’s most renowned clothing and textile companies, including Burberry, Adidas, Kathmandu and Timberland have pledged to source 100% more sustainable cotton by 2025. These companies join the original 13 major brands and retailers who made the pledge earlier this year, taking the total committed companies up to 36, including a number of BCI Retailer and Brand Members.

The pledge titled ‘The Sustainable Cotton Communique’ was the result of a high-level meeting attended by HRH The Prince of Wales and organised by The Prince’s International Sustainability Unit (ISU) in collaboration with Marks & Spencer and The Soil Association. It demonstrates that there is a demand for more sustainable cotton, and the commitment made by companies will help to drive sustainable practices across the sector. In turn, this will help alleviate the environmental and social costs that are too often associated with cotton production, including the over-use of pesticides, the release of greenhouse gases, the depletion of local water sources and rising costs of production.

The brands that have now committed to the 100% by 2025 pledge are: ASOSAdidas, A-Z, BikBOk, Burberry, Burton Snowboards, Carlings, Coyuchi, Cubus, Days like This, Dressmann, EILEEN FISHER, F&F at Tesco, Greenfibres, H&M, Hanky Panky, House of Fraser, IKEA, Indigenous Designs, KappAhl, Kathmandu, Kering, Levi’s, Lindex, Mantis World, M&S, MetaWear, Nike, Otto Group, prAna, Sainsbury’s, SkunkFunk, Timberland, Urban, Volt, Woolworths and Wow.

The companies that have pledged their support are at various stages on their journey to sourcing more sustainable cotton, with some already securing all of their cotton from sustainable sources. However, all are clear that collaboration across the sector is needed to bring about transformative change.

The pledge announcement was made at the annual Textile Exchange Sustainability Conference, where more than 400 textile and apparel leaders have come together to discuss the most important sustainability issues facing the industry. Following the announcement, BCI’s Chief Operating Officer Lena Staafgard joined a panel discussion focusing on scaling the use of more sustainable cotton.

 

This story was originally published by Textile Exchange via CSRwire.