مناسبات وفعاليات

اجتمع ممثلون من 120 منظمة عضو في BCI في نيودلهي الأسبوع الماضي ، حيث جمعوا سلسلة توريد القطن بأكملها معًا في جهد تعاوني حقيقي لتطوير Better Cotton كسلعة رئيسية مستدامة.

حضر اجتماع أعضاء BCI الإقليميين للتعلم والتواصل وزيادة استيعاب القطن الأفضل في نهاية المطاف. والاجتماعات الفردية مكنت الحاضرين من كل من العرض والطلب من تبادل وجهات النظر وأفضل الممارسات ومناقشة كل من النجاحات والتحديات في إنتاج وتوفير مصادر أفضل للقطن.

بدأ اليوم بجلسات تفاعلية وفرت منصة للمحادثات الفردية وللحضور للتواصل وبناء علاقات عمل قيمة. في فترة ما بعد الظهر ، قُدمت محاضرات من قبل خبراء الصناعة ، بمن فيهم سوريش كوتاك ، رئيس مجلس إدارة Kotak Commodities ؛ براميت تشاندا ، مدير برنامج القطن والملابس في IDH ؛ وكوشال شاه ، تاجر في Paul Reinhart ، كما قدم ممثلون من Splash - أول بائع تجزئة وعضو علامة تجارية في BCI من الشرق الأوسط - و IKEA عروض تقديمية عن التزاماتهم بالاستدامة.

في نهاية اليوم ، شهدت حلقة نقاش حول أحد بائعي التجزئة في BCI وعضو العلامة التجارية ممثلين من GAP و IKEA و Varner و Decathlon يشاركون قصة رحلة BCI وتجارب الاستدامة الخاصة بهم.

وعلق فيناي كومار ، منسق العضوية (الهند) ، "كان من الرائع رؤية العديد من الجهات الفاعلة المختلفة من جميع أنحاء سلسلة توريد القطن تتعاون معًا. تم تصميم اجتماعات أعضاء BCI الإقليمية لتقديم المشورة العملية والتوجيه للمنظمات الأعضاء وكذلك لتسهيل الفرص لزيادة امتصاص القطن الأفضل."

في الهند ، هناك أكثر من 408,000 مزارع مرخص لهم بزراعة وبيع قطن أفضل - في موسم 2015/16 أنتجوا 373,000 طن متري من Better Cotton Lint. 2015/16 تقرير الحصاد التي تحتوي على أحدث نتائج المزرعة سيتم نشرها قريبًا.

ستعقد اجتماعات أعضاء إقليمية إضافية في BCI في باكستان وبنغلاديش والصين في الأشهر المقبلة. لمزيد من المعلومات يرجى زيارة موقعناصفحة الأحداث.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

120 Organisations Gathered in India to Drive the Cotton Sector Towards Sustainability

Announcements Friday, September 29th, 2017

Representatives from 120 BCI Member organisations gathered in New Delhi last week, bringing the entire cotton supply chain together in a truly collaborative effort to develop Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity.

From cotton bale to consumer, ginners, spinners, fabric mills, garment manufacturers, retailers and brands from across the country attended the BCI Regional Members’ Meeting to learn, network and ultimately increase uptake of Better Cotton. Inspiring presentations, networking sessions, panel discussions and one-to-one meetings enabled attendees from both supply and demand to share perspectives and best practices and to discuss both successes and challenges in producing and sourcing Better Cotton.

The day began with interactive sessions which provided a platform for one-to-one conversations and for attendees to network and build valuable business connections. In the afternoon presentations were given by industry experts, including Suresh Kotak, Chairman at Kotak Commodities; Pramit Chanda, Cotton and Apparel Programme Director at IDH; and Kushal Shah, Trader at Paul Reinhart. Representatives from Splash – the first BCI Retailer and Brand Member from the Middle East – and IKEA also gave presentations on their commitments to sustainability.

To round the day off, a BCI Retailer and Brand Member’s panel discussion saw representatives from GAP, IKEA, Varner and Decathlon share the story of their BCI journey and sustainability experiences.

Vinay Kumar, Membership Coordinator (India) commented, “It was brilliant to see so many different actors from across the cotton supply chain coming together in such a collaborative manner. The BCI Regional Member Meetings are designed to provide practical advice and guidance to member organisations and also to facilitate opportunities for increased Better Cotton uptake.

In India, there are more than 408,000 farmers licensed to grow and sell Better Cotton – in the 2015/16 season they produced 373,000 metric tonnes of Better Cotton lint. The 2015/16 Harvest Report containing the latest farm results will be published shortly.

Additional BCI Regional Member Meetings will take place in Pakistan, Bangladesh and China in the coming months. For more information please visit our events page.